Peugeot 3008 in Putrajaya – new Pug launch imminent?

It looks like Peugeot’s 3008 crossover will soon hit the streets of KL, since a unit has already been spotted around Putrajaya by reader Redzallica.

This particular unit has the very same paint that was used by Peugeot in the 3008 launch’s press relase photos – a kind of bronzeish colour.

The 3008 is sort of a cross between a hatch and an SUV. The interior is said to have a sedan-like driving position, and I quite like the design of the cabin, which you can find in a full gallery after the jump. The center dash area features an assist grip much like a hardcore 4WD vehicle, although for now the 3008 is front wheel drive only. However there’s a dial in the interior of the press release car that shows 5 “Grip Control” modes – Standard, Snow, Off Road (Mud/Dirt/Wet Grass), Sand and ESP off.

There is however, an all-wheel drive hybrid version called the 3008 Hybrid4 which uses electric power for the rear wheels said to be coming in the future.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the 3008.

Peugeot 3008
Click for enlarged image

[zenphotopress number=99 album=85]

VIDEO: Peugeot 3008 Crossover

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alpha on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:25 am

paul,how much do u think this pug will be sold at??btw,it looks kinda refreshing to me.

• anti-cheater on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:34 am

1st….my friend..it the nice car…price?

• the stik on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:44 am

cool ad..! bravo…

• i want another car... on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:56 am

i wonder if the version sold in malaysia will have the heads up display as shown in the photos….

• hey! i saw this at JPJ putrajaya few days back. 2 of them, 1 is this color, and nother is kinda like silverish color. i thought it has been launched months ago at ikano?

• gellardo on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:04 am

really like it..how much and when it will be at NAZA showroom

• T.ALPHARD is P.JUARA on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:13 am

Very nice & its triangular rear light is very similar to NAZA SUTERA. The front like NAZA CITRA

• mystvearn on Apr 30, 2010 at 9:21 am

WhatCar? Car of the year 2009…

• donadoni on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:09 am

UGH!!!..i think i’m gonna puke..

• rchoo on Apr 30, 2010 at 10:10 am

Auto only with EURO 5? Malaysia does not have EURO % compliance yet.

Paul, any Auto with petrol?

• Interesting looking car. Something to consider if the pricing is right. Thanks Naza for bringing this here..

• Mad Cat on May 01, 2010 at 6:30 am

Nasim brings it here, not Naza.

• nasim subs of Naza….more the less the same group

• Mad Cat on May 02, 2010 at 4:51 am

Nasim is a subsidiary of Naza Group. When we describe Deftech, we talk about Deftech not DRB-Hicom. Using the correct company name would be more accurate.

• feisal on Apr 30, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Bring in the HDI. Price it below X-Trail.

• mitlanevo on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:26 pm

not-so-good exterior, but very good interior…

• The Dean on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:49 pm

outstanding and sleek european design. breaking free from typical crossover designation.

• azrai on Apr 30, 2010 at 2:56 pm

on the way to JPJ Putrajaya for approval.

• LANCER2010 on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Of course it gonna be sold at naza showrooms.. Naza is the sole importer of the PEUGEOT in asean ma.. Very nice car, thanks to naza for bringing it in.

• Mad Cat on May 01, 2010 at 6:30 am

Wrong dude, it’s Nasim Sdn Bhd.

• gattaca on May 01, 2010 at 7:58 am

nasim is one of the holdings of NAZA… so its not wrong to say naza bring this anyway..

• mb3300 on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Thought the back was ugly…the front is even more unbearable!

• mb3300 on Apr 30, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Only the imported 408 is worthy to look at, everything else is a complete eye sore.

• Maserati on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:03 pm

O so this was the car I spotted in ara damansara 3 days nvm. Was thinking wat car it was. Looks much better in real life

• the 2.0 hdi diesel looks yummy…..150/163hp…torque at 340nm@2,000rpm…17.8km/liter or 15km/liter…thats honda city/vios/civic hybrid fuel consumption!!….double wow…but, surely will need euro 4 diesel….hmm, nxt year msia will be heading for euro4??

• Rear and interior look awful to me. The front is nice though.

• uda salleh on Apr 30, 2010 at 6:00 pm

i like this… told u b4… this is what proton needs to do next… just use the Exora MPV platform and SUV-ise the Exora and get a crossover vehicle… kiddie seats at the back to fit 6 is enuf… Great for mature jantan macho guys… hehehehee.. then can leave the Exora for them Pakcik n Makcik…. Dato’ Syed Zainal listening? Pleasssssseeeee… :-)

• sirimusa on Apr 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Dear Paul,

Looking at the specs, it seems like the 3008 turbo version ONLY come with a 6 speed manual! Will the Malaysian version go for an auto version, and if they do, will it still be the ageing 4-speed auto or the new 6-speed Paul mentioned not too long ago?

Price? Knowing that the 308 Turbo goes for 114k, I’m guessing this one will go for 120-125k max… with a panoramic roof, turbo, 6-speed auto and 6 airbags. If so, I will book immediately. I’ve been waiting for this release for quite some time now!

• 308 turbo is a CKD….3008 is CBU……i dont think it will be that less……maybe around rm140k……since our gomen needs the tax money for buy elections…..lol….

• Mad Cat on May 01, 2010 at 6:32 am

If it comes with the glass roof, 6-speed auto, Head Up Display, more than 2 airbags, ESP, etc. and its a CBU, I strongly believe it will be much, much more than 140k.

• Chaos on May 01, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Well i wonder wat the price would ?Been shocked a lot lately by the prices of Forte, Mondeo and Honda Freed.
          Some car specs just don’t add up to their price anymore. if u know what i mean….

• BSLee on May 01, 2010 at 9:58 am

I heard it is a CBU, will be launched after 2nd quarters at RM 150K. Don’t know the specification.

• BSLee on May 01, 2010 at 10:09 am

CKD? I doubt so .Saw one brand new (not delivered yet) being dismantled at Juru 3S for multiple wiring problems. Asked why was the car there ? if it is a CKD ,it should be sent back straight to Gurun for a re fix . Apparently the only authorized workshop have the expertise to handle this kind of problems..It is only CKD on name.

• BSLee on May 01, 2010 at 10:12 am

I meant 308turbo ? CKD.

• callenish on May 01, 2010 at 4:25 pm

308 vti & turbo is CKD. 308 THP is CBU.

anyway, in order to get car declare as CKD, the assembler need to assemble 30% of the car in our shore. did you know what is assemble in NAZA plant to get the 308 ‘CKD’ed? only the bumber and the wheels.

• tokmoh on May 02, 2010 at 12:26 am

@callenish : Are people supposed to sulk about it? I thought people should rejoice for:

1. they can get cheaper imports at last.
            2. quality is assured as it’s actually built overseas excluding bumper and wheels

• callenish on May 02, 2010 at 11:41 am

tokmoh,

i didn’t mean i don’t like it. i just want to say the same thing as what you say, CKD doesn’t means it is poor quality. they just play around with the regulation and they made it right for us.. peace :)

• look at all the switches under the air vents. as if steering a rocket.

• Mad Cat on May 01, 2010 at 6:33 am

I think they were looking for an ‘Aircraft Design’. Well, it does remind me of the Fairchild C-119 Flying Boxcar!!!

• think on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:17 pm

the car is good..pls do not fix it with a four speed automatic,,really annoying..at least a five speeeder and controls in steering…it should be priced less than the peuugeot 407..

• Mad Cat on May 01, 2010 at 6:34 am

Peugeot will go straight to 6-speed, to compete with the Germans. 5-speeders are for the techno-Japs. Toyotas will still continue with 4-speed cos Malaysians like the badge and the fact that they can say, “I’m driving a TO-YO-TA! Oh what a feeling, To-yo-TA!”.

• google king on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:55 pm

I LOVE PEUGEOT !!

• pug’s version of hyundai matrix / suzuki sx4 ?

• It will be 6 speed auto and no way will it be cheaper than 407. Just look at its competitors prices.

• nyan46 on May 01, 2010 at 10:18 am

information on screen is superb

• Alan Wong on May 01, 2010 at 12:57 pm

expected price to be around RM 170K…. That’s my guess

• i say around RM150k : )

• I, on the other hand pray that it will be affordable.. <RM140k ;p Can't wait to look-see the car!

• Mad Cat on May 02, 2010 at 4:54 am

My bet is somewhere around the RM150-160k range. Hopefully closer to RM150k. The thing is if they know this is a low volume, ’emotional purchase’ car, the price will go up to cover type approval, parts stocking, sales and service training, launching budget, A&P, etc.

• Asked pj branch, they said will be priced at around 12xk. Not sure how true is it….

• i think that chap at the pj branch has no idea what he or she is talking about. that price is too cheap for a real premium product ;)

• Tiadaid on May 01, 2010 at 8:08 pm

As opposed to premium pricing for cheap product?

• Mad Cat on May 02, 2010 at 4:56 am

Peugeot in Malaysia has always been described by Nasim as an ‘Aspiring’ European brand. For them, ‘PREMIUM’ is Audi, BMW, Benz and Porsche. But of course, the Freeed is what Big Red calls ‘Premium’. Hehehehe.

• rulered on May 01, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Why aren’t they launching 5008 first as others are launching their MPVs ?

• This is horrible!

• Eric G on May 02, 2010 at 4:47 pm

the only reason why i will buy this car is the sophisticated cockpit.

• lotus paste power on May 02, 2010 at 11:22 pm

the front design of the car looks cacat…….

• Nyamuk Me on May 03, 2010 at 9:26 am

From side view looks nice , but the front part looks like a smiley car wearing ‘teeth braces’ …

• Nice interior.

• New Kid In Town on May 05, 2010 at 9:07 am

this model only 1.6T available in Malaysia. But the price still unknown. i rather choose New Tucson if the price is higher than Tucson.

• intermilan on May 06, 2010 at 11:04 am

My take is this 3008 will be a CKD.
    How Nasim do that, i dont care, but i’m sure it will be declared as CKD.
    Beside, there is no business justification at all to bring it as CBU.
    Even if its the current WhatCar’s Car of the Year grand award winner.

Win-win situation.
    With CKD, thus lower price, will leads to higher volume selling. This will bring more money i.e. profit to Nasim or collected taxed to G. G should be smart to realise it by now. The buyer also able get it at a lower, more reasonable cost.

Price.
    The price should be in the RM120K region at the maximum, and at that price, expect the 3008 that we gonna get here is almost full spec. Nasim & Peugeot has been going along that path (with 308Turbo) and they should stay that way.

Engine.
    They will only be offered with the petrol 1.6L Turbo engine with uprated power rating of 156bhp (newer version. the older version is the 140bhp engine as in 308Turbo). Torque (240Nm) should remain the same. Diesel have to wait and wait.

Gearbox.
    Only automatic for us. And I am sure that these 3008 will be the first Peugeot sold in Malaysia to be equipped with the new 6-speed AM6 automatic gearbox. Gone are the days of the 4-speed AL4 gearbox.

• Nurul on May 07, 2010 at 2:12 pm

as a lady driver who has been driving kelisa and myvi as a second car, i would upgrade to this one if the price is ranging 130-150k.., bring this here faster, tired of being looking at 2 biggie names H & T only..

• akinaqi on May 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

is this 3008 similar size as kia rondo?

• If the price is <135k sure will get this one..oledi jual vios n driving saga now..sien liao..must get this..

• AH LIAN on Jun 28, 2010 at 12:48 pm

3008 MAINTAIN SAME PRICE AS RM143,000 FOR CKD. IT STILL WORTH FOR ITS SAFTEY AND PERFORMANCE FACTORS. ALTHOUGH ASSEMBLE LOCALLY, BUT THE QUALITY IS THERE. WHAT WOULD BE THE PRICE IF THE PEUGEOT LOGO CHANGE TO BMW AND MERC OR AUDI? ADD RM 100K PLS, MAY BE…