Honda EV-neo electric scooter – perfect delivery machine

Honda has revealed the latest prototype of its EV-neo electric scooter and announced plans to begin lease sales in Japan by the end of this year to businesses that provide delivery services.

The EV-neo was designed with the durability required for commercial use, and when the maker of the Honda Cub says it’s durable, we’ll take their word for it. Powered by a Toshiba lithium-ion battery and a brushless motor, the EV-neo provides zero emissions commuting of “over 30km per charge”. This figure is calculated at 30 km/h on a flat road, so real world range should be less than that. 30 km isn’t much, which explains the delivery service target market. In Japan, these businesses need transport to move about swiftly in crowded inner cities, and don’t cover long distances.

About 80% of the battery capacity will be charged in 20 minutes (200V power source) with a quick charger. Using a normal charger, a full charge takes four hours (100V). Honda says the EV-neo provides performance equivalent to that of a 50cc gasoline engine motorcycle. The electric motor’s immediate response and strong low end torque should make it a nippy little thing to ride.

More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1054]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Squawk on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Rempits won’t buy.

• jolly_idiot on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Wow… wonder it suits our mat rempit here?

• can’t go further than 15km on this thing.. don’t forget you have to return back to your charging station after delivery. maybe langkawi can use this bike.

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm

perfect deliver machine = green motobike + sweet girl?
    not bad not bad…

• Hhmm. This should quite useful for my workers. They always don’t have money for buying petrol. Hope Honda will sell it cheaper than petrol version.

• King Samurai on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I used to do part time sending newspaper in Japan on the 50cc Honda Cup back 13-14 years ago. 50cc honda cup pretty nippy and reliable even have adequate power climbing on small hills where there were the houses I sent newspaper located.Finally honda got an electric replacement for these commercial bikes which existed for 60 years…and the last picture really bring back the nostalgia..TQ Paul..

• lambov12 on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:20 pm

when it will reach Malaysia ?? Thinking of getting 1 …

• walalala on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Stupid and practical…
    imagine if got stuck in flood…
    sure electric shock…

• ^(oo)^ on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:26 pm

lol cool

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:29 pm

soon when this come to malaysia…

rempit pizza-guy would be diong stunt with this…

sooo cute….sneaky to outrun policeman tooo :lol:

• Honda is No.1, modenas should learn from HONDA.

• jason on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Eclimo will be the up-coming electric bike when it is launch in the market.

• piza_house on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:33 pm

well pizza is gonna cost more after this?

• juzznerd on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:09 pm

remind me of Pasola……

• Someone on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:20 pm

This might work in Japan, but not in Malaysia.

Taken Honda’s example, it can’t even deliver pizza. Do you know how far is a Pizza Hut / Dominos branch from your home? Take a look at normal housing area, 30km barely covers. To make it work, you’ll need to constantly charge it using the quick charger, and this will wear out the battery, thus driving cost of ownership. Ideally, around 50km will make the mark.

• TheKHAI on Apr 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Then after you’ve got your pizza. you can ask for a price reduction cause they will surely need to borrow your electricity to recharge their scoot.

• typical malaysian on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Im not a motorcyclist guy, however i ve tried many kinds of bikes. I have found that scooters are highly unstable due to its small tyres. See episode of Top Gear in vietnam to see my point. Jeremy clarkson had a painfull accident on a scooter. Why on earth engineer keeps using that flawed design?

• PrideandJoy on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:53 pm

1. you can see that Jeremy already said that he never ever ride a motorcylce in his entire life. thats why you can see he also struggling with the honda cub when they try to apply the license.

2. you can see the vespa engine is on the right side, making the scooter not properly ‘balanced’. making it hard for the beginner to ride propely.

3. i dont see small tyre as a flawed design. it is their characteristics. there will be no problem at all when you get used to it.

4. i use a trusty 1969 vespa since the day i got my license. so far so good. no problem at all. now planning to get a lambretta.

• Squawk on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

It’s the rider not the machine. I see many cyclists in Taiwan with the foldable small wheeled bicycles. Don’t see them falling over.

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 17, 2010 at 2:00 am

“Im not a motorcyclist guy,……….”

Given by your first statement, we totally understand and will forgive you for your ridiculous comment….

so you dun have a B2 license?
      i guess so…

and pls dun let ur comments heard by those who have B or B1 license…

• Iskandar on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm

I’m more interested in the delivery girl than the scooter

• Black Dog on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Paul, how about the locally produced ecLiMo electric scooter launched in The Star today?

• benda ni takkan sampai kat negara kita. kalau sampai pun JPJ takkan lepas punya. yang negara kita buat iaitu solarin turtle pun masih sangkut kat mana ntah kat JPJ tu. kata mereka keciklah, tak ikut spesifikasilah, tak lajulah, merbahaya kepada kenderaan lainlah….macam2 hal JPJ…
    padahal kat negara luar, slamber je boleh jual skuter solarin hybrid tu…

nak berbangga kenderaan luar tapi rupanya negara kita dah keluarkan dulu tapi akhirnya JPJ yang sekat penjualan d negara…malah dengar cerita solarin pun nak pindah kilang ke negara lain…

• ariff on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Modenas Electric Motorcycle (Citric)

Speed Similar to 90cc

On The Road Price

RM 4,888.00 (electric starter)

US Dollar is Around $1500.00

*Price shown is On The Road Price

http://www.modenas.com.my/videoIntroCTric.asp : – Video
      http://www.modenas.com.my – Official Website

• armandd on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:19 pm

btoi tu gie7. kerajaan m’sia masih blum nampak potensi & kebaikan kenderaan elektrik ni. Even our road tax is still based on cubic capacity, not amount of CO2 released or current price of the vehicle.

• kopi-man on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:02 am

so glad to see Honda is trying to improve in CO emission to the world

• Squawk on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Would it be wrong to assume there’s no sound coming from this bike other than tyre noise? That’d be kinda dangerous wouldn’t it?

• Read somewhere the price is quite expensive compared to conventional mopeds.

• kremer on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:25 am

alaa i think this bike like suzuki v100 lah….long distance cannot, if treler or super-extreme fast lori hantu , the bike will melayang, then if use in federal highway..sure kena kutuk, cos federal highway bike lane is for faster n hardcore user expecially peak hour…i know la …i daily used the lane…:)…

• kremer on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

and i am not mat rempits, just use motorcyle to go to work…jimat minyak, duit, masa etc

• ariff on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Electric Motorcycle

Speed Similar to 90cc

On The Road Price

RM 4,888.00 (electric starter)

US Dollar is Around $1500.00

*Price shown is On The Road Price

http://www.modenas.com.my/videoIntroCTric.asp : – Video
    http://www.modenas.com.my – Official Website

• uldarico f. fial on Sep 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm

we have already develope a delivery tricycle which more advantage than what you have and more power full torque 60 km/ charging and 22 php / charge ,top speed 80 km/h and has aclimbing capabilities of 30 degrees.