VW Polo 1.2 TSI – ‘engine downsizing’ for the masses!

The latest generation Volkswagen Polo has appeared on Volkswagen Malaysia’s website, and bookings are open although a launch and delivery date is still listed as ‘coming soon’.

The last generation Polo was sold in Malaysia alongside its CrossPolo and Polo GTI siblings and it came with a regular 1.6 litre 4-pot engine. This latest generation Polo priced at RM108,888 is equipped with something far more advanced – a downsized engine tuned more for fuel economy rather than power like the 160 PS TSI found in the Golf.

The new Polo’s 1.2 litre TSI engine uses direct injection and a turbocharger to make 105 PS at 5,000rpm and 175Nm of torque from as low as 1,550rpm to 4,100rpm, which is more torque than a typical normally aspirated 1.6 litre at just over idle. This engine is mated to the new dry clutch 7-speed DSG transmission. 0 to 100km/h acceleration is 9.7 seconds.

This is the cheapest turbocharged petrol car in Malaysia right now, taking away the ‘throne’ from the larger and more powerful Peugeot 308 Turbo. If you want a fuel economical and compact run-about this is it – what the Europeans have been enjoying for the past 2 to 3 years now. The rest of the specs are decent – a single CD with MP3 and WMA support, 6 airbags and ABS brakes with discs all round.

Volkswagen quotes 5.3 litres per 100km combined fuel consumption and we’re eager to see if we’re able to achieve this if we get a test drive unit later in the year! For now, look after the jump for an embedded PDF price list and brochure.

UPDATE: The Polo 1.2 TSI’s airbag count have been revised down from 6 to 4.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VW Raya campaign really aggressive.

• spiller on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:51 am

Doubt it can be deliver before Raya though.

Great car for the missus. May I ask the current VW owner how’s the service & maintenance for general VW cars?

Does the Jln Ampang branch do servicing as well?

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:28 am

Correct 100% Mr. Spiller, u won’t get this car b4 raya since it’s arrival is during mid September itself.

• VW owner on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:52 pm

The one in Jln Ampang is only a sales showroom. The nearest service centre within the precinct will be in Sg Besi.

Wearnes VW- 5&7, Jalan Dua, Off Jalan Sg Besi, 55200 Kuala Lumpur.

Excellent service, friendly and helpful staffs.

• Commoner on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:58 am

This is so tempting!!! The invasion of European finest!!! Watch out Japanese!!!

• santa on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Never forget the German and the Japanese conquer half of the world each in 1940s. They are still dominant today in automotive industry

• I met one lady yesterday, bought two Golfs from Wald when her earlier Golf was write off. No problem at all with Golf though bring by AP holders.

• VicTor on Aug 09, 2010 at 7:39 am

This will be a much better buy then the lousy Toyota Yaris and Honda Jazz.

• jalan ampang branch doesnt do servicing, that’s just the sales office, Wearne’s service center is at Jalan Dua @ Chan Sow Lin

maintenance?
    not cheap
    average service @ about RM500 every 15k km
    the 60k km service bill came on to about RM2.6k

• normal_user on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:42 am

RM2.6K for a major service is quite expensive, kiev. Thanks for the info.

By the way, what car you’re referring to? GTi, Passat, Jetta?

• Chief on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:47 am

really? also apply for this new model?

• 1.2 TSI doen’t have a timing belt any more but a timing chain., which doesn’t need to be changed. This saves you several hundred RM.

Service have to be done according the ‘automatic service display’, latest every 30.000 km or every two years.

But yes, compared with other brands service is more expensive (because of adjustment work at the DSG and the belt driven supercharger).

Most important: The workshop have to be familiar with the adjustment of the DSG … ;)

• klaka seram on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:01 pm

for the first 5 years, we need to send the car to the authorised SC( for the sake of warranty). After that, we can opt for outside workshop, which is cheaper.

• yes, for Golf it might costs considerably more, should be about 10% more

though the 60k km service could be cheaper due to the dry sump nature of the new DSG box
        60k km service is expensive because the ATF fluid(my vw doesnt come with DSG gearbox, but instead it uses a japanese 6speed slushbox) replacement and parts already costs about rm1.3k

but i’m expecting it to hit RM2k for 60k km’s service too
        im hugely tempted to get another VW in red

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Bro what model of VW you own ? Hows the handling/power/fc ect ? Please elaborate more ….

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:17 pm

guess u r TOYOTA or HONDA salesman !!

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:27 am

hmm…6 airbags…ISOFIX mounts……not bad.

Makes a good city car. Whats really impressive are the torque numbers. 175Nm from 1550rpm would make for a really impressive driver.
    N/A 2.0 and larger engines dont even make anywhere close to those numbers at the same rpm.

• how true … Honda Jazz/Freed are fried for good! hmmm… should I cancel booking for the 308THP???

• Facebook_User on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:50 am

yes!!!!!U SHOULD IS WHEN U GV SBODY AN ADVICE,I’M SAYING YOU MUST!!!!!!

• yeap…if i were u, forgo the 308…this is worth it & go die stupid Jazz

• oh dear … but need to try out the car first. afraid the car might be bit too small .. sigh

• BeemerFreak on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:37 am

Dont cancel, never unless u are considering the 1.4tsi Golf. the Polo is much smaller than your 308(tested the polo in Singapore). Stick with Peugeot, they make good cars too, just forget the Japanese.

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Check out the historical depreciation of Peugeot and also the depreciation of VW here. The decision would be even more obvious.

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Bro can elaborate more ? How bad is the depreciation as compared to a Nissan of Toyota ?

• klaka seram on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:17 pm

test drive first, then decide. no need to rush lor…

luv u VW

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:23 pm

but the 308THP is larger than Polo… should same size with GOLF .. its a C-segment like Civic or Altis…

308THP still got more power(140PS 240NM) compare to POLO ..gadget and specs wise PUG can compete

this cute POLO has 7-speed DSG!!!! so the 308THP gearbox lost far far b3hind, only 4 speed Auto, the biggest downside!

you have a hard time to choose :) ahahha~

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:57 am

conti car is best to acquire 2nd hand value because brand new is too blardy expensive i am referring to golf, polo is too tiny can use as 1st car for daily office commute la…

heard that the dry DSG is very sensitive to heat … got heat temperature to prevent it from frying … at least that is what i read la, so better jumping in better go and research first, and also don’t expect DSG gear change is smooth, it is fast but not smooth when short stoping from high gear to low gear and also aggreesive pickup … of course you will not expect this brand new, maybe after 20-30k onwards depends your missus drive or you drive la… expect the downside and VW is a good drive. i hope to skoda will price this cheap too…

• oldwira on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:04 am

Dont worry, DSG got 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage, anything breaks ask for free replacement haha

• klaka seram on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:03 pm

test drive both car first, then only decide

cheers

• MyCarMyLife on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:56 am

More power to the people ! good one VW , we expect more coming .

• losaa on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:01 am

i guess 1.2 TSI dont really worth the hassle la, they should bring 1.4tsi Polo ma. 1.2tsi to fight 1.5 cars only?

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:09 am

please the road the output numbers. it has the torque of 1.8L car. at lower rpms

• bm tan on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:02 am

Seriously, wit the price vw offering, is too tempting to say no.

• zaff1984 on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:08 am

7-speed DSG… wow…not seeing on the road yet, so cannot tell how big is the car…

• JonLing on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:11 am

Hopefully this is not the so-called “introductory price” and will see a hike after 2 or 3 months time, like some other distributors always do. This is indeed a very tempting price for those in the market of a compact hatchback, or just want a quality car from VW. Should be very interesting to see if it will affect the sales of some other japanese hatchbacks that are priced within that range, like Mazda2, Latio Sports and Jazz.

For me, in terms of quality, nothing beats cars coming directly from Germany. Kudos VW Malaysia! Greaet job!

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:07 pm

I think the price might even come down lower. Now all VW models are CBU. Once they find a partner for CKD, i bet it’s going to be even cheaper.

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:01 am

i wud like it a CBU instead of a CKD … most CKD car after reassemble here, the quality actually drops … very sad!! … for example some merz and beemer, those CBU one has doesn’t have rattling or joint wear & tear issue, but the CKD one… aiya, why like this?? but luckily all VW are imported one la… BBB !!!

• klaka seram on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:06 pm

my vote goes to CBU Germany

• dizzy on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:11 am

What about Passat CC 1.8Turbo?

• I saw in Germany website there is this 1.4L Polo GTi… Is it available here and what is the price for that model? This model is just the normal Polo.

• notakosong.com on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:32 am

im guessing its a CBU?

• mujahid on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:43 am

just nice with my budget, hav 3 option now, cruze, peugeot and now this one….. i’ll choose this one, confirmed….

• normal_user on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:44 am

Consider budget for after-sales service also.. Don’t forget the running costs are more important the tag price. Do a survey on the local forums before confirming.

Yup its tempting, but have to see the bills first before deciding…

• mujahid on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:08 pm

maintenance 3yrs

Pug 308 VTI = approx. RM4340
        VW 1.2 tsi = ???

maintenance 105km

Cruze petrol = approx. RM7408

• redwings on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:59 pm

VW offers 5 yrs warranty on their models…this should same alot on after sales service…

Hope this polo will get that too..

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:04 am

SIZE does better somethings … peugeot is wide, cruze has a large boot.. but polo is the smallest in any of the class you are comparing. if you use it as 2nd car for daily commute and just leisure lifestyle; then no problem la… don’t expect the boot to swallow 3 big luggage and behind to sit 4 person in short distance!! :) ……. but its engine is blardy tempting!! small engine of the year isn’t it?

• khairibad on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:43 pm

and car of the year 2010

• oldwira on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:22 am

Here, this car is meant for enthusiasts, u can opt for weekend driving, dating, special ocassions etc but not for daily commute. But hey remember, it is 5-yrs warranty with unlimited mileage. Just go for it, or else find other marques to commute everyday, i would say savvy for instance, and you got piece in mind knowing your polo is safely kept in your garage (or porch). Ahakzzz

• rexis on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:45 am

Alas, there will be little change to do 5.3/100KM during raya balik kampong rush due to jam.

• Diesel like torque at very low rev….low FC…low road tax…nice!

• pk252 on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:55 am

this is petrol powered car, not diesel

• I know its a petrol car…read:”diesel like torque”…ie a petrol car wt torque characteristic of a diesel

• Alpha on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:01 am

will VW msia bring in the Polo GTi??I’m considering a 2nd hand 350Z,a recond Integra,a recond Mark X or perhaps the Polo GTi.any comment??

• Alpha on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:04 am

and also the normal 1.4L Golf.

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:52 am

A 2nd hand 350Z?! 2nd hand or not…if this car comes into ur consideration, u should b prepare that all the ‘saving’ things is thrown out of the window immediately bro. This car will cost u a road tax roughly RM4,372 per year, fuel consumption…forget it lah from it’s VQ35DE, resale value it’s bad (due to it’s cc…trust me on this) so…it’s a keeper rather than buy, test, tak best, jual and oh ya, this car is high maintenance!

But since I’m a car enthusiast, this car is my PICK!!! All those heavy ‘burden’ (I don’t mind) will always put a smile on my face each time I’m behind the wheel. Happy motoring buddy!

P/s: Integra is another damn good car, many aftermarket support, better maintenance compare to 350Z but it’s still a FWD! Don’t buy the old Mark X, the new one is better looking (seen it in the flesh) but hefty price tag.

• Alpha on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm

I might just go for the Integra then.350z’s fuel capacity is 80litre!!damn.i think it’ll be hell to maintain it.I’m so in love with the Scirocco 1.4L though..but at 190k,it’s too expensive for me.considered the 150k Golf 1.4,but i think it doesn’t look as good as the GTi..

• torque on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:57 am

Correct bro! Just go for a test drive on the Integra. If u r new to a sport performance scene…this is a good car for u b4 u wanna jump to a big cc RWD car like the Z. Oh! Go for the Integra facelift version…it’s much better!

• munaz743 on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Anyone can tell if the Polo GTi will be brought in to Malaysia? Ever?

• wiraperkasa on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:27 pm

yep.the polo gti 1.4 tsi will be price at 128k-138k(not sure the exact price).

• Not sure, as in Europe the new Polo 1.4 GTI needs RON98 petrol….

350Z, Integra or Polo? Hm, you can’t really compare this cars. Polo GTI is in one class with Mini Cooper S, it drives like a ‘kart’… ;)

• torque on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:47 am

That’s very true Mohd. Shouldn’t compare all those cars together…differrent class, catergory and characteristic. Not wrong but just differrent.

• Alpha on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:07 pm

what do i knw abt how it drives like.my current car is a Kenari n it’s my first car.i only compare them in price range.haha.

• It price nice with decent power and it is VW, really nice, this will be good choice to many ppl…

• libralcl on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:30 am

I have only got 1 problem with this Polo. The direct injection engine with turbo charge might have some performance degraded if using RON95 petrol(quote from VW). Not really sure how it will perform on the road, need to test it with RON97 & RON95 petrol on market now to see the different. If not much different this might be my next consideration car to own =)

• Ash Menon on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:00 pm

I don’t think it will be a problem. The brochure above (the Flash one) states “min. 95 RON”. But of course, if you want extra zoom-zoom…. :)

• ilikeit on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:46 pm

every car will have degraded effect if use lower graded fuel dude….==’

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:21 pm

I’m using ron95 on my VW GTI mk5 for past 6 months with absolutely no issue and unnoticeable performance compromise.

• libralcl on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:02 am

Wow alamak,

Thanks for the confirmation, if Golf GTI is having good performance using RON95 then it shouldn’t have issue with the TSI too =).

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:29 pm

RON95 sure decrease the performance~~

its a new engine with turbo..

so mix and match la~~ when bloody jam or highway cruise…ron95
      when feel like weekend drive.. ron97~

• what’s your problem, bro? At 5.3l/100km, there is already savings for you regardless of the more expensive fuel use. who knows – ron 97 could give you better mileage instead.

• libralcl on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:00 am

I should said concern instead. We know RON97 will out of subsidy eventually. So the price we paid for the petrol will be become more and more regardless how petrol efficient this car will be. Btw, it shouldn’t be an issue for using RON95, what I just wanted to test out is the differences between both RONs on the car. You know >100K car is not cheap and I am putting expectation on the performance since for me it is the only point that attract me. (It is a hatchback – space? stylish? comfort? not its selling point).

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm

My Vios start to develope pinging sound after 85k of usage with RON 95. I guess it’s knocking due to carbon deposition. I start to fill in RON97 occationally and the situation improve. This POLO cannot survive with RON 95 for too long I guess.

• yippi33 on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:33 am

what the..

109k only!!!??with 1.2 tsi mated with DSG!!..the spec is damn marvellous…will it be CKDed in msia??..Hopefully vw will maintain the price..definitely value for money..

• This type of comment only make VW Group Malaysia will increase the price instead of bring the price further south.

• yippi33 on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:13 pm

well..thank god some people realized about it..my post is actually all about stating how the hell did T&H can price their model at that price with a chokia spec??whereas after all these time, the poor end of our educated consumers are blaming the G for high taxes…the profit margin should be considered to..

• Vezeroth on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:25 pm

i don’t get why ppl say 109k only… they’re so brainwashed by bloody toyota and honda pricing… do yo not know that this car a in a category below the myvi… look what our goverment has done….. 109k on a car this size is not cheap… T & H rip us off enough, don’t let this kind of comments get to the heads of ppl in the industry, inflation will happen overnight… sigh.. a poor end for our uneducated consumers…………

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:12 am

totally agred with Vezeroth, these jap … give us skeleton product and everyone jumps into it … jazz and the freed is the most “rip off” product in the market … though VW interior also alot of hard plastic (be prepared), i checked out the show unit in singapore last month and seriously don’t expect MK6 soft plastic or leather like plastic… but the T&H is the blardest c****i nippun kia that has price it like there is no alternative.. T&H and proton la.. this two p*ki… !! malaysia is world top 5 highest car price, as what i was told la. so 109K cheap?? you can buy a 800sqft apartmnt with this…

• bloom112233 on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Ya, likely got u! or not i thought my standard drop or suddenly malaysian all become rich!

• alpha999 on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:42 am

ahh….finally……this is the kind of technology specs Malaysian drivers deserve. 7 speeder, direct injection exhaust turbocharger, Euro 5, class – leading ride and handling.

If well-priced, this will put extreme pressure on other makes to be more competitive than ever.

well done, VW.

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:57 am

Don’t forget alpha999, got more airbags than common Japs car some more!

• alpha999 on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:26 pm

well torque, if i have to list down complete specs….u be left brain dead speechless ;-)

• loollool on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:31 pm

yes!! agree.. more airbags!!!

ask those fellow who driving 2.4 accord or camry.. why their car so big but only got 2 airbags????????

HONDA , TOYOTA,, u are both hell blood suckers!!!!

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:59 pm

I think it is a good buy at this moment when they are trying to penetrate the market, once they experience good response, they will slowly increase the pricing

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Is RM 108,888 well priced ;)

• F10 528i on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:21 pm

where is the car made in/

• jesse on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Over in the EU the polo competes directly with the fiesta.

But over here the Polo is priced about 27% over the fiesta (based on fiesta 1.6 pricing of 85k). So if you’re thinking of one, you’ll need to see whether the extra cog, direct injection, turbo, extra 4 airbags (what else is different) are enough to justify the price…

I do agree that the 1.2TSI seems a little weak on top end, with just 105 ponies, the 1.4TSI would be much more desirable…but then again, who knows what aftermarket tuners can do with just 1.2…

• What with this and the Fiesta at 85K, these 2 will totally whack the J and K competition clean.

Bye bye Yaris, Jazz, Mazda2 and Latio. Welcome Fiesta, Polo, 308 & Grande Punto at the 100K price fight!

• I check their new spec , but I can ‘t find ESP in the safety features , please correct if I am wrong …

• Kancil_Redbull on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:26 am

You are right, it is not mentioned in the brochure. Although with a NCAP 5 rating one would expect the polo to have ESP.

• patrick on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm

yes, didnt mentioned ESP and auto cruise

• DaBaD on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Hmmm….Polo Gti?

• junaidi on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:41 pm

absolutely gorgeous.

• Anti Proton on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:44 pm

where is the car made in

• evoskylancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

i believe the car is made in Germany

• khairibad on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

No. they made all polo in South Africa
        http://paultan.org/2009/11/21/new-volkswagen-polo-made-in-south-africa/

• Still a 1.2 engine though

• Thomas Heng on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:50 pm

so? it equal to 1.5l normal engine output~

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:21 am

torque is what moves a car; how efficient a machine is how much technology to extract power from it. a 2.0 liter car at most has 200Nm (~ 20kg/m of moving power of kg in a meter), and 1.2 liter car has 175Nm … measuring ponies is for racing purposes as top speed matters, but on daily use, start stop start cruise… 80% rely on torque!! and 7 speed DSG shift on a 175Nm engine… i hope the ECU is clever enuf otherwise traveling 30km/h it shift sequentially straight from 2-7 clog!? and then move up and down. …

when buying a car, the more torque the better to drive… for racing, the high horsepower the higher speed it goes. and more gear clog might have better fuel saving. and this is basic knowledge …

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

torque of a 1.8

• toyotaguy on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:04 pm

aiyo volswagen ….too expensive for car like dis is like myvi size very small de

with 108k can get vios TRD with TRD suspension already bigger size n more sport

• Bro, are you OK? Vios not offered in Europe.

• torque on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:00 am

Sorry, TRD Vios is a mockery towards Toyota Racing Development roots as the M Division that place an M onto X5 and the X6!!!

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Sorry I own a Vios too and I find this POLO much sexy ! Variety is the spice of life dude

• klaka seram on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:51 pm

you’re comparing Vios TRD with this one?? u really funny lar
      hahahahahha…

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:46 am

this car can smoke your vios in acceleration la

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:48 am

and 6 airbags even more than accord let alone vios

• toyotaguy on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

sport car not about aceleration only =) and more airbag is more heavy sport car must be light

i dun noe y u wan compare accord and vios? different class

executive professional boss car and a sport car for young ppl

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm

what i meant is, the accord which is supposedly a family car with big size and all, don’t even have as much as airbags as this polo. with the vios it is even worse. the vios is a sports car huh ??

• yippi33 on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:17 pm

This car will smoke your trd vios before you can even change your gear to D..

• gimmeone on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:03 pm

LOL yea the look on vios ‘sport’ wannabes faces would be priceless :D

• affordable and it’s a VW! wow!

• azrai on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Good. A 100k++ car will bear the same amount roadtax with 35k++ Saga due to its engine capacity.

• ABTguy on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Damn….. just bought a Alza for wife. If know this one coming, sure jump over. Polo 1.2 TSI with stage 1 tuning can hit 140 German BHP, 0-100km/h in 8.8 sec !!

Woo hoo….. can smoke may civic and altis….. And still with misery fuel consumption !!

• shooter on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:23 pm

massive ‘bang per buck’ value, nuf said!

• At RM108K….will surely kill of the Jazz

• 5 years unlimited warranty some more….euro 5 star ncAP

• torque on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

Like what alpha999 said, if he have to list down every specs…we’ll be left brain dead speechless already… :-) Cheers guys!

• klguy on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:02 pm

how come its cheaper than in singapore?

• This car is gonna hit on the Malaysia market nicely due to price , the safety features of this car , the performance and so on.

What else can we ask for ? It’s a VW .

• I LOVE YOU VW.
    way to heat up the competition.
    competition is the best way to ensure quality for consumers.

• i want the Polo GTi !!!!!!

• ordinaryperson on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Great deal from Volkswagen, it is just the cost of maintaining the car I am worried about. I saw a service center for Volkswagen along the road Opposite Batu Lanchang Market in Penang. Wondering whether they can do a decent job at a reasonable price.

• jibbo on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:02 pm

…….now.DAS AUTO!!!!

• But hardly any active safety guys? Only ABS!

• 1st, the koreans attack.

now the europeans counter attack.

only the japanese are still sleeping…

in the end, consumers have more choices in the 100-150k budget range.

• if compared with Peugeot 308, which do you guys think it more bang for bucks? as Peugeot 308 has more feature (auto headlamp, auto wiper, panomatic roof etc) than this…

and in term of service, which will win better?

• bohtakcheck on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:24 am

yea… you are right, after sales service is important, crucially important factor to consider. not every car is perfect .. sure got problem one, minor or major have to go to service center to get it right… read from peugeot forum … quite jialat the malaysia one.

• This polo is different segment from 308..308 is more spacious(more like a golf)..but enginewise,polo is better with 1.2TSI and 7 speed DSG(not as powerful as 308 though,but newer and fuel efficient)..its your money so before u choose i would advise u to test drive both cars..

• I understand its diff segment, but when comes to price tag, thats the price Im comfortable with, thats why I need to consider, if I need to compromise those features in 308 and get better performance (gearbox etc) in polo?

• spiller on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Andy, it depends which you prefer more:

308: more features, but how often will you use it? how practical are they?
          i personally almost chose 308 THP myself, like the moon-roof a lot, but in the end i choose Civic 1.8SL because i needed the rear room-space. the back seats in 308 feels too small & uncomfortable to me.

Polo: great power and great fuel consumption. 308 has more torque and HP, but it depends if u doing more city driving or highway cruising. if city driving i find 308 a bit wasted, and the ride is not smooth enough (jerky). on top of that fuel won’t be economical with 308 on city driving.

maintenance wise i believe both about the same, still got room for improvement to reach H & T level, for now at least. have u test drive both, or 308 at least?

i’m seriously considering to cancel my Civic 1.8SL booking for this Polo, the only things that stopping me are room space, and higher interest rate now for VW. oh well, maybe i’ll get it in 1-2 years time for missus :)

• oldwira on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm

bro, what is the interest rate 4 this polo? any info?

• JeffL on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:23 am

Wow! 6 AIRBAGS! Makes the Accord And Camry (2 Class above) looks cheapskate (only 2 airbags)…

• patrick on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:40 pm

yesss, u see what they give us buyers for 140k++ camry/accord?? lousy interior n build up…so light feeling..kling klonggg

• Anti Proton on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:37 am

im in love

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:18 am

it’s alledi in malaysia. my nebor said, his fren of his fren buy alledi. pink carrror. in 2 weeks driv. he said worth it even pay cash.

• torque on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:58 am

R u sure? I always checked my stock list every week…not a single unit arrive yet! (*for sale wan lah)

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:52 am

5 years unlimited warranty??!!…now thats a great deal…hopefully the owner wont visit the service center very often

• oldwira on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:07 pm

bro dont tipu rakyat like the a**-f*** guy, its not unlimited warranty, its 5 years with unlimited mileage.

• evoskylancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:59 am

I’m looking to upgrade my car to a family car…currently considering Honda City and Kia Forte, but this car really tempts me since it is equipped with 6 airbags…I know that this is a compact car but if the interior is spacious and the boot space is rather cavernous, I may as well choose this since safety (6 airbags) is my priority criteria in choosing a car

• Chief on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Cheap but have to prepare for the maintenance.. since is continental car..

15k = RM 4xx
    30k = RM 6xx
    45k = RM 6xx
    60k = RM 1.6k – RM 2.4k

For every 15k services is fine but for major service…gulp!

• azmidia on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Yes if u look at per service cost its expensive compared to T + H, but I think every1 is missing the glaring mistake to do that kind of comparrison.

VW service every 15k
      T + H service every 5k

So u need to divide the per service cost by 3. So in terms of comparring to T + H its only RM133 per service for the forst 3 service intervals.

• Well said… If u want to compare maintainence, I just servis my T brand and i cost me around RM160… (35k km) 40k km i have to do another servis.. Then another 5k km… Total is more expensive compare to conti..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:06 pm

not to mention your duit minyak for back & forth to service centre!

• wow nice speced.. reasonable priced and is a VEEDUB!!! OMG…. what a deal..

• iminlove on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:30 pm

im in love 2, so damn sexy….. i want 1!

• Anti Proton on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:04 pm

any abt kits?

• JAPAN KEDEKUT……….2 AIRBAGS ONLY

• same class as fiesta, but with less equipment, styling and pricier.

• JasJos on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:06 am

BEWARE: a lot of failures of the mechatronics in the 7 speed dsg worldwide. Google it. Singapore already got a lot of cases. Try www.vagsg.com. So don’t even think about stage 1 unless u are ready to void the warranty.

• torque on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:47 am

True JasJos since the 7 speed DSG is a dry clutch so it can’t handle abuse…in other words don’t try to stage it!!

• Comparing the engine capacity is not so important now cos the power n torque produces are more important since this is a force induction engine. I would prefer small capacity engine with high power output so that at here we could pay less for roadtax.

Just wanna ask, do u guys prefer to pay for bigger capacity with high roadtax or smaller capacity with cheaper roadtax?

Comparison to 308, I think 308 will be more spacious at inside. This Polo is aim for city driving car and those features offer are more attractive. More airbags and more engine speed which other cars could not be able to compare.

How do you clasiffied Polo is in which class of car level? Do u tell from the size? From the Price? Or from the quality? For me, what class is not important, the most important to classified is from the quality build. Frankly speaking I have not seen a real Polo yet, just wait until it launch then only I know how good it is and will sure test drive it.

5 yrs warranty sounds very interesting but pls ask cleary how much for the servicing continously for 5 yrs. 5 yrs warranty meaning u are tight to service it at the dealer, even changing engine oil or replace some small parts. Anyway, just roughly work out the total cost for servicing for 5 yrs.
    AFAIK, dealer charging RM6x per litre engine oil for servicing a GTI MK6. This excluded extra labour chop u at RM90.

• ABTguy on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:57 am

Why our Gomen reject the acquisition from VW to Proton ?? If the deal go thru, we should have or shall see our VolksTon or ProtWagen line ups :

Saga sedan – Polo Sedan 1.2 TSI, 7spd DSG
    Savvy – Polo hatch 1.2 TSI
    Persona – Can keep for the time being, maybe
    Waja – Jetta Sedan 1.4 TSI twin-charger, 7 spd DSG
    Gen2 – Golf 1.4 TSI twin-charger, 7 spd DSG
    Exora – Keep the body shelf, replace the engine and trans to 1.4 TSI twin-charger
    Perdana – Passat or Passat CC, 2.0 TSI, 6 spd DSG

Aiyoh…… sad…

• phas3r on Aug 12, 2010 at 7:55 am

but that’s good news la for VW owner. if not become like lancer after the waja replacement is out

• vw CKD in china hv low quality material…my fren wiling to spend 3 times more for d CBU one….just wait and see

• Well done VW Malaysia. Malaysian already waited enough and were forced to settle for something called movers. Truly, Malaysian for time a long already fond to own a conti. However, the political and market condition have put Malaysian to a no-choice situation. Now we can see that general Malaysian really put there heart together on a thing that they deserve of a ‘car’ no more a mover. For more then 25yrs since P1 started, we were force to settle for a general Malaysian mover and next best of Jap mover. Only small quarters that can afford conti and they normally go for the high end one. Since that also I see this mover manufacture values Malaysian life equal to a chicken. With so many ‘campaign’ to reduce road accident, still ..you know la. Its time for Malaysian to get standard car, starting with Polo. Small yet it is a car. If VW really want to help further, they can price this standard car to a level equal to Jap mover.

• paragon on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm

totally agreed.

i wish it could be priced just a little bit lower around 80-90k where it would definitely destroy the Vios and City monopoly of that price-tag segment (not size segment though).

if Vios and City potential buyers are smart enough, they wouldn’t mind losing that boot space of a sedan and opt for this Polo which is safer, more economical, better quality, better reliability, and of course better and more fun drive – just like you said, a car instead of a mover.

after all, most City and Vios owner either bought it as a first car (mostly youngsters), or as a second smaller car as alternative to their bigger first car. so more often than not, most of them wouldn’t need the extra boot space that much.

the 80-90k price tag segment is a much bigger market than the 100-110k segment. this Polo definitely need to go and wake people up of from the Japanese mind control there.

• John Doe on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Not likely to do well as the price of RM110K is way too high for a car of this size no matter the pedigree. The cabin space is somewhat more comparable with a Perodua Viva. A more reasonable figure would be RM65K-RM75K with fully loaded specs.

• Paragon & John Doe
    You put any price also it will not solve as its relative. The message that we need to send to the gov and auto industries is that, Malaysian is not chicken and we need a car

• John Doe on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:53 pm

This car does provide some rather good specifications, safety-wise as well but it’s priced way beyond the means of regular joes. Similar size with Viva but 4 times more expensive? Further, with the possibility of it being CKD thanks to an MoU signed between VW and DRB-Hicom, prices need to be revised to an appropriate level and quickly too. I can’t imagine those paying RM108,888 today but few months later the CKD version only cost RM75K!

Malaysian will not be seen as “chickens” if they can start affording more reasonable cars at a more reasonable rate.

• Currently, got slaughtered by the high price is definite but get a mover is like killed twice. Reasonable affordable price for a car is still far. I’ve been waiting long time for this to happen and I’m still on a mover and with New Polo (my best affordable for time) I hope for a change.

• John Doe on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:26 pm

They were throwing out the previous generation Polo GTI (emphasis on GTI) for RM99K only last time. Imagine the profit margin for this car. There’s no excuse for for the current Polo (non-GTI) to be priced any higher than RM75K and yet they did at RM108,888. And we’re not even talking about the CKD version yet.

• harry on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:56 am

this is a very low specs polo..only ABS??No TC and EBD..

• KAMAL on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:33 am

IS THE GOLF GTI 1.4TSI HAVE THIS COMFORT & SPORT MODE AS WHAT THE GOLF MARK 6 HAD?

• Yes, CKD will bring down the price of the car but I don’t think the specs will be the same. What you paid is what you get. From my experience some cars already being CKD from CBU, there must be a little strip down specs from the CBU specs.
    The specs of Polo is really attractive than Japanese car but in pratically daily driving we still don’t know how good is this polo compare to Japs car like Vios n City.

But for sure the size is not the same.

Also what about the servicing maintanance cost of this Polo also a question.

AFAIK, continental car servicing is not cheap… especially VW is killing…

• Anti Proton on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:31 am

as usual. u stupid malaysians always think that sedans are more worth the money cos look bigger. but u lose a lot in terms of practicality. just a trip to ikea and u would know the importance and benefits of proper hatchbacks.

• Nice car!

• gimmeone on Oct 10, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Waiting for paul’s review of the car, just tested the car yesterday…… nice……ok more than nice…..seriously “torquey” for a car that size. Lets just say cars should be made like that, nothing less. Open quote ” If you want a fuel economical and compact run-about this is it – what the Europeans have been enjoying for the past 2 to 3 years now” from above. What we have been paying for the cars in the market is sad….hope things get better from now… 2 thumbs up!

• khalid on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:08 am

nice car….hope i can replace it with my Perodua Myvi…huhu

• I confius which 1 is better between satria neo lotus racing or volkswagen polo. I already test drive both. Both are gud in their own way but I still confuse. Can anyone help give a positive advive. Thank you.

• Of coz get a Volkswagen Polo
    1.Branded
    2.Quality
    3.Save fuel
    4.Powerful
    5.Sporty and Elegance

• comparing on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

I guess Polo ultimate competitor would be the Ford Fiesta. Both of them fight for years in Europe market. The up coming Fiesta(RM74k++) is cheaper than Polo(RM 108k++).

Perhaps there would be headache for consumers again. Is a good scenario where by Malaysian have more choices instead of choosing the boring T & H brand.

• Hi Paul, I just visited VW showroom near Glenmarie. But seem that the accessories different from what display @ VW malaysia website. For example. Only 4 air bags instead of 6 air bags. No front fog lamp. Manual air cond instead of semi auto mentioned. No arm rest. No Heat-insulating green tinted glass. Price remain the same.

• just came back from VW showroom

the car is great in white. leg room like iswara.. head room is lower.. cabin space is small.. enough for one mid size and small size luggage

rim design is different from brochure but still look nice at 15″

no sport front bumper
    no fog light
    no center arm rest
    no digital aircond…

one month delivery

price about 110K.. i round up

• stevencbk on Oct 23, 2010 at 6:11 pm

For those who likes GTi model. Try wait till Feb-Mar 2011 while the new Polo GTi starts shipping.

The GTi model priced RM128, 888, which 20K to top up full spec with 150hp model.

• comparing on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Is it confirm that VW Malaysia will take the GTI model too?
      If so, i don’t mind to have a wait!

• polomsia on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:26 am

Hi, especially for VW Polo Club owner..now u can join us at http://forum.vwpoloclubmalaysia.com