KTM X-Bow undergoing homologation at JPJ Putrajaya

Fancy a KTM X-Bow to enjoy your country drives and have abit of fun on the track? Soon, you might be able to just buy one from authorised KTM showrooms in Malaysia, as a white KTM X-Bow was spotted at JPJ’s complex in Putrajaya, likely for homologation. This is probably not a grey car for sure as grey cars don’t usually go through this JPJ process.

The KTM X-Bow is an “open air” sports car in the style of the Caterham Seven and the Ariel Atom. It uses Audi’s 2.0 litre turbocharged TFSI engine and can hit 100km/h in 3.9 seconds.

Picture thanks to Kelab Hasil Ibupejabat JPJ.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Speed Racer on May 13, 2011 at 6:50 pm

i hope jpj doesnt try to ruin it

• Never imagined that this monster would reach Malaysia! Launch it!

• leonardo on May 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Wonder how much is the OTR price? Similar to Lotus Elise, Exige?

• now THAT’s what you call a contributor: KELAB HASIL JPJ! never thought they would be interested in such thing. heh.

how much is this fella again? approximately.

• never thought it exist, the KELAB HASIL JPJ….I wonder who is the author….~

Anyway, this car really rocks. if can afford it right, its a good car for track day at Sepang track~ hahaha…

Any thought on how it will perform?

• WiiNextGen on May 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

What is the price for Ktm Xbow in Malaysia?

• ericmaxman on May 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Best news this year :D

• TianCi on May 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Oh wow!!!

• afeef on May 13, 2011 at 10:39 pm

this would be an eye candy on the road
    if im not mistaken atom is not road legal in malaysia

• AMan Shah on May 13, 2011 at 11:15 pm

damnnn i want this car..tapau semua M5, M3, Gallardo, Modena..

• IlikeLambo on May 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

i wonder how much it will cost in mas ?

• lalala on May 14, 2011 at 12:53 am

Its confirmed by JPJ official they tested the car & look forward to say YES. Urmmm.. where is my monopoly money?

• specialist on May 14, 2011 at 1:46 am

Dont fancy being in it when it flips over…

Should give Lotus cars a run for their money

• Its like a BIG BOY’s GO KART!! VERY NICE!!!

• car man on May 14, 2011 at 10:21 am

They are being assembled in Malaysia by one of the small car manufacturers. I have seen it in their factory but the owner is a little modest and doesnt tell people what he is doing

• Not an everyday car .. Its a ‘toy’ish track car, i like it!

Maintenance is not going to be that straight forward i think, KTM brand is not widely used in Malaysia

• autojohndoe on May 14, 2011 at 1:38 pm

keretapi tanah melayu…

• nighttrain on May 14, 2011 at 2:37 pm

I’m guessing RM400k.. 2X more expensive than a Malaysianised Caterham..

• hazamiey on May 15, 2011 at 12:25 am

Pointless car. But do i want one? Hell YES.

• i hope this 1 comes with the roof version. cuz i aint got anymore place to park in the garage.

• SoMeOnE on May 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

lol….even i had a the money i still feel this is pointless even as a track car……it only makes sense if one’s competing in a proper race series over the course of the yea..i would go for a tricked out elise or even a dc5 integra type r to cure my track day needs over this….this thing is..once the excitement of wind rushing in ur face at freaky speeds wears out..(and it will…really fast) ur left wondering why u bought it and tuck it away…..

• Huyooo…these is a superbike on 4 wheels for those who want the same thrills minus the danger associated wt superbike..(…few weeks back, an R1’s rider lose both his legs and died when he lose control and hit the guard rails at GCE…scariest accident i seen soo far)

• Hameed Koyakuti on May 16, 2011 at 9:28 am

KTM X-Bow is already basi laaa…………

This shows how primitive our automotive industry is !!!! So protected and timid.

OPEN. OPEN. OPEN. Free market for all !!!! No discrimination, no favouritism !!!!

• samsam on May 16, 2011 at 1:33 pm

hope they dont copy and come out a new local made brand.

• safety first on May 17, 2011 at 12:25 am

so this is the car.. insane! how much torque can this thing produce? heard on traxx fm last week that a guy who was testing it for homologation. drove this thing from putrajaya to angkasapuri in a jiff! u da man en mat!

• safety first ni sape on May 19, 2011 at 5:41 pm

safety first, en mat lepaskan ke idok ktm neh?
      en mat memang, bawak gile punye! xbrani seh naek ngan die.

lepas ke tak ktm kat malaysia, i don’t care.
      i just want JPJ to be stricter.