Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI – our first impressions

The Volkswagen Polo is a car that we have been looking forward to drive ever since Volkswagen Group Malaysia announced back in August that it will be priced below RM110K, which makes it a “possible dream” for many. The reigning 2010 European and World Car of the Year at the price of a Jazz? Tempting!

For that money, we’re offered the latest tech – a 1.2-litre TSI engine and a 7-speed DSG gearbox wrapped in the smart looks of the fifth-generation Polo. Adding to the appeal is that it’s a Volkswagen, which counts good quality, high tech and “premiumness” (in Malaysia) as brand attributes.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Yours truly only got to drive the Polo for about 50 plus km, so this isn’t the full experience I was hoping for. We still managed to drive it over a variety of speeds and roads though, enough for the Polo to make a first impression.

Like you, I’ve seen VGM’s ads of the Polo featuring a chilli red model with nice big wheels, and that image was what created the desire in me. Seeing the Malaysian spec Polo for the first time in the metal was slightly underwhelming as a result – while the Polo is a smart looking “Mini Golf” of sorts with crisp lines, clean surfaces and that new family face, the wheels were 15-inch items (with a dull design too) and there are no fog lamps and chrome outline for the air intake.

It was sort of like meeting someone who looks smashing on Facebook but not quite as spectacular in the flesh. A bit of a downer initially, but the Polo is still a classy looking hatch and there’s nothing a wheel upsize or some aftermarket enhancements can’t fix. But unlike the gorgeous people on FB, there’s no bad intention on VGM’s part – disclaimer aside, Wolfsburg only allows official press photos in communication materials, and these images typically feature the high spec range toppers.

The impression of a basic model continues inside. There’s a lot that’s good about the Polo’s cabin. Good quality materials (soft upper dash moulding, door caps are of the harder variety), good fit and finish, simple but classy dials that are a VW hallmark (now with digital fuel gauge) and decent fabric seats are appreciated (decent thigh support and base not too short), but some aspects remind you that this is a basic spec car.

The factory RCD210 system looks basic compared to the usual fare in local VWs and it doesn’t take up the full slot reserved for the stereo, leaving a letterbox shaped cubby. More stark is the row of buttons above it with only two occupants out of seven. The steering is leather wrapped and has some nice metallic accents, but the right spoke is empty – the Polo doesn’t come with cruise control. The air con system is a simple three-dial “Climatic” unit so there’s no dual-zone or digital display. VW rarely makes ergonomic mistakes, but the placement and orientation of the wing mirror controls are really inconvenient for something that should be straightforward.

To be fair, we’re used to VW’s playing in the premium segment in Malaysia and the fact that VGM managed to bring in the Polo CBU from South Africa at this price is already impressive. What we noticed above aren’t deal breakers by any means, and this equipment list probably won’t get much complain from customers in Berlin or Paris; Malaysians are a tougher bunch to convince when it comes to cars!

Not much frills perhaps, but the vitals are there. The 5-star Euro NCAP rated Polo comes with ABS plus front, curtain and side airbags (UPDATE: Airbag count is now 4, instead of 6 during our test drive). The drivetrain is very advanced for the money. This is one of the best examples of the current Euro-led downsizing trend, using technology to “get away with just a 1.2”, improving emissions and economy without harming performance. The Polo’s 1.2 is a SOHC 8-valve engine with direct injection and a turbocharger. It makes 105 PS at 5,000 rpm and 175 Nm or torque from 1,550 to 4,100 rpm.

If that sounds impressive by itself, you need some markers. The Honda Civic 1.8 makes 1 Nm less than the Polo, and that’s achieved at 4,300 rpm, mind you. The Toyota Vios’ 1.5-litre unit may make 4 PS more, but that’s done 1,000 rpm higher than the Polo. What have we learned here? Turbo is the way to go :)

Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI – our first impressionsPerhaps dual-clutch gearboxes are, too. But there are the merely OK ones and there are the really good ones. Both the Ford Fiesta and the Polo come with dry versions of the dual clutch ‘box, but DSG is the better of the two. Not just because it has one extra forward ratio (7 versus 6 of the Powershift), but because it’s much better in operation. DSG shifts faster, is smoother and has better logic, although this dry clutch unit is slightly less seamless and quiet as the 6-speed wet clutch unit (Golf GTI, Scirocco 2.0) at low speeds. This is because there’s no oil here to “lubricate” and “absorb” the workings of the clutches.

No paddle shifters, but there is manual override for the DSG, which is a great partner to the engine. Acceleration is unbelievable for a 1.2; VW quotes 0-100 km/h in 9.7 seconds, which is impressive, but it feels faster than that. There’s no build up period when you floor it, as the Polo surges ahead with urgency thanks to the turbo. The urge slows down at higher revs, but there’s no need to wring out every last rpm – it’s not that sort of engine – although it’s smooth if you do so. There’s a deep slight growl to the engine note, too. And no engineered pop on upshifts, that’s reserved for sporty cars.

TSI plus DSG is a great drivetrain that beats the Fiesta’s anyday, but when it comes to ride, handling and communication, the Ford does better, which isn’t a big surprise. The Polo rides comfortably in town and smothers out rough surfaces pretty well, but the suspension is softer than expected. The DUKE highway is quite wavy and it was here (at high speeds) that the Polo was quite bouncy on the crests.

Elsewhere, the little VW is a good cruiser – it’s quiet and 110 km/h is done at about 2,200 rpm. However, the brakes and steering don’t feel as natural as the Fiesta’s and the latter is light and very low on feedback. I’ll need a longer B-road session, but for now, the Fiesta remains the better car to drive.

The Volkswagen Polo is a great little hatchback that’s safe, classy and high quality. The highlight here is the great combo of TSI and DSG, and that the whole package is priced at RM109,593 (OTR without insurance).

Yes, it lacks the bells and whistles and isn’t the most fun to drive, but the Polo is a good introduction to what a VW is all about. But if you can afford another RM40K, the Golf 1.4 TSI is something else altogether!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wuk 207 double line overtaking… one summon granted….
    haha

• wtf911 on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:45 am

yup. sadly, doesn’t show good example here, albeit all the facts and figures given~

anyway, this new Polo still rocks. Nice one :)

• ahmad on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:17 am

hahaha…send it to jpj, confirm kene saman punya…

• mufasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:35 am

apa ni paul… :P

• Paul Tan on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:17 am

Eh, if we managed to snap that photo, quite obvious we not driving that car right! :P

• ka_one2000 on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:42 am

It’s true but if you see the carefully, the angle of the picture taken is on the same lane with WUK 207. :P

• Paul Tan on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm

If we were the photographer, we couldn’t have been driving the other car either :)

• I agree with ka_one2000…

• JPJ officer's father on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Observe carefully the angle of the camera……It is very obvious that the cameraman is in a car at the wrong lane. So……….. 2 saman ekor please !!

• takNakBN on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:27 pm

no… ekceli, paul was standing in the middle of the road.

a mili second before he got run over by the polo, he jump into the ditch…

how come i know?

i was the doctor who treated him

ha ha aha ha ha
            don’t worry paul

saman ekor is tarik balik

• I agree…

• dun do like this next time, lol

• fazron80 on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

bersubahat also kena saman haha

• Torque very responsive..that’s why.. PDRM should summon VW becoz producing very torquey car..hahaha

• Raymond on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:09 am

The A/C are still manual knobs…..the euro version has automated a/c controls…what a shame they don’t have on the polo in M’sia..Rims are shitty too…euro 5 spoke rim is hot

• Well, it IS a basic model, VWM probably made the choice to cut back on the “nice to haves” in order to bring the prices down. That being said, maybe they should have offered other trim levels or a full range of options for those that can afford it.

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:59 am

if they add more polo range of variant, ppl sure going to choose VW golf…some might go for Camry much bigger car for those cannot accept to spend 160k for small/medium hatchback car

• rossi46 on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:32 am

A/C is manual as per Honda Jazz at the same price, but Jazz only comes wt 2 airbag and less safety equipment. Power wise, Polo beat the Jazz outright…..Hmm, ths will surely kill off the Honda Jazz and others overprice Japs Hatchback (Toyota Yaris)

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:57 am

this is the reason behind Jazz now going to join Hybrid lineup…with same range price sure ppl going to choose VW polo over Honda Jazz….

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:47 am

In theory, yes, but in terms of interior space the Jazz seems better. Jazz is not a volume seller, so I don’t think the Polo will be either.

• shawal on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:37 am

Potential Polo owners won’t be put off, but prepare to explain to everyone on why you spent that much money on this car… (people who knows nothing about car , they’ll be ranting on why you didnt get a myvi instead, it looks almost the same…bla bla bla)

+ Tech under the hood
    + safety features
    + looks
    + red is good, silver is best (looks the price )
    -dull interior
    -ugly & small rims
    -white color looks like a test crash model

• A: Got too much money to spend? :P

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:59 am

I completely agree with this. The phase “Why didn’t you just get a MyVI” is going to be heard a lot more now…

• lalal on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm

you should unfriend anyone that say that to you.

• Ash Menon on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:40 am

Nah, I’ll just let them sit in the car while I smoke a Myvi. Problem solved.

• Agreed, for this model what you paid for is mostly the unseen part. The performance figure for a 1.2 roadcar is really astounding. Torque may not be as glamorous as power, but you feel the effect of torque when you stab the pedal. For me, 0-100Kmh is of little relevance, it is mid range acceleration that counts ( from 3rd gear on wards ).

• Mancini on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:57 am

the rims is ugly, couldn’t agree more babeh

• junaidi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:08 am

owh, you’re one of those Silver lovers. Its people like you are the reason we have boring parking lots.

• takNakBN on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:30 pm

only 1 word is enuff to sum up how good the polo is…

TURBO….

malaysian people are easily amazed by it.
      even a sekolah rendah girl know basically what a turbo is.

• nabill on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:44 am

rich man’s myvi i suppose !
    its looks classy and unadventurous…..its a VW though , big badge appeal !

id rather go for the ‘proper’ Golf 1.4 TSI

• rossi46 on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:34 am

Honda Jazz/Toyota Yaris….really shows how overprice this 2 cars is…..anyway, only Fiesta at RM75-85K can compete wt this Polo. (handling – Fiesta/Power-Polo)

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:05 am

Nice example using Festa compare with Polo….but Ford is vr cold unpopular brand at local…no matter how good their car & safety & cheaper…m’sian sure not appreciate it…bcoz it hard to find spare part, expensive servis, low resale value and so on….Ford Focus also hv come in turbo version available in our market at around civic 2.0 price tag…

• Facebook_User on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:16 am

Good pr lah.Rich man’s myvi.some poyos will simply say poor man’s vw,but i like yours!

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

If you buy it as your spare car (eg you have two Mercs at home) then this is your ‘Myvi’. But if this is your only car and it eats 1/3 of your salary, then this is your poor-man’s VW. Sorry, I am the former if I ever buy it.

• gtmaniac on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

Bro.. your ‘rather’ will set you almost 40k!

• Darn it! SOHC 8V engine? That’s outdated tech. Still using timing belt? Service cost will increase.

• Johnny on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

VW, european equivalent of ‘T’ and ‘H’. Premium price for a small car, not so premium in spec like yaris and jazz.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Yaris interior is so cheapo (to me it is very cheap). Yaris has premium specs??? What are you talking about?

• kancil_driver on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

nowadays, its no longer about SOHC or DOHC anymore…. zaman dulu punya cerita tu, zaman i-VTEC, VVTI, DSG, takde lagi tu. modern SOHC can overtake your old DOHC anytime.

• But 8V? Who is 8V these days? Min should be 16V.

• Crap. Who should What. Darn typo!

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:56 am

the reason why it’s 8v is because it’s direct injection, meaning the injector is placed at the combustion chamber, like the plug. with that , there isn’t enough room for another 2 valves.

can you see the genius of VW? direct injection is a mature diesel technology. they apply to petrol engines, and with a turbo, they are achieving diesel like torque and hp, PLUS the fuel economy of lean-burn engines (that typically hv low hp and torque).

On top of that, the engine is lighter because it is smaller displacement and also less valves!

as we all know, 16v DOHC engines tend to make most of their power at upper RPM ranges, and so to spread that torque back down, things like variable valve timing and variable intake lengths are used – all of which adds complexity and weight.

so VW is using old/low tech (SOHC, 2V/cyl) and mating it with tech from diesel (direct injection, turbo), and WALLA…we have a much more tractable engine…that’s called innovation :)

• SOHC is not outdated tech. DOHC is more suited to high revving, high powered engines. The choice to go SOHC is to make it more drivable, with a wider torque band that is suitable to a city car.

the 8 gen civic is also a SOHC, FYI. And you don’t justify your comment that the service cost will increase simply due to SOHC and timing belt vs chain.

• Go test drive and feel how big diferrent with those cheap build Japs car. I think you a bit outdated, not VW. Do you know DSG gearbox is the pioneer in German transmission system? BMW and Merc are following them. Come on, they are some one who build Bentley, Lamborghini and Bugatti Veyron…………… Think bACK before you condemned people, please. This show how naive you are

• artworkz on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm

this engine use timing chain lah bro. the engine is speacial 1 coz use 4 cam lobe per valve on chamshaft. normal engine crank rotate twice, camshaft rotate once but this engine crank rotate 8 times, camshaft baru rotate once. this reduce friction and make the timing chain longer life time. according to VW, the engine will never need service the timing chain. the engine have no problem for 360000 km. suprise yah?? this call technology .

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Excellent VW. That’s why I always say VW is the King in motor-car industry. Not Toyota ya. If you don’t count Vios etc 3rd-world models, I don’t know Toyota will still be no1 in sales.

• hapelah on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Hello kawan .. even Mitsubishi Grandis and Honda cars are SOHC le! Hape la tak buat research cakap bukan2.

The most important thing is Turbocharged and yet low fuel consumption as well as road tax. What more u wan?

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:11 am

Honda last time all their car use Dohc…now all their lineup use SOHC below 2000cc example: 1.8 civic, 2,0 CRV, 2.0 Accord, Stream, city, jazz

• Kevin on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Turbo engines don really need DOHC as the air is forced into the cylinder.

It will be better if it would have DOHC, but it won be as big a difference as compared to a N/A engine.

Same goes for VTEC on turbo engines. Those are techs for N/A engines to increase BHP/liter. For turbo engines, dial up the boost as far as your internals ( crank shaft, piston, etc ) can allow you.

• Tamil Tiger on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

What has valves got to do with outdated tech. Even the Honda Civic 1.3 IMA hybrid engine is using only 8 valves, with 2 spark plugs. Direct injection cars don’t need many valves to be efficient. This engine with 2 valves per cylinder is much more efficient that Toyota’s with 5 valves per cylinder.

• someone on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:16 pm

So, obvious that you don’t know anything about car but DOCH and SOCH, 16 valves and 8 valves… :P

• FYI – VW have been at the forefront of low-maintenance for decades now. Even 25 years ago, my new Mk2 Golf (in UK) needed a service only once a year or 10k km. In fact, after it left the showroom, the first official service was after that same 1 year/10k km interval.

I’m sure most Malaysians would feel “cheated” if they didn’t get a free service, but in practice, such a service (still usually offered here in Malaysia) is purely a “feel good” thing . New cars are engineered not to need it. Of course, if your power windows need looking at earlier… .

The only thing done, as far as I could tell to dispense with an early first service, was to factory fit cars with a larger oil filter, that had a magnet in it.

• any idea whether they gonna bring in Polo GTi??

• strada on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:42 am

Paul how does this compare to the Pug 308 turbo?

I am surpised the steering and handling don’t shine. EPS and mismatched spring & damper setting perhaps?

• laluan sehala on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:24 pm

imho, the 308 turbo will probably eat the polo. the golf 1.4tsi is a more worthy contender to the 308 turbo.

• 308 turbo (Auto) 0-100 = ~9.3 secs
        Polo TSi (DSG) 0-100 = ~9.7 secs

Pug is marginally quicker, but not as fuel efficient. Depends what you are looking for I guess.

• Tamil Tiger on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:23 pm

But the 308 Turbo is not designed to be thrown around corners. It has only a 4-speed auto tranny that’s not meant for revving and street racing. Quite likely this Polo will need lesser effort to make it a nippy street racer. Perhaps the ah bengs should give it a second look, because Honda City and Toyota Vios with ah beng GT wings and large alloy rims are still out of the Polo’s league.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Similar price, with Panoramic sunroof. Sadly, Naza……

• S.Roma on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:12 am

The Volkswagen Polo is a great little hatchback that’s safe, classy and high quality. The highlight here is the great combo of TSI and DSG, and that the whole package is priced at RM109,593 (OTR without insurance).

(Damn, quite expensive la, cant afford for now, thx to our duty excise !)

• Why couldn’t our viva look so gorgeous.. >.<

• wtf911 on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:47 am

alaaa… that’s normal. you’ll get what you pay for. that’s the fact. 100K is Malaysia is still ‘cheap’ you know.

in other countries, cars with 30K tag is some shitty to be bought ;P

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:02 pm

In other countries, your car maintainence will cost more than its price and the parking fee can be 20x higher than ours. But that should not be the reason to impose 200% tax just because of kereta keranda tempatan.

• forfunonly on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:52 am

agree with the writer that the car looks half as good as in their ads.
    I would like to know what is the lifespan of the turbocharger.

• Turbo’s are quite reliable nowadays (if factory mounted).

I had a Passat 2.0 TDI with was sold after 4 yrs. with 287.000km on the clock.

I never had any problems with the turbo (but with the air sensor, with was replaced three times before VW found a final solution)… ;)

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:57 am

Omg those 2/7 buttons was a serious blunder, VW! Just look at how Ford did it in the Fiesta! You CAN reduce features in a dash and not make it look like someone just robbed your car.

• tr0llb41t on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:04 am

“However, the brakes and steering don’t feel as natural as the Fiesta’s and the latter is light and very low on feedback.”

Yo Danny, in that sentence above you mean latter ke former?

Meh, go and spend this much on a v-dub with fantastic pickup, and not only defend your choice to laypeople but also needing to look for roads that you can put that pickup to good use.

And I don’t get these people – why make the door sills outta harder plastics that the dash-top? Whereas you touch the door sills every time you drive (unless you’re a dwarf that don’t rest its elbow on the door), how often do you touch the dashboard? Oh wait, I forgot, maybe people who buy vdubs like to caress their overpriced (in bolehland anyway) car every time they’re stuck in a jam. “Oh baby, it don’t matter what others say about you – know that I love you and we will be bff and ever! Sighhhhh”

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:19 pm

I meant the steering.

The good pick up and strong in gear acceleration is very useful in everyday city driving.

• Anwar on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:16 am

My comments after a brief test drive at VW AutoCity, Juru
    + good safety (6 airbags total, including curtain airbags)
    + good NVH
    + good cruiser
    + impressive fuel consumption figures (can challenge hybrids)
    – poor seats, especially for rear passengers
    – left foot rest area (the left side of brake) too small
    – wierd wing mirror control position
    – boring radio/CD and air cond control buttons
    – rear signal lamps too small (thin)
    – only ABS, no TCS
    – no display of avg fuel consumption, remaining range, etc
    Overall, the car feels cheap, unlike other VW models. Get the Golf 1.4 TSI instead

• rossi46 on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:59 am

If you have rm150k….go get the Golf but if u’re about to buy the Jazz, this is an alternative

• Only 4 airbags … check their website… no more 6 air bags…

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:03 pm

yes, if you have been in the golf tsi, the polo will feel cheap (and cramped)!

• Haidir on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:34 am

Jeremy say: busier than a bishop. in regard of the RX8. but This one I say: uglier than a bishop

• RadzLee on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:50 am

i agree with PT about the small rims, lack of chrome and the ‘missing’ interior details… and since this if my 1st sight off the Polo, im thinking of something like this: hmmm what if i get a myvi instead of the Polo? I can even buy 2 MYVIs for the price of a Polo!!!

then again, i should test drive this ‘downgraded’ piece of art before i jump into conclusion…

• kenny on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

Paul,

No fog light, no “Lakeside” alloy wheels, 6J x 15″ tyres, 195/55 R15,… hmmmm
    Does VW has an issue if the customer where to change the sport rim after purchase, will it void any warranty?

• artworkz on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:10 pm

i live in jb, so can go sg find their polo 215/45/16 rim n tyre. hehe
      but then again, sg polo come with R310 audio and tyre pressure monitor

• DonkeyKong on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:03 am

Wet clutches’ fluid content isn’t necessarily the reason for smoother and more seamless operation, unless the wet clutches are hydrodynamic clutches instead of friction clutches. Smoothing out shift shocks is the job of torsion dampers, not gearbox oil. Even auto transmissions’ hydrodynamic couplings use torsion dampers for operational smoothness. ZF’s 6, 7 and 8 speed auto gearboxes have twin torsion dampers at the torque converter itself.

• good it has 5 star ncap rating..
    after looking at horrific accident in negeri 9 recently, now i really want a safe car..

• junaidi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:01 am

Princess Diana died in an S class mercedes. How safe was she?

• artworkz on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:08 pm

she not wearing safetly belt, ok!! look, her bodyguard/driver still alive.

• shahrull on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:22 am

buy 1 perodua myvi get i free……buy 1 manual car free auto trnsmssin car…………….

got 2 car alrady im my garage……wahh same rich for those who own this VW car…wahahahahah

myvi is good too….. fuel save maa….. fun to drive also…..
    the most important the car is moving and i can go whereever i want…….
    myvi car is also moving like others cars…

• i find it hard to understand your points….

• shahrull on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:02 pm

u find those who comment myvi car for rich people is this vw car….

read the comment carefully n then read back my comment…..ok guys..

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:15 am

LOL

• JohnDeep on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:43 am

Yes, you are correct on your comment on Myvi but limited to your preference only. Others such as safety, handling, engine performance, fc, brand name and many others, Myvi is probably half of that standard.

Please do not compare this model with Myvi. what a car Myvi is, cabin is so noisy, vibration and rattling sound like made of cheap plastic and thin zinc. Myvi is suitable for college girl who drive at legal speed limits.

• myvi can smoke this polo anytime?

• shahrull on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:01 pm

those who compare this VW model with perodua myvi cars??( vw is rich people myvi cars lah…kononnya)….
        so what your comment on that???

so perodua myvi cars for orang2 yang miskin je lah????
        myvi org kaya, berharta??? kereta vw niey lah…..

u think people who drive this vw car takde ke org miskin???….. dont judge the book by it muke depan la…..

respect penguna2 myvi….mcm juge pengguna lancer vs inspira….

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:10 pm

She is probably not earning much. Otherwise she will compare this to A170. What la Myvi.

• not stupid men on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:01 pm

not earning much……… buy 1 myvi get 1 myvi free…. this VW price is equal 2 myvi… so??? i can buy 2 myvi rather than bying only 1 vw..ok…. got 2 cars already……. okey…

• nighttrain on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:30 am

you’re only 15, right?

• you should be reading investor .. not paultan

• ViosUser on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

Illegal OVERTAKNG! Can I submit this picture to JPJ :)

• mr. wiseGuy on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:58 pm

u drive a vios and u admit it..SERIOUSLY ?

• ViosUser on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Dearest mr.wiseGuy

Ya I admitted it. I am also very proud of my NOKIA 1208. The reason is I only buy cheap and reliable staff. And of course, the car can only worth one-tenth of my net worth. After banging the VIEOSSS (or whatever you call it) for a few years…..sell to some dumbass lah :)

How bout you wiseGuy, wish to know more about you because you sound so sexy. YOU MEAN YOU PAY YOR CAR BY ‘ANSURAN BULANAN ‘ ah ? HOW MANY YEARS HUH ?

Yours truly,

ViosUser

• VW cars are appealing, the design, the technology and the quality are remarkable. But the price is too high and out of reach for most of the peoples who love the cars. I can afford a car at RM1xxK but definitely not a small Polo.

And if we were to compare the price, the Golf 1.4 TSI 2010 cost only less than RM80K in China.

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:09 am

The average Chinese earns much less than what average Malaysians are earning. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_%28nominal%29_per_capita

• hapelah on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Hello, China are the world’s biggest consumers la! World’s biggest car market also. U go to school or not?

• ViosUser on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Hi Rosdi

You made a few mistakes here

1. percapita income is not a proper measure of wealth in a country, median salary yes due to skewed/scalable data….quoted from Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s book: THE BLACK SWAN.

2. GDP percapita is no more accurate to measure well-being of a country,,,,,quoted from Gobert. H Frank’s book: THE ECONOMIC NATURALIST

Bacalah sikit kalau tak banyak melancong

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:11 pm

It’s funny how some countries merely look at per capita income as a measure of wealth, but what is more RELEVANT is actually PURCHASING POWER PARITY…in the US, a new graduate may start of with US2.5k, but a new corolla only costs about US$16k….in Malaysia, a fresh grad may also fetch RM2.5k, but the corolla equivalent Persona costs RM40k…go figure…

• HarapTiadaAIDs on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm

VW has a plant in China that produce Polo ma….tats why cheap lo….

• orgbiasa on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:17 pm

in China, da price is same as p2 meevie. n Audi A4 is our waja lancer’s competitor. frens from china asked me wat is BMW 320 n 325… bcos wat they saw b4 only 5series. n thy said merc dioesnt have 2.0l. i showed em, n thy said thy only saw 3.5l o more, AKA S350, no S280. zzz not? but one of da guy told me proton gen2 is a nice car for handling, it makes him feels like driving a SLK, but 1/4 power drom SLK. i agreed tat. =)

• Where’s the fog lamp? Cut cost perhaps?

• niuhje on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:53 am

starts at 108k but after gedebuk gedebak… it’s more like 114k, ask Mr. Thomas at VW Jln 222.
    hope im wrong tho…

• So, Paul, which do you think is a better buy all things considered – the Polo or the Fiesta?

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:14 am

Just buy a car that makes you smile each time you drive.. who care what other people says.

• paultan fan on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:22 am

many thanks for the review paul :-)

• philip thomas on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Well. Looking at the “Polo” we get here in India , I think you have a good deal.

Take a look at what we get for our money: 1.2 liter CRDI and Petrol engines with 75 horses. 15 inch alloys only on the Highline. No jewel lights at the rear, no smoked headlamps at the front. No chrome garnish on the air dam.

No music player at all unless on the Highline, and that without an AUX or USB in. No DSG. No TSi. No electric mirrors. No steering mounted controls. No large Multi function display. No turn indicators integrated into the outside mirrors.

No auto climate control either.

• Hyundai Lover on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:39 am

Is the maintainance very expensive? I heard it is RM 500 for every 15,000 km and reaching RM2.6K at 60,000km. Is it true?

• artworkz on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:06 pm

yah, is rm500 per 15k km. compare to city rm147 and rm201 per 5k km, this car consider have a low service price plus sve ur times!

• good review. test drove it over the weekend as well; quite nice albeit a little disappointing in terms of specs. the unit in the ads looked gorgeous – fog lamps and all that. fog lamps do not come as standard on the MY units. they’re not even optional, unfortunately.

• Being an entry-level VW, how does the cabin space fare? And, more importantly, the leg room.

• libralcl on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

Hmmm… not bad actually you compare to H.Jazz & T.Yaris. Depends on you need actually. This polo main selling point is still its engine & GB performance. In terms of specs & space Yaris & Jazz are still better (except for safety features). However I think polo GTI will be a better buy for me since most of us (me especially) will buy this car because of its engine and GB performance. If not mistaken last time I saw the polo GTI was price at RM128k? Not sure. Anyway this will be great city car due to its fuel efficiency and its size.

• I did some calculations on VW Malaysia pricing and figured out that if you configure the VW from VW UK’s web site, convert the currency to MYR and multiply to a factor of 1.4 (for 4 door models) and you should get the market selling price here.

Polo GTi (basic model on UK Web site) applying this formula will cost ~RM128k, but if you add some goodies, it can go up to ~RM138k. So VW quotes a price of RM128k – 138k, depending on specs. I hope they bring in the cool Xenon + LED DRL option for the Polo GTi.

If VW Malaysia brings in the 3 door version, it gets hit with higher tax bracket and we’ll be seeing a malaysian market price of ~Rm150k. I hope they bring in the 4 door model instead!

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm

I wonder if we can also take our RM salary and X 1.4 to buy cars…:)

• Mayonaise on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:59 am

The “WUK 206” Polo was the exact same test drive unit I drove just yesterday. I must say I am very impressed with the power delivery and the DSG gearbox.

But one thing I am confused about… According to the Polo brochure, it claimed that the M’sia spec Polo gets 6 airbags in total, but according to the price sheet of VW M’sia, it claimed there’s only 4 airbags in total (dual front and side only).

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

How come the ‘SI’ in the ‘TSI’ at the back of the Polo is not RED like the Golf one?

• coz it not supercharged, only turbocharged. Red ‘SI’ indicates supercharged n turbocharged engine.

• Andrew on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm

T”SI” in RED is for supercharger + turbocharger engine… TSI in BLACK is for turbocharger engine …

• Izhar on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:08 am

basic car….with turbo….
    sohc with turbo, or jazz with i-vtec
    1.2 + 25% power from turbo = 1.5
    if have turbo lag…better get jazz i-vtec good in responds + no turbo maintainance
    safety…vw more than jazz…jazz less airbag….but still have air bag…
    design…jazz more stylish…but it is subjectives…
    anyway….it is still a good car…

• scgtimk1 on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:04 pm

You should times turbocharged engine with 1.7 from the original capacity.

This is how any standard around the world do to categorize a car displacement in a race.

1.2 x 1.7 = 2.04. This should be compared to a 2.0 car not with your POS noisy, plasticky, revvy Honduh Jazz.

• apooo samy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:35 am

better than buy lousy jazz or toyolta yaris….which overprice…

• Kwing on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:47 am

wait for the GTI version, i would opt for ford fiesta or mazda 2 instead of this!

• Wo hen wuliao on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:36 pm

why not,at least u got polo gti gear knob in this polo 1.2 tsi…

• orgbiasa on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

ford fiesta rock!!! price per value compare to lotus satria neo, i feel like lotus neo is v cheap! at least i got ohlin suspensions n AP brakes wif limited quantity, agree? but i stil like ford. n im malaysian, not english

• What a turn off…..

• Mechanical Engineer on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:54 pm

What is fantastic about these newer generation low pressure turbo engines is the torque produced at lower engine revolution which is important because most daily driving utilises between 1000-3500 rpm.

From the following formula,

Power (W) = Torque (Nm) x Engine Revolution (rad/s)

It is better to compare engines by comparing the torque produced between 1000-3500 rpm to judge which engine is better for everyday driving.

For example,

Ford Fiesta 1.6 Ti-VCT
    Max Torque 152 Nm @ 4050 rpm

VW Polo 1.2 TSI
    Max Torque 175 Nm @ 1550-4100 rpm

Perodua Myvi 1.3
    Max Torque 116 Nm @ 3200 rpm

Apply the above formula,
    Fiesta produces 63.7kW / 86.6PS @ 4000 rpm
    Polo produces 73.3kW / 99.7PS @ 4000 rpm

Myvi produces 38.9kW / 52.9PS @ 3200 rpm
    Polo produces 58.6kW / 79.8PS @ 3200 rpm

From the figures, we can conclude that Polo actually produces more power up to 4100 rpm compared to Fiesta. This is despite Fiesta (120hp) having a higher quoted power than Polo (105hp). What this mean is that Fiesta only produces more power than Polo at higher engine rpm. Add in Myvi, then you see how much less Myvi produces compared to Polo despite having 100 cc. This also explains why Myvi’s fuel consumption is higher compared to other small cars.

Remember less engine rpm = lower fuel consumption.

If an engine can produces high torque at low rpm, it will definitely have lower fuel consumption for everyday normal driving.

So I guess that is the reason for the price difference as well?

• Dont forget the factor of gearbox efficiency. The 7 sped DSG is much more efficient vs. the 4 spd auto slushbox. Less power loss = better efficiency, performance and emissions.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

the 7 speed ratios also prevent engine speed to drop too low and causes turbo lag upon acceleration. test drive and one will understand.

• orgbiasa on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm

“Remember less engine rpm = lower fuel consumption.”

from wher u learn tis? r u telling me Audi R8 is fuel saving den Audi A5?

• Mechanical Engineer on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Generally, for an engine at cruising, less engine rpm = lower fuel consumption.

Actually, how a car is driven actually plays an important in fuel consumption. Here’s a good example,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKTOyiKLARk

Fundamental mechanics course, most mechanical engineers will know this. I bet those experienced journalist will know too. Power is the product of torque and rotation

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

orgbiasa, we are not comparing model to model but comparing engine to engine with a similar capacity. have some common-sense.

• fazron80 on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:22 pm

My only confusion is why’s myvi is in the calculations in the first place, I would rather you put KIA I10 instead of myvi. maybe you might as well add all the local P1 and p2 cars also.

• Mechanical Engineer on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:36 pm

A few reasons why Myvi is included:
        1. It is the best selling car in Malaysia and is roughly similar in size.
        2. I am sure a lot of people reading this owns a Myvi.
        3. Shed some light on reason why the Myvi’s fuel consumption is higher
        4. How European manufacturers have moved forward in efficiency on normal cars compared to Japanese manufacturers.

• fandango on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm

one thing’s for sure…MYVI is MORE spacious than the POLO…

• Polo is not too bad, but a bit lacking in equipment. but still, u r getting a germany engineered car for a honda jazz price…… RM110K for a CBU unit.

“BUT” at least a pair of fog lights to make it look ‘better’. for the wheels, belakang kira la, can go to sunway SPEED shops….

hope to see a comparison between polo, jazz and even 308 turbo as a rm100k hatch

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:39 am

if a golf gti price without tax is about 50K, imagine how cheap this polo is without the taxes. the high price blame is not on Volkswagen Malaysia.

• harry on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:29 pm

majority of the comments favour Golf hah..so i pick the golf over polo..

• Hot chic on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Is the guy sitting at the back seat actually Paul Tan ? Cool…..and……….. HOT !

• nabill on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm

at the end of the day,this is a small city car , dont let the turbo 1.2 fool u , its there to increase driveability and not outright power , ,city car with soft setup is normal and its wat ppl want for city use…its well made , solid feeling , no nasty plastics,and should be reliable , it has all the criteria to do well ,

• takNakBN on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm

with a good car like this,
    supposed nobody wanted a jazz anymore

but this is malaysia….

• I have been waiting ont the new Polo GTi to replace my wife’s Jazz Vtec (2004). Although the Polo TSi drives a lot better and is much more fun to drive than the Jazz, its much less spacious esp. in the rear. Jazz is very practical while the Polo TSi is much more fun to drive.

• BabyMilo on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm

It’s quite ugly, i dun like it. I like jazz, more handsome.

• blackbox on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Any chance they bring in the Polo GTI?

• The VW SA told me the Polo GTi will be here in Q1 2011. Price 130k-140k for the 4 door version.

• oomph on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Whoa…silver polo WUK 207 in the photo was overtaking the lorry illegaly!

• budleee on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

i hope people don’t get excited over it being turbo, as it was designed to be a more efficient engine..

however… you can always say to people

“my car got turbo meh”

at least that will excited some people

• For that price bracket defintely it’s gonna be very tough for VW to get the sales up…….you can talk until the cows come home blah blah……there are way too much choices for this segment.

Ford Fiesta defintely the winner here…..just wondering why are they taking so long to launch the car……any idea Paul?

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

They’re having a launch party on 20th October (day after tomorrow!). According to their FB page, they’ve been having difficulties meeting demand for the Fiesta from their Thai factory.

• @Tiadaid
        Yes, the new Fiesta is very popular now Thailand and its also becoming popular in the Philippines.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm

At the end of the day, VAST majority of people who plan to spend RM110K on a car will choose the product sold by UMW — COROLLA ALTIS. Yeah, Toyota still win(I always say other companies are STUPID because they are not keen or unable to learn from UMW). Hello VW salemen here, how are you? :-)

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:50 am

the secret of UMW lies in total consumer confidence. No-nonsense low tech cars provide ultra high reliabilties, good spread of sales & service network and consistency in whatever they are doing.

The trusts UMW is getting is not a hard work of 2-3 years but it has been more than 15 years since.

• @CLP,

“The all-new Fiesta will be officially launched in Malaysia on October 20 and in Indonesia on November 5”
      http://www.at.ford.com/news/cn/Pages/All-newFiestahelpsFordThailandmorethandoublesalesinSeptember.aspx

• freeman on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Like it or not, most of us living in this country have to decide what car to buy based on pricing. So what we have this German CBU merely for city use to choose from?

If you are raising a small family (2 kids, both below 5) and you can afford a car in this price range (RM100-120K) as your only car in the family, surely you need a car with bigger storage to house those “accessories” such as baby stroller. Get a Honda Civic 1.8S or better still, a City Grade E and save RM20K for your kids’ future education.

If you insist having a European-made, Peugeot 3008 or Golf 1.4TSI will be the more suitable choice. But then you will say “hey, those are RM140K-150K range”! Didn’t I already told you that most of us are buying cars according to what’s best we could get based on pricing?

So who should be buying this 1.2 small German? Ricd daddies for their college kids? Yuppies making min RM5K and love solid small hatch? or retired couple who lives in KL downtown?

I love to see the efforts of other manufacturers introducing more models for us to choose. But if we have to burden additional RM500-800 extra monthly installments on a 60 months load, I think most of us will just leave our love/hate comments here and not putting our signatures on the ordering form.

• So why somebody should buy a Civic then?

Better buy a Persona and save another RM27k for your Kids education… ;)

• agree! or the saga

• oldman on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

or Viva basic for that matter…cool what, can get two, or three possibly…with some cash for summer holiday…hehe

• orgbiasa on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:43 pm

u crash ur viva at 70km/hour u have no summer holiday anymore. small car for small town, n big car for city. more human = more mistakes AKA accidents. in city u ned to protect ursf so u require high safety spec from ur house n car n bag, am i right? in small town, AKA kampung, lower safety spec for house n car stil decent for em.

in city, car = 4-6 air bags, ABS, EDB etc… n for house/flat = security guards, huge dogs, stainless steel window gates, alarm security system n etc.

kampung, car = 4 wheels, avoid sun n rain, for 4 person, can put vege n food from market n etc. for house = a normal dog, no gate, window wide open during night.

its all about wat u need, some ppl need higher safety spec for car, some need bigger torque, some need higher bhp, some need gd looking, some need value for money, some juz ned a car tat can bring him/her from a place to another place.

**i strongly agree wif wat Freeman has said. buy watever car u like n u will stil love in 10 yrs. for me i’ll but shelby mustang 1967 aka eleanor. hahahah

• oldman on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

u sure u crash this lovely polo at 70km/h back of the lorry and u still survive…?

Hehe, i doubt it…but, hey, it’s matter of probability…

• freeman on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:52 am

Already mentioned “if you can afford a car in this price range” mah! We are talking about what’s best to buy within that price range for specific type of users.

If you want further saving, why not buy a early 90’s Volvo 940 for about RM10K: huge and solid like a tank! That case you can save RM80K at least, consider RM20K reserved for repairs and potential breakdown.

• mohsin on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:17 pm

It was sort of like meeting someone who looks smashing on Facebook but not quite as spectacular in the flesh.

I love your statement

• ariolz on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:56 pm

LOL! same price as my MK6 GTI :D

• Hi All.

VW downgraded the safety features as well…based on their latest brochure ..they only give 4 airbags instead of 6 airbags…I still got their ‘old’ brochure stating 6 airbags..emm lucky didn’t place my booking earlier as all the spec shown on VW website TOTALLY different from the actual car…very disappointed..feel “cheated’ too..

• I noticed something in the ninth pic; the one showing a Polo overtaking the lorry with plate nu.WCU 7535. You are overtaking on what looks like a DOUBLE LINE. NOT cool guys! Correct me if im wrong, though.

‘It was sort of like meeting someone who looks smashing on Facebook but not quite as spectacular in the flesh’…….nice way to put it. Sounds like you’ve had your fair share of disappointing moments, Paul?

• Paul Tan on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:58 pm

We have nothing to do with it. If Danny was able to snap a photo of the rear view of the car, he was obviously not the driver.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

paul just say, the lorry was not moving because engine stalled.

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Enough with the double line thingy already, just focus on the damn review!

• swift on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Was really looking forward for the arrival of the Polo here , but sadly did not expect it to be this stripped down from what has been advertised. Anyways will stick with my SS till something better pops up.

• amievil on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:24 pm

1.2cc at rm100k +

now whos calling INSPIRA is overpriced?

• rosdi on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Dont look at the cc. The Polo torque is better than Civic 1.8’s torque. In Europe this is the trend.., frugal car yet more power.

• yes more power for the expense of space and price

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Plus European cars are usually expensive, especially if it’s made in Europe. What with their money being high value and all.

• amievil on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:54 am

i mean, the torque are better than civic because it has TURBOcharger if u can read it carefully.

so you may wonder that now an INSPIRA TURBO is far way better with less price!

• loveit on Oct 24, 2010 at 1:01 pm

if Inspira come with turbo I doubt it gonna come with current price…
          I talk about factory installed turbo, ahbeng turbo version not count (coz we are talking reliability here)

• Handsome*dude on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:16 pm

109K to add a few k can get the PUG308T
    interior wise 308 looks much better(also the outlook 308 better too) ~

as the POLO is really a very basic VW

so which one ??

• reuben how on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:01 pm

I’m still not so sure about the turbocharging. Especially VW has a poor track record in the UK through JD power and associates / Warranty direct reliability data surveys. I wouldn’t mind using this as a second car but I had better have a reliable first car eg Honda and Toyota. This is sad as H and T have been shortchanging their customers for years in Malaysia. Any fuel savings would be wiped out by mantainence costs.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:57 am

no one can blame T & H for providing good products and service and charging consumers accordingly, they are here for business profiting. that is their strategy to success. makan gaji people will never understand this.

• for a few thousand more the 308 Turbo makes more sense with the bells and whistles and looks more grown up altogether.

been to the showroom and the polo’s quality is nothing much to shout about. just becuase it is a VW it doesnt mean whatever they dish out is of sterling quality…..

the interior is also nothing much to shout about quite bland…..

one spends 100 over k and there is no real prestige about this model. no wow factor at all.

• artworkz on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

the wow will apear when u test drive the car. juz test in this morning at danga bay jb. impressive ride quality. drive 130 km/h n juz like 90km/h on new city. crusing 130 km/h,gear 7th rpm reading is 2000++. ride quality (stable n feeling) can match lancer . this car much more quite. along the perling road which is poor condition, i feel this car is comfort is absorb all the uneven surface on the road. for the brake n steering lacking of feedback , i think is coz by the comfort soft continental tyre. rear seat is quite crample. fit only 2 adult. interior feel so so only, acceptable what can i say.
      the sales at danga bay not give me any discount plus interest rate 2.8%. still consider

• oh boy just read that its an 8 valver….and its only a turbo so how does it wear the tsi badging…..and the engine bay looks messy…….

• artworkz on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

hihi..tomolo go danga bay ,jb to view this car. i still consider city E. any idea?

• artworkz on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:59 pm

the engine is special 1. for a normal engine, camshaft revolution once, crankshaft will revolution twice. but for this 1.2 tsi, camshaft revolution once, crankshaft ll revolution 8 times.mean reduce friction on camshaft and longer life timing chain.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:46 pm

TSI is the brand name for VW’s charged petrol engines, be it single (just turbo) or twincharged as per the 1.4 Twincharger

• FuelEfficient on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Both interior and exterior looks are nothing but ‘Ordinary’ and Outdated. Only plus points are the turbo power and fuel consumption. Not much to shout about……

• I already booked this car as second car …. is very impressive …
    although is relatively small but is a good city runner !! thumbs up !! very heavy duty … quality feel is there … is a good buy …

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:34 pm

You are a VW salesman right. Correct, good as a spare car. But New Beetle or Golf 1.4 TSI is better. Spare car ought to be cantiq and outstanding.

• i am not a salesman from VW … just i am a person who own vw from the beginning when i have a P license … but well beetle is not suitable for me … currently i have a scirocco no point getting the golf … and really polo is really nice in term of quality and well hate the rims and is kinda small la … overall still good 7/10 …

• artworkz on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:28 pm

u have any discount and what is ur interst rate?

• how much salary to buy this as a second car?

• Eh Paul.

U sure the Polo TSi comes with Curtain air bag? I test drove the car and compared it to the Golf TSi (which comes with the curtain air bag option).

• at least add another color for interior
    not just grey shading
    it makes it looks like an old car!

• smallcar lover on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm

to my disappointment, the engine looks lousy and the dash board looks cheap… like most people say, people buying the logo only.

• Nazrin Rizal on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:50 pm

If i were to purchase this vehicle, I would do 2 things. Change them wheels and Audio Player.
    Is it possible to change it to a set of 17″ wheels 205 45 17 perhaps?
    Or will that be too big and hence, start scraping on the sides?

• whatever on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:58 pm

VW…das auto. Polo for rm109k anyone? What in da world are we malaysians thinking??? Lets put a full stop to this price ridicule!!! Dont buy it n VW will review da price for sure…

• Saiful on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm

VW is wiser. They cabut before Potong main belakang mali !

• For time being seemingly the smallest VW in this country narrowed to the:
    1: Yaris and Jazz market
    2:Those looking for economical second car with premium brand

I don’t think they’ll attract City-Vios buyers since absence of adequate boot let alone Civic 1.8-Altis market with this pricing.

I rather suggest new Golf 1.4 below than 1.4TFSI 160ps will be introduced for RM120,000 to cater this market.

If VGM looking to attract new buyers it will not happen through Polo, very misleading though never intentional as the real car “inferior” than the TVC aired.

Do something or VGM won’t steal Vios-City-Jazz-Yaris-Civic-Altis prospects!

• artworkz on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

my budget is buying new car around rm90k for 7 yrs loan. i dun mind pay extra 20k for 9yrs loan.

• 9 years loan? that’s torturing for 9 years… Walau, careful if u lost ur job, u may lost everything…

• ayamxxx on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm

I keep asking myself, whose the cute girls at the VW Polo TV advertisement?

She’s cute

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:43 pm

People with certain status will not drive Vios/City as their spare cars. They won’t buy this tiny Polo as their spare cars as well.
    Very few people will buy this tiny creature as their only car (haha, they will buy TOYOTA COROLLA ALTIS from UMW with this amount of money if they have the budget, yeah Toyota wins again).
    This Polo ends up NOWHERE. Cannot sell one.
    Lets see in 2-year time.
    Toyota-UMW, I like you, I like your AFTER-SALE SERVICE, I like your resale value, I like your brand, I like your ……………………………

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

You like to be shafted by T…..

• john doe on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

add more….I like your world renown car mat auto cruise feature, I like your dinasour age looks, I like the way u con stupid malaysians to buy ur Thaiyota by claiming its a Jap car, I like the way ur Altis understeer in corners n get banged by lorry

• Triga on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:29 am

I wonder why so many salesman from toyota, honda, perodua and proton are here. They scared of losing their jobs?

• Perhaps VGM should introduced Indian-sourced Vento 1.6 with old engine (just like Vios technology ranging from RM48-64k in India+tax+profit still can sell cheaper than RM108k) or poor-man Polo 1.2 from RM30k-46.5k that can rival Myvi 1.3/1.5.

Ceteris paribus, if we take Hyundai 1.2i retailed at RM39,000 in India around RM50k in Malaysia, VGM can push their cheap Polo 1.2 just around or slightly higher than the South Korean brand.

I think they may afraid to send a “wrong” message to more affluent early majority/innovator categories of existing/earlier VGM buyers though the car come with different level of technology.

The interesting fact India got diesel, maybe their diesel better than us. Wakaka 1malaysia diesel so bad, huh?

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

Who knows, maybe the Vento’s one of the cars they’re bringing in as CKD with DRB. They already said they won’t CKD current models.

• Das Auto on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:13 am

Does this come with DRL as standard?
    Not referring to the LEDs but the standard halogen DRLs which come standard on the Golfs (UK Spec).

• lchan on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:15 am

just shows you how ridiculous the price of honda jazz is!

• Kaiyo on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:35 am

“It was sort of like meeting someone who looks smashing on Facebook but not quite as spectacular in the flesh.”

Hahhaa.. Nice one Paul!

• John Doe on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:32 am

Pricing more suitable for VW Golf 1.4 TSI. Enough said.

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

8 valve sohc turbo… abit old skool ….like proton magma engine in the 80’s with turbo……
    I think mitsubishi had this engine in 1983. It was called Colt\Mirage RS.

Is it worth it???……dont know ….I can buy better cars for the price…..
    They should price it close to city and vios then it will be competitive.

• Go test drive and feel how big diferrent with those cheap build Japs car. I think you a bit outdated, not VW. Do you know DSG gearbox is the pioneer in German transmission system? BMW and Merc are following them. Come on, they are some one who build Bentley, Lamborghini and Bugatti Veyron…………… Think bACK before you condemned people, please. This show how naive you are

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:05 am

agree with Alex. VW used to patent the DSG to prevent any copycats. Once the patent expired though, almost immediately For and Mazda came out with their own version of DSG. they all know DSG IS GOOD….

• amievil on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm

the torque are better than civic because it has TURBOcharger if u can read it carefully.

so you may wonder that now an INSPIRA TURBO is far way better with less price!

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:12 am

the turbo is not the lone factor but rather the power-to-weight ratio.

ppl will buy this polo to appreciate the engineering.

1. Direct injection
      2. Turbocharged
      3. 7 speed manual gearbox, with automatic mode and manual override.

• Just booked white one!quite sexy exterior looks but cheap interior!what i really like?!good fuel consumption with little powerful car!Myvi Turbo makan asap je :)

• artworkz on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

the dealer give u any discount and what is ur loan interest? i also wanna buy a hot orange!!

• Bang, ada class sikit lah. lu jangan beli VW, pergilah beli Alza ada 2,000 discount. lu tak ada standard langsung, orang dah murah lagi lu minta discount

• artworkz on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

the most stupid person is like u who dunno asking for discount.

• alamak on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:36 am

VW TTDI is offering a free iPad for any VW purchased there…

• Yea 1k but without gifts!less than 3% loan interest…i got my car now but i really need to change the small wheel and add the OEM sport lights!

• Kevin on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:36 pm

I find it funny.

The last Polo GTI can be had for around the same price as the current Polo.

• ninjaboy on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:39 pm

I have to agree that VW really disappoints me. Their website and TV CM showed a beautiful car. But what we actually got is a super cheap looking – ugly car.

If this is not FALSE MARKETING, then I dont know what is….!

• Hilux Best ke on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:43 am

nasib baik VW xbagi pasaran malaysia ni yang 3cylinder punya enjin….hahahaah…ada lah jugak 4cylinder..

• sunny on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:33 pm

yeah..wonder if i can ask to change the tyre and rim, by just topping up some $$$$ ….just dun like the tyre and rim la…the brochure and web shows nice 5 spokes rim…

• Michael Ammot on Oct 20, 2010 at 3:49 pm

there is no mentioning about the interior size, which i think it is very small compare to Honda Jazz…only mentioning the engine power..keep it off.. there is no point to have power engine for town driving (heavy traffic)…IMHO Jazz is the better package

• John Doe on Oct 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm

DSG has a lot of problems and weird quirks. Just google “DSG Problem” and you can see a long list. Is DSG good? Yes but does it worth a RM50,000 more in comparison to other cars of same size? Hell no!

Ford Fiesta gets my vote.

• the spec looks ‘dull’ for a car cost over 100K … fiesta is the way to go!

• *308* on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Why not compare with PUG 308VTi ? cheaper a bit but larger in size, looked more classy yet matured too (some may say 308THP is problematic though). Ya turbocharged is more powerful, can smoke car anytime, but in penang (or KL or JB), after u overtake, u wil need to queue behind other car again (u might smoke a police car and get saman too if u like). And yes, i am driving Myvi, planning to buy 2nd car, will opt for 308 VTi (for it’s reliability to THP), if not CITY E (within 100k budget)

• rosdi on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Looking at the price of recently launched Fiesta.. I am starting to feel that this Polo should have been priced at 80k ish… meanwhile the Polo GTI should have been around 110k++..

• harry on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:59 am

i am waiting for polo gti..this polo is only an entry level..better wait for a better polo..

• miczee on Dec 01, 2010 at 2:27 am

If it was made in thailand yes or some other AFTA countries…..but no it is made in SA which is not part of AFTA

• Test drove the Fiesta, engine was responsive but the gearbox seems a bit harsh not smooth…interior was plasticky…but i did like the seats though. Later went to VW showroom and sat in the polo (unfortunately the test drive unit was not available), the feel was totally different…a different class…the “premiumness” of it’s design and quality is at a level far better. The stock sound system is very good, the seats are nice, the knobs and buttons feels very solid, and everything is well built…If only VGM had brought in the Euro specs as their adverts…
    But if i had the extra $$$, the Golf TSI will be my choice.

• paul, when u gonna do another “longer” test drive review?

• stevencbk on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:08 am

For those who love GTi model, try wait till FEB-MAR 2011 where Polo GTi starts shipping to MY.

* Latest news from VGM, the Polo GTi priced RM 128, 888k.
    * It come only with 3dr model.

• Andrew Ewe on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Where did you get such news from – RM128,888? I spoke to the salesman and he did confirm that they would be bringing in the Polo next year but couldnt give me a rough estimate as to price and when it would be coming in!! Where? Quote source pls!

I’d be absolutely stoked if the Polo Gti costs 20ish grand less than the Golf tsi (and 20k more for almost twice the power/fun/gadgets in the Tsi Polo)… Not to forget, the Polo Gti comes in only 2 doors WOOHOO!! Kinda hate the fact that we only get the other VWs in 4 door variants.

• harry on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:28 am

wow..cant wait for GTI..hope it will come sooner..

• giloko on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:39 pm

wow! VW vs Volvo…

• ultimax5 on Dec 05, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Any of you Polo owners know where the engine number is located? Been looking high and low but I can’t seem to find it…and the salesman doesn’t know either! Thanks.

• Andrew Lee on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm

I had been driving the new polo for the past 2 to 3 weeks. I notice that when there is a gear change I can hear it inside the car. Is it normal? Can other polo owners pls
    let me know whether they encounter this problem ?

Thanks

• Good technology but is our local folks properly trained to maintain these high tech specs?

i doubt they can fix the DSG or turbocharger.

• Hello when my first day to get my new Polo i can hear some weird noise from Turbocharged then i sent my car to VW service centre to fix it!problem solving and i really love my car now :) btw Polo quality is not as good as German make Golf,GTI,Passat CC or Touareg…since Polo make from South Africa!

• mystvearn on Jan 20, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Just remembered something. For those wanting to import this directly from UK, they don’t sell a 1.2l TSI DSG version, only manual version. Seems like the DSG is specific to malaysia

• lookchutt on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:49 pm

i think Ford Fiesta, at 20+k cheaper is a better buy. Turbo is cool but can our semi-educated mechanics deal with it when it develop problems?

• Mr. Omar on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:40 pm

dreamed car

• Poker on Mar 18, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Was told by vw salesman that polo gti will be coming to Malaysia in May 2011 and that both 2dr and 4dr will be available. Pricing range is 130-135k!

Any takers?

• polo22 on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:23 pm

good evening netizens of malaysia and of this particular forum…

did i missed the review or discussion about handling when talking about the polo tsi 1.2L?? polo owners??

• Polo63 on May 26, 2011 at 12:29 am

Any vw polo club in MAS?

• Now only i know the polo i bought has been tested by Paul Tan….hahaha. I felt honoured…btw there is a VW polomalaysiaclub.

http://forum.vwpoloclubmalaysia.com/viewtopic.php?t=464&p=3026

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:51 pm

build quality is terrible. my friend’s polo has a spoilt radio, spoilt windows and the cigarette lighter doesn’t work. it feels like a wira.

• worlockz on Sep 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Test drove a Polo yesterday coz no Polo GTI specimen available for testing at the dealer’s. Wohohohoho… that torque from a 1.2L car… At that rate banyak kereta will makan asap Polo..