It’s official – Lotus Renault GP is a go for 2011!

After weeks of agonizing wait, it has been officially confirmed that Group Lotus will come into Formula 1 next season with Genii Capital, owner of the Renault F1 team. According to the press release, Group Lotus have signed a title sponsorship deal that will run till 2017.

As previous reports have suggested, Group Lotus has purchased all of the remaining shares held by Renault. This new partnership between Group Lotus and Genii has given birth to the Lotus Renault GP team. The team will continue to have Renault as its engine supplier, hence the reason why the French brand is in the team’s official name.

The press release also mentioned that Group Lotus will benefit form significant technological and commercial opportunities for its range of road cars through the sponsorship. Furthermore, it has also been confirmed that the team will make use of Lotus’ iconic black and gold colour scheme as the team’s official livery in 2011, as pictured in the artist impression above.

Interestingly, Tony Fernandes’ Lotus Racing team also plans to do the same. This colour combination was last seen in the 1980s.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Francis on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:24 pm

What a way to go !

• kimi_ on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:33 am

Why Malaysia always made headlines for wrong reason like the court case of TF and Proton…

I DONT CARE the team calls: Group Lotus, Lotus Racing, Team Lotus, Lotus F1, Lotus Grand Prix, Scuderia Lotus, GP Team Lotus, Lotus Cars Racing, Lotus F1 Racing, Group Lotus Grand Prix, Team Lotus Racing F1 and 1Malaysia Lotus or WATEVER,,,,

Just bring the results…Thats it

• rosdi on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Lotus will bleed the already fragile Proton to death with this expensive venture.

• Nakal on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Yes, this is something that i dont know to – support or NO support.

Pls dont repeat the mistake of TM

• kimi_ on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:48 am

This Lotus Renault GP will be a lot faster and upper standings than TF lotus next year… So, if both carried lotus name, TF’s lotus team will be like sister team of Proton’s Lotus Renault like toro rosso to RED BULL RACING….

What a good strategy from Proton to regain the pride even they lose the court case, because it will be more faster than TF’s team and people will think Proton’s Lotus is the more rightful owner of Lotus name!

• maybe that is the whole point…. then someone gets to buy lotus for 1 euro.

• exactly…most of the big car manufacturer quit this cash burning stupid game, but Proton/Lotus want to come in…for what? PRIDE…really pointless and stupid.

• Urm…
          It’s cash burning..
          But initially, Proton wanted to show that with low budget and tight schedule, The lotus team can create good results..
          And of course they did it.
          If in the future to get to top 3 or 5 needs expanding budget~ I hope Proton will quit when it’s time, when Proton has finally reached his aim to be world recognized Brand as well as Lotus as world recognized Premium sports car on par with Lamborghini and Porsche.

But then, by that time, do you think Lotus team should quit?
          When the reward is good, why should?.. Most Company quit is not because it’s too costing, but it’s not as rewarding as the expenses.

• trav_da_man on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:01 am

I totally agreed. Read top gear mag and Group Lotus has obtained 770 million pounds from Proton which is actually our hard earned tax payers monies!!!!! I believe Dany Bahar is taking our stupid gov for a ride!!!!

Somebody stop this!!!!

• matlap on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

how many millions have u paid?
        no matter how stupid MY GOVERNMENT are,this is MY MALAYSIA,so just wait for the result and make this investment bear fruits..

• “Tony Fernandes’ Lotus Racing team also plans to do the same”??? Um…do they have to? I mean..What’s wrong with the current colour scheme? Or just nak cari pasal with Proton/Lotus? Hehe :)

• littlefire on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:59 pm

I think is Proton/Lotus cari pasal with him… When he proved that an amature team can have some result in F1. Proton/Lotus suddenly came in & said they want out and join others… Is like fetching a passenger out and when u arrived at the destination, the passenger snatch ur car and claim ur car is his all these while?!? While most of the driving, maintanance & fuel is paid by the driver.. How do u felt if u r in Tony Fernandes hand?

• Eyesore on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Exactly what result?? best of rest of the rest?? proton/lotus carik pasal with TF? freaking bullshit…look at who breach the agreement first?

However…i do wish TF team to get better result next season with renault engines… if they are still the best of the rest.. then i will not be suprise if he left the team to die…

• kington on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:40 am

Yes… IF Proton wre to embark on something BIG like this, they would’ve announced it with conviction much earlier. This feels more like a last minute thing although i must admit that the F1 plan might have been in the pipeline for some time.

In this though, i support Tony’s team, a TRUE Malaysian success that we can be proud of.

• Eyesore on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:12 am

TRUE Malaysian team…is a false statement…. The drivers? Non-Malaysian The paddock / pit stop team? Non-Malaysian The engineers? very very small number of malaysian The team base? NOT in malaysia Only the owner is malaysian…. Riyad? if not because of proton, you wouldn’t even be the CEO of team…

• They the one who copied tony’s team…..he already announced that they gonna use black and gold ages ago!…do you actually follow F1?

• yes i do follow F1, but not with this tony-proton case..hehe..Mclaren supporter since Hakkinen and Coulthard era :)

• yusof on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Good job DSZ!

• I have a feeling they are using the same colour scheme as Tony’s team on purpose.

• wrongturn on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:57 pm

wat u talking bro?
      tony car is green n yellow..
      and this new one is JPS(used to be)black n gold

• blake on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:13 pm

wake up dude, it was green/yellow last season, it will be black/gold for next season!!

• Driver on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Surely you don’t know about the black and gold livery contest that Team Lotus@Lotus Racing held last month. They are the first one announcing their 2011 livery in black and gold.

• Gladiator on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Team Lotus racing also plan to use back the Black n gold livery in 2011

• osh_kosh on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:17 am

Tony announced it 1st alright… but that didn’t mean that he planned to use the colour scheme 1st.. it just happen that Group Lotus take more time to officially confirmed their involvement hence delaying any team related announcement… just think about it, why suddently change the green-yellow scheme after just a year of racing??? & btw, most of us love that colour… it look like Tony knew Group Lotus ‘inside’ news & plan then decide to play with it… or maybe i’m just being paranoia.. hahahaha

• klwarrior on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:34 pm

M’sial is a damn rich country. Plotong can sponsor F1 Team, Tony can sponsor F1 team and Petronas can sponsor F1 team. But who will sponsor the rakyat’s suffering???

• blake on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:55 pm

It’s not the same. Petronas is just title sponsor (for advertising, in fact all Mercedes powered F1 teams use Exxon/Mobil as Fuel and lube) and don’t have any voice to team decision. Tony OTOH is 1Malaysia Racing Team principal. As Group Lotus, i wonder how much involvement will they have.

• Tengkurex on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Well, to set thing worse, Tun Mahathir fully supported this partnership. Big blow for Tony.
    Lotus statement quotes Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Proton advisor as saying: “This is an exciting development which delivers strategic benefits to both Group Lotus and Proton. I fully support the partnership.”

• Group Lotus press statement quotes “Following the return of the Lotus name to Formula 1 in 2010, under license from Group Lotus, this historic announcement marks the complete return of the Lotus manufacturer to the sport”

Group Lotus has never raced in F1 so how come they return. Only Team Lotus raced in F1. That’s the fact. What a joke. They may have the speed, but they won’t have my support. The true Team Lotus has gone years ago.

• blake on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:07 pm

yeah. wonder why Group Lotus took this approach to bully tony and his group. Why not just buy back the ‘Team Lotus’ name right and get involve with 1Malaysia Racing Team? they give malaysia & proton a really bad name.

• napie on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:16 pm

did air asia race in F1 before?

• Lotus did race in F1, but that was long ago, even before i was born and they achieved very good results and is now, still, the only one which can compete with Ferrari in terms of the number of constructors’ championships. Get the facts correct before vomiting words out of that hole on your face.

Btw, i don’t think Proton or Lotus even cares whether they have your support.

So, who’s the joke now? You or Lotus?..

• Driver on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Team Lotus and Group Lotus are separate entity. Please search the net about the facts and real history of Lotus. Group Lotus only build cars while Team Lotus is for F1 racing. How many times that this matter been mentioned already. Do be katak bawah tempurung lah.

• Ferruccio on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Your point is understandable since you admitted to not being around when Team Lotus raced. However if you were old enough to witness the team’s era you would know that Team Lotus was NOT Group Lotus. Group Lotus never claimed to be Team Lotus and the car maker never took credit for the F1 team’s race successes.

So their sudden turn around now, claiming race heritage etc which was never credited to the car company is now irritating fans of the old Team Lotus and definitely grounds for ‘passing off’

• seriousSAM on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Group Lotus NEVER race in Formula 1.

Ditto.

• so u are saying that ferrari SpA never raced in F1? So all those hype involving Scuderia Ferrari, is not a Ferrari? So is the 599, 458, F40 and all other great ferrari supercars not related to F60, F2008, F2007??? Come on la! u guys never understood! Team Lotus is just a name sold somehow to an anonymous man which sold it to tony fernandez after colin chapman’s team withdrew from F1! And yes, Colin Chapman run his F1 and road car like Enzo did with what to become the Scuderia Ferrari and ferrari SpA! In fact Enzo used the car company money to fund his Scuderia!! Team Lotus today is just like Spyker and Buggati (only difference is the former is a name for F1 and the laters are name for road cars) nameplate which serve no direct route to the founder except the name! Please check your records!

Stop the stereotype on proton! This is Lotus, the legendary lightweight sport car maker who’s going back to race! The real lotus! If anyone is to blame is tony fernandez and yes partly proton to use (and allow it to be used) Lotus name in 2010 and disgraced the Lotus nameplate and thus it’s badge value in the market! If they can fight at least with 1 manufacturer team, I’m sure Lotus would surely be glad for them to work their magic. But because it bares the Lotus name, Lotus is by far, i mean heaven and earth the worst ‘manufacturer’s’ team! The next worst manufacturer is like what? Mercedes GP??? After all, Lotus does have big plan ahead for its road car business! Thus it need to stop unfruitfulness and abusive use of Lotus in F1!

How would u feel if if u have a great brand name for your cucur pisang and ppl use it to sell crappy cucur udang? wouldn’t it hurt your business?

• Razor on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:02 am

Omg alex..how dumb can u be.
        GROUP LOTUS AND TEAM LOTUS/LOTUS RACING are NOT the same..

• Razor on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:10 am

The Lotus Carmaker has nothing to do with Team Lotus/Lotus Racing that is involved in F1. Ur making urself look stupid alex.
          Colin Chapman Seperated these 2 entities a long time ago.

• Yes my comment above is misleading but while it is true that TF might has the rightful name for Team Lotus and that Team Lotus is of different entity with Group Lotus, the Team Lotus today is bought as a name rather than a team. The fact is that Team Lotus are dismantled totally but somehow david hunt squeeze a deal for the name, only the name! what ever factory and equipment and man power team lotus had were gone for decades. So naturally, the real Lotus had to go back to the company which actually run the Lotus name proudly all these times. Yes this is not technical term but still one enthusiast would know which to support.

• Driver on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:23 am

Comparing Ferrari with Lotus is an epic fail example Alex. Both companies operated differently.

• mohdjiman on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Black & Gold…nice….

• tokmoh on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Mmm… just like Germany’s football team jersey.

Well, kinda glad to see we see a good outcome in the end.

• Jonesy on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:51 pm

As great as it is to see the “proper” Lotus team (and i use the term proper fairly loosely) back on the grid and in such iconic colours, i cant help but think Proton should have put the money into world rallying.

It worked for Subaru in the 90’s and there is absolutely no reason why it wouldnt work with Proton now.

F1 is a halo sport and has absolutely no bearing on the average man on the street buying a car, this has been proven time and time again, just look at Mercedes and BMW, i guarantee that their expensive forays into F1 have garnered very little return in the way of increased car sales. Unlike the proven returns of entering WRC or other national and international rally championships. Mitsubishi, Subaru, Ford etc etc have all sold special models on the back of rally success, and consumers have bought them on the back of the cars success and the reverence held towards the race car, simply because the vehicle you see on the special stage looks almost identical to the road going sport special.

I think that Proton have missed the beat with this foray into F1, had they produced a road going version of the Satria S2000 rally car, having put it into the WRC and it getting some good results, and providing the marketing and pricing are correct, they would sell bucket loads of them to the public, and it will increase the standing of the brand within many crucial markets around the world.

• Sid Sodamuddin on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:54 pm

1. Er, so where is Subaru now? Selling rehashed Toyotas and Daihatsus?

2. This sponsorship isn’t for PROTON, it’s for GROUP LOTUS. In case you haven’t noticed, Lotus has an upcoming car portfolio that would benefit from F1, do they look like rally cars to you?

I think you’ve missed the beat with this news story.

• Jonesy on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Proton OWN Lotus, they are the money behind it, why spend it on Lotus entering F1, when it wont help them sell cars, especially when it says RENAULT in the team name, i can see all the people crowding around the new Lotus Esprit asking “So is that a Laguna underneath?”
        Spending millions and millions on a mid table F1 team, there to make up the numbers, WILL NOT SELL LOTUS ROAD CARS.

I dont suggest that the new Lotus cars look anything like rally cars.

And Subaru may well sell rehashed Toyota and Daihatsu’s, but think of it this way, they are a successful auto company, and people still buy them on the back of them being one of the most successful rally cars of the modern era. If Proton cars sold as many cars as Subaru, re-hashed or not they would be a much bigger player in the world stage.

Don’t get me wrong i am pleased that we will have Lotus back on the grid and in such evocative colours, thats great, but i just cannot see the business sense behind it, when a car company is in business to sell cars, spending all this money on something that WILL NOT HELP SELL CARS.

• Proton just own they share on lotus, not the company..

• Proton holding bhd own Group lotus (GL), PONSB and other malaysian subsidiaries. GL build and sells lotus brand car, that why it wants to be in F1, PONSB/malaysian subsidiaries in the other hand build and sells car for the masses thus involvement in IRC/APRC

• sidney on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:20 pm

if subaru not convincing enough, what about Mitsubishi Lancer Evo? remember Tommi Makkinen? there was an era where they (Mitsu&Subaru) gather a lot of fans. now there’s only 2 manufacturer in FIA WRC.

• This sponsorship actually does involved Proton…….as what Proton advisor said it will benefited bot Lotus and Proton…it means some of the money come from Proton aka taxpayer’s money

• no from their profit…ur tax money goes to research grant which many company n lecturer get when they want to do research eg proton, my former lecturer n etc

• BadBET on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:06 pm

this venture is to help Lotus sell their cars. F1 is the best platform to promote Lotus new line up.

• fried tape play on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:23 pm

duuude, proton compete in rally like..ages ago…karamjit with evo 7(or 8) ..named team proton. N4 grup.

• seriusSAM on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:51 pm

hehehehheheh

good luck proton.. hope you guys will not sucks up too much of malaysian taxpayer money to cope up with F1 expenditures

• udasalleh on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:21 pm

its not Proton la… for heaven’s sake… they are just sponsors… like thay sponsored TF’s lotus… what’sthe matter with u? don’t u read? can’t u ever understand?

• You are totally right!:)

• malaysian on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:54 pm

since when proton use taxpayers money? any proof to support?

• like any other GLC, if they make profit, they get to keep it and if they make huge loss, gov will top up the loss to save them from bankrupt.

• wrongturn on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:07 pm

F1 typical quote or comment when not succeeded to be among the best:

Quote 1
    “we shall be the best among the new team this year…”

Quote 2
    “we are happy just to complete the race on the initial stage of the seasons…”

and after half-way and still no results!!

“we are happy with our progress this year, and all efforts have been given to developed our new car for next year….”

• mystvearn on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Few questions come to mind here:

1. Proton happy about this or giving consent to TF to use its brand?

2. WIll there be a Renault team next season? You mentioned tha Group Lotus purchased all the shares… or is this the case of Lotus using a Renault engine?

3. That is just a mockup car right? I don’t think they’ve done testing yet. Even has the Potenza tyres there.

This car will be better than the Cosworth engines used this year. I can see Sir Richard Branson playing stewardess second time around :P hahaha

• Diablo on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:36 pm

I think you’re confused. This is not Tony Fernandes’ team.

This is the Renault F1 team, rebadged.

So answers to your questions:

1. Tony does not need Proton’s consent to call his team ‘Team Lotus’. Proton hold no rights to that

2. This IS the Renault F1 team that you are reading about.

3. Artist rendition image but a real car image is circulating. See here http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/7502/g509345779.jpg

Both Tony’s Team Lotus and this Lotus Renault GP will use the same Renault V8 unit. Difference is in their chassis and aero

• k_man on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:11 pm

can’t wait to see these 2 teams battle it out next season…be it on track and media ;)

• i just hope the court case end very2 soon and there will be no two lotuses next season. if group lotus lose, they should change the name to Renault GP Lotus (just like petronas as they are only title sponsor). if tony lose his team will use another name such as AirAsia GP / Tune GP / LowCostCarrier GP…

• trust me… this is like racing a rabbit and a tortoise… yayaya… tortoise can win given the rabbit clash with the prancing horse up or being pierce by the three pointed star at front where ppl are actually racing and watching with interest… and the tortoise not running of course chasing a flying virgin…

• Driver on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Many of Renault F1 fans also disagree with this partnership. You can check it at their officially fan page in Facebook. RIP Renault F1

• technically, the mercedes GP we know today, is the former independent BAR… which then become Honda Racing then the Independent BrawnGP… so what’s wrong Renault become Lotus? BMW Sauber did that too with Sauber Petronas once upon the time and reach quite a success with positive result to it’s car selling. hope this new proper lotus can preserve the image of lotus!

• FuelEfficient on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:29 pm

All these F1 forays is wasting the rakyat’s money – (Petronas Money) and
    (Proton’s Money). Just like the 100 storey tower is going to waste money..

These money should be put to better use instead..
    When the time comes when the country in financial trouble … they will raise this and that….and cut budget and subsidies…

We do not want what happen to Europe and the British who raised study fees 300% now to haunt us the same in future……….

• fried tape play on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:27 pm

its economic. we dun kept money,,we invest.we get the profit.so dat you guys will be able to buy cheaper car. plus..its in a very2 sexy way..motorsport! malaysia is damn cool!

• imagine this~..Kubica takes the chequered flag!!..wait!..its heiki!..no!..maybe trulli???..lets see the cars number ~ =.=”

• f1fanatic on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:37 pm

oh well there’s goes the tax payers money.. I don’t understand why lotus group didn’t commit in lotus racing in the first place. TF has cocked up the lotus legacy by putting malaysian theme to it. Yeah it’s nice to have a national entry in F1, but lotus is british and it’s always been british. I bet it’s one of the reason danny bahar is not too happy with the team. TF is destroying the exclusivity of the brand whether its “team” lotus or lotus “racing” everyone will refer it as lotus anyway.

• proof first that ur tax money..DSZ already mintak Gov more research grant for R&D that ur tax money n they do borrow from bank u know…i hav the proof..do u?

• I dont like the scheme color.. :|

• Lotus-Renault GP (Group Lotus) and Team Lotus-Renault (Lotus Racing). 2 F1 teams using ‘Lotus’ name. both will have similar color scheme.

shiiiett. people will very confused.

• hero86 on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:06 pm

it just like how redbull sponsor two team several years ago.. and now, they got the world title..

• RBR won because of the NEWEY effect!!. He used to design both RBR and STR cars until 2009 if i’m not mistaken. For 2010, it is the first season STR developed the car on their own.

• SidewaysSyndrome on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Why is it so difficult for people to see that this is a branding excercise for Lotus (Supercar Company) and not Proton. Just because Proton owns Lotus they get the smack.

As you all might already know, Dany Bahar is transforming Lotus into a brand that is up there with the big boys and he is using F1 as part of the transformation tool. Looks at the 5 models that was released during Paris Motor Show. They are far from current models that they are selling now.

I think its unfair for people to judge Proton on this just because they own Lotus. Look at Fiat and Ferrari. Why is Fiat not being condemn for putting Ferrari in F1. There was a time where there were only 2 brands in F1, Ferrari and Lotus. So its just timely for Lotus to come back in.

• webbersucks on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Yay!!! I think TF Lotus is going to die very soon!

Who will want to sponsor them now…..But i guess TF will keep funding it no matter what to protect his “face”.

The fact that they wont even start next year with KERS shows how strapped for money they must be.

Go Lotus Renault….ur car looks nice and at least Proton/Group Lotus has the sense to partner with a front running team.

• shawal on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Forget all the drama, Focus on the Racing , And that is one schweet looking ride…

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:27 pm

hmmm… next thing you know, Lotus Renault F1 team gets sued by Imperial Tobacco…LOL

Now all they need is to get a Fittipaldi to drive…..

• very good

• SidewaysJunkie on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Why is it so difficult for people to see that this is a branding excercise for Lotus (Supercar Company) and not Proton. Just because Proton owns Lotus they get the smack. 

As you all might already know, Dany Bahar is transforming Lotus into a brand that is up there with the big boys and he is using F1 as part of the transformation tool. Looks at the 5 models that was released during Paris Motor Show. They are far from current models that they are selling now. 

I think its unfair for people to judge Proton on this just because they own Lotus. Look at Fiat and Ferrari. Why is Fiat not being condemn for putting Ferrari in F1. There was a time where there were only 2 brands in F1, Ferrari and Lotus. So its just timely for Lotus’s comeback

• Diablo on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:29 pm

The problem is, people who follow the Lotus brand long enough are skeptical of Dany Bahar’s sudden & massive plans. Lotus is unique in the market place. Thebrand is not in the same league as Ferrari, Porsche etc. Industry analysts or anyone you speak to from the automotive industry are highly skeptical of his strategy. Lotus’ values are different.

Proton is now receiving a lot of flak overseas for supporting this. People think they are incompetent for agreeing to Bahar’s plans especially when Proton themselves have struggled with their core business.

And if taxpayers’ money is involved, Malaysians are bound to flip and go beserk

• wiraperkasa on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:17 pm

i wonders, which brand other than proton sells a car with higher taxpayer’s money, proton or honda/toyota?(didn’t you all always claim other car has been taxed 300%, which mean honda/toyota sucks more taxpayer’s money)

• Teratai Group on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Unique = money loss. Let’s be honest, previous Lotus cars aren’t really that special. They only appeal to purists who want the raw power of the car without the added comforts. That segment of the market is dying and Bahar realizes this. It’s kind of why Lotus has been in a slump since forever and why Proton had to buy out all of their debt in 2003.

They have to reposition and rebrand themselves if they want to start making money again. The money is in the average people on the street who want a sexy car that is comfortable and drives well. Lotus can fill that and they have to start getting their name out there. The challenge for Lotus is now positioning themselves with Porsche and Ferrari whilst maintaining their own identity and their own roots. I think the 5 new Lotus designs seek to do just that.

Would I agree to the F1 exercise? No, not really. Unless they can pull off major results in the coming years. But all remains to be seen. Lotus is taking a huge gamble but the positive response from people at the Paris Auto Show proved that the average guy likes the new direction Lotus is going. The only people who were bashing Lotus were those that grew up with the company and grew up with the stripped down sports cars. Unfortunately, they are a dying breed and in an economy where everyone is losing money, you can’t rely on a base that is slowly disappearing.

• ppl were and still are sceptical too watching porsche introducing the cayenne and panamera… yes, both model angered the old fans but they lift the company into a much higher state… sad it is part of VW now though…

• BadBET on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:10 pm

as long it can bring better good, then it is ok

• jamal on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

kubica can drive this car to podium next year. wonder if no 1, which national song will be on the air?

• vince on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:35 pm

if i am not wrong should be poland

• dickybird on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:11 pm

u must be new to f1?

• john jee on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:02 am

maybe what he means is, first is the drivers country song second the car manufacturers country song.

• no… the team is based in in england and because lotus is also an england company, most probably it would be neglish national song… but who knows if proton insist… that would be awkward though for lotus fan else where…

• SoMeOnE on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

as dramatic as the name sounds , GROUP LOTUS is actually a rather small company which is in turn owned by Proton which is also kinda small. IMO they are doing this for exposure to the group as a whole. Besides, that if i were to ever put my money on Proton actually establishing a tie up or partnership with any car maker, it would have to be the Renault-Nissan alliance. I mean the signs of little cooperations have been there for some models and they Proton seem really comfy with working with this lot so this could be a sign of things to come. I reckon for a start, they would source for thier diesel engines since the French are known to be the best when it comes to these and this could even see more deeper commitments or even an actual tie up. Lotus would most probably utilize engine tech as well as improving thier productions efficiency and overall quality to make it more efficient in competing with others in its class who are scarily efficient (porsche,ferari etc) this IMO is what i can conclude from this tie up…or its just another expensive form of advertising..time will tell

• Najibest on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:47 pm

hopefully this is a precursor to a bigger partnership with Renault-Nissan alliance…

• Proton Parameswara…. a rebadge R35 GT-R just make debut in KLIM 2015… the new R36 GT-R is just on the horizon, but because the R35 is still in every way a great supercar, thrashing most that got in it’s way, it would be a shame to put it in trash. So the Renault-Nissan-Proton alliance decided to pull the trick Proton as an independent entity did in 2010 for the Proton Lekir.

Now if that happen, it would be interesting……………………

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Hey i heard F1 will start using new 1.6 turbocharged engine to replace the current V8 engine.
    Don’t you all think Proton can transfer the technology from it to their 1.6 engine.
    C’mon people,I don’t know why you all keep saying this will involves rakyat’s money.
    You all should know how much incentives that Proton receive every year,it is such small amount of money and not even enough to produce half of new car.
    Ever heard something called ‘loan’
    Yes,they also borrow money from bank.
    Ah,typical Malaysian
    What do they know about ‘facts’
    Maybe they are busy about their own fats.

• osh_kosh on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:41 pm

poor Tony, should just re-brand his team to “Team Cheapskate Air Asia Lotus Wannabe GP” fast… LOL (what else can i do except laughing to all this phatethic hanky-panky??)

• seriosuly, he should make it loud and clear and induce the airliner’s war again! this time involving Vijay’s Kingfisher! AirAsia-Virgin-Kingfisher triangle war…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:55 pm

its a real barmy season in f1

• hero86 on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:10 pm

it all begun when p1 protess TF for using lotus name.. and now, there are two team with lotus name in it.. and the colour will be same.. can FIA grant this???

• do you remember when u are young ,when you are fighting toys with ur brother when there are other guests in your house? And your parents feel malu and scold you ? i think the situation here is about the same, i feel ashame…dont you ? as malaysian?

• TF’s lotus is juz a stanger after 20 years missing ‘came’ home claiming his the long lost son and capture everybody’s sympathy and support… but after just 1 year… he showed no trait of the family at all managing the family’s firm… luckily the firm only license him the name and not absorb the whole thing he got… but he seems to be rebellious even when he failed because he was incompetent. So he change his name to confuse people but this time round, the daddy is ready for an onslaught and cut ties with that ‘long lost son’. So they battle as the dad wants to keep the sake of his family’s reputation created by his grand father name colin chapman.

• Easy E on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:07 pm

I’m not sure why they would adopt the Black and Gold livery. Back in the 70s and 80s the black and gold scheme was used as it was the colour of sponsor John Player Special (JPS) cigarettes. Once Lotus switched to Camel sponsorship in 1987, the car was then painted yellow. Then in the 90s the car switched to a green and white scheme in deference to sponsors Castrol.

However, I do hope Group Lotus brings the team nationality back to Britain. Lotus is quintessentially British and should remain so. I simply do not understand why TF had to have it changed to being Malaysian. Its as if Ford bought over Ferrari and changed it from being Italian to American. Sacrilegious!

Both TF and Proton are wrong! Racing should be entered into with heart and passion – as did Soichiro Honda, Enzo Ferrari, Frank Williams and Colin Chapman. Heck, even Giancarlo Minardi had more fans than most of these other teams these days. Thats coz he had passion.

Entering it for the purposes of making money or promoting brands is completely against the spirit of grand prix racing.

• udasalleh on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:52 am

U got it wrong here. Proton is just a sponsor. Its subsidiary Lotus Group the car manufacturer is in a joint venture with Renault to enter F1. (Please note the separation) This time around LG has the opportunity to participate technically in the car’s development. With technicall involvement could mean new knowledge for the production of Louts’s future cars.

TF’s 1Malaysia Racing team bought the ‘Lotus Racing’ name which is still in dispute in the UK courts. They entered without any technical involvement whatsoever which means entering for the money.

• Rabbit on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Proton spent all the money for Lotus and not even a Proton logo or Malaysia on the car? What a shame. Poor Tony, let’s face it. AirAsia is bigger than Lotus! Team AirAsia?

• Ferruccio on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:29 pm

As far as the timing screens and official FIA classifications go, there won’t be any confusion between the two teams. As FIA refer to teams by their official ‘constructor’ classification and not ‘commercial’ classification, you will see on your TV screens next year the following:

1. Lotus-Renault
    2. Renault

No1 is in reference to ‘Team Lotus’ while No2 refers to ‘Lotus Renault GP’.

As far as the FIA are concerned there is only one ‘Lotus’ racing next year and that is Team Lotus

View the official FIA entry list at http://tinyurl.com/37oe3dj

TV commentators also tend to call out the teams by their constructor classification which is the reason why it’s “McLaren Mercedes” not “Vodafone McLaren Mercedes”

By that token to avoid confusing themselves and viewers it is unlikely that they will refer to the team classified under constructor as Renault as the “Lotus Renault GP” car. They will likely refer only to Tony’s team as ‘Lotus’ and are likely to comfortably call it either Lotus-Renault or Team Lotus. They are only obliged to call out a team by their constructor name.

‘Lotus’ in Lotus Renault GP is not the constructor name. It’s just a title sponsor, just like Vodafone is to McLaren Mercedes

• Rabbit on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Lotus, just like buses, you wait for ages and then two come along at once. I wish Fernandes all the best, and don’t give up!

• Imagine the same amount of money spent on building universities, hospitals, schools, scholarship to deserving students. I love f1 and i love this country but i’m not able to digest two separate malaysian companies in f1. What are they trying to achieve?

• osh_kosh on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:04 am

what they want to achieve?

1)Tony want to make a point… (& cash-in a few bucks in the future)
      2)Group Lotus want the Renault ‘help’ for Proton’s future…

• Teratai Group on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:43 am

The bottom line. They want to make money. People can argue whether this is actually going to make them money…but it will definitely open up opportunities for them, which in turn, will affect the nation as well. Since they’re GLC’s, as they grow, so does the country. Soooo, they are, in a way, giving back to the country…but in a less direct way.

Though, if they fail, the rakyat ends up paying so it’s a potential huge loss there. But that’s business. You have to play at it if you want to win at it.

• Commenter on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:51 am

Hey brainless,
    Lotus-Renault is not Malaysian Team, its Group Lotus not Proton fools.
    Don’t compare Vodafone and Lotus because Vodafone just a sponsor, why Lotus is one of the team owner. If they, Lotus not able to change the name next year, it might be the same case as Sauber this year, hope they able to use their name in 2012. Okay, if you want talk politic and bash gov in car blog fine, I give one statement: no wonder opposition so strong nowadays, so many fools in MY voting for them. Prove? See how many brainless bashers complaining and talking without fact and proper understanding here.

• Rabbit on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:38 am

It is good if they lost the election, look at what they have done? skyrocketing car prices, fuels and low wages? dont tell me this is not affecting your lifestyle? or maybe u’re just one of them.

I have to say tony knows what he is doing, and we should support team lotus being 100% malaysian.

• Commenter on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:33 am

Know what his doing? Are you out of your mind? They keep saying that they do a favor for Lotus to promote the brand, Lotus is a big name, name that should not be the best of the newfag, it should be among the best, same level as Mercedes and Ferrari. Tony humiliate Lotus and Colin Chapman, no wonder Chapman’s Family support Group Lotus and Proton over Tony. They way of Tony climb to become a successful businessman is through a$$-liking current G too, same as most of other successful businessmen. I’m not a person who favor democracy, and for sure I’m not a fan of any party, but I’m definitely an Opposition Hater.

• hey look at the next post… it’s weird that more team lotus is here and more lotus gp is there… btw, these ppl juz dunno what they are talking about… just talk crap on proton and government and corruption and tax money but not a crap on racing and lotus heritage… support what u say.

• azrai on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:48 am

Then John Player Special will sue both of them for their corporate colour used.

• mad_about_F1 on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:28 am

clearly there are strong supporters for both GL & TL… from what I have read thus far, GL financial backing are from Proton, and TL financial backing are from the 4 partners (and sponsors). If memory serves me right, Proton financial numbers has not been that great and GL,there is no need to mention… I am just curios of DB’s 5 year plan and the corresponding cashflow projection on this venture…..

• Driver on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Here a diagram (family tree) of Lotus for better understanding of the situation

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5123/5244302288_c11c7ff4fe_b.jpg

• Dak Ajan on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Who’s benefited?
    Group Lotus receive advance technology from Genie Capital and F1.
    Proton get technology partnership with Renault. Even sharing markets advantage like Russia.
    Go google it!!!

• Dak Ajan on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Did you know…
    They are 2 Lotus teams on track racing each other before. One on yellow/green and the other one on blue/red.
    Google it!!!