Lotus Racing to use black and gold colours for 2011

Lotus Racing announced today that it will be using a black and gold colour scheme for its race machines next year, which brings the company back to its old colour scheme such as the one found on the John Player Special Lotus 97T Formula One car shown above.

“When we first unveiled our 2010 car there was unanimous praise for our decision to bring the historic green and yellow livery back to the modern F1 grid. I know the return to the track of the legendary black and gold will be met with even more universal support as it strikes such an emotional chord with fans around the world,” said CEO Riad Asmat.

Apparently fans will be able to get a chance to participate in the design of next year’s livery through some kind of competition, but exactly how will only be announced later. What we know for now is the winner of the competition will join the team at their first test next year to see next year’s car with the new livery out on the track for the first time.

What do you think – do you prefer a green and yellow colour scheme or a black and gold colour scheme? I am quite a fan of the green and yellow look but it’s premature to say which one looks better as we’ve yet to see a finalized new black and gold livery yet. Share in the comments your thoughts!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SAMantha on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:24 pm

thehehehehehehe……

wicked

• Johan on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Pls ask tony for once, work with the flow, stop being big bully when it comes to business, he clearly took advantage of proton courtesy and use the lotus name beyond it means. now proton is pissed be goes behind the back to wrestle the Lotus Racing name. It will be totally embarrassing to Lotus Racing and Lotus F1 on the grid, worst still its both from Malaysia. Can we use that money into developing hydrogen fuel cells instead of plastering Malaysia name all over F1? You have Petronas, you have AirAsia in Williams, you have Naza and Tune group in Lotus Racing, now Proton wants to get in bed with Renault, a team who was known for foul play and scandals. Nice… typical Malaysia ego maniac CEOs. Having most Malaysian brand in F1 is not going to secure the host in Sepang, please be innovative and as much as I hate to say it, look at Singapore, they might not be the first, but when they come in, they do it better than anyone else.

Have the first green F1 car on the track, might sound impossible, but at least you are not doing something for the sake of doing it. Do it with a purpose. Does F1 attract the largest audience? Why not try sponsoring a Indy 500 team? Or China basketball team, or NBA? Stop being a copycat and stop the in-fighting or who has the longer d**K.

• Ferruccio on Nov 12, 2010 at 1:07 am

If you’ve spent tens of millions our of your own pocket to bring forth a team that is now fairly respected and competent, freely promoting the brand of another business, only to then have the rug swept from under you, you’d be pisssed off too!

• MoFaz on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:58 pm

and what colour will Lotus-Renault choose? a dispute about colour next?

• black colour will just make the car easier to overheat. Right?

• drMpower on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:03 pm

i think despite the general assumption about black to absorb more heat, the paint use for high performance sports like F1 is not entirely is of same formulation with the one we are having on our road cars.

in this level of competition, where milliseconds separate number 1 and number 2, everything is included into consideration including the properties of paint used.

it doesnt necessarily contributes to heat absorption. like wise maybe it does, because i dont see any competing car in this current season or last season to don black liveries.

• MoFaz on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:56 pm

only if the outside is hotter, black will absorb heat faster.
      but black also release heat faster than brighter colours, so black is quicker to cool down.

• racefan on Nov 12, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Sauber started of black. No big issue with black. There have been black liveried single seaters before. Only problem is visibility. Not that pretty.

• insperut on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:38 pm

carbon fibre is black

• Don’t matter what colour it is, as long as they win races, everyone will cheer.

• Jaybond on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Without a doubt, this was the most famous colour scheme in which Lotus F1 cars were known back then, at the height of 3 liter era of the late 1970s and 1.5L Turbo era of the mid 1980s.

• Lancermania on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:33 pm

i would like to join d livery contest!!!! if malaysian are qualify to participate….

• Jaybond on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Legendary Lotus drivers in this colours = Aryton Senna and Mario Andretti.

• Paul Tan on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:31 pm

And now there are rumours of Bruno Senna joining in… the legacy continues?

• Well, Senna denied the reports. http://www.motorsport.com/news/article.asp?ID=393991&FS=F1

• osh_kosh on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:43 pm

i like the black & gold combination.. but the most important thing is what will be the team name next year?

• mohdjiman on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Black & Gold because of John Player Special right…remember the old drama series… “Keris Hitam Bersepuh Emas”…sponsored by JPS…is it? Forgot already…

• trav_da_man on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:05 pm

I actually more interested if Lotus racing can retain the Lotus name from Group Lotus with their join up with Renault F1. Regardless of what, Tony’s Lotus Racing has gained more respect with new and old Lotus fans. Hope this continues for 2011, with a more competitive package and so.

• AutoCon on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Well this means that Group Lotus will be using the green and yellow livery on Renault F1 with their new tie-up next year? All part of the settlement between Lotus Racing and Group Lotus/Proton it seems…

• RH PumpkinKing on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:57 pm

green / yellow is more towards English racing heritage. Aston Martin, Jaguar racing used te same British racing green. I think gold/black is more towards Lotus.

My 2 cents

• Apparently the naming rights from Team Lotus does not include the green and yellow colour, as well as the familiar Lotus logo that says ABCC – Anthony Bruce Colin Chapman

• JPS Black Gold= Senna!!!!!!

• ayamxxx on Nov 11, 2010 at 7:12 pm

no more Malaysian identity in this lotus f1. Malaysia pay a lot of money(sponsor) this team, but they just make the Uk people who feel proud of this team.

Even, initial plan to structure the lotus office at Sepang has been canceled!!

• drMpower on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm

i’d like to have some additional information about the second para u mentioned. not long ago i encountered someone who allegedly tell me that he himself work with the team

so i will check the info with him and if it checks then lotus will be my new hate thing. after mothafuckas on road give no signals when they turn into corners.

• lotuscars_no_money on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Here are some facts:
      1) Lotusracing is not funded by Malaysians’ tax payers money. LR is almost fully funded from personal money of the 3 people; Tony, Din, Nasa. get the facts right.
      2) Lotuscars will need £60M to team up with Renault F1, and by not making a single profit over the last decade, where do you think they can get money from if not Proton? But Proton yes, they are the ones who get tax waivers from the government in therms of R&D expenditures, instead of paying the tax it is waived, and this time around if this fiasco continues, it shall go to Lotuscars.
      3) Bonuses of the hardworking people in Shah Alam/Tg Malim have been cut to feed those Lotuscars blokes all these years. FYI.

• seriusSAM on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:36 pm

current lotus racing didn’t use duit rakyat lah meh
      but if PROTON plan to sponsor RENAULTF1 is true
      than, we as rakyat malaysia will proudly give our EURO60 Million consent for PROTON to become RenaultF1 title sponsor

how about that? I’m proud meh!! you should too

lol

• Can you be more specific about Malaysian sponsor? Which Malaysian sponsor you talking about and what is the figure of $?

• Can you be more specific,which Malaysian is sponsoring and the amount of money involved?

• Eyesore on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:38 pm

hard to say..apparently everything to do with proton will be said ‘sponsored by rakyat malaysia’….

Tony won’t stop until he totaly destroyed the good name of the old victorious Team Lotus… But I pray that would not happen, hopefully they can improve next year not just being the best of the rest of the rest…

Hopefully he wont do what he did to some local flight company… take it..destroy it n then left…….

• ask tony..

• Hewlett & Dell HD on Nov 11, 2010 at 7:30 pm

black & gold for Tony, so green & yellow for Proton aka the real lotus?

• Michael Firstman@ Arc Welders on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Kudos on the throwback to the racing days of old Lotus. I agree with the above comments though that color and livery design can’t hold a candle to race wins. Just look at Brawn GP in it’s debut.

• tuan saga 1985 yg masih terlalu gagah on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:12 pm

i bet, another new satria neo in black n gold colour edition on the road.
    :P . or the air asia plane use this colour too?

• seriusSAM on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:32 pm

what’s wrong with tony..
    is he got sponsor from JPS or what?
    JPS is tobacco right?
    that black&gold is JPS color scheme
    it’s like JPS corporate color or something.

• mata katak on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

gold is just a colour…Performance and good result is the real deal….

Winning is the true gold.

• Peter on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Black and Gold???

Looks like a prototype of Johnny Walker’s version.

• udasalleh on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:30 pm

The black & gold livery was actually the corporate colour of ‘John Player Special’ or JPS which was the main sponsor for Lotus F1 back in the days. My guess is if TF wants to use the black n gold it would be ok per se… but may get flak if it uses the JPS style. Tobacco companies may sponsor but are banned from advertising in F1 nowadays anyway.

hmmm… no rakyat’s money is being used to fund any venture into F1 la… please wake up!

• They should just use white and red. Leave the colours to the real Team Lotus !

• racefan on Nov 12, 2010 at 1:04 am

Read Joe Saward’s very insightful write up on the latest situation behind the Lotus drama
    http://joesaward.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/the-latest-in-lotus/

• racefan kat sini rupanya on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:26 am

racefan ni ada merata-rata tempat.. bagus apa kalau Malaysia ada banyak pasukan lumba, baru la cepat sikit Malaysia berlumba untuk jadi pengeluar kereta yang terbaik di dunia ni.

• trav_da_man on Nov 12, 2010 at 1:38 am

If u think Tony n co is burning our rakyat’s money, think again. Yet again they using their own hard earned money, around 60 million pounds in total (est according to some sources) to fund their own F1 team from stretch.

Group Lotus meanwhile via Dany Bahar plans to buyover Renault F1 for 60 mil euros via Proton and pls do note Lotus did not make any profit for the past 13 years and all has been covered by Proton, which is indirectly our money too. Dany Bahar has very ambitious but risky plans as well, making Lotus to challenge Porsche and Ferrari in the supercar market where he knows he need to milk Proton money to succeed or fail.

So guys, who do u think is the main robber here?

• SeriuosSAM on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:24 am

people think DANY BAHAR is that damn good because he’s ex-ferrari and have such a fantastic profile

duh!

• Yes. On CV totally awesome but if you read what European blogger of journalist wrote about him just the opposite. From F1 paddock talk Dany really want to be F1 team boss eg. Red Bulls but turned down. Now he got his chance in Lotus-Renault. Personel ego that is.

• seriusSAM on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:14 am

maybe PROTON still have that typical malaysian mentality..
          all that orang puth is awesome..

LOL

• philleo_d on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:54 am

NO… that just you. Many Malaysian inside or outside Proton are ‘putih’. But if you’re talking about Caucasian… now that’s different.

• azrai on Nov 12, 2010 at 7:57 am

The balck-gold scheme was actually thanks to John Player Special sponsorship. Remember those tagline hitam itu emas? So it’s not lotus colur actually. the green yello one yes. look like tony trying to test the water with proton by using this colour scheme now.

• vision2020 on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:52 am

Many people have pointed out that Tony pakai duit sendiri and not rakyat money…… I disagree.

1) The Lotus name and licence belongs to proton. They gave it to him under very friendly terms so in effect he was subsidised by the rakyat as it was our property. In proton’s opinion, he abused it so they cancelled their consent.

2) 1 Malaysia Racing Team actually tried very hard to get Rakyat money to fund their personal ego trips. Only diff is that they failed! Petronas didnt want to and even our PM didnt want to despite the blatant attempt to “angkat” him with that ridiculous team name.

Please lah, dont try and differentiate u and others based on this duit rakyat issue……. u only bring this up coz u failed to get some urself…

When is Lotus curry house going to F1 next?

• Diablo on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Tony was marketing and promoting the Lotus name for free to Proton. The least Proton could do is to capitalize on that and try to turn a profit by using the exposure to sell more Lotuses rather than continue to absorb the losses.

Tony then got fed up and decided to buy over the Team Lotus rights from Hunt which he preferred no to do earlier thus freeing him from Group Lotus/Proton because Group Lotus did not own the ex-F1 team.

Quite clear to see that Bahar has been working behind the scenes for sometime now to get back into F1 through Renault, disregarding Tony in the process. The excuse Proton used to revoke the license was lame but certainly an excuse.

Would Dany Bahar and his scheme please you better then?

• vision2020 on Nov 12, 2010 at 6:28 pm

I disagree he was marketing and promtoing for free….

1) Proton gave it (name rights) under very friendly terms. Proton was helping him

2) Proton gave significant sponsorship to help him out. May only be 1% of the budget according to team tf but hey…its still millions of ringgit!

3) Racing at the back is not marketing and promoting Lotus. Its damaging for Lotus…..especially with their new ambitions of top line performance. Many manufacturers agree with me……witness toyota, honda, bmw, jaguar, peugeot……all withdraw when they cant be at the front. F1 is bad marketing if ur not in front half of the field

Dont talk about Dany Bahar “scheme” as something sinister……if reports are correct, he is buying into Renault, a definite front running team with great recent track record, facilities, drivers and contacts…….totally different to LR set up in Hingham. So i guess…..yes u could say it pleases me better.

ok peace out

• seriusSAM on Nov 12, 2010 at 8:04 pm

agree with you

let proton spend estimated euro60 million for dany bahar F1 ambition

I am proud meh, can’t wait for next season already

thumbs up my reply please…

LOL

• Ferruccio on Nov 12, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Funny comments on
    http://adamcooperf1.com/2010/11/11/lotus-racing-revives-black-and-gold-livery-in-2011/#comments

“Sorry, can you remind me, which one is ‘Lotus Racing’ again?

Ben
    November 11, 2010 at 10:35 am
    Lotus is Lotus who are being sued by Lotus for the name Lotus.

No wait that doesn’t clear it up at all, does it?

hmmm, yes! They’re the ones owned by Malaysians.

Nope, hang on, that doesn’t help either.”

• NOSTALGIC……..
    JPS bimmers r relly cool……

when will we get black n gold JPS INSPIRA……..

• PulseMsia on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:26 am

The black and gold color does not symbolize Lotus. It was used back then when John Players Special (ciggies) was the title sponsor and its their ciggies box color. The green and yellow (current color) is the true Lotus color founded by the Chapmans. This piece of news certainly give credence to Proton’s claims that Tony used the Lotus brand excessively, if not without license. Politics, politics and politics. The circus goes on.

• Fuyiopo on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:23 am

That black and yellow color scheme reminds me of Arton Senna.