New Ssangyong Actyon SUV set for May 2011 local debut?

Malaysian Ssangyong distributor Competitive Supreme has updated their website to feature a new SUV model – the Ssangyong Actyon, which turns out to be one and the same as the new Ssangyong Korando that was unveiled in November last year. The new Korando started out as the Giugiaro-styled Ssangyong C200 Concept.

According to Competitive Supreme’s website, the new Ssangyong Actyon will be available as two models – the Actyon 2WD priced at RM119,977.20 OTR without insurance and the Actyon AWD priced at RM129,997.20 OTR without insurance. Both are powered by Ssangyong’s 2.0 litre e-XDi engine mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission.

Other than the AWD system, going step up to the Actyon AWD also gets you larger 18 inch wheels versus 17 inch, ESP stability control with active rollover protection and hill start assist, automatic climate control, an 8-way electrically adjustable driver’s seat with lumbar support, power door mirrors and sunroof, a roof spoiler, and an electric power steering system.

Competitive Supreme does not list Malaysian specs for the engine but at launch time internationally the Korando/Actyon’s 2.0 litre e-XDi engine was listed to make a peak power of 175 PS and a peak torque of 360Nm from 2,000rpm to 3,000rpm, which is up there with some of the best power/torque to displacement ratios for turbodiesel engines. Not sure what the Malaysian spec tune will be – perhaps the same or maybe different as the engine has been listed as an Euro 6 engine.

Six colors are listed – a beige interior matched with tonic grey, space black or grand white, or a grey interior matched with vitamin red, sable grey or silent silver. Competitive Supreme says the new SUV will be available as a CBU import from May 2011 onwards.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new Ssangyong SUV as well as the full specs/price list for the 2WD and AWD models. Hat tip to reader Lim for the pointer!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1665]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• odi862 on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Nice specs and all…hope it will sells well.

• Chris on May 10, 2011 at 11:06 pm

yes the price is very attractive for the great turbo diesel engine and 6 speed auto transmission…but trust me, the after sales service and maintenance will make you regret big time…been waiting for weeks for some common spare parts for my rexton..and it happened few times already in last 2 years!

• CBU from taiwan or korea?

• Taiwan? Ssangyong is under Mahindra India.. Probably made in India that allow the car to be sold that cheap at RM120k. It would be a better news if it’s made in Korean.

Nice Car! Good price for CBU!

• jaguar and landrover are under Tata motors,are they made in India too?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Mahindra bailed them out for a majority stake in the company, and also for tech transfer so that Mahindra can make vehicles based on SsangYong platform in India.

Other than that, SsangYong’s R&D, design and manufacturing facilities in Korea remain intact.

• tokpaya on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Are Ssangyong still Merc based engines/transmission or do they have their own now?

Looks good but for long term – spare parts? support?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2011 at 3:18 pm

SsangYong is now owned by Mahindra, they’re back from a near-death experience. It’s business as usual. The engine and gearbox are probably not MB’s.

• squawk on Apr 30, 2011 at 4:01 pm

They’ve not been pure Merc even before going into receivership. They’ve been developing their own (but Merc based).

• zacharygibson on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Luckily they decide not to use the name “Korando” here. I certain Malay dialect, it could mean ‘coffin’ …

• Hyundai and Kia SUV look 10 times better than this!

• but unluckily, the option for diesel variant suv is very limited. just santa fe if i’m not mistaken. really love to see a diesel powered sorento in malaysia

• wang lee on May 01, 2011 at 1:31 am

Look i s good and Majestic. I feel its appearance is more or less same as other brans like Hyundai or KIA or BMW X5 or Audi premium. Moreover driving experience SSang Yong Actyon is very good. Very smooth and powerful engine. Simply I feel it is more worthy for what Iam paying.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:12 am

Competitive Supreme must have really forked out a lot of money to stay afloat. Hardly see any new ssanyongs regeistered these days.

• jalan54 on Apr 30, 2011 at 12:38 am

Seems pretty good, hope that they wouldn’t the maintenance spare part cost is reasonable, else it wouldn’t see good in Malaysia.

• lancer201 on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:42 pm

I don’t understand every single word u were saying…

• geng, cakap melayu pun taper. janji org paham

• jalan54 on May 02, 2011 at 1:37 am

sorry for the typo. I mean hope that their maintenance and spare part cost are not expensive.

• This would be direct competitor for Sorento & Tucson.

Those Nureongi are fighting against own breed now.

• Nice…..the rear end look like Bently…..

• sick&tired on Apr 30, 2011 at 8:51 am

the koreans make the japanese look expensive! toyota & honda must be making tons of profits in malaysia and the sad (or pathetic) part is, malaysians are still buying!

• Rulered on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:10 am

The car and specs are okay, what worries the buyer is that a lot of Ssangyong service centre have closed down particularly outside KL. I know many Rexton buyers seems to be taking care of their car virtually by themselves.

• Korando…like a Keranda org mati…

• drivetospeed on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:45 pm

just saw it testing locally. looks pretty good. sorry, not able to take a snap.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 30, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Ssyangyong is back from the dead ??

Like the LAZARUS Phenomena ?

• Nasi Kandar Padang Kota on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm

I smell Hyundai Tucson DNA, Ssangyong should market below 100k, its no longer korean its indian maa , tata maybe good in india but not here. TaTa means bye bye…

• Mohan Nair on May 02, 2011 at 8:31 am

Tata is not only good in India, but else where in the world also. Tata does not make just cars, they make everything from Salt to Tetley Tea, to Computer Services, to Telecom, You name it you can find a Tata company in that line of business.

Well adding to that along with Mitsubishi and Nissan, Tata is another electric car manufacturer to have been approved to sell their cars in UK.

• BeemerFreak on May 02, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Tata group owns Jaguar Land Rover…… isnt that better sounding than lets say Proton. Good in India? JLR good world wide, even Prince William used that as his wedding car

• ustupid on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:36 am

why should it be below 100k? and why are u talking abt tata? u dont even know anything and u are talking. i think the price range is very attractive… the looks of this car is amazing.

• Tata can mean Grandfather in Tamil.

Your nose must be aging, Korando have nothing to do with Tucson.
    It’s design by the famous “Giorgietto Giugiaro”

Ssangyong belong to Mahindra & Mahindra of India.

• jalan54 on May 02, 2011 at 2:34 am

Just tested drive the car today. Was thinking they might not open in Labor day and at the same time sunday. Anyway, becuase that I was really free and has no where to go, therefore, decided to go to the showroom located in PJ to test out the newly arrived Actyon.

Well, when I arrived, I’m really surprise that they are open, so I went inside and was served by a very professional sales representative. The exterior design of this SUV is just great, it is really nice compare to those other models in the showroom.

For interior, what I can say is neat, decent and acceptable, but not up to my standard. Front seats are very comfortable, but the back seats are quite hard, certain people might not like it. The all wheel drive version has electrical adjustable driver seat.

They only have 1 test drive unit for now which is the front wheel drive version. So the sale rep offer me for a test drive, so I take the offer and go on for the test drive. When I first step on the accelerator, I’m expecting a good pull from the car, but I’m a little bit disappointed, it has the pull when only I step harder on the accelerator. What I was thinking was that it should have more pull with 360NM, then another thought came to me, maybe the car is still new and it hasn’t run in yet, so I tell myself, this is still acceptable.

Then I go on to try the car out by going in to corner hard but not too hard (It is not my car, so I don’t have dare to go to extreme), the steering wheel has very little feedback and it is too light, the body doesn’t roll that much, but it is a little bit under steer. The brake is ok, it stops the vehicle when you want it to stop, not much complain on that.

In terms of ride quality, it is very comfortable even though the road condition is bad, I can feel the car absorb all the jumpy bumpy force. This is a big plus point as now road condition in our country is really bad and what I mean really bad, is really really bad.

I’m quite happy with the test drive session, although is just a short one. So, since this is a diesel SUV, fuel consumption vice, it should be good, but when the sale rep told me that it is 9.4l/100km in the city, 6.1l/100km in highway and a combination of 7.3l/100km for front wheel drive version and 9.6l/100km in the city, 6.3l/100km in the highway and a combination of 7.5l/100km for all wheel drive version, I’m quite surprise, although it still consider not too bad for vehicle with the kerb weight around 1,611 to 1,747, but it is just not up to where I want. Their manual version has better fuel consumption figure, but too bad it will not be available in Malaysia since Malaysia has very few demand on manual transmission vehicles.

According to the sale rep, the maintenance cost is acceptable which is around RM200++ for every 5000km interval and the first 3 times are free (which is 1000km, 5000km and 10,000km). For the cost of the parts, the sale rep was not sure about this as this is still a pretty new model.

Well, I know this is a very long comment, but just wanted to share this out to everyone of you here. To me, this is still a very nice and decent vehicle, it is not great, but with price like this, what else can we expect.

• Ongtk on May 03, 2011 at 2:55 pm

This SUV definitely looks good in my opinion. I believe it should be just about as economical as my Kyron. Maintenance costs is not too far from Japanese makes. The engine, 2.0 liter e-XDi engine, if it is of the same lineage as the one in my Kyron should be easy to maintain and reliable. There was no mention about the NVH which the Kyron excels in. I will definitely check out it out when time permits.

• messi on May 03, 2011 at 11:09 am

This 6-speed engine lacking on initial pick-up power. The engine is like convetional merc engine where u need to count 1,2 3 then only can feel the power after 3 second.

This car need the following imnprovement if want to sell well:-

1) Price should be like the previous Actyon – below 95K.
    2) improve the pick-up power by reducing the overall weight of the vehicle and better throtle respond.
    3) 5 years free maintenance.

At 120K, I can buy a good looking Hundyai Tucsan.

• I’ve tested it and I love it! :D

I have no issues with the throttle response. There is a very slight turbo lag which is very normal for such engines but once the turbocharger kicks in, it will leave every other competitor wondering what happened.

A RM120k Tucson will not be able to beat the Actyon on specs and power. Even the 2.4 Tucson is outgunned in the performance stakes.

The engine in this Actyon (Korando for everyone else) is not the same as the one in the Actyon pickup. If you check out the figures, it outperforms every other engine that Competitive Supreme offers.

The car even comes with puddle lamps, bluetooth audio streaming, and 1-touch signal indicators. There are 3 interior room lamps (one for each row and one for the boot) and a full-sized alloy spare.

Smitten I am.

• ustupid on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:47 am

why should it be sold below 95k? its not a double cab the previous one that u are talking about is actyon sports and its a double cab or maybe for ur understanding its like a hilux, ranger, triton? so this new actyon is not a double cab to be sold below 95k. i feel the price and the specs just perfectly matched. and for the 120k tucson what specs do u get? its the lowest spec of tucson that priced at 120k rather than the actyon the high spec is just 120k+. Well done Competitive Supreme to introduce this model in malaysia. Will be seeing more Ssangyong vehicle soon on the road due to the pricing and spec