We visit a tin dredge ship, check out Gua Tambun and experience Nasi Ganja – All these and more on Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA Episode 3

Welcome back to our third installment of Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA where we set foot on some interesting destinations in the humble city of Ipoh.

This time around, Julie Woon heads to the capital of Perak with the Hyundai i10 and checks out a 73-year old tin dredge ship in Tanjung Tualang as well as explores Gua Tambun where she finds ancient wall drawings!

We visit a tin dredge ship, check out Gua Tambun and experience Nasi Ganja – All these and more on Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA Episode 3

Julie also tries out the famous, mouth watering Nasi Ganja on Jalan Yang Kalsom before making a stop at the Perak Tong which houses over 40 Buddha statues.

Watch the episode to explore Ipoh with Julie and don’t forget to take part in the TSSPP95X contest to put yourself in the running to win a Garmin Nuvi 1250 GPS. You can also watch our previous episodes here.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2419]

This tin dredge ship was built in 1938 by consulting engineering firm F.W. Payne and Co. The ship was located in Teja, Gopeng and was in service for 44 years before its operations ceased. The ship was then moved to its present location in 1982 and is now open to public. Codenamed the T.T. No. 5, it went through an RM100,000 facelift.

Tanjung Tualang Tin Dredge Ship
Warisan Kapal Korek (Tin Dredge Heritage),
9th Km, Jalan Tanjung Tualang,
31000, Batu Gajah, Perak.
Tel: +605-3702253

View Larger Map

This historic cave features wall drawings that are approximately 3,000 years old. The Hematite art work are made up by drawings of a deer, a dugong as well as a human figure. There are also sketches of an octopus and a fish. History has it that the drawings were found by a soldier named R.L. Rawlings in 1959.

Gua Tambun
Jalan Tambun (next to Caltex),
Ulu Kinta, Ipoh,
31400, Perak.
Tel: +605-3702253

View Larger Map

The Nasi Kandar Ayam Merah stall is famously known to offer Nasi Ganja in the Yong Suan Coffee Shop on Jalan Yang Kalsom and it has been in existence since 1956. The reason why they call it Nasi Ganja? Well that’s because people simply come back for more!

Nasi Ganja (Yong Suan Coffee Shop)
Jalan Yang Kalsom,
30250, Ipoh, Perak.
Tel: +605-254 4316

View Larger Map

The Perak Tong Cave Temple was built in 1926 by a Buddhist priest from China and it houses over 40 Buddha statues. The temple is also made up by a total of 385 steps and there are gorgeous stalagmite and stalactite formations.

Perak Tong
Jalan Kuala Kangsar,
Ipoh, Perak.

View Larger Map

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• I miss nasi ganja…huhu

• ooo this time ipoh mali?

• batumudo on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:17 pm

‘ganja..ganja..ganja…’ belacan ada tuan? jual ganja ada lesen, jual belacan takda lesen. ana smuggle dari malaya”

• nighttrain on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Heyyy… Julie, shorts laa…. tiny ones.

• LE buruk on Jul 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm

this amoi very cute la…

• clutch basah on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Ermm.. she is wearing Harvinder’s shirt again, get a proper girl’s shirt for her la Mr. producer. Didn’t I say she was hot? thought I did.. :)

• haha….dugong shape drawing!!

• Fazreen on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm

I heard that nasi ganja is good but I never try it. No chance yet. By the way, how many episode of Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA ?

• Shadow on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:47 pm

The program is called travel safe and save…Sooooo, Julie has to wear not so sexy clothes to be safe. Wakakakaka….oh, also must save money, so share the same t-shirt. Lol.

• nighttrain on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm

lol – this literally is an editorial on the series which verges on softcore porn.

• dupey on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Maybe about 10min drive from from jln yg kalsom to perak tong at tasek?? Police help them buka jalan izzit???

• udasalleh on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:08 pm

seriously. other than looking at hot julie… do we need this weekly update on this programme here? coz it looks like more of a travelogue than a driving/auto magazine programme.

• freeze on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Youtube image there…muka stim

• freeze on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:17 pm

BTW Harvinder, did you go upstairs of the restaurant Yong Suan?

Sarawak mali, RM35.

• Comment on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:30 pm

seriously lousy photography ter…..

• tokmoh on Jul 21, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Ooo, Julie’s a crackberrian!! Can I has bbm pin?

Say, how many mileage that Hyundai’s done? 11.11km/L is a little bit… low :(

• Fellaly on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:12 pm

do you even own a car?

this is normal for petrol car… don’t be unrealistic

bring on diesel subcompacts

• tokmoh on Jul 22, 2011 at 12:14 am

I kinda expect that Hyundai can do similar fc as a Kelisa, which should easily do >13km/L

I drive a 2002 Waja 4G18 auto, even that car can still give me 11.12km/L last I filled up with typical very heavy Subang Jaya traffic condition, aircond on 100%.

The name of the show is even “travel safe and SAVE with petronas blabla”, special emphasis on SAVE.

But 3 episodes and none have managed even 12km/L. sigh

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:04 am

Hi tokmoh, the fuel consumption of 9 liters per 100 km includes heavy traffic in Ipoh and with load as well.

• Paul Tan on Jul 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Guys, this is not a hypermiling or fuel efficiency contest.

The numbers are not “combined fuel consumption” based on going to office and back everyday.

We aimed to show you guys real results based on the real traffic conditions of the trip, which most of the time were heavy, and you have to remember that the car is carrying a full load including 1 cameraman, 1 soundman, harvinder, julie, equipment, bags, etc, it’s not just julie and harve in the car as you see in the video.

We can easily modify the numbers to make both the fuel and car look extraordinary good, but we didn’t.

• my 1.3 gets me 400km with rm60 worth of ron95 with 1 bar left before warning from last saturday/sunday’s melaka trip

full load, 4 people including luggage, highway + melaka traffic + seremban/nilai NSE jam @ sunday 5pm

total i think i should be able to get 425-450km/33.33l = 12.75km/l

my car is not known as a fuel saver unlike the i10 and i wasnt trying to save fuel in this trip too but the numbers are still better than 11.11km/l

something must be wrong somewhere, gotta be the drivers haha

• Lim Kopi on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Dunno la, certain angles shes ok ok oni laa ….

Must be the make up la …. its all lies :)

• dongdong on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:53 am

Julie Hoi…

• How do you manage to get into Gua Tambun, the entrance area had been gated by a Dato’ for his private Polo Ground. And he got huge guard dogs….