Proton introduces ‘Power Window Lifetime Warranty’

Mention Proton, and more often than not the “power window issue” will crop up from both detractors and those who have experienced it themselves. Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin admits that he has been obsessed with the power window issue since he came in five years ago.

The man points out that Proton has long turned the corner in this, and current gen cars are no longer bugged with power window problems. Generally, Defects Per Unit (DPU) has dropped to 0.26 in August 2011 from 8.0 in 2006/07.

But one can only do so much to convince 28 million people, as Syed Zainal said, so Proton has come up with the Power Window Promise to put this issue to rest. The main component in this promise is the Power Window Lifetime Warranty. A very unique warranty for a very unique situation in a very unique market!

Here are the terms. The Power Window Lifetime Warranty (PWLW) is applicable for all new Proton models registered from 1 September 2011 onwards. The warranty is for 10 years from the date of registration, or 250,000 km, which Proton takes as “the lifetime” of a vehicle. Also included in this scheme are current Proton cars that were still under manufacturer’s warranty as at 1 Sept 2011.

For instance, if a Proton Waja is two years and 10 months into its three-year factory warranty at 1 Sept 2011, it will be eligible for PWLW. The 10 years will be counted from the car’s date of registration, and if it has already done 100,000 km, the warranty will last for 150k km more, whichever comes first. But the said Waja won’t be eligible if it has been serviced outside of Proton’s service network at any time in its life.

The same goes for new cars. To be eligible for the warranty, cars must be serviced at an official Proton service centre throughout the duration. I also found out that from now, cars brought in to Proton SCs for regular service will also undergo some “power window servicing” which involves silicone spray to reduce friction, among other measures. Previously optional, there’s no extra charge for this, and is part of Proton’s efforts to improve itself.

Applicable to both private and fleet owners, PWLW covers four main components in the power window mechanism, namely the PW regulator, PW motor, PW switches and PW run channel. If your case complies with the T&Cs, Proton will absorb all labour and parts costs. There’s no limit on how many claims can be made per car.

Eligible cars that are in the “still under warranty” category explained above need to claim their Power Window System Warranty Registration certificate from any Proton service centre. Take note that prior appointment must be made. This process is not necessary for Proton cars registered from 1 September 2011, since the Power Window Promise is already included in your car’s service booklet.

“Correcting this perception is a challenging but necessary task, and PWLW is one of the initiatives that is being undertaken to put to rest this particular stigma. It saddens us that our customers purchase Proton cars whilst questioning the quality of our power windows, to the point that they refuse to use it for fear of damaging it,” said Syed Zainal, recalling a story we shared with you before.

“Our message is simple: Should you buy a Proton car today, please know that the power windows are working, they are working well and you have our Power Window Promise to back you up,” the boss confidently added.

Need to clarify some issues or need more info? Proton i.care is waiting for you at 1300-880-888 or email them at [email protected].

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mnazri.tan on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

bout time ….all the best

• littlefire on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:09 pm

About time to let all of us know why P1 rejected VW some time ago…

http://malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/44147-wikileaks-malaysian-government-decides-proton

• haiiyyyaaaaaaa…..!!!
      this is not about power window laaah. this is about making use of the power window stigma to make new p1 owner stick to p1 service center for 10 freaking years maaaaaa!

ppl only stick to p1 service center for the first 3 years and after that half of them lari to kedai tayar to service their car. now after 25 years of having power window nightmare, we have a ready market of phobia people, that a twist like this will make them stick to p1 just because of power window!

brilliant laa p1!..

• The mechanic make it phobia. They should support our country not blame the country if they have a better country go on you welcome to leave be in a pace better.

• Hah y’all should thank me for continuosly raising that basi pw issue until they surrender! :)

• gigganet on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:52 pm

power windows? really? this is 2011 already. Don’t tell me they needed all these years to rectify a power window!

• Mezo Syed on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Dude, look at the charts, they fixed the problem like 5 years ago but people still complaints as if they were breaking down in all cars every day….chill man…

• I do not need a lifetime warranty. I need a lifetime no problem power window. The charts may look good but it does not tell the full story. Most people after once or twice will fix their cars outside due to the expensive so called genuine proton replacement parts.

• sonyman on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:45 pm

HI DSZ, my Waja 2001 cannot have this term? How come? how to convince me to buy Impian, I dont mind going to Proton Center to get it changed and you give me warranty parts for 5 to 10 years i dont mind. AS long as i keep the receipt.

How about that? I have changed 2 times and this time failed again. So i wont be changing anytime soon. Since you DSZ has this great idea, how about us existing user?

Remember your vow to the Taxi driver who brought you home? His i believe is also damaged some how.

So what can you offer me DSZ?

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

dude, now 2011, almost 2012 already.. your car could be over 10 years already, and most probably your car could’ve traveled more than 250k km. and, worst is, do you have the record of all your car service?
      my waja is 2007, only have 2 years manufacturer’s and 3 year extended warranty which will expire mid next year. so yeah, i don’t get the PWLW also.. :(
      i’m thinking to change my timing belt at normal workshop, not at proton’s or eon’s workshop because they quoted me RM600 for something which i could get done for less than RM300 outside.

• sonyman on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:50 pm

mofaz, your car so much younger. Only now this proton giving this kind of promo.

How about i change the parts in Proton Center like the power window motor and get the lifetime warranty for the power window only. Its very annoying simple things like that will fail. Mine consider lucky already. I seldom use power window only for parking.

crossing the toll i have switch to Smart Tag. so less usage of the power window. Spoil also… What lah…

Anyway wont be going back to proton. Sorry DSZ, Cant support you.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm

i like your idea but it’s not ideal for any business my fren… u buy it once from P1 but P1 has to cover it for 10 years for you without any other “additional contribution” from you… ie not sending your car to their SC?
          for a replaced part, usually have 6 months warranty for that specific part only.

• I think Sonyman better go buy a Honda and Toyota and start harrassing them instead, what lah?

MoFaz I thot the warranty covers cars which still has active warranty on Sept 1 this year, so your car is probably covered, better check it out

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:13 pm

only for cars which are still under manufacturer’s warranty. my manufacturer’s warranty of 2 years already lapsed, i’m now covered under 3 years extended warranty which will end mid next year.
            extended warranty is not manufacturer’s warranty, it’s backed by insurance company, which in my case is UniAsia.

• loser..batch proton zaman waja campro n mivec je power window rosak..
          skarang batch proton dah okay..myvi aku je yg rosak power window….but bukan myvi aku je..yg aku kenal ade myvi..hampir semua power window rosak dah..setan betul perodua

• quattro on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:35 pm

kalau proton ikhlas, tarikh baliklah semua waja zaman 2001 ke atas yg bermasaalh..new generatin waja / saga/ persona dah takde masalah…we dont need life time warantty, just beri kami konfident bahawa power window waja yg bermasalah diganti sekali sahaja dgn model power window baru…

• HoHoHorlik on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:13 pm

hoho.. lu banyak langsi ma… cakap ikut sedap mulut ka?? ni kompom perodua basher nie.. haha.. myvi aku n da geng xpenah lagi rosak power window?? how come lu punya PW rosak? lu punya kereta kasi rendam dalam banjir ka? puii~

• tawkay on Oct 23, 2011 at 2:31 am

hampir semua myvi PW rosak??agak2 la nak bash pun.ada share dalam proton ka??kelab myvi gua ada 135 ahli.takde sorang pun rosak power window.

• Gorgon on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Car life is only for 10 years. More than that, it is considered as uneconomical, since many parts become deteriorated and needs to be replaced. Honda website says standard car life is 160,000 km, http://automobiles.honda.com/mile-makers/. Considering 250,000 km or 10years given by proton could be considered good.

• Area51LE on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:51 pm

It says lifetime warranty and it says “The warranty is for 10 years from the date of registration, or 250,000 km, which Proton takes as “the lifetime” of a vehicle” so is it lifetime or 10 years? =.=

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm

10 years, or 250k km, whichever comes first.
      They needed to put a figure on “lifetime”

• Vincent on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:53 pm

So, P1 is 25 years now, 2.5 life time ar?

Seriously, what mean by life time?

To me, as long as the car still moving on the road…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm

So you want a 20-year 500,000 km warranty?
          Or should they make it a 30-year unlimited mileage warranty? :)

• jl@ipl on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:09 am

Aduh yai.

Kalau aku, dah lama aku shut down blog nih. Tak sanggup aku nak layan org Malaysia skang nih.

Org Malaysia nih, makin maju ke, makin mundur? Atau, dah jadi terlalu manja, semua benda nak senang, semua benda nak kena suap dalam mulut dia org.

Aku salute la ko Danny Tan (and Paul Tan).

• squall_shinoda on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:53 pm

The standard lifetime for all cars is 10 years. During that period, the car slowly depreciates due to rust formation. Of course all cars are dipped with antirust, but antirust can only slows down the rusting process and not eliminating them at all. Even if the engine is fully overhauled to perform like a new one, there are still tons of components that may show signs of wear and tear like the gearbox, drive shaft, brakes, suspension, doors, and even interior components like the glove box and power windows.

Older cars are not as fuel-efficient as today’s cars, and they also lacks of emission standards. That’s why sooty exhaust smoke from old cars are very common.

Lastly, the 10-year car lifetime actually helps the automotive industry. It all old cars work very well without any problems, then the automotive market slowly becomes saturated that there will be no place to sell newer car models.

• Get that from your Ma or Pa . I don’t they going to give you so do Proton. Think

• synzx1386 on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

dun be silly…u cant expect a automobile which ios esectially a wear and tear item to last 20yrs…each individual aprt that makes up a car has a built in expiry date or stress limit…it will last longer if well taken cared of..my car is 28 and drives like a dream!

On the point of why P1 charger more compared to the mech outside its simple….ur cars is serviced by a properly trained mech not by some guy who will say i know everything…there is a cost to train mechs, cost of maintaining the good facilities that u hv a tthe service centres..u probly dun c the hidden cost….if u decide to service out side by untrained mech go ahead but dun kam bak n say that P1 is simply rakin in the big buks by chaging a premium!!

• akinablue on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:13 pm

most of us will change car after 9 or 10 years rite?

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

you have to understand that the “lifetime” here is not referring to your life, but the car’s life. normal car lifetime is 10 years, and they will start dying slowly after 9/10 years.

• sonyman on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:53 pm

mine was dead many years ago, but i cared the car, spend this that. clean it up, replace this and that. lost count of how many things i have changed. So no need 10 years. Mine is 10 years this year, next year is 11 years old, still struggling to get 13KM/L, bloody engine.

Anyway maybe time for a overhaul who knows it might improve.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Proton should put a lifespan on all its vehicles all along. I have absolutely no problems with new protons on the road, however it is the old ones that are annoying. Usually modified, carrying some form of skin(car paint) disease, poorly maintained…. these are just a few attributes of old Protons running on our road.

Can Proton please launch a campaign to get rid of Protons older than 10 years old on our roads.Maybe buy them back, refuse to repair old protons or whatever. Imagine that, Proton will have more sales, less ugly protons on the road…….Let the consumers remember, if they have no money to maintain a car properly, then they have no right to own a car.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:24 pm

it’s not Proton’s responsibility i guess.. it’s all depends on gov. Singapore and Japan has that kind policy. we’re not like SG and JPN because we need to consider those who earn much lesser than average. what if they could only afford RM12k car for the family? there’s no way you can get RM12k car unless a used one…
        it will only drain Proton’s resources if they buy back all old cars.. they can do that for limited time offer like few years back. RM5k discount on new Proton cars if you trade in your old Proton car. still you can see old Proton cars on the road because some people are reluctant to change to new car and having to pay for a NEW LOAN also…

• industry standard for product lifetime is 10 years, ie. that’s how long manufacturers are required by law to provide parts for their cars

• well ,………………my old waja did not have any problem with power window for 5 years on owning it but on the 5th year I only need to change 1 unit driver side power window…..other car manufacturer also faces this problem not only Proton…..DSZ committement is comendable/good coming from CEO of company.

• wendy on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:08 pm

good move!

• Sathis on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm

“To be eligible for the warranty, cars must be serviced at an official Proton service centre throughout the duration.”

No need for these so called “lifetime warranty” if it comes with strings attached! Everyone knows by going to Proton service center, we’re already paying a premium price for parts & labour.

So, after our 100K or 3 years or whatever warranty period, Proton still want their owners to go back to service with them & pay a premium price ah?

I might as well service my car outside and save money and when the power windows gets spoiled, use the saved money to get it fixed. I’ll still have spare cash in hand!

Why does our Government (aka Proton) continue to take us for a fool? Ripping us from our hard earned money in whichever they can!!!

• Word of wisdom! agree with you

• akinablue on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:31 pm

ngokkkk..toyota pun void warranty kalo servis kete kat luar.
      apa la mangkuk sangat otak ko ni..hishhhh

• Sathis on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Ko ni otak udang ke bro akinablue… tak paham bahasa english sudah la!

Memang lah kalo tak pegi service center semasa warranty period , void tapi lepas warranty period it’s up to lah.

What i’m saying is that you are saving money servicing your car outside after your warranty period, which can be used to fix your power window.

Just because you continue servicing your car at the authorised service center, does not mean your car is still under warranty. They will charge you an arm & a leg if things are to be replaced, which will cost you much less if you do it outside at a reputable service center.

So Proton is putting the condition for the Power Windows Lifetime warranty just to rip you off more money but by looking at your dumb-ass comments, I guess people like you deserve to be ripped off anyway

• linear_system on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:34 pm

its up to you..which ever u want to follow..save money and do it yourself outside..or stick with the warranty terms n condition..

• myride on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:11 am

all talk rubbish.. hehehhe..
        Waja already history la woi. Past already. Waja already discontinue the production. Please look forward la. Don’t compare new generation Toyota Vios, new generation honda city with discontinue old waja or old wira.

talk persona, talk saga blm, talk exora la.

• kuncisudu on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

malaysian mentality. beli kete boleh tapi kedekut nak servis kat authorized service centre. semua nak murah. apa daaa..

• If we could afford to go authorized service centers every time we serviced our cars, we wouldn’t have to buy P1 or P2 now, would we?

• DarkAvenger on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Toyota SC no need to pay? You should ride motorbike or bicycle if you can’t afford to service your car. No wonder Proton car so many problems….drive kereta mau, service kereta, tak mau.

• Next time i suggest u read before replying. I didn’t say i couldn’t afford to service, I just don’t service at the authorized SC. Go to non-authorized workshops doesn’t mean can’t afford to service dumbass. More often than ever authorized workshops don’t even have properly trained personnel compared to the bawah pokok foreman. Authorized means more $$ but does it directly translate to better service? doubt so… the only difference is air conditioning and free Wifi in the waiting area. Oh, I drive a Mazda btw.

• takNakP1 on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:01 am

wang service sudah bayar cukai tinggi, mana ada lagi untuk pi authorized SC yang mahal??? kerata mahal, service mahal, spare part mahal…

• wheeler on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Disagree with you, dont think proton parts are so-called premium..you better use a different word.

• Sathis, like that syiok lah, servis pook ceri using sub standard parts, anything go wrong blame manufacturer

funny lah you

• KLLite on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

I had horrendous experience with the Waja power windows. In my 11 years ownership of the car, I changed the power window no less than 8 times. Each time I spent no less than RM200 to replace the faulty unit usually the broken plastic frame. You do the maths. Unfortunately I’m still driving it as a second car the residual has gone down to only RM13K!. By the way, is Proton’s warranty retrospective so I could claim from Proton ?.

• tokmoh on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Aiyo bro, change to metal frame. It can be cheaper than original lousy proton plastic frame, and lasts literally forever. I also use waja, year 2001, since the last time changed to metal, which is many years ago, it works fine.

• rosdi on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

My wife bought a Saga FL on Jan 2011. She (and me) let our kid (and his siblings) abuse the power window to their heart content… they play with it.. they open/close the window several times… I just let them be…

My wife only balk when they made too much noises… thats all.

So far the power window is still going strong.

• Would you let your kid to abuse a brand new car? Why would you do that? What are you trying to prove?
      Even if a person bought a tank, he won’t let anyone abuse it for no reason.

This is a proton marketing talk ….. but failed badly.

• rosdi on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:04 pm

What makes u think I got something to prove?.. I dont care whether the window rosak or not… I am not like some people who never use their power windows because takut rosak.. in the end the never ever use it.. so what is the point buying car with power window when you open the door at the tol gate?

You pay for something that you never use it… lagi bodoh..

• raKYAT on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm

When suddenly heavy rain and you can;t close your power window…lagi syok. your son can swimming in the car.

• loser..batch proton zaman waja campro n mivec je power window rosak..
            skarang batch proton dah okay..myvi aku je yg rosak power window..setan betul perodua

• its easy for you to say…. do you know how it feel throughout the years … taking leave to go to service centre just to fix the power window?

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm

haa? i never have to take any leave to repair my power window. twice already. i guess you’re not smart enough.

• that’s because you are jobless ….. haha … parasite

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm

haha, it’s confirmed that amoi is dumb. if i’m jobless, how could i afford to own a car… dumb dumb.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm

i am with you bro! i felt ur pain! 3 times in 5 years until i almost let is closed/seal forever before my ultimate solution. I quite P1 (forever hopefully)…

• Goniothalamus on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm

agreed. i know what did u mean in perspective of parents view for family car.

• LatukBandar on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

u’re a proton agent?

• i oso played my power window during traffic jammed….from jan 09 until now no prob.. my prob i drive my car into salt water…my car become karat..aiyoo

• Why just the power window? How about the indicator stalk + door handles as well?

• akinablue on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm

jangan gelojoh + tamak..

• SeriousSam on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm

what lah…

since you guys keep bombard PROTON and Paul Tan Blog with the complain about power windows like it gonna be end of the world; so PROTON now doing what is best to solve the issue.

so next time let complaining about indicator stalk + door handles everyday AND everytime there’s article about PROTON in paultan blog.

thehehe

• PakAbu on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm

AFAIK, almost every part of a car, any modern car that you buy, is covered by warranty. At least within the warranty period. It is just that the parts tend to break down after the warranty expires. :(

This power window thing is a special case for Proton because it is so infamous and image damaging. So the warranty is extra-extended to 10 years.

But with many car manufacturers, Proton included, offering extended warranty up to five years, which covers most other parts as well. It is up to the owner to take advantage of this and report about the faulty parts within this period.

Of course, some service centres, not just Proton’s, even so called popular brands tend to be stingy and shortchanging wherever possible. A friend of mine just bought a famous brand slightly six months ago. Now one of the tyres has a slight bulge. The SC would not honour the warranty. Of course they have their excuses and so-called “conditions applied”.

Now he has to find some *other ways* of getting them to make it right… which is their responsibility and his rights anyway. Which shouldn’t have be an issue at all. Which tells you something about human’s character. But that’s a discussion for another day in another forum.

:mrgreen:

• Are you so good to complain everything if you so perfect you don’t be here. Your Father can build a better car ? If not appreciate what we have. If you want to damage thing any car the same.

Look at your body is it you look like a model. Look at the food you eat is it the best it the world. Your House how it look like ha ? Why you don’t tell us all the defect. I challenge to do better than Proton and sell cheaper. When you start designing a car and building a new engine.

• I got this from a friend. what do you guys think?

BMW: Brings Me Women
    LEXUS: Luxury EXports to United States
    FORD: For Only Romantic Drivers
    HYUNDAI: Hope You Understand Nothing’s Drivable And Inexpensive
    PORSCHE: Proof Of Rich Spoiled Children Having Everything
    KIA: Kills In Accidents
    TOYOTA : The One You Only Trust, Always
    CHEVROLET : Can Hear Every Valve Rap On Long Extended Trips
    PROTON: Powerwindow Rosak Ooh Tidaakkk Ohhh Nooo!

• M'sian Salvatore on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Kesian pity Proton begitu lembap lemah betul! Malaysia Boleh sebab ada Cronies BN govt macam ini pasal!

• SeriousSam on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

I bet my ass that there’s cronies from every political parties in malaysia in every companies in malaysia

LoL

• tubik racer on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:22 pm

dua kali post ke!!! hahahaha…mana nissan??
          budak2 vios je ckp mcm tuu…

• jl@ipl on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:12 am

You’re absolutely right. 100% agree with you. Malaysian politics getting worse every day!

Rubbish Politics!!!!!

• sLayer on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I bet with your dirty ass if you were the politician you will like them as well…

• Cronies is everywhere not just in politic in Malaysia or in UK, US or China. We are human we do something with people we know or crony we don’t do with stranger. After we be together for sometime and than work together.

It not like we want to fuck prostitute we don’t know her much and than fuck or like in UK we go clubbing get drunk and fuck tomorrow we don’t know each other anymore. That not the relationship we want we want cronies to work togather.

Look at the Malaysian Chinese they work with their cronies not with somebody they don’t know. Cronies is good if you do good and bad if you do bad it just a word it depend how you do it be more open don’t just think your way there many other way.

• I got this from a friend.

BMW: Brings Me Women
    LEXUS: Luxury EXports to United States
    FORD: For Only Romantic Drivers
    HYUNDAI: Hope You Understand Nothing’s Drivable And Inexpensive
    PORSCHE: Proof Of Rich Spoiled Children Having Everything
    KIA: Kills In Accidents
    TOYOTA : The One You Only Trust, Always
    CHEVROLET : Can Hear Every Valve Rap On Long Extended Trips
    PROTON: Powerwindow Rosak Ooh Tidaakkk Ohhh Nooo!

What do you guys think?

• budak2 pnya mentality :-D

• That not a right combination Proton for top speed
      WISH 180 km/h
      Harrier 180 km/h
      Honda City 165 km/h
      Vios 165 km/h
      Civic 180 km/h
      you tell me

But Gen2 200 km/h

Ha ha ha kereta Jepun Kalah

• Najib bin Tun Rojak on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm

U will DIE fast also with that speed in a tin made gen2. lol haha. lmao XD

• no car made of tin(timah)…i will cost a bomb. 1MT tin will cost usd22k

• You said you want to go fast and got power. Know you know proton got power that good. If you don’t want to go fast why by BMW or vW or Ferrari. Please tell them they die fast.

Or they wasting money. Do business cheap people and showing off to people with the money people pay to them with Ferrari. Ha ya. You rich we you got the money ? Malaysia ma. You make a lot of money when other people want to make money you complain ha ya. Where you learn this it must from your dirty heard. Be fare to all. You make money I make money. I no good you no good so what

• You said you want fast know you got fast so what. Know you know Proton faster waiting your Grand father to build car I think to the end of this life in never happened. Why people buy Ferrari for fast . If Italy so why they can’t build it cheap. Because they stupid, compare to Toyota more stupid why not make it nice and cheap. If cannot be sold in Malaysia sell in Africa. Do it if Toyota can

• FYI , the top speed limit for japanese car has been set by the their gomen to 180 km/h only. Even Nissan GTR have top speed of 180km/h. unless u bring it into racing track.

• We talk about normal car, can japanese do it with the price and the cc if Toyota, Honda or Nissan can do it they should do long time ago. We can see Toyota Inova or Avanza is or Vios is that the best they can do. You see Estima use Spark Plug RM 80 each is that saving the same goes to Honda Stream. All this slow moving car. Why Japanese Spec go fast . Don’t compare with GTR stupid that different category.

Honda need type R for high speed that all sport car and expensive but Proton can do it cheap and reliable. If you look up for Japanese how much they pay you that make you so proud and if Japanese so Good look what they did to your Gram ma and Grandpa.

So be realistic they laugh because you so stupid and you proud of them you are so blind with stupid vision. I don’t know which school you went to because your brain so lost. Get treatment before it too late

• That GTR is Bloody expensive sport car. If Nissan is so good make cheap if cannot still lack of technology to cope with it aka incapable. So Nissan is no good, being in the industry for so long but still don’t know how to do it.

• tec96248 on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:37 pm

my goodness, i don’t understand what were you trying to say. I have no idea what are you talking about………..

are you mumbling???

funny funny………really funny!

• What I saying is Gen2 compare with Latio not GTR you still don’t understand or so incapable to understand why comparing a different thing still cannot accept Gen2 is Continental originated engine like VW Audi BMW not Japanese slow moving Standard Car

• tec96248 on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:38 pm

hahaha, you better go for English Language Class if this is the best you can write / speak. Because of your poor grammars and spellings which I have no idea what were you talking about. Should ask your friends/colleagues/mates etc., whether they understand what you had written. My simple sentences also couldn’t understand. my goodness!

• The truth is the truth who ever denying is wrong please accept the truth either you believe it or not that your problem. Don’t deny it because you don’t like proton when it true it true when it wrong it wrong. It see when I tell truth many still deny it for what ?

• adoilaa…
          ckp melayu pun fhm..kite, rakyat malaysia fhm kot..xyah sesusah..
          translation for u: u can speak malay anytime here..we are malaysian and understand malay well. Dont push it hard. =)

• Calvin Foo on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Correction:
      FORD = Fast Only Rolling Downhill

• diesel vs hybrid on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:31 pm

sorry out of topic…ford focus tdci or toyota prius plg jimat dan berbaloi?

• DewaSemut on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm

My friend, a Honda Civic owner also which Honda could do the same to its customers… coz its power window also malfunctioned on countless occasions… and after replace the motor, regulator etc, he still ended up with failed power windows! (Not to mention his Civic’s steering column emits a very disburbing noise every time he turns its steering wheel)… Open up, guys! Even the mighty Honda is not “kebal” from the power window issue or any other quality issue as well…

So, Proton’s committent on this matter is highly commendable… other manufacturers should do the same lah…

• LatukBandar on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm

U sure it is a civic and not a proton with a honda logo and civic text glued to the back?

• this afternoon my colleague told me he received a latter form honda regarding power window issue, asking him to ‘update’ the power window. so, that shows honda also have power window problem! not only that, he had changed his city’s bearing TWICE!

Tapi honda MALU nak cakap power window diarang xde kualiti..so diarang cakap la ‘product update’. macam la org kita ni bodoh sangat. tp ada jugak yg BODOH x mau ngaku honda dan toyota pon ada problem yg sama, asyik nak backup n sokong sangat T n H..miahahahaha

• DewaSemut on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

My eyesight is still ok and travelled in his car a number of times… IT IS A HONDA CIVIC…

• quattro on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:51 pm

jarang2 je…

• ford_ton on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Me too. As a FD owner I had a fair share of power window problem, noisy steering column, leaky power steering pipe, noisy rear wheel bearing, whining power steering pump, failed air conditioning compressor pulley bearing, failed cam side engine mounting and the list adds up as mileage raked in. Don’t defend Civic as you obviously does not drive one or you owners choosing to keep mum to maintain your ego. As for the brakes; it judders every time I braked from highway speeds and the SC recommends disc skim which I objects in the knowledge that skimmed discs wears away the hardened coatings that keeps the discs from warping. The solution is buying NISSIN original pads from Japan (RM120 + 20 installation) as opposed to NISSIN Thailand pads supplied with the car and viola; brake judder is COMPLETELY gone and brake response remains grippy and constant even after repeated usage down Genting and Bukit Tinggi albeit a lot of brake dust generated. Do not put 100% trust on SC as they are obviously profit oriented. Find a good mechanic instead and spend your money where it’s worth.

By the way I bought the car in 2007 as it’s the only new model in the market and I feel good driving a current model for 5 years. Now that the FD is coming to the end of it’s life, it’s time for me to shop for another new model with a high second hand desirability; it commands a high resale value which for me is a wise decision.

• shamsul on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm

DSZ,l the power point presentation and statistics
    does not prove anything.
    DSZ , just how many P1 users use “authorised service centre’
    after the first year of free service ? Most of the power window
    problems go unreported and are
    replaced at motorshops which offer the same product but
    at least half the price of the recommended selling price.
    Don’t be arrogant DSZ people have no choice so they
    are forced to buy Proton.
    You can con the kampong people but us.!

• PakAbu on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm

“You can con the kampong people but us.!”

Are you saying that kampung people like me are stupid?

• raKYAT on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Are you trying to say City people like me is smarter?

• what you talking about lah wei? you don’t want the warranty don’t go to service centre lah, notice or not the warranty only for Malaysia, not global, rest of the world tak komplen pun pasal power window, granted not many Proton exported yet but stil…. takde komplen

• farghmee on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:37 pm

woi..

DSZ dpt statistic tu sbb dia amik kt SC.
      yg lain drp SC, buat apa dia nk tau.
      bukan SC = warranty out.

nk kata xpandai membaca, pandai pulak mengeja?

• shawal on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:44 pm

power windows…. howabout the power steering hose on my savvy!!! bloody thing costs RM600! , for the past 2-3 years i’ve just been refilling the tank with fluid as it keeps draining out…

• With money no problem no money big problem people spend money more than that for Mazda just quiet . So get more money

• drMpower on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm

it looks like the bashers need something else to complain

last time they complaint about the new model looked exactly the same with a japanese established brand car model

• _xXx_ on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

not black is black, black is forever black. Just like ex-convict. Do u feel comfortable with the descrition of a person, “ex-convict”? No need to publicise, improve quietly.

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:02 pm

what if the convict is wrongly convict or he is the joe at the wrong place at the wrong time.. still want to blame….

• _xXx_ on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:38 am

what wrongly convict(ed), he was caught red-handed. Thousands of witnesses out there…

• maserati on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:50 pm

What a joke! After so long only come out with this warranty?

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:36 pm

what a joke, after u bash proton for the whole life, now you can only come out with this comment?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:42 pm

An idea to generate more income for authorize SC! Do you see the “string attached”?

• kakikaki on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:52 pm

naaaaaah….i give up already. I’ll go for Forte.

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:01 pm

go lah no one is stoping you lah

• go for Forte, go for City, go for Vios, go lah, whats the problem?

• proton lover on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:17 pm

yerlah.. cakap jer lebih.. duit pon xder nak beli.. biasala ckp byk.. duit tarak…

• makeitmine on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Whatever that is introduced here will further strain on existing Proton resources.

Instead, it will be more logical if Proton make available auto repair/installation guides and allow owners/workshops to repair Proton cars using spares from the aftermarket sources.

Even if Proton spares really lousy, owners can still get better aftermarket spares.

• Untitled on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Think of it this way, how many Malaysian you know actually read manual(any manual at all)? How many of them actually DIY? Those who visit this site might do that, but general public aren’t really enthusiast users. Perhaps this is the better solution to improve user experience.

Those who serve customers before(Whoever that may be and whatever product it was), knows Malaysian customer has the sort of sick mentality that they paid you to do it.

• only power windows?

What about another defect? Proton models lots of problem.

Just another ProTalk

• kalau Proton cars so bad? why so many of them still running after more than 10 years?

• wheeler on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Well, i think the intention is good. When DSZ described his airport trip the other day, bashers were yelling and challenging him to prove his words. Now he’s trying to improve to us that he meant his words. So why the all the fuss now??

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:40 pm

The fuss is the warranty of power window component should not be tie to the service of entire car at authorize dealer. This is perceived as “unfair clause” as everyone know the P1 SC charge is 2X.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:08 pm

yes, servicing in SC is more expensive, but they’re not forcing you. you can have your car serviced by mechanic under pokok ceri but if he screwed up, don’t come back and claim warranty to P1 la. to me, power window is small issue, i’d keep sending my car to SC only during manufacturer’s and extended warranty period (5 yrs in total, which cover the whole car), after that, i can send to normal workshop.
        by my experience, some workshops charge more than SC, they even recommend you to change something which doesn’t even break or still perfectly fine, like battery, camber nuts, bla bla…

• raKYAT on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:03 pm

What does engine/ATF oil change, fuel pump repair, raidiator repair, steering column maintenance, mounting nut replacement, piston ring maintenance, brake pad replacement, etc ..AT POKOK CERI that will interfere and tamper with the POWER WINDOW, until Proton will void the PWLW?

No logic, only dishonest marketing.

• tokmoh on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Hoo, yeah, I’ve had my shares of being conned too by workshop bawah pokok. Subang Jaya have plenty of them, camber nut did twice in 2 weeks, like wtf! Each time did cost rm50, bloodyhell. Left the car to change wheel bearing at that time, and then come back they did balancing la (RM30), alignment (ok, this is probably necessary when changing wheel bearing, rm30), and camber.

Timing belt change soon, was scouting around, some workshops charge RM380 for Waja timing belt kit which can be obtained on internet for rm130. Water pump cost rm160, online can get rm75. GILA. Prices quoted not inclusive labour summore, ultra BS.

But not all. Lucky there’s some who are honest, they’re keepers. Though sometimes can be worrying to think they might leave subang cuz rent here is fucuking ridiculous. One just did, left me n my dad a bit lost to where to service, got conned like this, but now found another good pomen.

• He is proving something but bare in the mind that what was the terms first. So the more often you visit them the more that you are going to spent. Why the just give the Damn lifetime warranty without so many red ribbon???? damn….they really not daring…. Proton are you really DARE to walk?????

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:18 pm

If there is no Proton, I can afford to buy an Audi already.

Whose ingenius idea izit to create Proton? Oh ya.. That fella.

Because of him and his ego project, entire generations of Malaysians have to settle for over-priced crap cars.

• Siapakau? on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Because you not afford to buy Audi then blame him.. how about other project?? X nampak ka? Gajah depan mata tadak nampak.. semut hujung laut sana lu ada nampak.. nak pakai kereta Audi kumpul duit la.. If not enough then beli whatever car that suit to you!!!

• i bet u still can’t effort! kalo mampu pun, u cuma mampu beli, maintenance blum tentu!
      kalo u kaya, u blh beli pnya la..
      kalo xder duit buat cara xder duit..jangan nak ‘if’, ‘kalo’, ‘jika’…

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:46 pm

hahha support you bro.. coz he is wasting his time reading this blog.. dont think so that all that rich people have time to read this….. gaji 3k cakap mcm 30k punya gaji
        it is right that malaysian people want to spend more than they can afford. what a pity
        Even worst if he is still staying with his mom…. aduhai

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:40 pm

owh really? Thailand don’t have national car project like Proton here, but Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Hyundai & Mercedes price are more expensive there than Malaysia.

• You should yell this to EU about this you know how much tax they put on Japanese Car and how much subsidies they give to their people. You should learn that it not just proton many other thing. We do this learning from developed countries. You don’t understand economy and how to develop industry on our own.

Don’t just criticized make you understand how people run the world

• wheeler on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:40 pm

wrong place to express la bro..

• what makes u think u really can afford an audi if proton doesn’t exist?

maybe u afford toyota or honda oni

• udasalleh on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Aiyah… why talk so much? Saw in Mudah.my lots of 2nd hand Audi… as 2nd hand continental cars are quite reasonably cheap what… why don’t u own an Audi already??? hmmm…?

• tokmoh on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Aiya, then Audi-ise your Proton macam ini Wira la: http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Wira+1+5+SE+Manual+Audi+HeadLamp-11918002.htm

Settle. Gaya pun gaya.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:36 pm

“To be eligible for the warranty, cars must be serviced at an official Proton service centre throughout the duration.”

Should be reword to (sometihng common in computer) –

“To be eligible for the warranty, power window “warranty seal” must be not broken throughout the duration”.

To tie the power window warranty (a fraction of car price) to the entirety of service for the whole car is not warranted. It will be perceived by car owner as another way to bring in biz to authorize service center, that every car owner experience 2X the price!

Are DSZ seriously offer warranty! or is part of “smart ideas” to turn around P1 service centre biz. These are the benefits of doubts for most of P1 car owners.

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm

another piece od SHXT talking… do you complaint to KFC if you have bad service at McD…
      no right us a bit of brain lah… pay posLaju then complain not fast as DHL..

please get some brain

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:53 pm

This is another moron, the point of argument is for better benefits to the consumer, but you counter attack with worst kind of craps.

Go and quote this McD that KFC or PL this DHL! why not craps “I paid ticket to visit Zoo Negara but elephant there berak tak pernah cuci backside”!

Read my lips, when did I complain? Except give opinion for better consumers benefits, which of course you have the right to disagree or rebuke! But not become the worst kind of blind attack dog!

• autojohndoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:28 pm

you always complain la… read back your own post…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:08 pm

“Regular” attack dog! Welcome ya, no such thing as typo error word – WELLcome, but you treated it as your new word!

• autojohndoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm

well… a typo from 5 figure tax paying guy… that’s a shame…

haha… keep calling ppl’s with name… call me anything you wish… i dont care… if that makes you happy… i am happy for you…

hahahahahaha

just remember, the more you speak… the more you make fool of yourself…

• Why you say 2X the price to Proton not to Toyota, Honda Kia BMW what ever dealer it all the same be fare don’t just blame proton.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Read the title of this thread, it is about power window issue with Proton, so I stick to the topic, and criticise where its due. Non-mentioned of other makes doesn’t mean I agree with them when they do the same thing. When T, H, Beemer, Kia or what not any brands in the market do a same thing, and appear in PT blog, I have no qualm to make a same statement!!!!!!!!

• why dont you attacked other car manufacturers too? KIA is doing that, BMW doing that etc..??? DO you think if you let other people touch your car, and then when rosak you go back to proton and say Proton car sukcs..??? no way lah!!!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm

This section talk about power window issue with P1, when there are section mentioned the same thing but to other brand, then only it is time in an attack mode toward other brands. The keyword is be “FOCUS”!

• farghmee on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

“FOCUS”

cheh..FOCUS on the topic la. not sci-fi crap of yours.

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:04 pm

see… the more he speaks, the more he make fool of himself…

• squall_shinoda on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:11 pm

DSZ is always serious to give that kind of warranty. It is those people at certain service centres that become the culprit with their rude, unprofessional behaviour when handling customers. That should explain why some SCs are full of shit while some others are very good. That happens to ALL carmakers.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Are P1 serious about power window warranty for lifetime a.k.a. 10 year or 250,000 Km mileage, which ever come first?

Then to tie the service of car to this warranty, might as well extend warranty to all components of the car for 10 years or 250K Km, whichever come first, unless otherwise it is specified by OEM (e.g. battery lifetime, maybe 2 year). This is consider as more “fair clause”, not another “smart idea” to generate more income for authorize SC with 2X price.

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm

adoi bodoh sombong betul… that’s what they call business strategy… MR VN open your own shop sell me something and offer me 10 years warranty..if tak mampu 5 years oso can lah…

I dare you.. dont only talk lah prove it if it is feasible in bussines term. Somemore u dont use duit rakyat right … so it will be fare… dont just talk the talk…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:44 pm

What wrong with your otak udang? You can disagree with my idea of better term for customer service but that dosn’t mean you have the right to come out with ignorant and plain stupid counter attacks!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Battery is a consumable that is subject to wear and tear laa… when the time is up then the battery will surely kong no matter how good the battery is. No manufacturer in the world would provide lifetime warranty for consumables, because if that happens then those consumables cannot sell as well.

• SeriousSam on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:04 pm

THEHEHEHE

when PROTON gives you a solution to this power windows issue; it’s no harm lah to try it.
    If you have no confident anymore in PROTON’s ways of solving the issue than go to ah beng lah to fix it…

why so fuss meh?

LoL

• jolly_idiot on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

How about other parts? Proton prone in failing other parts as well. They should offer lifetime warranty for the whole car.

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:26 pm

then migh as well u asked for life time warranty for your tyres.. engine oil.. air cond gas.. wipers.. bulb… seat cushion when it is dirty……..
      later want lifetime roadtax and insurance pulak….

if cannot afford to pay.. use public transport lah jolly_IDIOT.. opss sorry your name says it all…..

Ps: if you use public transport and it broke down dont forget to asked the driver (if lrt dont lah asked the driver ya.. no driver for LRT) to get the lifetime warranty also… afraid you forgot

• pagoh on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Who spiked DSZ’s teh tarik?

• they should just post the certificate to us..after all , the address is in their system
    make appointment to collect ? macam tak mau bagi je

• proton champ on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm

why proton cant blame their QC dept? their worker did rubbish work, install part like tikus baiki labu..
    if i were DSZ, i fire all that lazy stupid operator / QC worker..

• taboogen on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm

wah talk like engineer lah… did you know that QC did not install part.. they just check and confirmed the part is installed properly and working….. if not working the car is being sent back to finishing line to be fix… check first talk later lah….why need to blaim QC when they check the thing it is working…adoi

• Kawan kawan, I believe the problem may not be entirely at Proton plant but with the vendor supplying the part as well. Mungkin vendor cap palang. Crony kot! Power window problem, kenapa tak tukar vendor saje dah! Ada yang tak kena ni!

• proton champ on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm

dont act clever la kawan..
        ingat aku x pernah keje kilang ker?
        operator pasang mcm jadah, skru pun longgar, apa fungsi QC pulak? kalau sume kasi lepas baik x payah ada QC!

kalau random check baik jgn letak sticker QC passed damn it!

• proton champ on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:05 am

u la not clever.. r u proton QC or what?

i never said QC that install the parts..
        as i said ‘worker’, x kisah la sape yg pasang..

but what stupid about their QC is they juat tampal ”Q.C Passed sticker w/o thoroughly check the car!

their QC blind ka? or just makan gaji blind?

• Xavier on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:54 pm

True, most QC’s proton workers are lazy plus not competent at all regarding qc.
      DSz should hire some expertise from other various automotive to manage qc in proton.
      For me this just small step from proton.

• tec96248 on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:42 pm

how would you know the QC’s of proton are lazy? you are them? what a imagination you had. funny……….hahaha

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Yezza……….lets whack P1 with countless and hefty power window malfunction cases !!!! Buat kereta tarak otak, QC tido buta kayu !!!

• Calling Proton Service Center to fix a service appointment is like calling President Obama and hoping he will pick up the call.

Today, I wanted to set a service appointment @ Proton Center Of Excellence (COE) Shah Alam for my 30,000km basic service. I called these numbers:

I-Care: 1300 880 888
    COE Service Center: 03-80269172, 03-80269156, 03-80269167

I started calling from 9am onward till about 3pm. Nothing. Not a single call went through. Even the toll free 1300 number was having errors.

What is the deal here? Can someone from Proton PLEASE explain?

It’s good that they are coming up with programs such as increased warranty and 60-minute service, but they once again failed to improve on the most basic thing of all: Customer Communication. How do you expect your customers to reach you if you aren’t reachable to begin with? Eventually, people will deem Proton as UNRELIABLE and they will switch brands.

Hope someone from top management sees this.

Regards.

• you then can release your tension by calling astro customer care… muhahahahahah

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:05 am

Agree with you TD. The top management are another stupid idiots who syiok sendiri and claimed that their CUSTOMER SERVICE is the BEST in MALAYSIA (Frog & Sucklivan).

Cmon la P1, admit la your service is LOUSY, HAMPEH, CAM SIAL, MENYUSAHKAN PELANGGAN, KUALITI CAM HARAM, TUTUP KEDAI !!!!

Senang, tak payah nak menyusahkan rakyat lagi……….

p/s i bet their TOP Management dont even realised the existence of Paul Tan’s blogsite…..

• quattro on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:13 pm

ramai sgt pakai proton..nak servis pun kene beratur mcm naik bas…..pakailah suzuki…xyah tunggu lama2 nak servis

• PROdigy on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm

My god!!! Now only Proton starts to look into the power windows problem!!!

This mechanism has already existed in the market for more than 6 years!!!!

My Waja was facing the power window problems twice in 4 years…. The supporting plastic casing was broken off due to strong rotation force generated by the motor. I was so sick and tired with it and going for alternative solution from other mechanics and they have intro me the steel casing. Well…. it has been 6 years and it works great!!

It is just a simple solution to it and it takes Proton 5 years to realise the problems and starting to look into it…….

So sad…

• PROdigy on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:49 pm

This is what happens when Proton produces “low-cost” cars….. saving money on all the parts….. and at the same time telling the public that they are producing “affordable” cars!!

Can anyone imagine how much of the quality of the parts have been reduced for Inspira???

So scary mannn…

• Proton thread never failed attract higher comments.

Whatsoever, Proton tend to improving the quality of their car line up.
    But, please change the ripped off vendors into high reliable and quality vendors.

• ZenZarray on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm

“dah dapat betis,Mau paha lagi” . . . . .Malaysian. Want fix power windows bising2…say mahal la”..”proton terok cam sial”…”perodua copycat”…”malaysian things suck,never will gonna be better”…this is usual Malaysian says..but when it comes to brang lain…WOW…new iPhone out…1.9k….murah2…new GalaxyTab 1.4k…murah2….in terms of what do “they” means murah?? 1.9k=murah??or below 500=mahal??

• Xavier on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Some points I might agree but how could you compare
      mobile phone with automotive? Unrelated…Yes Proton is
      improving but too slow…just look at Korean cars or even China,
      they catching up really fast.

• ZenZarray on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm

ya….i know….just giving my state of opinion….because whenever it comes to automotive..especially Malaysian AutoWorld…this is usually U,me and others will hear…when spending on others expansive thing such as phone…they would mind…but whenever comes to servicing car…changing spare part…sure they’ll say…”regular service cost RM2xx..damn expansive la service”…but whenever comes to others,for example phone cost 1.5k…sure automatically “wow-murah…can buy…still ok price”..and whenever phone hilang..”nvm…bukan nasib…maybe nextime”…this actually the “we’re” been thinking…that’s why small things we bising2…big things just we keep by self..= )

• 3protoncars on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

I have 3 proton cars, unfortunately all 3 are beyond warranty as of 1Sept. Which is fine. Good gesture by Proton but I’d be happier to know if the root-cause of the problem is solved. This act is simply replacing parts which known to fail when the time comes. Everytime it fails, u just bring yr car to Proton and they’ll replace it. But does this mean the design problem has been solved? I think no. A bigger problem is the service adviser at COSE who are quite rude when customers are surprised and angry by failure found on their car. Know that power window is not the only problem with Proton, another unacceptable problem is the door handle breaking! Started with Waja, this problem continues onto Gen2. It doesn’t happen as frequent as power window but it does happen, usually after end of warranty period. Used-cars or other brands of older years do not have this problem and yet the service adviser would tell u, it’s because the car is out of warranty (2.5 to 3 years old in my case). They would vehemently deny replacing the door handle for free and then you’d have to pay and wait until it is painted and all apart from the suffering caused by the unexpected problem in the first place. Why older Toyotas, Hondas, Mercs, BMWs, Nissans dont have this broken door handle problem?? Because they are more expensive? Nissan is not as expensive until it gets taxed in Msia. I think there is a fundamental design philosophy issue at Proton, not so much a manufacturing quality problem.

• autojohndoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm

somehow… i agree with you…

• tokmoh on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Talk about door handle, I just got ripped off at a workshop when changing my waja’s door handle. Parts local, non-ori proton cost rm68, I was liek WTF IS THIS SHIT?!

Broken door handle is quite famous with Waja, but I don’t think it’s fair to say Proton still makes lousy door handle, cuz I rarely hear that happen to newer models. Good for new model owners, but slightly unloved for us wajarians. And since waja had been discontinued, unlikely they’ll make recall or change design to rectify our model’s problem.

• It means you will be spending your whole life sending your proton to its service center to get the power window fixed.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:11 pm

we should have a “quote of the title” every time :) I vote for this! :P

• hope that after this… when DSZ come back from oversea, he would take sylphy airport limo. then when pass through some toll, hope he would ask the driver why dont he use proton as taxi, and the driver to answer proton car sucks and expensive. his wife then need to do some facial expression.. then voila, few months later we all malaysian can enjoy cheap proton in its ‘lifetime’, 10years or 250k which ever cum first.

• izhar on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:26 pm

tips skit…
    *kurangkan jemur kereta kat tangah panas…utk elak getah pada frame cermin jadi keras
    *skali skala spray silicone pada getah tuh..nak elak cermin sangkut masa naik/turun
    *elakkan turun cermin sampai habis..turun 3/4 jer…sbb lagi rendah cermin turun lagi lama part tuh tanggung beban masa nak naik
    *elakkan guna auto down/up..sebab masa cermin sampai limit berhenti, motor still force nak gerakkan cermin..bile current flow dah overflow, baru supply kat motor mati…so dalam proses tuh part terima paksaan daripada motor untuk gerak.
    *just nak kongsi info..tp ini cume dapat tambah lifespan je..sampai masa nak rosak..benda tu rosak gak…
    SEMUA BENDA ADA LIFESPAN…KITE PUN SAMA GAK..TAU2 ESOK MATI JER..HEHE

• Harry on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Thanks for those tips. But do you usually need to know all and do that when you buy a car? My honda Accord SIR was made in 1996. Brought it in from japan in 1998. Since then, not once has the power window failed on me. I am serious! The car is a workhorse. How many years has it been?

I wouldn’t like to buy a car and then not park it under the sun, need to spray silicone on the rubber parts, i would think all that is a given already. What i do know is to fill up the gas, change the tires, all the wear and tear parts and service the engine. Standard rules like most normal drivers.

• autojohndoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:26 pm

sir… the same case may be taken for iswara… my mom bought in 1993… until today, power windows never fail…

• peyno on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm

ol school rulez

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Really power window kah ….. I think “hand window” lah, that why it is never fail!

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm

when i say power window… it is a power window…

you dont want to believe? keep barking…

it is up to you…

• izhar on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm

mmg pun…semua ni atas material…kalau yang pakai sistem X (besi silang) mmg xder masalah…tp kalau jenis yang pakai tiang slider depend pada material..maybe material yang honda guna lagi elok…panjang cermin pun jadik faktor jugak…dan kebanyakan kete import dah start ada cermin kecik kat side mirror…benda tuh nak balance length slider pada frame tingkap.nak jadikkan lebih kurang sama panjang…tujuan supaya cermin xsangkut masa naik..(biasanya sangkut pada slider kat side mirror).info pada previous comment tuh saje aku taip..kot2 boleh membantu jer…

• zainal abidin on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Thank you PAUL TAN….because of this website PROTON has improved a lot on their quality issue…for readers with ‘positive’ and ‘negative’ comments…..Keep it up !!!
    Sometimes this is the only way to improve on something… To Proton…Thank you… Everybody has to improve for the better.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

The headline screams very loud ‘Lifetime Warranty’, see clearer, 10 years only.

Typical gomen, like someone headline say abolish ISA! see clearer, not time yet, study first la, ask other departments first la.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Biasalah ……. this is SOP!

• _xXx_ on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:58 am

so, protong’s “lifetime” is actually 10 years?

• DarkAvenger on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:18 am

Idiot….dun understand the term “Life Time” warranty in terms of product cycle, wanna bising-bising. This is standard industry pratice. 10 years is about the life time product cycle of a car. Even in US, the max warranty is 10 years only. Things like RAMs,,,also have “LifeTime Warranty”….means warranty as long as the model is in production!!!

You think “Lifetime Warranty” means warranty until the day YOU DIE??? LOL.

• sLayer on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Ya la…itu pun mau kasi explain lagi skali…woi!!! baca betul-betul la what is the meaning of “Lifetime Warranty” ….@*%&*&(.)(.)

• alfie60 on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:40 pm

For a shitty car maker like Proton and its vendors to survive while the overall volume is below 200K cars annually,selling spare parts is another way for their shitty vendors to ‘cari makan’ as these will give them the mass volume.

The power window may be free but every thing else of Proton parts is low quality and over price. Reporting of low defeats unit is nothing to shout about as Dtk Seri Tee of Delloyds has been taking ‘care’ of Proton boyz for sometime now.

Our shitty car maker has opted for the supermarket marketing strategy ie selling the most basic product cheap and whack every other product/parts high prices.

10 years is a LONG MONOGAMOUS relationship to have with the shitty Proton for us
    to go back to them when they are the root cause for making and selling us the shitty car in the first place.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Beware of many blind supporters attack dogs! They are around you, and with your kind of posting, it is not surprise they will launch an “attacks”, if not effective, then “divert attention tactic”. Still no effect, then “fool/confuse around”!

• autojohndoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:24 pm

you calling people dog la…

but, it is you who barking the most…

• redline on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm

It’s down to this: while Proton is still worrying about its power windows (and even losing sales because of this very minor issue), the rest of the world have moved on… developing better interiors, efficient drive-trains and power plants. If Proton had got it right in the first place, then this PR/QC disaster would not be a ball & chain to its tired legs to this very day. Yes, they are trying…but is it a case of too little, too late?

• Ah Fook on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:57 pm

what warranty also no use lah.. Proton cars still a piece of over priced crap!

• labix7 on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:28 pm

My 10 yrs old P. Wira … only 1 time got power window problem at driver side.
    Anyway, good effort Proton … …

• Drebar on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Fair enough Proton, but how about previous affected Proton owners eg.Waja that wasted so much money and time replacing the power window, door carrier stuffs?

Some bought original OEM Delloyd unit but still rosak, how?

It is pointless to tell this lifetime warranty but Proton never tell us all that the irresponsible vendor for supplying faulty parts already kicked out from supply contract.

How about the pirated companies that manufactured even worse faulty parts (but branded as generic Proton parts) and openly sold at car parts outlets?

Did Proton care to sue them until they bankrupt not worth operate pirate Proton parts anymore?

And why Proton Parts Sdn Bhd unit (subsidiary of Proton) must sell original parts at very very HIGH price? Isn’t it part of reason why Proton owners forced to risk their road safety buying pirated but cheaper Proton parts?

Here, Proton must revise and lower their original parts price since the car price already burdening enough so please spare some room for inexpensive and fair servicing/maintenance cost.

To move on and to offer global car perhaps Proton should give a better 10-years of warranty plus free servicing (parts and labour) starting from the new Proton cars 2012 onwards.

Now that’s worth buying a Proton at inflated artifical price, at least for 10 years!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:51 pm

You dream on Drebar! This is not a free enterprise venture, but kleptocracy fraud control cronies vendor skim cepat kaya! There is no motivation to truly improve themselve yet make less profits!

• exJAVANESE on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

man..how about satria GTi??

• kancilrider on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Spot on..
    Look like some changes in system. No more pulley/ cable system to lift the window. My Pity Persona PW failed after just 3 years, while my 2002 kancil PW still in good running condition.
    Kudos to DSZ for having right vendors!!

• kancilrider on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Pity to my father.. changed more than 4 times WAJA PW. A change costed him more than hard earned RM200, until he issued an order – NEVER OPEN THE WINDOW & every family members complied to the order.

Not so timely announcement

• power jugak on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:12 am

yr father issue order not to open window? hehe, power jugak tu,,, but your father yg power… mesti garang… takut org nak buat mertua nanti.

• varrie on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:03 pm

I hate my wira 1.5gli (y2000) ive problem with the power window. Real worst n bad problem. Once down hard going up. Just like no elctrick connection

• You have to understand car before riding it if you so naif just walk. This is small problem if you have money

• RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:05 pm

As a previous owner of 1991 Saga and 2002 Waja…I offer the ultimate solution for this power windows syndrome…………………..

Just move on….Driving continental car now…wont and dont waste time in discussing to improve P1…its all with condition.

If they are serious, recall all 2001-2003 Waja (10 years life span still) and replace it without charges. Then I believe P1 is serious.

• kancilrider on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Proton cars can be cheaper in market by applying manual windows. SC told me the price to fix my Pity Persona PW is around RM300..
    Wow !!

• peyno on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm

proton waja is the best car in the world ;)

• FatBear on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Don’t know about others but my fl rear windows don’t retract all the way.

2 wks after use, some screws for the power steering rack was loose.

The saga 2006 lagi canggih, now water get into the boot after washing.The door opened lights blink everytime i hit a bump and the air cond wiring …..

• As a Waja owner, i also facing broken power window problem. One word, major flaw on the regulator’s bracket, the plastic bracket holding the motor disintegrated after it life cycle is over which is about 10, 000 cycle of going up and down, maybe? I changed the power window module twice only to realize the plastic material for the module is rubbish. Currently using taiwan version module, made out of iron! That should solve the problem!

• People, next target item are those broken Door handles.

Don’t give up. Keep fighting!

• xavier lert on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

wow…good step anyway…
    btw my dads sh4 (1991) power window still running fine oh even central-locking …

• tcmail on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Well, open Malaysia car market and compete with others since so confident!

• Kudos Proton. Well done ! Looking forward to many more improvements and iniatives.

• andy lim on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Proton cars has never been reliable…my Waja 2001…gave me so much headache..since the first day of purchase…for one the front two power window units…cost me almost RM 300 each side in 2004…broke down again in 2006. Glove box ledge and all 4 door handles broke repeatedly. My sqeeky rear suspensions were repeatedly changed from 2004,2006.2008 and 2010. Travelling downhill was a night mare too…when the auto gearbox downhill with a laud roar resulting going to proton service center for auto oil transmission change repeatedly. My car clocked 75000 km at the time of disposal in Oct 2010.and spent unnecessary RM2000 plus ringgit . The resale value was 70 % of my purchase price. After more than 10 years proton is willing to give better parts after so many loyal customers have lost confidence .

• tec96248 on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:41 pm

I really salute you for having a problematic car for nine years. I had the experience of all power windows and door handles broken within 3 years. Glove box ledge broken and also front lower arm rod broken mid way traveling and automatic gear nob broken and flied off. Sport rim hub cover broken all 4. Power windows problem is not a problem, modified it all and same goes to door handles. anyway sold it out for a better and smaller, happily then driving without frust………… your experience brought you forward! hahaha

• Master Jedi on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:27 am

Lifttime warranty is sound good, but p1 still not learning the diference “lifttime warranty” & “limited lifttime warranty”. As i understand whey are not offer lifttime warranty, but Is only Limited lifttime warranty. They cover all model of p1 car. But againt 250,000km or 10 year and condition car still servicing at SC p1. which even come first. who can still service the p1 car in SCp1 for more than 5year? i guess not more than 20%.
    kesian… p1 still not learning in right way. simply put in word n using back old style to turn all p1 people around. jst like our PM.

• Errr… okay… they finally gave a Power Window Lifetime Warranty…

Which means I can strike-out 1 problem our from my 30-problems related wishlist.

So, one down and 29 to go! (please check my previous posting related to Protong complaints for the past 5 years in this forum).

But, I already sold both cars! LOL!

Haha.

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

owh… you sold them already… that’s why havent see you comment for long time…

so… we wish you best with your Mitsu Grandis… or if, you already changed your car… good luck with that too…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Good luck to you said bye bye to P1, somehow, someone remain loyal to P1 and proudly post comment in this thread proclaiming his P1 car “handle window” still working very well. There are many who are said bye bye to P1 car, will definitely enjoying their new babe, without the need to come in PT blog posted comments, yet risking counter attack from blind supporter “attack dog”!

• ayamxxx on Oct 18, 2011 at 8:45 am

if my 2003 waja had PW breakdown, then I replace it at Proton SC, will the new parts get the 10 years warranty?

– pity owner of old waja.

• wheeler on Oct 18, 2011 at 8:46 am

Having said all those so called warranty matters, one thing Proton must realize now – that more and more people can afford to buy/ pay higher for their car, that more and more people are demanding for better and more quality car. So gone were the days where majority Malaysians are only going to settle with entry level cars, their taste and preference are changing now.. so I think about it Proton.

• New proton owners have the MD’s wife to thank for.

At least they are taking the steps, but it is sad that this kind of problem need the attention of the MD. He could’ve spent his time on more pressing business issues rather than looking into this, which should’ve been solved long time ago by the people who are actually being paid to be responsible for these problems.

I’m not blaming the low-level marketing or engineering guys. This issue is so common that I’m pretty sure they’ve included this in a lot of reports, but somewhere along the value chain, somebody must’ve decided this issue is not that important.

• oleoresin on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

Dah bagi lifetime warranty pun nak bising. Ckp pakai otak sikit

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

Proton should just close shop. What’s the point? If there is no government protection, Proton will not last a day in the real world.

• Proton quality issues are not limited to power windows, it’s everything in the car except the tyres and rims.

• good move, at least you admit it

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:15 am

I wonder why DSZ still in the helm ???
    – P1 sales in local market share is depleting.
    – International sales had shrunk from 50k to merely 1500.
    – P1 losses money in every country they exported
    – Quality is the same.
    – Product line up still heavy dependence on Mitsumitsu
    – still import from Japang, even though source from local vendor, sub-assemblied parts come from Japan/Thailand

So, left with only three options, either DSZ resigns or BOD P1 sacks him or P1 tutup kedai. EVERYBODY HAPPY !!!! The more you operates, the more anger you creates !!!!

Malaysian consumers have to unite and boycott this idiots substandard products !!!!

• Mezo Syed on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm

talk lah hero lay you koyakuti, but I can see like the traitorous Mamaks in our past you are here to kick dirt into people’s rice bowl

don’t you know that thousands of people rely on Proton and they are now doing much better, look at the charts and statistics…

or are you one of those people who only believe in what they say and accuse everyone else of lying?

grow up man

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

“don’t you know that thousands of people rely on Proton and they are now doing much better, look at the charts and statistics…”

– Growing up, or kick your ass out! Thousand of people rely on Proton? Why don’t say this Jaguh Kampong rely on 28 Million Malaysian population for survival, under the big eye of NAP?

Without P1, perhaps million of people like in Thailand can rely on world class car manufacturer’s FDI for their big-fish-big-prawn rice bowl.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Go learn some economics dude. The resources sunk by the gomen into Proton could have been much better utilized elsewhere. Other jobs could have been created in other industries. Proton is a useless company. Almost 30 years of protection and they are still nowhere. Take away the protection, and they will drop dead straight. At the rate it is going, it’s going to need protection forever. A company that can’t survive without protection is a company not worth existing. How much taxpayers’ money has been sunk into this company that everyone knows will never survive on its own?

Imagine if the money used on Proton has been put into something that is actually successful! Those people that rely on Proton for their living now, could be much better off.

• COOL… OUR NEW PROTON CEO IS SO SMART. HE MANAGED TO FIX THE PROTON WINDOW AFTER 25 YEARS……..THAT’S WHAT I CALL SMART!

• Mezo Syed on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Dey Taxo,
      He managed to fix the problem within one year of taking over the company, tu lah baca tak habis tapi mau cakap… tengok itu statistics lah .nampak sangat kamu tu….bebal

• IN YEAR 2000, I BOUGHT A WIRA AEROBACK , I PAID TH 52K CASH SINCE I MADE MONEY IN TECH BUBBLE IN THE KLSE.
    WHEN I GOT THE CAR , THE POWER WINDOW DRIVER SIDE WOULD’T WORK, SO I TRIED TO GET OUT OF THE CAR, THE DOOR WOULDN’T OPEN.
    SO I GOT OUT THROUGH PASSENGER DOOR AND COMPLAINED TO THE SALES PERSON, THE FELLA SAID “PROTON MEMANG INI MACAM, YOU BAWAK TERUS KE SERVICE-STATION, UNDER WARRANTY MA!”
    THE FIRST PLACE I WENT WAS THE WORKSHOP.
    I REGRET EVERY THOUGHT OF PROTON IN MY MEMORY BANK. I WISH DR MAHATHIR WAS NEVER BORN. PROTON DID MORE DAMAGE TO THE MALAYSIAN ECONOMY THAN ANY FINANCIAL CRISIS IN THE LAST 25 YRS.

• Please be appreciated with this development. It better than nothing

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:57 pm

What appreciation? P1 give consumers sub-standard product at high price and now they able to resolve it, then ask consumer to say thank you? WTF, moron.

• You are no body come into this world without paying anything, if you have one leg that it nothing you can say just appreciate it better than have no leg at all . Can you see

• pelams on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:49 pm

could they refund my 2003 waja’s power window repair cost, plz?? this isnt fair for owners before 2010..

• hoochiez on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Typical case of old wine in a new jar. Yet another “repackaging” with strings attached. Those who are blind enuff to applaud this “effort”, am happy for u – simple mind, easily duped, no stress in life at large.

• ExWira99(A)User on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm

“..But the said Waja won’t be eligible if it has been serviced outside of Proton’s service network at any time in its life.”

If PROTON is so serious about damage control on the PW, then they should reimburse all expenses borne by all those loyal PROTON users, be it spent at PROTON SC or AH BENG SC…the point is, the original parts did FAIL!..and people look around for repairs!

Then, the 2nd question emerged, why do people sent their PROTONs to AH BENG SC? Simple answer, sent it to PROTON SC if you want to get sembelih! This is another myth, infamous, ‘biasalah PROTON’, common statement about PROTON SCs.

So, to DSZ, please do something drastic about this. If you want to improve PROTON quality, improve your after sales = improve your SCs! They are actually the root cause of PROTON bad image.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:07 pm

This is called veiled maliscious marketing. Promise something but put all sorts of conditions.
      The revenue they will get back from ppl servicing at proton SC just to get this frigging warranty instead of servicing outside more than offsets the minor costs of replacing any power windows.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:14 pm

They announce this ‘Lifetime Warranty’ as if it’s such a big deal. As if all their problems have been solved.

How about you announce that you will compete with other companies on equal ground?

That time I will salute you la Proton. I will get down on my knees and kow tow!

• WSGxxxx on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:50 pm

my 2008 persona plate number start WSG hi-line MODEL….power window still ok…but when open window,it gave aloud noise…and the window tinted getting bubble ,air bubble.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 5:02 pm

This is the best announcement to ocmpete with other company on equal ground, but waite until the cow come home ………….

P1 is jaguh kampong run like headless chicken if you ask them to do so. For them, power window warranty anouncement is a “big deal” …….. some blind brainless supporters think the consumers have to thank P1 for this effort, some said better than none, some said got improvement, bla, bla, bla …….

• QUATTRO on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:49 pm

interesting

• ah long on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:02 pm

i hate everything nasik lemak made. poor quality, slow, sluggish, inefficient, rip off.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Breaking news==> Ten years warranty on power window, on condition give up warranty for the rest of the car!

• messi on Oct 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Stupid proposal. Just because of power window warranty and need to service your car at Proton thoughout the years?

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2011 at 5:51 pm

after this post turn to page 2… ppl will start to talk about something else…

• Got many P1 cyber troopers on this site. wonder how much they’re paid to post

• Expatriate VN on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:31 am

Basic starting from RM 600 for fresh un-empoyed graduates. Will increase the paid provided how good being the attack dog and how loud they are barking!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 8:06 pm

This is what transpired behind so call Power Window Warranty Scheme (PWWS) for P1 car owner! This is fictional “meeting” prior to announcement of (PWWS). The parties involved in this meeting comprising Power Window Crony Vendor (PWCV), Service Centre Reps (SCR) and DSZ. The fictional names mentioned are for the sake of presentation, any similarity to real person(s) is merely “coincident”!

Agenda of Meeting – To introduce Power Window Warranty Scheme (PWWS) for P1 car owner!

DSZ: We would like to thank you for accepting our invitation to attend this meeting.

PWCV & SCR: Clap, clap, clap, .. bravo …….

DSZ: Do you agree that I have the ideas to introduce PWWS with all new cars registered from 1 Sept 11 onwards. This warranty is for 10 years, or 250K km, whichever come first.

PWCV & SCR: What are the benefits we can gain for this PWWS?

DSZ: Don’t worry brothers, this is P & C, it is actually a rip-off consumers exercise on the following basis: –

a) For me, on behalf of P1, I can show to public at large that P1 make substantial improvement in respect of power window. This is also to enable me to submit a good report card to please my old man and those political masters. Therefore, I achieve something to save my sorry ass in the hope I can keep my job for at least another 5 years.

b) For PWCV, this is a good opportunity to increase your production and profits as more consumers will use your products, instead of look for outside service centre looking for equivalent power window. Also, this is to ensure your gravy train is continuously flow. Therefore, you can keep your super luxury lifestyle with 4 wives and enough to feed your next 7 generations.

c) For SCR, this is to make sure that substantial number of P1 car owners service at your center for up to 10 years. Therefore, you can charge them sky high yet the cost for power window replacement is minimal. This is how we rip off the gullible consumers!

PWCV & SCR: Smart ideas! Bravo, bravo, ………. I setuju dan sokong sepenuhnya.

DSZ: If all dah setuju , then we end this meeting and salam sejahtera, sekian terima kasih.

Minutes and Prepared By: MooFart Attack Dog, Conference Room, Center of Extra Ordinary Excellence.

• ex-P1 driver on Oct 18, 2011 at 8:23 pm

don’t give a damn since i had replace lousy wira with a myvi

• J C Ker on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Being an ex-Proton owner, I m one of the victims of the Waja’s failing power windows + fragile door handle. It is sad that after 25 years, Proton needs to offer such an incentive to restore people’s confidence. Look at our Korean carmaker which started at around the same time as Proton in the 80’s, they have successfully penetrated into the US market. This is the result of Proton not engaging the most qualified suppliers of parts based on open competition instead of well connected cronies. Today I m happy that I no longer own a Proton.

• peyno on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm

proton gen2 is the best hybrid car in the world :)

• Honda Power on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

Yeah, Proton sucks. I owned a Iswara sedan for almost 9 years. It had more than 15 problems within the almost 9 years that I owned it. Finally I sold the junk in May 2009 and bought Honda City i-VTEC. I am driving happily in my good quality, sleek, stylish, well built, fuel efficient, powerful and reliablre Honda City now. Eat your heart out, Proton.

• Last you have no money you by Iswara and use like crazy know you have more money and critised Proton, actually it who you are in the pass, you was poor otherwise you never by proton know you Isi Lupakan kulit. You not a good person antil you changed you atitute.

Anyway City Tak laju 165 km/h that typical Japanenese but Pron Continental technology like VW, BMW Audi all can go fast

• kesian nau english tu weyh!!..
        translation: pity ur english..but it helps in bursting out a big loud lough!!…hahahaha..

• go saga on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

my Toyota also have problem with power window.. first sangkut2, n now jemmed alrealdy.

• 99percent_not_1percent on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:12 am

You and maybe other few 2- 4 Toyota or 1% owners, but proton,brand new car old proton cars all 99% power window got problem. ..percentages matters

• Lipan kuning on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Agreed wif u 99%…. Myself using 2004 Vios… now using 2008 Vios… Very good condition mey…my brother’s 2008 Persona…. Power Window already kaputt…… don’t believe Proton achieved 0.03 dpu…. suck Proton…!!!!

• Ex-protn on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:26 pm

While other car makers oledi in the biz of new tech design, hybrid, safety n comfort….our national car maker just restart from “power window”. Yes, a better power window after >20yrs, good luck!

• peyno on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:49 am

frm now on stop production of gen2,persona,savvy…just focus the persona r,new satria neo,new saga,and exora turbo…..focus kpd 4 model sj..inspira tidak perlu la..hitler marah nanti…hahahaaa…
    anyway gen2 is the best car in the world :)

• i busted my savings on my first car – proton persona.
    worst piece of shit. should have gone for another car.

proton service centre is another piece of shit.
    power window? too late, after all the bad experience, buying another Proton would be suicide.

• Mater on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:30 am

“Smart guy gets it”

• dinje on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:48 am

How bout’ my Wira SE 2006? baru je 4 pintu power window rosak..nak repair kne kuarkan duit..bangang punye proton..yang tanggung kami..mintak sokong produk negara tp kualiti teruk..padahal da lame tahu power window rosak..25 tahun skarang baru nak bertindak ke?kereta lame ape crite?da la interest tinggi..

• doorhandleguy on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:39 pm

They should make a warranty for the ‘breakaway’ door handles as well!!

• madavan on May 12, 2017 at 10:43 am

The idiot mechanic in proton rahang centre made my power window worst .the so called nut head prton clerk doesnt know abt the warranty period.veryvery poor after sales service

• Lissa on Jul 05, 2022 at 11:57 am

Thank you for this article. When I go to Proton now and they lost memory about this Proton Steering wheel lifetime warranty, I show them your article. My power window have had a defect twice in this 6 years since purchase.