2012 Lexus GS sedan revealed – first details and images

And here it is – the latest 2012 Lexus GS. It looks rather like an enlarged Lexus IS, featuring a similar hourglass shaped front grille found on the CT200h, a design that extends down to the bumper to visually integrate the upper and lower grilles on the front end. The headlamps are also now a one-piece design, losing the split design that the GS has had since the second generation.

Lexus has played it safe with the side profile – there are no funky creases that are very popular with car designers lately – instead the new 2012 GS looks like a smooth and solid chunk of steel from the side, with a strong shoulder line running level (as opposed to upwards sweeping) from the front wheel arch to the rear.

A few models will be available – the GS 250 has been confirmed by Lexus for at least the UK market. There will also be a GS 350 and a full hybrid – the GS 450h. Lexus also reveals that it will be having F-Sport versions of the new GS – but I wonder if they’ll do a monster GS-F?

Wheelbase (and exterior dimensions) remain about the same, but the chassis has been revised to be more rigid than the current GS thanks to an increased number of spot welds and adding laser welds in very specific locations. The track, wider by 40mm at the front and 50mm at the rear, works in combination with a revised suspension design for better handling.

In the front, lighter aluminium upper and lower control arms employ larger bushings. The rear subframe has been completely redesigned to accommodate an all-new multi-link rear suspension, the improved geometry enhancing rear-end control.  With the stiffer platform and lighter components, the shock absorbers can use lighter-viscosity oil, responding faster to small inputs.

The interior shares a family look with the one in the CT 200h, and it certainly looks like a nice place to be in – definitely a huge, huge upgrade over the current GS visually. I hope the materials have been improved as well – they probably have been. Lexus says the interior room has been improved despite the car’s wheelbase not increasing in size. A new energy-saving auto climate control system called S-Flow uses the occupant-detection system to focus airflow only to the front area where passengers are actually seated.

The new Lexus GS boasts the option for a huge 12.3 inch high resolution screen, which tops anything offered by the German competitors in its class. The screen serves multiple purposes – a display for the GPS navigation, DVD audio/video, and displays for various other features such as the Bluetooth handsfree system which includes automatic phonebook download and more. For cars without a navi system, the screen is smaller at 8 inches. The standard speaker system is a 5.1 system but you can upgrade to an 835 watt 17 speaker Mark Levinson system.

And last but not least – no el-cheapo LED clock! Lexus has instead given the interior a nice touch with an analog clock carved from an ingot, neatly tucked in between the two central aircond vents.

Available safety systems include a Night Vision System that enhances driver visibility in the dark; Head-Up Display (HUD); a Blind Spot Monitor that helps detect vehicles in rear/side blind spots; and Lane Keep Assist (LKA) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW). The LKA system uses active steering torque to provide a small assistance in maintaining course, while the LDW feature alerts drivers if they begin to drift out of their lane.

Look after the jump for a gallery of the new 2012 GS. The GS will make its debut to the public at the 2011 Pebble Beach.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2538]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wallstreet on Aug 19, 2011 at 7:29 am

Elegant and contemporary. For me this looks way better than the European.

• i agree it looks european…like the current accord euro R

• pinkpussii on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:39 am

oh yes! “the side profile – there are no funky creases that are very popular with car designers lately”, ter did a right thing here, those funky creases really looks so damn boring de lol…

• ABTguy on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:52 am

Actually it somewhat looks like current Camry, but with better detailing.

The dashboard looks a bit too tall from driver seat, meaning for driver who are shorter than say 5 ft 9 ” can find it hard to see the road. Same problem with Passat CC.

Even though the seat height can be adjusted, its looking odd to hv high seat while everyone else in the car seat much lower. If you have sat into a E-class, you know what I mean.

• OMG, the rear lamps look like H.Sonata…

• Yeah looks like sonata because it also has 2 rear lamps….Tun Hussien Onn eye specialist should be a good place for you to go first. After that go to Sunway medical, I heard they have some good neurologist there.

• notorp on Aug 19, 2011 at 7:58 pm

OMG, H sonata rear look like Maserati Gran Turismo.

• Whatever ppl says this car looks like the Camry,Accord or Saga FL ke but it is just a car and it still looks like a car!maybe you guys from 3rd world country and everyday see the same thing Wiralution and Wajalution!

• zhongbie on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm

front is accord , backside is sonata, but inside is LEXUS !!!!

• kington on Aug 19, 2011 at 7:32 am

the rear shows signs of hyundai’s sonata and elantra, but overall, it looks pretty edgy, when you considerr the softer lines adopted by the F10.

ya, the clock from the previous models was a bit of a turn off.

• Hp Tan on Jan 26, 2012 at 11:13 pm

For your information…the Hyundai Sonata actually copied the Lexus IS rear 1st…

• luckily the production car front grill look better than previous prototype..

• sranua on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:12 am

Beauty with technology and Mark Levinson….such a pleasure to drive the car. But not many able to buy it though…

• This is the difference between Pro & Amateur, those cheapo Korean car r not even close, Peter
    Schyerer &
    Thomas Burkle & Casey Hyun eat ur heart out.
    Those who critised blindly now have to eat their own words.

• David D on Aug 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Idiot. Leave the Koreans out of this, you biased imbecile!! We’re talking about a Lexus that looks the part in its class, not comparing it to our everyday Hyundais and Toyotas.

Man, WTF’s wrong with you?? Have the Koreans hurt you in any way? If not, then shut the fuc* up, you piece of trash. Always full of hatred. Geez.

• David D on Aug 19, 2011 at 5:19 pm

And, by the way, this GS, in my personal opinion, looks definitely better than the bloated 5-Series, or the utterly dissappointing looks of the E-Class. Although i’m no fan of most Toyota/Lexus stuff, this car, without a doubt, is a great improvement, especially that interior. Now take that, Merc and BMW.

• jalan54 on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Wow! Talk like a butt hurt Korean car salesman.

• David D on Aug 20, 2011 at 2:26 am

Nah, dude, i’m just annoyed that, for every car topic, he just has to randomly bring in the Koreans and bash them at the same time. It’s like bashing the Germans in every topic, even non-German makes. Seriously, he needs some growing up, and enough aimless bashing.

• Alex Woo on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:31 am

i’m a big fan of the GS, but from the pics provided, it doesn’t appear to me that it has a ‘wow’ factor especially to the interior.

• zaff1984 on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:40 am

i am not a fan of GS (previous gen), but i like this one… I think im a GS fan now :) like both interior and exterior…

• alldisc on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:31 am

the rear does look like it is designed by BMW, though any resemblance to any 5 series is uncanny

• beatnik on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:39 am

wow.. the interior looks improved a lot from older lexus cars.. manyak class.. now the germans should be worried.

• low2215 on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:39 am

It does look better than those “spy shot” , looks quite elegant . Nice

• Jimmy on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:47 am

Ugly, especially the white one.
    I like the mechanical, instead of digital, clock and the middle position.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:01 am

All that is missing is a turbocharged motor. 2.5L V6 turbo would be sweet with somewhere around 300bhp

• Simon Sez on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:32 am

Looks solid overall. way better than the prototype.

• alpha999 on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:33 am

great looking inside out….

too bad, if sold in Malaysia, out of reach for many hard earned rakyat

• autojohndoe on Aug 19, 2011 at 3:19 pm

man… even in japan itself Lexus is considered expensive… not many ppl can afford it…

Japanese from Osaka told me…

• gdsob on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:38 am

The interior is lightyears ahead of the current models… Evergreen exterior design.

Nice.

• Jerry on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:41 am

The new GS is the best effort from Lexus by far. It seems they are seriously trying to get back into the game dominated by Europeans. Look no further than the ingot carved analogue clock for that evidence mind.

• Yamn…not exciting

• As much as I love the new grille, I think the headlights resemble the IS too much… They should have probably gone with the split headlights in my opinion…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:09 am

Hmm. not bad i like it except for the huge LCD screen…
    If they sell GS250 in malaysia surely it will be a hit…..

• kington on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

Sadly, the 5 and E continues to dominate sales… while in terms all figures the GS can only compete with the A6.

Personally i’ve always had a liking for GS models… and though the kit count falls short of the 5, it sure as hell lasts longer than the 5.

• kwing on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:11 am

lucky they tweak the front grill from teh concept, now looks alot better…

• looks better than concept. in fact not much time u will find a production car looks better than the concept.

the interior is a huge leap over its previous model . however the exterior doesn’t really shine especially the rear door panel frame and the rear door window frame makes the door a double hump . doesn’t look that great actually … should ahve follow what jaguar did to their xk and bmw kink .

overall, slight disappointment over the exterior. the previous one looks elegant but the current one abit korean-ish . they should do like what bmw did to their 3 series, the rear light production and final testing car doesn’t share the same rear light because it looks too similar to what audi just launch.

still very accord-ish .

• vw_fan on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

Not bad at all. I think it will sell well. Looks much better than the 5 series. Will be a close fight with the E class which I think is excellent.

• VoidDance on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:51 am

BMW called. They want their Hofmeister Kink back!

By the way, this car looks boring. What happen to Toyota/Lexus?

• taboogen on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:52 am

the japs are trying to hard to be bmw

• redboy on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:45 pm

But end up looks like a boring Audi with a RWD.

• those words my friend would only come from the mouth of a bmw bigot…fancy a new perspective?

• loveit on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:09 am

great..got BMW dna in it though (well all japs car is about copying the german anyway) but look damn nice to me..also interior look more lavish, somehow they started to have soul into it..

• the design looks so boring…..but the interior looks solid and is a good improvement though.

• Kiddo on Aug 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm

saying the interior looks solid is kinda pointless as Lexus has never made anything that’s not solid. XD

• you need to understand, this fella king has been a Lex basher throughout the history of paultan…so you know where hes coming from

• from the rear end it looks like a bastard child of a sonata-lexus IS relationship…. lol…

• i jz love the interior .
    bmw interior is back to boring, merc tried too hard to be edgy but it looks plasticky … lexus tried to make it look solid and full … it looks just like what they wanted it to be .

why aren’t there japanese maker trying to follow audi’s design scheme .

• looking-good on Aug 19, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Audi’s interior still the best!

• in term of quality audi interior still the best…exterior wise quite boring nothing special n its quite dissapointed

• 5series E-class A6 or this Lexus?

• Alpha on Aug 19, 2011 at 4:28 pm

They should make the ride and handling Aristo-ish,but better.

• The thing about launching Lexus’s new design language first on their cheapest model, the CT200h is that when you start applying those designs on the other more premium model like this GS, you can’t stop but to be kept reminded about the cheap CT200h despite paying way more for the GS.

On the other hand, BMW’s new design language was introduced first on the top model, the 7-Series. So when you see that the interior of your cheaper 5-Series with similar 7-Series interior, you can’t help but to feel you got a great deal for getting 7-Series interior for 5-Series price.

You see guys? Marketing strategy plays a significant role too.

• somehow, I think the ‘L’ logo on the steering wheel is too huge….

• good job on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:51 pm

yes, my next car after got estima acr50 last year, proud to be toyota loyal customer, keep it up!!!!

• Kumar on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Only an idiot will chose the A6 over this.

• Kiddo on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:48 am

I think this looks like a shrunk LS460L instead of a magnifiied IS or whatsoever..I think I love it.

And it doesn’t look like a Sonata!! Stop comparing Lexus to Hyundai!!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 20, 2011 at 1:43 am

trying to catch a younger executive generation….but i think the front grilled a little bit over do, since it gives a high end lancer evo feel…the tail is good…cant bring out the Smart feel though from the front.. the “x” design is …no good.

• sean111 on Aug 20, 2011 at 2:08 am

so yucky & boring!… un-original!!
    The exterior does not match Lexus’s CLASS & PRESTIGE…dissappointing!
    Lexus should consider to ‘snatch’ Peter Schyerer from Hyundai/Kia group. Look at Sonata, Tucson & Forte etc…

• sean111 on Aug 20, 2011 at 2:11 am

so yucky & boring!… un-original!
    Exterior does not match Lexus’s CLASS & PRESTIGE …dissappointing!
    Lexus should consider to ‘snatch’ Peter Schyerer from Hyundai Kia group. Look at the Sonata, Tucson, Forte etc…

• Hyundai Kia fanboys always like to compare their korean car with prestige car like Lexus, Merc, BMW and Audi, very funny mentality.

• Mask Ryder on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:08 am

Sean111,
      Why would Lexus need to snatch Peter Schyerer ? To copy Aston Martin One77 ? When he copy Audi ok since he excuse was that he is a ex Audi designer but Aston Martin ? The designer of Audi TT now end up been a copy cat of 2009 Aston Martin car & display as 2011 concept car, his legend has totally wipe off.
      Now why would Lexus want to hire such a run down designer from a shameless pirate copycat car assemble.

• I think the reason is Hyundai now trying hard to be a premium brand of hyundai-kia group. that why their fanboys keep trying to convince us that they are prestige too.. LOL..

• Trigs on Aug 20, 2011 at 3:15 am

Not too bad. But…. the previous GS had a much better interior. This one looks too much like a BMW and Merz, hence too conventional

And this new GS design overall doesn’t look anything like the out-going GS model.

• the interior is far more better than the E60,(not the F10)
    currently tat E60 interior is rubbish look

• Hello, David Didi again, still using vulgar language as usual, minus those nonsense, i think u agreed with me that Lexus GS is light year ahead of Korean Junk & Even better than the German twin B.

Next time straight to the point lah! no need to deco it with nonsense, worst still using construction site languages, shame2.

• cloudye on Aug 21, 2011 at 2:16 pm

handsome car indeed.

• Maserati on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:43 am

Hahaha..some fools comparing lexus and kia /hyundai. Pls lah, korean cars are only on par with china cars at the moment let alone a luxury japanese marque .

Dont ever compare ur lousy cheapskate korean cars with anything other than china cars. This lexus is an engineering masterpiece. After u sit in a lexus, u will take ur kia /hyundai and dump it down the mountain. Kia and hyundai cars are hopeless and utterly lousy . So many people get conned by the good designs but forgot that korean tech in making cars still suck big time.

So if ur driving a kia /hyundai now, i suggest u sell it off quickly or dump it at any roadside. U come back 10 years later , the car is still there cause nobody would want to steal that piece of thrash..

• Paradigm Shift on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:01 am

I can’t stop noticing the analog clock over all the details in the picture. Damn.

What a great design on the CLOCK! :D

• Paul Tan on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:40 pm

It’s a big change from the “pasar malam LED” clock that is on the current Lexus IS.