Honda Civic moved to archives on Honda Japan website – next generation coming soon?

There’s something very interesting happening over at Honda Japan’s website – the 8th generation Honda Civic have been removed from all the car line-up pages. The only reference to the Civic can now only be found under ‘Archives’ area. The page linked in the previous line lists the 8th generation as having a lifespan of 2007/09 to 2010/08! The Civic Hybrid based on the 8th generation car remains to be listed.

What does this mean? Only one thing – Honda is likely going to unveil the 9th generation Honda Civic very soon, since they’ve sort of ‘phased out’ the 8th generation non-hybrid sedan in Japan. Thanks to reader Calvin/lanarshad@8GCC for the tip!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Facebook_User on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:12 am

I thought it was going to be unveiled next year???anyhow,cant wait for the new civic

• guest on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:50 am

yeah, at least no “kereta kebal” :-)

• FAReast on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

i hope that the new civic can come with:
      6-speed dual clutch transmision
      1.6 twin charged engine (turbocharged + supercharged)
      so that it can fight with vw golf and hyundai avante…

• Francis on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Who knows maybe Honda wanna follow Suzuki footstep go and challenge German car…with USD$100…

• i was also browsing through this website….
    one thing i want to ask u paul….why does our accord are called inspire in their country???
    and their accord are totally different car…and by different i meant better…..

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:43 am

That Accord looks smaller abit. It’s the same one sold in the UK. Our Accord is the same as the US market punya… designed for markets where the typical buyer in that segment thinks bigger and more spacious is better!

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:13 am

Yes Paul. Some more its competitor, the camry is as big as inspire so no point the sells JDM accord here.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Actually, Toyota also has the same model segmentation like Honda. Corolla, The Allion/Premio (ex Corona nameplate) and then the up-sized Camry.

The JDM/UDM Accord is a direct competitor to the Allion, while the Inspire competes with the Camry.

Even the previous generation Camry is based on the much larger USDM Camry (new one is Australian). Little wonder why Toyota discontinued the Corona nameplate after 2002.

Even Nissan has the Altima and Maxima, which as usual Nissan fair, is always around 1/2 size larger than its competition.

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:10 am

bro, Corona’s new nameplate is Avensis. i think the reason japanese car manufacturers are starting to change model names are influenced by proton. except for saga, every new model has different name.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:52 am

Paul i saw the specs of the Japanese Accords 2.4 and our accords 2.4. Impressively they are using an engine producing over 200 bhp under normally aspirated. http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=10663. Why 2 different engines for a same model?

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:23 pm

The US market also has both “Accord”. The regular accord what we have here and the Acura TSX which is the Euro/Japanese Accord. For the US, the base engine is the 2.4 making the regular ~160 hp, and the TSX uses the “same” 2.4 albeit with higher state of tune to 200hp.

So technically, its easy for Honda to spec in different engines to further segment the market…after all they already have them available.
          (if you look at BMW, they use the same displacement engine and call it different “models” based on output….)

The reson the Japanese Accord is smaller is due to tax bracketing. They use the Inspire for the higher segment, and its generally better specified and appointed.

• Facebook_User on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Sapa ni brani thumbs down PaulTan??aiyo this is his site ok.dont mess with the Taukeh

• Cidu Man on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Maybe Perkasa geng! ha hah hah! Please forgive me Ibrahim Ali (^-^)

• alldisc on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

sumting to share – Accord has several model variations even from the 80s. There are the standard spec Accord, Vigor, Ascot & Inspire. Just like Corolla with Levin, Sprinter, Trueno, Spacio & Verso variations.

If I am not mistaken, Rafaga is also a species of Accord.

Then in the late 90s, there was Accord Euro which was a little smaller than the standard issue Accord.

IMHO Honda brought in the Inspire for Malaysian market just because of its size which is pretty big compare to it all time nemesis – the Camry. The reason? Its all about marketing and having the upper hand…. and to woo more buyers. its as simple as that.

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:22 am

japan country is crowded country with limited space and parking

therefore they had to downsized their honda accord to fit the situation of their country

also bare in mind they have to stretch the accord for other reasons too , malaysians generally has bigger family size which requires more space to fit

as for the Americans they get the stretched Accord because they are overweight

BeemerFreak says:
      24/8/2010 at 8:52 am
      Paul i saw the specs of the Japanese Accords 2.4 and our accords 2.4. Impressively they are using an engine producing over 200 bhp under normally aspirated. http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=10663. Why 2 different engines for a same model?

lol silly smaller size of course means lighter in weight which translate to more performance

physic also dont know?

• sheikomatic on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:26 am

its simply a different engine K20Z2(150hp) vs K20Z3(200hp), or at least the valve cams or ECU is modified.

stripping off weight from your car didnt give any effect on the power output..

or you can try your logic on a kancil, strip of the passenger seat,accessories, see if you get extra 50hp

• Haidir on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Lol. bhp base on the output of the engine not weight. for weight they use PWR = power to weight ratio

• lonewuzz on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:31 am

the japan accord are the same model as UK accord with 2.0 and 2.4 engine,and inspire have the bigger engine 3.0 and 3.5(new model).

• DiscoStick on Aug 25, 2010 at 1:09 am

I’ve seen this so-called Accord in JB. It’s Singapore registered. :)

• drMpower on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:30 am

yeah, that man should be credited for the finding. but i wonder what on earth he was doing browsing honda japan’s website? too enthusiastic i believe? ;p kidding man

so the rumors about the successor to FD coming in 2012 is gone to the drain. but strangely not even single spy shot is available on the net. all we have, is drawings by this and that magazine.

• LoveIt on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:45 am

Inside Jap website the info of the cars are more detailed compared to our stupid website…also they got something like testimonial from the buyer and club going in there for respective cars..

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:15 am

Its not gone to the drain. it was just delayed due to honda want to spice up a bit front facia from its original design. So wait patiently for surprise.

• alldisc on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

yeah, Honda was pretty good in hiding the 9th gen Civic out of camera lens during road tests.

anyway, I always believe any hot japanese model will have a short life cycle of 4 years while the not so selling well will either get extended showroom life to 5 or 6 years or cut off altogether. We saw this in some Nissan models and even Toyota (6 years of ZZE12# Altis and Caldina – no more production).

Civic FD was launched here in 2006 so replacement model is just timely. Japan may introduce it in 2010 but we can Malaysia to get it sometime in 2011. anything more than that then Honda Malaysia is digging its own graveyard.

• hang solo on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:47 am

sooooooo sorry, honda civic will only be launched 2nd-3rd quarter 2011, hence the complete new Honda Civic 9th Gen will only “assemble” & “launch” in 1st quarter of 2012.

• ilikeit on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:59 pm

nope you can see some sypshot in YouTube already…

• Kington on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:32 am

This should be interesting… as always, the launch of Honda’s bread and butter model.

I hope it doesn’t get any bigger than what it is right now.

• mirror mirror on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:34 am

The Civic is always a great car, can’t wait to see the 9th gen.

• who cares…

• ryanh on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:17 am

of course he doesn’t care… he can only afford a 10 yr old Kenari lol

• likahsing on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:04 am

i do care bro. i want to buy i cash for my son studying in mars

• nolan on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:56 am

can’t wait for the new civic….i think the present civic look so simple and not up to my cup of tea….engine wise ok but the exterior design a bit too huge…..

• GreenEco on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:57 am

Erstmals wurde die neue Generation des Honda Civic von einem Erlkönig-Jäger abgeschossen. 2012 wird der neue Honda Civic in Europa auf den Markt kommen.

For the first time the new generation of Honda Civic by a test Hunter was shot. The New Honda Civic will be launched in Europe in 2012.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7LLdBrzj2Y&feature=player_embedded

• Facebook_User on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:45 am

Thanks mate!!

• drMpower on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:36 am

forgive me if my eyes deceive me but from that clip, it seems the ‘new’ civic is about the size of a golf

which makes it a bit strange.

• Bob_B78 on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

The overall shape resembles the latest honda city.
      I don’t think this is not the new civic.

• evoskylancer on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

the civic in the video is the hatchback version, right?

• gangully on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:47 am

you all have to bear in mind that the civics that europe gets is always different from the civics you get here in the ASEAN region… heck even within the ASEAN region we have different iterations of the same car…

so this may not be the civic we will get here… also, civics in Europe almost always is a hatchback/notchback version because its competition is the golf, megane, …

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:13 am

the europeans are crazy with hatchbacks. cant get enough of them.

• samkhairul on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:10 am

should i buy now of wait for next gen? hurmmm

• jamal on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:16 am

agree with kington. hopes it will not get bigger than the current model. waiting for spyshot..

• apple on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:44 am

4 doors Honda Civic sedan is very unpopular here in Japan. I think Honda is planning to stop the Civic production line in Japan factory. Cost cutting measure again? Btw, nowadays, Honda is known as a mini-van manufacturer among Japanese youngsters. As we can see from Honda Japan car lineup, other than Civic Type R, there are no more affordable sport cars with high-revving VTEC engine like the old days. Very very sad :(

• ayusfashion on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:14 am

Hi Apple,

Its so surprising for me to know that Honda is very unpopular in Japan because in Malaysia, Honda is one of the favorite car.

I also love Honda… its symbol of high automotive technology.. especially because its from Japan.

Anyway, thank you for giving such a great info about Honda.

• apple on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Honda is still a popular brand in Japan but Accord and Civic are not as popular as in ASEAN countries. Well Honda Japan still selling a lot of Fit (Jazz), Stream and Odyssey. FYI Honda also already stopped Honda Legend production line since last month. So currently Honda doesn’t have their luxury model flagship (Legend) and high performance sports car (NSX, S2000, Prelude, Integra).

I think the main problem is Honda board members. They are thinking more about profits than pure enthusiasm as an engineering company. I have some friends working at Honda R&D in Japan and they already developing next gen NSX but suddenly in the last minutes the top people said “Cancel the NSX project!. This really remind me when Honda suddenly pull-out from F1 in the end of 2008 when they already built 2009 fast and race winning car (Brawn GP). What a waste!! Soichiro Honda will cry if he knows current Honda company is heading :(

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:12 am

It’s due to phase off as usual not discontinue production of civic model. Yes civic is not as popular as corolla in Japan but it has great fan worldwide. The type R will continue but will use new turbocharge AVTEC engine to follow current downsizing but powerful engine like in europe.

• mufasa on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:47 am

Sad for japanese,,,,but for asean ,to see H and T design a car not for their market is make me jeolous on their achievement …T make avanza for South East Asia… and we buy it like mad people , and those money goes to Japanese…. hoping that proton can be ASEAN brand

• rossi46 on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Finally…..i guess Honda engineers had figure out that people don’t give a toss about F1 inspired, rev happy engines. For everyday use people want torque, at low revs. Turbo petrol or diesel, get with the program Honda like what most conti cars been doing ( looks at vw, pug, beemer…all torque laden engine at low rev for daily use + low FC)

• gigganet on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:17 am

maybe it’s the heat from Koreans? :)

• OMG == paul you miss that news is it ???
    honda is stopping the production of honda civic 4 door PETROL and continues sell the hybrid. this news isn’t new ! and honda plan to do so for the next gen of civic also !
    honda legend and honda elysion is also on the list of the vehicle who will be stop produce and cease

• Mentula on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:38 am

Started with the 6th generation Accord if aint mistaken. Since then (3 generations already), each JDM Accord look better than our version :(

• azrai on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:49 am

We are waiting for Myvi to be put in the archives too.

• sochamic on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:17 am

It’s time. Toyota Altis already coming out with their new model so this is time for Civic to fight back and show off!!

• likahsing on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:24 pm

altis is nothing laaa. civic in the class of it’s own.

altis harap orlando bloom jer buat iklan

• creator mind on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:28 am

this is interesting to watch, since sonata has come to our shores… beating H in every direction. the only downfall is the sonata not having dual tone dashboard and the spare tyre is the space saver type… yucks! well, if this 9th generation civic can up match sonata in most areas, it would be great. We shall wait n c, afterall it’s our money and we are sure to spend it well worth!

• honda cant match the price the hyundai/kia offering…honda malaysia are so greedy…

• rossi46 on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:24 pm

sonata is competing wt accord….the new avante will compete wt civic

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Nothing wrong with a space saver. Less weight and more boot space.

But other than that, Honda is definately feeling some heat from Korea.

The Civic is no match to the Sonata…they are not in the same segment. Its Korean competition is the Elantra/Avante

• waklu on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:44 am

ala..civic yg ni x nampak garang yg mcm sekarang(based on pict la)

• gargoon on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:45 am

nice…doing d development, u can say…it a nice car…interior the best in civic class i say…and d exterior…judging from the look on prototype..u can say..this car at his very own class compare to others…releasing date at japan around this year…and malaysia..just add a year to japan date..;)

• hadi75 on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:11 am

thanx for the link…the rear is really high like a notchback/hatchback..

• But some spy shots photo seems to tell that the 9th generation Honda Civic still uses the same design and platform and only some minor changes. Well, no one knows until it is unveil, and hopefully is gives us a WOW factor against the All new Hyundai Elantra

• NIKE TAI on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:38 am

http://www.honda.co.jp/auto-archive/civic/4door/2010/

• klguy on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:46 am

the current 2.0 is already 120k++. i guess the new one will be around 130k

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:29 am

looks ugly

• Honda Japan had already stated elsewhere that sales of the regular Civic will be discontinued, and sales would be filled by the Hybrid Civic until the new model arrives. The new model’s release date was then delayed until the end of 2011.

• Observer on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:06 am

This new civic will be launch in M’sia somewhere in 2012… Wait and see…

• Fiver on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

@GreenEco

Thanks for the link bro, Anyways, i think this is the 2012 civic euro version(?).. i doubt the ones launched here will retain this design style as previously seen in the FN civic euro we see now. but hey, i could be wrong as maybe honda is saving on R&D cost by standardizing their market+design nowadays?

come to think of it, the car shown in the video bears some resemblance to this spyshot of the so-called ‘2011 civic’:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_r64I1hso1xA/SyQlL_oF8TI/AAAAAAAABGg/55BDGSeEe50/s1600-h/2011+HONDA+CIVIC.jpg

what u guys think?

• selekohboi on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:39 pm

body line still look similar to 8th gen CIvic. Wao !!! I want 1…

• BaLesta_RX on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:23 am

Honda Civix for the 9th gen.

• lonewuzz on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

kinda weird.the civic not in the list but the type R civic still in the list under Sport/SUV.why?

• hot latest~spyshot of honda civic:

http://www.autoblog.com/photos/2012-european-honda-civic-spy-shots/#3193554

• I work with a company that associated with Honda for supplying certain parts for Civic, Accord, CRV and City. You will likely see the new Civic model by Q4 2010 in Japan and Q1 2011 in other part of the world.

• paul…like this one?…. http://carsspyphotos.com/category/honda/ it seem got 2 version..i guess the coupe is for Europe..

• eUGene on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

can’t wait for the TYPE R and SPOON version!! :)

• xavier lert on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

any spyshot?…now its already second half of the yr….so if its launch this yr pon….we will rcv it by next yr….

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:15 pm

I wonder why Honda has moved the civic to archives?.
    New model coming ?…….3 years lifecycle is too short for any manufactures?.
    Is there something about the design that prompted Honda to change model early.
    I personally don’t like the look and the interior.
    Or Civic will not be sold in Japan market just like the FD2R that is why it has been archived?. Due to weak demand in domestic market?????….

This indeed a mystery…… anyway If the model change is real I am looking forward
    for new design and interior.

• you are right !
      due to low demand ( higher tax charge compare to corolla and sylphy )
      so they discontinue them !

• This Civic was launched here in Mar 2006, 2010 is her 5th year in Malaysia.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:55 pm

I love my HONDA… Wave 110!

i has no VTEC yet fast enough to bring me to any place…

it has very good fuel consumption… RM5 can last for 1day and a half for about 150km journey…

you product is CIVIC conscious product! haha

• civic on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Alamak i jst collect my new FD2 last friday…..

• drMpower on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:11 pm

dont worry. i think the current FD was, still, and will be fantastically beautiful. i think its the hottest civic ever come out of honda.

even EK ones also kalah. kekekek

• orang_malaysia on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:32 pm

it’s OK bro…you’re not alone

• civic on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:26 pm

been waited 2 and half mth finally collected my FD2, now website said going to lunch new model haiz….

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:56 am

in future do some homework research first. nevertheless, civic FD is one already good car – futuristic looks, big and spacious, low maitnenace, powerful and economical engine.

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm

even if honda civic is a beat up piece of box in next 20 years

people will still buy it from honda because they think that driving a honda will increase their chance of losing their virginity

people should stop thinking with dick and start using their brain

Proton offer similar package and performance at alot more cheaper price , although the quality is arguable but at least Proton is improving their quality alot in the recent years especially after they enforce stricter quality control in their manufacturing factories.

and despite the short coming in qualities bare in mind that the spare part are easy to replace and cheap

i am not being bias or Proton fan but i just speak fact and truth , hope people will start realize that they are overpaying just to have piece of outdated “Japanese Engineering”

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

forgot to mention

“Overrated”

• mohd kick on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:50 pm

the blame should go to sumonelse not honda la…wateva

• Crabs on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:30 pm

haha…
      you obviously don’t have the money to get 1…
      or anything above the protons

• Haidir on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

if the tax price are level as proton. civic has the same pricetag as persona loL

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:02 pm

no… persona will be lower… becoz tax on persona also removed…

• Kington on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:35 pm

You have got to be kidding me. To begin with, I started my journey in the automotive world with a Proton, and the RM40K my dad paid for the Wira was somewhat the begining of my journey. With all the problems with the car, i spent no less than 3 to 4 hours on Sundays, attending to my car, broken power windows, switches, rust spots, leaking gearboxes and etc. In some ways it was good, that i learnt so many things, at least i know what could go wrong in a pretty bad car.

A few years later my dad bought a Perodua Kembara. Not an outstanding product, but it was nigh problem free. I really enjoyed using the car on the weekends since my Dad travels outstation in his trusty Volvo. What I’m trying to say is that, if you really want to support the national car segment, go for a Perodua. My uncle is enjoying his retirement in a MyVi SE after ditching his also-problemfull Waja.

• Medusa on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:32 am

Dear Kingston,

I have 2004 Wira, and since then I NEVER have any major problem with it (of course, timing belt and minyak hitam need to be change lah). Sparepart is easy, and virtually nearly any workshop you go you can get it.

• i’m going to say this out loud.
      spending 35k for a car, i’d rather get a 10 yr old civic than a brand new saga.
      Proton is garbage.

• autojohndoe on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:54 pm

then… go buy lorr… no need to tell ppl…. no one care!

do ppl ever car where u spend ur money to?

• Genki on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:23 pm

unfortunately for you….buying a proton=overpaying to have a piece of outdated “Japanese Engineering” with added bonus of shortcomings in quality

• KCivic on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:05 pm

i like u mention the virginity part! Its not true cos i never got more laid before and after i got my honda.. People buy honda, u r right on the branding part but then again, a lot of ppl would believe honda better quality in engineering and materials bcos its true. I drove proton for 11 years before honda came along and i am loving it… U will find out why… Cheers..

• Going to launch next yr? oh yes…just perfect timing for me to change my 3.5 yrs old FD2 into 9G Civic…

• Omg, I just make booking Early this mth… :(

• gargoon on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:19 pm

hmm..just a bit of spec…1.8 and 2.0 for malaysia…electric starter…variant halogen for 1.8 and HID for 2.0…just 1 thing concerning me…most part made localize..due to localization project.. really worried this part…malaysia 100% built the civic…malaysia bolehhh….

• Dumbo on Aug 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

I don’t give a shit about the next gen civic, the current Civic design and drive is still incomparable in the sporty c-segment. I’m collecting my fd2 next week ;)

• handsome*Dude on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:25 pm

YES~ then our Mr.MoFAZ will say proton can overtake Honda very soon~~

typical poor Proton’s supporter

• The regular petrol/gasoline Civic is not there, but the Civic Hybrid is, because Honda will discontinue the petrol/gasoline Civic in Japan, for now the current gen Civic lineup will be Hybrid only.
    http://www.honda.co.jp/CIVICHYBRID/

“Another production change reported by the Nikke that would only affect the Japanese market is the discontinuation of conventional gasoline versions of the Civic. If accurate, that would mean that from now until at least until the next-generation Civic arrives in the Fall of 2011, Honda will only sell the Civic hybrid in its home market.”
    -Autoblog

• superleggera on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Good move by Honda. Honda is one of the company who cares about future. Petroleum might be a history within less than 50 years. We cannot afford to have internal combustion engine forever. That is what engineers at Honda are thinking by phasing out happy revving engine which is considered fuel-guzzling. So, hybrid is a first step towards our future.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:21 pm

I like honda bikes…

• razzack04 on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:33 pm

I love this Civic. My dad bought a black 2.0 with Modulo bodykit, a few month after it was launched. Can’t believe it’s nearly 5 years old. Nothing wrong with Lancer, Sylphy, Altis…. but for me, Civic is best in it’s class. How on earth are they going to come out with something better ? They can easily extend the current model life cycle for another 2 years, no problem.

Honda.. one of the best in its class for cars and bikes. They also make small engines.
    Enjin mesin tebu, mesin rumput, mesin padi kalau pakai enjin honda harga mesti mahal.

• _xXx_ on Aug 25, 2010 at 5:38 pm

If Potong makes this Civic, you still can see new 8th gen Civic 30 years later.

• Kington on Aug 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

the only problems i have with the new Civic is the obstructive A pillars.. and that some plastics do pop-up after a while…

• Honda & Toyota no.1

• jumbsuckuras$ on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:40 am

honda civic are meant for no civic people

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:19 am

It looks more like a proton to me

the front is horrible

and considering the fact that the current civic looks so narcissistically attractive it begins to annoy more

why does that grille has to be so much filled with chrome

come on honda you wanna be cadillac

• Firdaus S. on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Honda Civic version 2010. Please refer to this website –> http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/
    Then publish latest news on this in this web.

• Medusa on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:12 am

I think what car you drive is doesn’t matter; if you have extra money go for higher-end car. If no money or small budget, go for low budget one. Frankly speaking, I really don’t like kancil or viva – feels ‘unsafe’ inside. Is it just me or anybody else have the same feeling?

Proton have their own weakness, Toyota also have it (read in the newspaper), Honda (I believe there must be some?)…I give you one tip lah, I am sure anybody know about this: – take care of your minyak hitam, filters, coolant, battery, minyak brek…insya-Allah everything would be ok for your car.

To be fair, Honda, Ferrari, Merc, Mazda etc. have been around for years; compared to Proton (1980’s). Of course Honda have more experience and knowledge of how to build a good + better car. I really believe, in the next 10-20 years Proton will stand as tall as other brand.

• Mr. Bak on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:30 am

i’m agree with u. all cars have their own weakness. today Toyota Corolla in US market recalled. last week Mazda 3 and Mazda 5 recall around the world. so not fair to condem Proton or their weakness…

• Ten Hong on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Saw the Facelift ver of Honda Inspire (Accord) from the official website too!

• Ten Hong on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:56 pm

New Mugen Inspire too http://www.mugen-power.com/automobile/products/inspire/

• davlee on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:30 am

Collecting my civic 2.0 in a few days, kinda sad knowing new civic coming out soon.
    Now I hope it comes out in 2012/2013, so that i won’t feel so sad :[

• new civic or new altis..

• Carl Wong on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:19 pm

What I WANT to know is, if the 9th generation Honda Civic really is coming next, will the Hybrid version come along at the same time too :)???

I am really really interested in the hybrid model.

• Carl Wong on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:47 am

“if the 9th generation Honda Civic really is coming next *YEAR*”