First image of next generation Honda CR-V released!

A single photo of the next generation Honda CR-V has been making its way around the internet, a sign that Honda could be prepared to launch the new SUV soon.

This doesn’t really look like a production car though, as it has tinted head lamps and very small wing mirrors. It might be a concept car designed to reveal what the production next generation CR-V would look like, before Honda reveals the production form. Honda USA has been known to do this in the past, just like it did with the recent new generation US market Honda Civic sedan and coupe.

From the looks of this image, the CR-V looks like it will continue to be a 5-seater. The Accord Coupe-like side window profile looks nice, and there’s a hint of the Volvo XC90 at the rear tail lamps. Check out our previously featured spyshots.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the next-generation Honda CR-V's design show mixed reactions, with many praising its improved styling that resembles Kia Sportage and Volvo XC series, viewing it as a more modern and impactful look compared to the current model. Some appreciate the move away from the old double grill and see potential in the refreshed aesthetics. However, critics feel the design may lack originality, noting similarities to other brands and expressing concerns about the car's size and practicality. There are also comments about the need for better engine options, like turbocharged or hybrid variants, to enhance performance and fuel efficiency. Overall, the feedback reflects optimism about the new CR-V’s look but calls for improvements in features and powertrain offerings to meet consumer expectations.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Best! I like it.

• looks good, will choose this over 3008,tucson and so on

• ultrajo on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:45 am

If RM149K o.t.r as current CRV then maybe can consider worth it!

• justin on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm

u crazy dude?max i wud pay for this is 130k…and thats already a premium figure for us in bolehland.

• bien335 on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Please let it have a turbo motor, please please. no more torque-less i-VTEC. make it i-VTEC + turbo for torque. please please please.

• desmond on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:38 pm

it looks just like the current FL CR-V @@ with sharper lines thats all.

• transformer on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Front nicer than current gen…
    but its rear seems humpback….? (maybe from this angle….)
    It seems longer than current, so might has a 7seater introduced, which would meet many audience expectation….

• Carl Wong on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:35 am

Hi I don’t know why I think it looks a little like TRANSFORMERS LOL, futuristic isn’t it :)??!!!

• Agree, from the picture, it might have 7 seaters, but not every1 looking for that..
      The size is big, more alike to harrier or santa fe size, no more compact SUV size.

• look like new Kia sportage….

• coolcar on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm

look like new Kia sportage….But with better engine and fuel mileage.

• Duhhh on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm

The front and grill resembles Kia Sportage!?? hahahaha.

• Alpha on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm

The colour looks nice.Kinda have the looks of the new Sorento.I don’t think this is the production version though.

• pokyah on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

smart!!!! got rear picture?

• rifle on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

looks like sorento..

• Panda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm

not bad at all, looking good~~

• abeterbey on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm

nice!

• RedBeanBun on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:04 pm

WHAT is this???? ITS UGLY!!

• Peterpj on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:42 pm

I have to agree. The Sportage looks young and refreshing, but this CR-V is like taking something dated and doing some bad make-up on it. I just hope that the production version looks a lot better (with proper rims, wing mirrors and front grille)

• WOHOOOOO NICE! :D

• it has a lil bit of Volvo cue as what has mentioned by Paul. it looks strong and tough too.

• As i’ve mentioned on this post long time ago that Honda will drop the ugly double grill design as it gives the front a freak look.

• bystander on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:29 pm

hybrid of current CRV with new Kia Sportage….

• Hmm seems interesting and nice but it seems to look like a copy and paste project taking certain cues from Kia and Volvo. Overall is acceptable and refreshed as compare to the current model. Honestly the CR-V is a very well mannered car but it just lack the low end torque, lock up 4X4, 6 speed and it really needs to improve on fuel consumption. My serious concern is that since this SUV grow in size, I wonder how could a 2.0 i-vtec sustains such a major additional kerb weight ??

• Evoque on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:58 am

In addition, the new CRV better offer more & extra features to be at least in par with the new Kia Sportage such as helpful keyless entry system.

• Bangala on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm

First… muahaha!

• Hocep on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:28 pm

Sorento will die! Welcome to New CRV.

• ACCORDMANIA on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:28 pm

The next-generation Honda CR-V will be arriving in showrooms soon, it seems, going by what Honda Motor Executive Vice President Koichi Kondo said at a company earnings press conference. The all-new CR-V will begin production and be launched as a 2012 model in the fourth quarter of 2011

• looking-good on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:29 pm

rite now, looks like the korean is leading the way and the japs is following behind

as u can see, many said its look like sportage, its look sorento, not the other way round~ :)

“feng sui take turn to spin”

haha~~

• ACCORDMANIA on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:32 pm

On critics saying that the CR-V apes too much of a Volvo XC60 – give the same brief to two different designers working separately, to design a mid size urban soft-roader SUV that appeals to the masses, I reckon that both will still come to a similar solution.

• GagaoverCRV on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:39 am

hopefully Honda Malaysia can launch this by end of this year as i am looking forward to get a crv by cny (hhehe typical thinking to get one b4 cny).

i hope this can come in 2.4 rather than 2.0 as the current model is abit lacking of power. if it comes in 7-seater, then more plus points to get tis unit… wooohoo… i am so excited…please launch it sooonnnnn!!!!!

• 123GO on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:09 am

still no projector headlamp =.= ~~~~~~~~

• skiborne on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:29 am

still run on that single cam thing?

• Galvin Tan on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:31 am

Looks good. Hopefully the actual production model looks as good too.

• pokyah on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:34 am

rear look like X3 i think…

• Lim Kopi on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:52 am

If this is the best Honda designers can do …

Then they shall be way behind Kia with their Peter Schreyer ….

• l3ryan on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:10 am

the front end is much nicer than the current generation, no more soccer-mom SUV look!!!

• torres on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:25 am

Why everyone think this car is nice? I’ll choose the SPORTAGE anytime.Crv kind of bored to me.

• Kiddo on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:55 am

I still prefer the design of the current generation.

Honda seems to be moving away from ‘handsome and sleek but not as-practical’ designs to ‘big, chunky and practical’ designs? Why?

• Haha, I saw alot of losers and also die hard Honda fan boys thumb dowing everyone’s negetive comments, stupid lol. About the car… Looked really bad, what of the honda designers doing? after the civic, another ugly car? damn you all should learn to design from hyundai and kia now, even korean have a better looking car than japanese.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:37 am

CR-V Harrier Wannabe.. or CR-V juga MPV.. haha

• OMG…great front looking…Hope for new engine…pls…

• Cheng on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:24 am

prefer this than the koreans.

• vw_fan on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:47 am

the silhoutte of the nose does resemble the sportage but they look different.

i kinda like this new crv design. has a lot more character and presence compared to the current model.

• 98tecknik89 on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:11 am

looks aggresive…nice

• Rulered on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:28 am

What’s the rim size 18″ as standard or just promo pict? Anyway at least they got rid of the double grill one on top of the other front. If they can upgrade some of the safety features such as 6 airbags, plus some other goodies such as 4wd option and turbocharged engine (preferably diesel) it’ll tell you that HM means business. However, I think I’m still dreaming knowing HM :-p

• _xXx_ on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:36 am

if honda dun price it correctly, time to say goodbye to CRV and hullo Kia Sportage…

• Cheng on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm

ya, imagine same price with the koreans, who will say goodbye? so u better pray honda price this 20k more than the koreans.

• sugen on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:15 am

how come it look like KIA New sportage?hahah..

• hahahaha….is it sorento?is it sportage?coz kia looks lot nicer…hahahaha..is honda following korean now?hehehehe~~well,seems like ppl wit ‘J’ in their forehead call this car nice,awesome design~~hehehehe

• owh…4got, ‘J’ for japanese car only~~hehehe

• What kindda of design is that like been hit by the magic wand and turned into some repitiles….

Lack of idea!

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:28 am

It looks too european now..

• Sparc on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:55 am

It looks like Sorento or sportage.Why no people say Japanese copy Korean now?

• Thedaoaks on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:45 pm

wow better brand, design at par with sorento, sportage, tucson, 3008..if d specs n price r almost d same..200% I will opt 4 this new CRV!

• Ryan.C on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Honda hires Peter Schreyer(kia designer) ??
    how come crv looks like kia sportage?

• awesome

• VoidDance on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

While most people like the new CRV design, I think it is quite bland and boring. Don’t get me wrong, it is okay but not as eye opener as Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tuscon or even LR Evoque.

• Impartial on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:07 pm

That’s because Korean cars used to be ugly looking. When you do a previous and current design comparison, you’ll of course feel the Korean’s are better looking. Then again, design is not everything. Korean cars still lack the comfort and drive factor. To each his own.

• VoidDance on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Yes I agree with you. But I specifically mention about the design of the car, not about the comfort or driving factor. I am sure that Honda R&H is much better than any Korean’s car.

I still think the new Honda CRV design is not a good and the current Kia and Hyundai’s SUV.

• kantoi on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Fugly

• kitman on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

if sell rm138,888 spec got panaromic sunroof,push start button,gps,rear camera,6 speed,4wd,then i’ll consider.or not i ‘ll get the new sportage…for me this car really make korean car can sell more better

• korean on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Those “toys” can last or not? My korean “car” changed door handles a few times. Saw many with the mismatched door handles also. so the problem is common. Also, the absorber, water tank, timing belt etc all cannot last longer than the japs…

• kitman on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:54 pm

then y u go for korean car?try go for japs car…is’t last longer?

• justin on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:06 pm

To me, its a major improvement in design and styling…certainly looking forward when it goes on sale here. And to the Korean lovers here, stop the whining and just move on with fixing reliabilty and customer trust issue!

• BsLee on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:32 pm

i think its look like a cross of previous &present crv..nothing exciting..

• keyrule on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:51 pm

This is not CR-V, This is CR-Y..lol

• frv

• Alot of ppl still think the JAPS car are good, dun get me wrong ere JAPS car is still good but the Korean is as good as the JAPS now.We need to move on now and gv the KOREAN a chance.Top car designer dun juz go to KOREAN automobile industry for nothing.They them self do their own research before they accept the job.Those days are gone, how many of us still but SONY or Panasonic and sharp brand?

• seancorr on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Nice looks so far. Hopefully comes with a more powerful engine. Front parking sensors, projector HID lights with full leather at the same price to rival competitors?

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm

look alike 1st generation korean SUV… targeting syangyong old customers. good luck!

• Haha, and the losers just come more and more, it’s fun! and still talking about those 10 years old Korean cars having reliability problem. Please bash with facts or else you will make yourself looking stupid and idiotic.

• Please wake up for all Malaysian(japs supprter), do you guys know that all the Japs luxury brand like Lexus, Infinity, Acura lose out in their biggest market, USA. Korean brand had taken over them, they now try to switch back to Asian market like Malaysia, HongKong, Singapore, especially CHINA. They no longer roar in the market, what they do now is hide the fact in US, and quietly come back here, and people here still thinking of how good they are.
    Friends, OPEN YOUR EYE

• kitman on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:08 am

so you are saying lexus, acura, infiniti, toyota, mazda, suzuki, honda, nissan, subaru, daihat………. are all crap now? wow!

• Tiuniasing on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:01 am

In my opinion, this has to do with the States current poor economy. Most of the Americans can’t afford the premium brands like they used to, that’s why they opt for a better offer which the Koreans seems to be doing well in this part.

What makes you think the Korean brands are on a par with the premium brands such as Infinity, Lexus and Acura?

• coolcar on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Agree. American now are poor, that is why they have to settle with the Korean. Malaysian is still OK, so Korean car is not doing well here and never will, as long as Malaysia’s economy is good.
        If a person say Malaysian that like Japs more looking stupid and idiotic, in fact that person himself is looking more stupid and idiotic.

• Impartial on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

If you say Korean cars are so good, I guess those guys at topgear are either bias or dolts. Or perhaps, the Koreans sent us their best quality and send the craps to Europe and US. I leave that to you to judge for yourself. Aesthetic is not everything. There are other considerations such as comfort and reliability. Unfortunately, a lot of the commentors here are too shallow and write before they think.

If you like Koreans buy the Koreans. If you like the Japs, buy the Japs. As I have said before, to each his own. And btw, I am neither for nor against the Koreans/Japs. All I am for is a good value for money, comfortable and functional car with good quality service and minimal issues. Unfortunately, the quality of service is still questionable when it comes to Koreans. The Japs are still ahead in this area. Enough said.

• I not being bias but I like the design. I have 2 CRV ….2nd Generation and 3rd Generation CRV. To me Honda cars are more reliable as my family have been driving honda since 1985.

• zanggief on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:04 am

front looks influence by Kia Sorento and rear looks like Volvo xc series…waiting for the interior and engine spec….