2011 Lotus Elise – world’s cleanest sports car

Lotus has been eyeing the tag of “World’s Cleanest Sports Car” with the facelifted Elise and has clinched it with the new entry-level 1.6-litre model’s confirmed emissions figure of 149 g/km of CO2. With that, Lotus says the Elise has the lowest CO2 output for its performance level for any gasoline sportscar in the world.

The Toyota sourced 1ZR-FAE 1.6-litre engine with Valvematic and Dual VVT-I produces 134 bhp and 160 Nm and is paired to a six-speed manual gearbox. While that may seem like not much, the Elise is a featherweight at 876 kg, and performance figures of 6.5 seconds from 0-100 km/h and top speed of 200 km/h are respectable.

Compared to the old shape Elise S, this new entry model displaces 200 cc less, has one more gear ratio, emits 16% less CO2 and is over 23% more frugal. The extra cog helps in the 19.9 km/l extra urban (highway) consumption, and the Elise 1.6 has a big range of 800 km on a tank of fuel. Aerodynamics have been improved by 4% over the old shape as well.

The facelifted model gets a new headlight design which is part of a revised front fascia. There are now LED daytime running lights and LED direction indicators. At the back, the vents at the outer edge of the taillights have been removed, the bumper has been restyled and there’s also a new engine cover.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=845]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alpha999 on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:03 am

simply stunning………..

• cerdik on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm

korang xpayah komen la sb korang xkan mampu bli kreta ni pd harga proton saga…..
      buat mimpi bleh je….. huhu

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

What u expect from a toyota engine…

• JoeGti on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Current line up is all powered by toyota engine bro!!
      Except europa, that is because initial plan involve proton name

• Hafizul on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

nice

• sulaimansor on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

why they don’t use campro engine?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

now LOTUS can use campro tuned by R3 engine easier…

how about that dad?? (says lotus to proton)

• linear_system on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

why they didnt use cps engine after tuning..gives more hp n torque..is it bcos of contract with toyota..

• kakilari on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

I ll go for the 890KG 1.8L Lotus-Exige-Cup-260 instead, dirtier meaner..

• incredible on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

wonder this model sell in malaysia with afforable price….

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:30 am

Very clever,should pass this technology to proton.Malaysian really need this type of performance and economy .(we all know it will come with a hefty price tag)

• Peter on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:31 am

Wow, its so cool…..But still i prefer looking at Lotus Evora more than this…….

• selekohboi on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:38 am

if only Toyata can hv this engine in the Vios / Porton can produce the same engine, to be in Pesona. js my 2kupang.

• Rim cuma guna 4 skrew jer.. biasanyer kan 5 skrew

• wondering if proton’s 1.6 is clean enough? but from the NEO R3 engine…it rated 145hp and 168Nm of torque…

• even the normal cps would not achieve euro 5
      tune by r3 engine sure fail even for euro 4

• even the normal cps would not achieve euro 5
      tune by r3 engine sure fail even for euro 4

and the fuel consumption of campro is rather weak !!

• ^(oo)^ on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

wow nice!

• ^(oo)^ on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

BTW, 1st!!!! hehehehe

• mz iz on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:45 am

so you buy the engine from Toyota and then claim that you make the best car or the clean car, wow that is impressive. So the our Gen2 or Persona engine are old engine from lotus history book and we use it like new, If they lotus can make they own engine why do they need to buy from TOY- YO- TA. FOR THEY SPORT CAR AND ALSO F1

• JoeGti on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

They develop this engine with Yamaha bro, how smart!!
      They just suck money from proton

• becoz Lotus dont produe their own engine.thats why

• vbkcheng on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:47 am

Since it is 1.6…can be get it at RM80K?

If yes, we wikk say Proton Boleh for buying lotus…

Otherwise wor… what for to have this lotus yar…

Don’ttell us Neo R3 Lotus racing is good yar…

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:27 pm

The Lotus Elise model range lies within the price bracket of £26,550 – £32,950. that’s RM131,000 – RM163,000 in UK.
      why do you think Proton should ‘subsidize’ this car for you here?

• because if it’s 131-163k. there won’t be any sagas wiras personas at all on the damn road right now.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:01 am

Also if Lotus Elise is RM 131000, the Neo Lotus wannabe buyers would knock their heads against the wall for buying it at Rm115000

• kzaman on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:51 am

nice to know this, performs well in terms of performance, and a good gas guzzler… perfect car for hypermiling!… and spirited driving as well…

• kimi_ on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:52 am

THANKS to Toyota engine…….

• Toyota engine ?
    What about the highly rated talked about Phoenix
    1.6 CPS Turbo 6 speed blah blah blah engine ?

• theanswer on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

whats so surprise abt tht… some ppl sed lotus tuned engine for p1..bla..bla.. but lotus car itself use engine from toyota,rover and GM. even f1 use cosworth. lol~

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

what’s wrong for Lotus to use Toyota engine? Lotus is famous more on handling & tuning. But Lotus also designed and developed some engines for various manufacturer:

* Vauxhall Lotus Carlton (also Opel Lotus Omega) – At the time (early 1990s) was the fastest saloon car available, with a top speed of over 170 mph (274 km/h).
      * Dodge Spirit R/T with a version of the 2.2 L K-car engine with a 16-valve DOHC head designed by Lotus with over 220 hp (160 kW).
      * Lotus was responsible for most of the design, development, and testing, of the LT5 DOHC V8 powerplant for the Chevrolet Corvette ZR-1.
      * Lotus designed, developed and tested the GM Ecotec engine and its variants.
      * Lotus was responsible for the suspension calibration of the Toyota MR2 Mk. I, the Toyota Supra Mk. II and Mk. III, the Isuzu Piazza, the Isuzu Impulse as well as newer Proton models.
      * Lotus was responsible for the development of the Campro engine together with Proton, as well as its variable valve timing system, the Cam Profile Switching (CPS).
      * Lotus has worked on the suspension of the Mahindra Scorpio to make it more stable at high speeds.
      * Lotus produced the revised Chassis of the Isuzu Piazza
      * The Dodge EV concept electric vehicle from Chrysler is based on a Lotus Europa S.
      * Lotus has worked on the suspension and handling of the Nissan GT-R

• Supporter on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm

U r smart dude…

• JoeGTi on May 27, 2010 at 10:01 am

Smart Dude, all the information is correct, u might be someone working with Proton.
        Have u ever heard about Eco Ellise using GSI?

• Alifz on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:43 am

CPS engine doesn’t met Euro 5 regulation. Do you wonder why CPS engine doesn’t went to Aussie and UK?

• MoFaz on Apr 13, 2010 at 2:20 pm

CPS CO2 emission is 179g/km, it can be used in UK, but have to pay more tax compared to normal Campro. BMW 3 series M3 CO2 emission is 290g/km and still being sold there.

please, read more.

• watever on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:52 am

waiting for some idiot to say 135bhp is not enough better buy 2nd hand xxx or yyy cars bla bla bla

• bashherebashthere on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:54 am

35bhp is not enough better buy 2nd hand xxx or yyy cars bla bla bla

• savvy88 on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

19.9km/liter??? r u kiddin? probably the most fuel economic sports car with NA engine. Saver than Savvy..

• arcana on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:14 pm

would u drive this car @ 90km/h so get that kind of fuel consumption…..
      u’ll most likely do it in a savvy……
      90km/h in elise can fall asleep lol

• orange!!! i luv orange!

• savvy88 on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:04 pm

the engine cover is inspired from Campro IAFM cover…or..vise versa??

• Aalloonngg on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Wow!!! Simply amazing…

• First!
    Love it!

• Lol. Proton owns lotus and it doesnt use its own CPS engine. This shows that proton is not confident of its own technology. its better for future proton buyers to forget about proton and go after japs.

• abai431 on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:15 pm

The Bhp and Nm figure is not that different from what Protons’ own Campro CPS can produce… Big question is, why opt for Toyota engine if Protons’ is as powerfull. Reliability?

• Old-Kancil on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Toyota ask Lotus to tune their handling for their certain models. So for the exchange Toyota gave their dual VVTi for Lotus. Even Toyota so ‘Lokek’ to produce their dual VVTi to Malaysian market.

• sweeeeeettt…..

• Kevin on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:16 pm

This is a real gem.

If the price is less than RM180k, i will be one of the first to place my bookings.

Awesome!!!

• Wak Kreta on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Toyota engine? wheres the campro?

• KCivic on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Such a beautiful car! Without hefty import duties everyone of us can afford to drive one (old story). Toyota engine VVTI must be the one used in Altis 1.6L right? So light and power-to-weight ratio must be excellent. If import taxes reduced, i will buy one for weekend car hehe.

• Why not use Campro… Proud muh and can save a lot of money oso. But lose a lot of performance la.. but who cares, “we” only want to drive in style, albeit slow slow…

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

hmmm…worlds cleanest sports car….then suffled to the back of the heap along with its electric stablemate

Wonder what woud be next? Worlds Cleanest Monster truck?

Honarable move at the very least, but then again, when I buy a sports car, eco-friendliness would probably be quite far behind my mind…….

But then again, this is going to save a good buck when it comes to road/CO2 tax.

Now, can I have mine with a V8? ;p
    (reminds me once a buddy of mine stuffed a ford 5.0v8 in his first gen Miata)

• r3d universe on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Sweet..!

• mayormeor on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Go Lotus!!!, meanwhile in Proton you get an new LED lamp.

• The Loner on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm

So how well Elise can keep up with BMW M3, Nissan GT-R, etc in race circuit? Indeed light weight is the biggest weapon from Lotus sports car.

• Bruce Ban (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:23 pm

This poor car won’t stand a chance against those big player… try youtube for Nissan gt-r vs the world 2… :D

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:01 pm

aiyaa… eksyen pulak… Nissan GTR also tuned by Lotus

• Kevin on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:46 am

Depends on the track.

If its a track with lots of straight lines, then GTRs will win hands down.

But in a twisty track, with lots of sharp turns, an Exige with 190hp ( or 210hp ) might have an advantage. Lots of videos on utube about this.

Don`t compare GTR with this entry level 1.6l elise. This should be compared with VW Golf GTI and the likes. With GTR, we should use the Exige.

Hardcore vs hardcore.

• Untouchable on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:10 pm

how much rm??

• finally.. an elise that I might possibly afford ?

• iskett on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:30 pm

If you are just another layman like me, that’s a nope.

• IQ/EQ on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Dream -on .!! We may own Lotus but yet we enjoy nothing
      from them. All into P1’s directors kitty …just look at their
      MD … driving a foreign registered Lotus in Subang Jaya
      and yet we only have P1 crapro to show around.

• but i think nissan 350z is nicer

• rexis on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Shud be way more then RM115k? Otherwise nobody buy Neo R3.

• theanswer on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm

lol..of course la. even the cheapest 1.8 elise going to cost u somewhere around 200k..i dont think this car gonna get below 150k. it’s a good track car..but say goodbye to comfort.

• how’s the accessories and interior gonna be like? still bare bone like the previous elise?

• littlefire on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Eh? Where is the 1.6L Campro CPS which Proton is so proud about? I tot is built together with Lotus, but didn’t use it in their own fleet? Hmm…

• KCivic on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm

CK, with the heftily imposed import duties, it may still cause a hand and a leg. Anyways, a very beautiful car. Must be awesome power-to-weight ratio. Is this the Toyota engine used in their Altis 1.6L? Scrap heavy import duties and all of us can buy one for weekend drive.

• Master Yoda on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Lotus sources Toyota Engine not Campro that Proton says they co-developed with Lotus. Does this confirm that Campro engine not to Lotus Standard.

• carsut on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:59 pm

elise 134 bhp, lotus neo 145. ??? neo lotus lagi power la??

• theanswer on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:35 pm

ye la..lagi power. tgk la weight elise brape plak. even elise 1.8 pon 135bhp. but elise is well known for their lightweight and handling not power.

• Spica on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:11 pm

why not using Campro CPS tuned by R3? 145bhp

• why dont lotus use cps engine for elise?

• vertigo on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:23 pm

sadly, lotus is never affordable. to me, at least.

• proton on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:28 pm

yup, this will be the lotus that you can afford, for RM400k, but u can always go for proton savvy, its just RM40000 brand new, or Rm4000 after 2 years.

• Momos on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:50 pm

it’s a pity that lotus does not choose to utilise the engine it helped to develop: the CamPro.
    even SNR3LR have more horses…

emission issues maybe?

• azlan on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm

looks like the car is smiling!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Lotus proves that we dont need V10s and V12s to go fast. All the best. BTW Lotus is a great company while proton is still crap.

• mastermind on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:02 pm

please proton, bring it to Malaysia at 100k price and i will buy one

• anak dato' on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm

dreaming of the next esprit

• nothing much different than the previous elise… hmmm

• niamafufu on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

hmm…y toyota engine again….y the dont use compros engines since they much more related to our mighty proton??

• tikus on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Maybe really CAMtakPro lar… Lotus also no fate in them and our Bolehland proton fans boy treat it like GOD…

• To be fair la, I tell u why. Coz Campro doesn’t come with 6 speed gearbox. XD

But.. true oso la, why not use Campro since they dev it together with proton, save a lot of cost. If they want to upgrade it (engine or gearbox), good oso since potong will benefit from it.

But I guess they wanna screw around with them.. XD

Another explanation could be that nobody will buy the 1.6 variant if it is a Camtakpro. Name muh, very important one. Give u example, if some Mat Saleh bought the car, they let him choose the engine, either this Toyota or the R3 Neo Campro. Which one will they choose? We all know the answer….

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Maybe it will be cheap as well. The people’s sports car

• wakjoe on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm

does it equipped with ohlins suspension?

• vaxeds on Apr 12, 2010 at 6:03 pm

in standard condition this engine is more powerful than our campro cps..yes campro neo r3 is more powerful..but our campro is high revving engine..campro engine is heavier than toyota engine la..so toyota engine is more appropriate to put in sport car like this bcoz of the weight and also fuel consumption..it also has dual vvti…which is different from our cps..
    i drove 4age twin cam before in LE body..the response n steering is very light..can beat perdana v6 is pickup..which is impresive bcoz v6 is more powerfull..and its V6..top speed sure kena la..car so light not stable to go beyond 160..

• how about cps engine for local market???

• Lotus using Toyota Engine?

This is a smack on the face for Proton! 25 years of rakyat’s money wash through the hands of the cronies.

Well, Proton Fan Boys? Speechless now? Your bumper sticker with “Campro Turbo” ain’t nobody looking at. Even Proton’s main partner LOTUS, has better confidence in Toyota’s engine.

Coming soon; all new Proton models will end up using Vios Dugong Engine. Will wait for these things to happen. With our government consistent flip-flop strategy and Malaysia Boleh mentality, I’m very certain it will happen.

Proton, better start to design at least a 6 speed Auto Transmission for your CamTakPro. The rest of the world are going for Greener Technology, you still rely on your DOHC Engine 1980’s technology.

• vaxeds on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:01 pm

what car are u driving??

• staff on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:19 pm

The rest of the world are going for Greener Technology, you still rely on your DOHC Engine 1980’s technology.

If DOHC is 1980’s engine… so, who is advancing ?

Any manufacturer already come out with TOHC (Triple OHC) or QOHC (Quadriple OHC)

• MoFaz on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

i thought they simple name it Quad Cam?
        Naza Ria 2.5 V6 Quad Cam

• Paul Tan on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:16 am

There is only single cam and twin cam. Quad cam is basically just twin cam but times 2 because there’s two heads in a V bank. Although there are 4 physical cams, it’s still considered twin cam and calling it quad cam is a little misleading.

Triple cams per head exist in very very limited applications, like motorcycle.

• MoFaz on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:23 am

owhh… i didn’t take it seriously when I saw Quad Cam on Ria body long time ago, but after staff mentioned QOHC, I suddenly remembered. thanks Paul!

• staff on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:21 pm

And, the Lotus who was also designing the Campro…

So, it is a question need to be answered by Lotus itself… why Lotus dont use the engine that they design?

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:18 pm

hahaha, stoopid guy with baseless comment. everything is wrong.
      you think Campro exist since 1980s? the fact is, Vios engine 1NZ-FE (2000) is older than Campro (2004).

Syoh syohh syohh… go away la you.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:04 pm

“The extra cog helps in the 19.9 km/l extra urban (highway) consumption, and the Elise 1.6 has a big range of 800 km on a tank of fuel.”

Got to trade in my viva for this one :-P Support local brand!

• chap_de_x on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:05 pm

Elise have been entry level sport car of lotus for a very long time already….long time before campro was produce…. i believe from one generation to another there is a lot of carry over part and design…especially at the engine bay…in initial stage of designing layout for an engine bay for a car, type, configuration, max and min dimension of an engine was already been configured which originally was a toyota engine if im not mistaken. That explain why they cannot use any other engine…then someone will argue ah beng workshop can do any engine swapping anytime….yes its true but to change and engine bay layout to suit new engine for a car manufacturer like lotus will cost a lot because lot of testing need to be conduct again to ensure safety and reliability….ahbeng workshop do not consider all of this thing….so to lame basher that questioning why they dont use campro engine…upgrade your knowledge first before u write any stupid comment…..

• JoeGti on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Sorry bro, 1st gen of elisse not using toyota engine

• Nobody talked about ahbeng workshop..

But the idea of whole proton range using vios dugong engine or others(I want VW) is not bad. Yea la, pride lost short term, but share engine parts for lower cost for long term is not a bad idea. Potong just need to get a good deal for the supplier. Well, anyway, you can call this as bashing as you like. But I see this as a trend all over the world.

• tikus on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:59 pm

They have been research CamtakPro with proton since 90’s. and long before Lotus switch to Toyota engine.FYI !!before using Toyota engine ,Lotus is using Rover K series engine.This show that Lotus have no intention using CamtakPro on their products at all. PLEASE!! upgrade your knowledge first before u write any stupid comment….. as u say!!

• niamafufu on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:40 pm

lol….”CamtakPro”

• chap_de_x on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:12 pm

you miss my main point is it?My point is not about what engine the 1st gen elise used. What i am trying to say, swapping an engine is not as easy as some of us here think….like u say if a car manufacturer don’t intended to use that particular engine, the design of engine bay will not compliment it….Yeargh you still can swap the engine with some modification, but as a car manufacturer when they swap an engine and do modification at the engine bay they must re tested it for safety, performance and reliability…hence higher cost……so “mr perfect” for this facelifted elise….do u think its feasible for lotus to swap toyota engine with campro….no need to answer me because you might barking at the wrong point again

• tikus on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:28 am

Hai… swaping engine is not an easy task but b4 they use toyota engine, thay R NOT INCLUDE CamtakPro in they engine road map.OK

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:16 pm

then how u suppose Lotus swap over from Rover K.series to Toyota engine then? js stick the finger in the mouth & feel the wind with it = thada !!! lets use TYTengine !? that would be AhBengCreation to me… js my 2 cent.

• runner on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm

First of all you too fall into the upgrade your knowledge
      …cos what you’re writing is also – if i’m not mistaken.
      so same applies to you don’t make any stupid comments.
      Show proof that engine bay and cost on safety and reliability made
      Lotus choose a toyota rather than a Campro.
      Obvious the Campro does the opposite , pollute via sound & emmission levels
      coupled with high rev- fuel consumption !!!!

• that above is from your view not from lotus right?

• Next stage…elise campro cps

• Georgie on Apr 12, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Nicely said there. Seems like there’s a lot of lame people around here with shallow knowledge on automotive.

Previously Lotus used Rover engines on the Elise models, but as on 2004, they used the Yamaha’s designed (Yes, its designed by Yamaha for Toyota) engine basically for import to America. The engine is specially developed for performance sports car and not intended for transit cars.

They’re other models of engine used by Lotus, the 2ZZ-GE (Basically its the same engine used on Celica SS-II) rated at 180bhp @ 7600rpm. 1ZR-FAE being the smaller displacement at 134bhp @ 7600rpm.

The main reason they don’t use the Campro engine on the Lotus for the weight of standard Campro engine which is designed for your average daily transit cars. As for the 2ZZ-GE engine which is all aluminum engine which is very light and suitable for a sports car. That’s what they call market segmentation. You don’t see your standard Vios with a 1.8 2ZZ-GE engine? Even the standard Corolla Altis here uses the 3ZZ-FE engine which is rated at 109 hp @ 6000 rpm.

• You talk bout weight of the engine, so what is the figure, the difference, Mr T Fan, If Proton wish to put Campro into Elise, there must be a lot of modification done by the experts, change the components and perhaps in the most extreme case, the material of the engine block to cater the higher pitch & pressure high performance setting. Proton & Lotus guys are not dumb. Hope they not using T engine in future, if not campro, hope they consider advance VW TFSI end its TwinClutch gbox. Hell T

• Yea, I also would like to have VW components. Why did the last tie up din work la!!??

• Becoz Proton top management are smart enough to capture the essence the contract, and its about management control, shares in Proton, not a simple transaction like buying engine, you dont ever need to tie up in bond, shares or whatever just to buy engine. Anyway its about Proton during that day, not lotus

Do you think toyota have shares, control power in Proton-Lotus just because lotus buys and use its engine for elise and evora.

• Yea i know. Just pity it didn’t work out last time due to national pride. If the mat saleh can do better (I think they can, see what’s with VW now), i don’t really mind…

• MoFaz on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Name, as i said in other topic, if Japanese and Korean have similar mentality like you and most people here, we will never have Honda, Toyota, Hyundai or Kia now…. why? imagine if Japanese & Korean leaders in 1930-1970 say:

“why bother develop our own car? why bother creating Automotive Act? we can simply build assembly plants for GM, Ford and Chrysler here…”

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm

well said! the incaple of Proton.Lotus deal to benefit P1 & Msian looks exactly like the correlation btw P1.Mitsu = evy1 knw who benefit most. I believe Msian market are not shouting for those really high end niche (truely sports car), but hoping to see P1 make use o fthe Lotus ownership, to make > value for $ car for Msian, in this case maybe a Neclise / Nevora / Nesige orjust Neo LR (Lotus type-R) + Campro CPS + those sweet Jesus goodies from Neo R3 = that would my liitle weekend drive, either back in kampung / Sunway downtime meaningful.

• think on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:11 pm

the price…a proton owned brand , but the price is full of taxes..now i knew from where proton collect their money for investments…i do not actually wants to talk bad about proton,,but it indicates the anger of mine towards taxes..

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Proton in Malaysia also being taxed at about 18% for Waja. But Gov has already been kind enough to let Saga BLM to be sold without sales tax & excise duty.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:39 am

how about if all other cars apart from proton,perodua and naza also was taxed at the same rate as proton waja at 18% as your statement above…

Q-then how many of us can afford other than national cars????

A-as many as u wish…

• oldman on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:24 pm

no tax and excise also this protong Boleh Langgar Mati already this expensive…. stoopid blood suckker protong…

• Eyesore on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:47 pm

BLM sold without tax????? talking right out of ur A$$… all proton models are taxed!

• MoFaz on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:35 pm

go check la, this is the link :
          http://paultan.org/2008/01/06/proton-blm-step-by-step-build-up-teaser/

see the price list, 0% Sales Tax and Excise Duty.

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm

u have my votes of both hands legs :)

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:32 pm

u hv my votes of both hands & legs :).

• YeapyEvo on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Can Proton bring in this car and sell it as national car since Proton own Lotus ? Hope the “national car” status can lower the tax + duty and gave something in return to the rakyat after helping Proton for so long

• MoFaz on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:30 pm

it’s RM131,000 – RM163,000 in UK. even if it’s import tax free, we still need to pay sales tax & excise duty which is about 18%… making the price around RM155k – RM190k

• All your bases are belong to US!

Today comment upload so slow.. waiting for ur reply… (well, u have to see what i reply first, which is not uploaded yet…)

• Perhaps, after elise fully retired. I really hope it happen, i dont mind if its using cps campro

• staff on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:29 pm

I think one reason it is opt for toyota is because the engine already has low CO2 emission… while the campro is not…

so, i think it is better for proton to learn how to lower its emission…

• y wan campro? 125 vs 136, i would go for 136. its not the brand, its figure.

• campro cps lotus racing….145 bhp, campro turbo…..200 plus. What figure?

• campro cps lotus racing, so long, the dual vvti is in stock(not tune) form. like in toyota auris, the dual vvti is barely tune. campro cps lotus racing…..haih…

• izz86 on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:53 am

i think lotus used toyota engine because they want to take it technology to their own new engine. if they don’t take other engine or product, they should take a lot of time to build their own technology. that is a good idea to take other technology n produce to our own product.

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

well if thats the case = i sure hope P1 makes benefit out it, which I doubt..lol.

• biggie on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:31 am

to those bashers who condemn proton for not using campro for the elise should start examining their head top and bottom.

campro is meant for consumer engines and for bread and butter car. It can be tuned for performance but its not an engine for a sport car. It is design to be a long lasting a consumer engine. It is also modular and can be converted into many forms (diesel included).

2zz-ge engine as used in elise is an all aluminium light weight engine which is designed specifically for performance or sport car use. it is not the most powerful but make up for it with reduction in weight.

• truely on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Just face it ! Proton losers,
      Toyota engines are GOOD.
      That the truth the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

• Toyo engine are good, CPS engines….Not that bad actually through my experience using both. And I like the thrill in CPS engine combines with protons driving dynamic, and toyota have a very good engine…full stop

• tikus on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:07 pm

When u talk about light weight engine, wonder when proton start using all aluminium.And FYI all aluminium engine is not specifically designed for performance lar!! Nissan Latio using it and other manufacturer as every day car.So Lotus has no intention of using it.JUST ADMIT IT PROTON LOSER!!

• oldman on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:28 pm

bagi lah banyak2 alasan wahai Potong defender….the reason is SIMPLE….. becoz CamTakPro is NOT GOOD ENOUGH….

even, Potong family members think they’re NOT good enough…wat about others who suffered all this while due to protection for Potong…

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 13, 2010 at 8:58 pm

I wont exactly say that.

The 2ZZ-GE has been the main staple in Corollas (Altis for us here) in different state of tune, as well as in a Celica, which in all intents and purposes is a Corolla in drag. Hardly what you would call the aluminum contruction for “sports cars” only.

The reason why Lotus has going to Toyota becuase thier engines are already surpasses the emision requirements to be sold in North America. Also the case that Rover has gone tits-up so basically they are left without a powerplant.

• Still not within my budget to own such car. Overall, this Lotus Elise can easily beat our latest release Satria R3 (lotus) due to horsepower to weight ratio and its low gravity build. I think there a model wt LSD, that would make much superior in term of tackling corners compare to Satria R3.

cheers

• junaidi on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:02 am

Missing the point of this article?
    Wasnt it to highlight the fact that its a clean engine (high output but low emissions?)
    The campro CPS has a long way to go yet.

Cant expect to build a city in 1 day.

• chawan on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:20 am

mungkin murah dpd neo r3 kita ni, tp elok patut le pakai enjin proton la sb datuk ckp enjin proton best…

• Eyesore on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:45 am

correction… “your site” not “your side”… =p

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 13, 2010 at 3:02 pm

so if exora can lose 100 kilo its weight,it wouldnt need a turbo right

• well, so much debating on toyota n campro engine. let us start with history. we start with rover engine. Rover’s K engine was a clean sheet of paper design with some innovative features such as through bolting of the bottom and top ends through the block and lightweight construction. While the Rover K engine had some innovative features and was relatively light, it was never designed to meet U.S. emissions requirements. The K engine was a relatively new design in 1995 when Lotus proposed its use in the original Elise. But by the time Lotus decided to bring Elise to the U.S., the K would no longer meet upcoming European emissions requirements either, so Elise would soon be needing a new engine for all markets.

Lotus and Toyota have a long history together, including Toyota purchasing engineering services from lotus. because of that, lotus sourcing Toyota’s new, 1.8 liter(during that time), YAMAHA-designed 2ZZ-GE engine for use in Elise. This is the most recent in a series of Toyota performance engines created by YAMAHA.

The 2ZZ-GE is Toyota’s first all-aluminum engine, meaning it uses aluminum for both its block and head. This material and a high degree of engineering for weight reduction makes the 2ZZ-GE one of the highest performing engines available in its displacement class when power-to-weight ratio of the engine itself is considered. This LIGHT and powerful engine is therefore ideally suited to the light Elise. In exchange, lotus must use their own technology such as software for ecu n also tuning the engine to max that even toyota n yamaha didnt manage to do. so lotus took the challenge.

Lotus has retuned(NOT DETUNED) the 2ZZ-GE for use in Elise, smoothing out the torque dip at the 6000 rpm cam changeover point and strengthening the torque in the other rpm ranges. In addition to the improved torque Lotus brought the peak horsepower back up. These adjustments were largely accomplished by reprogramming the Engine Control Unit (ECU or engine computer). Toyota has apparently expressed interest in the changes Lotus made to broaden and even the torque and increase the power. Changes to the Lotus version of the engine are not purely electronic, however, as a new intake and exhaust are also fitted. The exhaust is so fully optimized that altering it reportedly results in a significant power loss.

Somewhat surprisingly, they are the toyota’s first all-aluminum engines created by YAMAHA. Being in wide use throughout the Toyota world means these engines have broad parts and service support, thus forming a good basis for the new, worldwide Lotus Elise model.

so, based on the info i get from lotus website, the first reason is because the engine is all aluminum design, therefore it is light, suited the elise. Compare to campro/cps engine, it is using die cast iron (initially want to use all-aluminum, but due to cost constraint n economies of scale, they discard it), so not suited the elise.

secondly, lotus sell cars worldwide, so by using this engine, it is easier to find out parts n service support. meanwhile, campro is initially new to the market(and the parts n services only available in malaysia during that time) n cps development still undergoing.

thirdly, u can never breach contract whenever u already sign an agree upon. so that is 3 basic reasons why lotus use YAMAHA sourced toyota engine.

So, it is not easy as u think when u want to make decision to use which engine for the car. Lotus didnt mass produced engine albeit they build various engines for other companies such as porshe, GM n proton. Building engine is part of their engineering services.

i know, somebody will argue this is wrong, this is right, but u r not the suited person to do the decision, so the management has decide, n i believe the will choose the best options for their company.

and this is about technology behind cps n coming soon turbo campro. Since 1992, Lotus has developed a range of Variable Valvetrain systems to demonstrate benefits. One example is the development of a Mechanically Variable Valvetrain (MVVT) system, with principles similar to BMW Valvetronic system, to optimise engine performance. Reduced pumping losses due to throttleless operation also lead to benefits in fuel economy – 15% reduction in fuel consumption has been predicted. These systems exist as ‘Bookshelf’ designs and are available under licence from Lotus.

An example of a design that was fully exploited is the Lotus Cam Profile Switching (CPS) system. This is a simpler two-position cam profile switching mechanism which provides significant increase in engine performance whilst offering a very good cost /
    benefit ratio. The system is proven in volume production with several OEMs
    (including Porsche) and available today from Lotus/INA.

another way is by Engine Downsizing with Pressure Charging. The achievement of increased power density is pursued at Lotus through engine downsizing with pressure charging. This involves replacing large capacity naturally aspirated engines with smaller capacity forced induction units that achieve similar power outputs.Lotus is currently manage to create a highly innovative approach to pressure charging that offers greater benefits than conventional charging systems. The benefits include
    smaller capacity engine for same performance output with reduced friction losses, delivering reduced fuel consumption and emissions.

so, happy motoring

• well, so much debating on toyota n campro engine. let us start with history. we start with rover engine. Rover’s K engine was a clean sheet of paper design with some innovative features such as through bolting of the bottom and top ends through the block and lightweight construction. While the Rover K engine had some innovative features and was relatively light, it was never designed to meet U.S. emissions requirements. The K engine was a relatively new design in 1995 when Lotus proposed its use in the original Elise. But by the time Lotus decided to bring Elise to the U.S., the K would no longer meet upcoming European emissions requirements either, so Elise would soon be needing a new engine for all markets.

Lotus and Toyota have a long history together, including Toyota purchasing engineering services from lotus. because of that, lotus sourcing Toyota’s new, 1.8 liter(during that time), YAMAHA-designed 2ZZ-GE engine for use in Elise. This is the most recent in a series of Toyota performance engines created by YAMAHA.

The 2ZZ-GE is Toyota’s first all-aluminum engine, meaning it uses aluminum for both its block and head. This material and a high degree of engineering for weight reduction makes the 2ZZ-GE one of the highest performing engines available in its displacement class when power-to-weight ratio of the engine itself is considered. This LIGHT and powerful engine is therefore ideally suited to the light Elise. In exchange, lotus must use their own technology such as software for ecu n also tuning the engine to max that even toyota n yamaha didnt manage to do. so lotus took the challenge.

Lotus has retuned(NOT DETUNED) the 2ZZ-GE for use in Elise, smoothing out the torque dip at the 6000 rpm cam changeover point and strengthening the torque in the other rpm ranges. In addition to the improved torque Lotus brought the peak horsepower back up. These adjustments were largely accomplished by reprogramming the Engine Control Unit (ECU or engine computer). Toyota has apparently expressed interest in the changes Lotus made to broaden and even the torque and increase the power. Changes to the Lotus version of the engine are not purely electronic, however, as a new intake and exhaust are also fitted. The exhaust is so fully optimized that altering it reportedly results in a significant power loss.

Somewhat surprisingly, they are the toyota’s first all-aluminum engines created by YAMAHA. Being in wide use throughout the Toyota world means these engines have broad parts and service support, thus forming a good basis for the new, worldwide Lotus Elise model.

so, based on the info i get from lotus website, the first reason is because the engine is all aluminum design, therefore it is light, suited the elise. Compare to campro/cps engine, it is using die cast iron (initially want to use all-aluminum, but due to cost constraint n economies of scale, they discard it), so not suited the elise.

secondly, lotus sell cars worldwide, so by using this engine, it is easier to find out parts n service support. meanwhile, campro is initially new to the market(and the parts n services only available in malaysia during that time) n cps development still undergoing.

thirdly, u can never breach contract whenever u already sign an agree upon. so that is 3 basic reasons why lotus use YAMAHA sourced toyota engine.

So, it is not easy as u think when u want to make decision to use which engine for the car. Lotus didnt mass produced engine albeit they build various engines for other companies such as porshe, GM n proton. Building engine is part of their engineering services.

i know, somebody will argue this is wrong, this is right, but u r not the suited person to do the decision, so the management has decide, n i believe the will choose the best options for their company.

and this is about technology behind cps n coming soon turbo campro. Since 1992, Lotus has developed a range of Variable Valvetrain systems to demonstrate benefits. One example is the development of a Mechanically Variable Valvetrain (MVVT) system, with principles similar to BMW Valvetronic system, to optimise engine performance. Reduced pumping losses due to throttleless operation also lead to benefits in fuel economy – 15% reduction in fuel consumption has been predicted. These systems exist as ‘Bookshelf’ designs and are available under licence from Lotus.

An example of a design that was fully exploited is the Lotus Cam Profile Switching (CPS) system. This is a simpler two-position cam profile switching mechanism which provides significant increase in engine performance whilst offering a very good cost /
    benefit ratio. The system is proven in volume production with several OEMs
    (including Porsche) and available today from Lotus/INA.

another way is by Engine Downsizing with Pressure Charging. The achievement of increased power density is pursued at Lotus through engine downsizing with pressure charging. This involves replacing large capacity naturally aspirated engines with smaller capacity forced induction units that achieve similar power outputs.Lotus is currently manage to create a highly innovative approach to pressure charging that offers greater benefits than conventional charging systems. The benefits include
    smaller capacity engine for same performance output with reduced friction losses, delivering reduced fuel consumption and emissions.

so, happy motoring..

• hopefully everybody got the clear pictures about yamaha sourced toyota engine debate n campros.

• leonardo on Apr 13, 2010 at 5:16 pm

A sports car with a consience – i wish i could afford one :(

So what if Lotus is using a Toyota engine? It’s easier and cheaper to maintain in the long run, so buyers can have fun minus the worries of relaiability and spare parts.

• KCivic on Apr 13, 2010 at 6:36 pm

OK, i have a question here. Will any of us buy a “Proton Sports Car”, tuned nicely by Lotus, uses the Campro 1.6L engine, new design, maybe copy a bit of the Lotus Elise design, weighs less than 1 tonnes, stiffer suspension, better handling, new and nice sports rims, put in Michelin or Potenza tires, interior must not be cheap plasticky looking but black and nice interior, tachometer and rpm counters starts from “6 o’clock position”, does not matter whether green technology engine or not, new design, ok no harm mentioning on new design again cos we cannot continue using Neo design, and the price….. say…RM118k????? Nice number, sure can sell very well…. And if we can get 100 votes here who say they will buy, then maybe PROTON should listen and think hard about their first Proton Performance Based Sports Car, and you can all it what you want as long as the new design is mouth-watering, fantastic specs and performance and road handling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe we can call it PROTUS, a JV between Proton and Lotus…that will be damn cool…….. Make it really agressive looking you know….

• selekohboi on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:41 pm

yup i’m 200% agree. Paul can we have such poll? please…please…please… (+ puppies eye u know O_O)

• Eyesore on Apr 14, 2010 at 12:54 pm

What JV? Proton already owned Lotus…no need JV… lorrr

• 20v_ke35 on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:11 am

1.6 lotus? this time around? Are gov really planing to go ahead for AFTA things this May?

• aremere on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

hebat gak kte nih cam ferari jeh juba renung kak dan selamat beramal