MTM R8 GT3-2: Supercharged, 560 bhp, rear-wheel drive!

Cold winters do strange things to German tuners. With the amount of snow they get, you’ll think that Wettstetten based tuner MTM would be grateful for the quattro AWD system on the Audi R8, but instead they have gone ahead and made a rear-wheel drive version of Audi’s supercar!

Presenting the MTM R8 GT3-2, which MTM says is the only RWD street-legal Audi around. The company “promises a complete new driving experience and pure driving pleasure” as you battle with the 560 supercharged horses from the 4.2 FSI engine. Torque is rated at 580 Nm. This is a big jump from 414 bhp and 430 Nm of the standard car and even surpasses the R8 V10’s 517 bhp/530 Nm. The GT3-2 accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h in 3.9 seconds on to a 317 km/h top speed. The 0-100 time is identical to the R8 V10, but remember that this tuned car puts its power to tarmac only via the rear wheels.

MTM adds on its own suspension kit with several settings, lightweight forged wheels on Dunlop Sport Maxx GT or Michelin Cup Sport tyres. The 20-inch rims hide 380 mm punched and ventilated brake discs. Nothing much is done on the outside except for a carbon fibre front spoiler, side skirt and rear wing for better air flow. I think the red chequred design looks quite cool on a black R8.

Besides selling the GT3-2 new, MTM has an open invitation to brave (or mad?) R8 owners to transform their Audi into a rear-wheel drive car. Images after the jump

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1039]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Neo.S on Apr 09, 2010 at 12:45 pm

one mean machine !!!!

• Looks good.. now we have all sorts of GT3 cars (AMG Gullwing). Hope we see more of these in the fields that’s dominated by 911.

• ikreatif on Apr 09, 2010 at 12:52 pm

How much is the damage??

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 09, 2010 at 1:03 pm

this is what god looks like

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:15 pm

soon Fujiwara Takumi will abandoned his AE86 and drive this MTM R8 GT3-2 on the Akina Mountain at Japan…

• Amosai on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Wow…looks really nice! Fierce and with racing style..price tag also sure “nice”..

• wan_knox on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:26 pm

WAAA!!! GARANG2!! this car must be for Ironman2.

• y RWD? with all that power AWD should put provide traction and stability. Lighter?

• It’s FIA GT3 class, AWD is illegal. You can’t race with AWD in GT3.

• sweeeeet car…

• neoFromMatrix on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:09 pm

my Protom Neo Lotus R3 CPS can smoke this R8…..my neo is limited edition dun play play, enthusiast perfarmer car!!

• wow you seriously got it? you gotta be kidding me.

• sarcasm is one thing…but yours are just plain stupid…

• zzzzz. sarcasm is another thing, and you’re ALSO plain stupid. =P

• it is easy to feel stupid when you are stupid right?even when i’m not replying to your post..hehe

• MTM should detuned this car to 145 hp and limited to 25 units. for what spending much money to built high powered car if 145hp with bolt on afermarket part and such high price people still say wow….due to limited edition.

• awesome….

• buttercity on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Stupid. Why fix if it ain’t broke? Audi = Quattro. Don’t change it. Ask then to mess BMW/Merc.

• trav_da_man on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:30 pm

This is the car i craving n drooling for, rather than admiring the GTR which is sure worshipped by ABC lovers (ABC – Ah Beng Car)

• gtroner on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Are you implying gtr owners r ‘Ah Beng Car’ lover? U r hopeless.

• klaka seram on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:36 pm

very cool

• venven81 on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:08 pm

im totally awed with this modded version! i think iron man 2 will feature the cabrio version… try check out the movie trailer :)

• i’m first, hahaahah, good car indeed. the persona proton car will use this engine right

• Yes, and the Persona will be featured on Ironman movie soon..

• S.Roma on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:31 am

U guys are totally wrong.

Persona will be in the movie Titanic 2. lolx !

• RWD Supercar…a true supercar driven by a real hero

• <3 the R8.
    it looks good no matter how you look at it, whoever tunes it can never mess up.
    i saw one A4-R8-wannabe the other day.
    horrid.

• subhero on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:32 am

if u see the making of IRON MAN 2. 2 or 3 unit R8, there just burn it. im sure the “burn” will ship here as kereta potong.

• you seriously think they get a few r8s to burn for the movie.
    you really are thick in the head.

• pomen_gtr on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:08 am

911-gt3 sure runs for its money…

this one was cheaper than those porsch…

now i must find a good “datin” to buy me this car…