Ford AB35 Fiesta – an All Blacks-inspired limited edition

Another special edition Ford Fiesta has popped up, and this one’s from Ford New Zealand. It’s called the AB35 Fiesta, built to celebrate the company’s 17-year sponsorship of the national rugby union team, the All Blacks.

Just 35 of these All Blacks-inspired limited edition cars will be made, and it has a fair bit added on. The base car is an European-made Titanium specification 5-speed manual, with a Mountune bodykit – including a carbon lip front spoiler, rear spoiler extension and side skirts – strapped on for starters.

Exclusive to the edition – priced at NZ$35,990 – are 17-inch alloy wheels and graphics, the latter designed with the input of the All Blacks, and each AB35 vehicle also comes with a personalised plate.

Inside, new kit in the cabin – which features a dashboard top and door card trim in a coffee-coloured shade (not unlike the Sport+ version in China) – includes leather sports seats (with the AB35 logo), leather bound steering wheel, alloy sports pedals, a leather wrapped illuminated gear knob and Fiesta carpet mats.

The sound system also gets reworked, with the installation of Sony front component speakers, an 800 watt amplifier and a 12-inch subwoofer housed in a custom tyre well fibreglass enclosure.

It’s not just flash with no dash – the AB35 gets a Mountune performance package as well, consisting of a high-flow air induction system and a cat-back exhaust system (replete with twin-exhaust tips) as well as re-calibration of the lump to improve the AB35’s 1.6 litre Ti-VCT Sigma mill’s power output from the stock 118 hp at 6,000 rpm and 152 Nm at 4,050 rpm to 140 hp at 6,750 rpm and 170 Nm at 4,250 rpm. The improved output helps the AB35 do the 0-100 kph sprint in 7.9 secs, compared to the stock version’s 9.9 seconds.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2270]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Unforgiven on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:19 pm

How come it’s so easy to upgrade the Fiesta from 118hp to 134ps to 140hp?

• Fordylyngam on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Having variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust probably allows some crazy potential, just that ford didnt go all the way in the interest of fuel consumption and emissions.

Tivct is far more advanced than the vvti and vtec in city and vios

• armandd on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Yup. It’s just sad that many Malaysians still think that vtec and vvti is the most advanced valve timing technology in the world…

• Unforgiven on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:59 am

Many M’sian still think that 4 speed gearbox is standard. On the road auto Wira is only with 3 speed.

Do you think the cheapest car like Fiesta/City is affordable in M’sia?

• It’s the same as dual vvt-i and i-vtec in certain cars.. Toyota valvematic or BMW dual VANOS Valvetronic which provides variable valve lift is more advanced.

• fuel cell phone on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:24 pm

exterior — looks stylish n bold, awesome!

interior — black / grey / chrome theme could be better

• Ah Tan on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:27 pm

This is seriously a good one.. compete with Polo GTI?

• Luffy on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Polo GTI has around 180hp & 250Nm of torque, so…….do the math

• Jeff Kow on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:30 pm

This Fiesta is NA leh……..Polo is turbo leh^^can’t be compare.

• Unforgiven on Jun 02, 2011 at 10:00 am

I think you may compare to Polo TSI instead of Polo GTI.

• huhahulikaka on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:33 pm

the center console jus look plain cheapo..

• happyone on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:56 pm

the exterior just damn nice!!

• ong chin aun on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:04 pm

This is a wonderful car .

• speedywinger on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:08 pm

well blended appearance for all blacks ! =)

• dondon on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:29 pm

DENGGG!!! LUV IT SO MUSHHH!!!

• Kenan on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:41 pm

I must admit this one really Fugly. Especially the interior with duly red colour. Ford Fugly!

• at about the same power rating as Neo R3, this car gives 0-100 in just under 8s and Neo comes about 1.5s later. So P1 must be still way behind in tranny tuning. Way to go P1…

• droll on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:57 pm

the Neo is also heavier by some 60-80kg. that’s a lot when power is so limited.

• Kumar san on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Wow..really nice,it’s sad it won’t be offered here though..Sime Darby should introduce Fiesta’s like these here in Malaysia,in limited numbers and only in manual.No auto please.Montune and all.Then only it’s a proper Fiesta.

Cheers.

• Tengokje.. on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Perghhh!! exterior wise…cool man…kind da like it…interior…agreed with fuel cell phone…

Salam…

• johndol on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:27 pm

damn nice car. but can only praise it from afar, now if only SDAC can come out with something like this…

• chuakz on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:43 pm

omg…where can i get those rims for my fiesta???? i need them so bad

• confused on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:44 pm

yay~ the interior design/color scheme ruins everything… -_-

• yourdadisangry on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:26 pm

interior so cramp, can an ALL BLACK fit?

• Thumbs up to the awesome exterior… But, err, the interior colour is a little weird to me…

• Mr Wancer on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:20 pm

This a proper driver’s car..the manual 1.6 version should be brought in here…

Not all the driver’s in Malaysia wanted to drive ‘girl’ type of transmission…i would not mind if it comes with pedal shift / manual over ride…

• Kenariman on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Did R3 Neo declared a wrong number for 0-100 sec? How come this fiesta can do sub 8 sec even with lower HP and Torque….ermmm….

• TurboMan on Jun 02, 2011 at 6:59 am

and 0-100 is not just a function of power or weight.

The gear ratio and the torque of the engine plays a big part.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2011 at 8:39 am

I.m sure they did. Last time i claimed they were too conservative on the numbers i got a load of thumbs down. Only 3 reasons though for the Neo R3 to be that weak.

1. Power output was overoptimistic
      2. Transmission gearing is all wonky and does not match the engines power band.
      3. Was equipped with some really shitty tyres on test day or a driver that cant drive

• turboman on Jun 02, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Probably a narrow power band.

Generally, overtuned engines have great awesome peak BHP.

But their powerband is generally very narrow. That would cause the gear ratios to be rather short, requiring a few gear changes to reach 100kmh.

I know, cause i drive one of such cars. In gear acceleration is faster than a golf GTI. But because it requires 3 gear changes to reach 100, the 0-100 time is rather poor at 8 sec.

PLus, these 0-100 times doesnt really affect daily driving that much. Its just a useless bragging statistic. Cause revving to redline and dumping the clutch is not what any sane ppl would do daily unless you have a constant supply of money to replace burned clutch and tyres. In gear acceleration is what matters.

• Kumar san on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:31 am

Agreed mate,i don’t rev the living daylights out of my super rare 1989 BMW E30 M3 Sport Evo everytime i take it out for a good hooning.

It’s in gear accelaration is simply stupendous and is more than enough to cruise rather swiftly or drive enthusiastically.

These highly strung engines have a slightly narrower power band and on some engines which i have tested,they suffer greatly in the midrange too.

At the end of the day,it’s how we drive our rides,regardless of whether it’s a fancy fast ride or a reasonably fast hot hatch and etc.

But you do have a point though.Cheers.

• KickingDust on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:26 pm

yep, those numbers came out for press release, way before the developement complete on Neo Lotus Racing. Its better undeclared.

• comrade on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:23 pm

a manual fiesta…. luv it..

• Woffer on Jun 02, 2011 at 3:12 am

About rims copy from new Honda City, interior damn creepy as if you are blind colour person. For this I take Mazda 2 Hatchback version. Mazda 2 green colour looks great!

• ong chin aun on Jun 02, 2011 at 10:48 am

The Car is marvelous. Hope make it available in Malaysia Market. Maybe with more color choice. Better still it come with Sedan 1.6 L manual transmission. Let the buyer decide the choice of tranmission, either Auto or Mmanual. Honda CITY don`t have Manual . What shiftronic or other advance gargets cost more. we want cost effective
    and save plus good.

• It’s unbelievable that this fiesta better a normal variant 0-100 by more than 2s..Even a Vw TSI with 240nm takes 8s to reach 100km/h.Come on Ford,don’t tell me u took out the back seat and carbonised the whole car.

• Seriously on Jun 02, 2011 at 6:51 pm

I’m not feeling the coffee coloured dashboard, just make it black thank you