F20 BMW 1-Series gets new powerful 125i and 125d models

BMW has announced new engines for the new BMW 1-Series – they are found in the 125i, the 125d and the 116d EfficientDynamics Edition. The 125i is a new addition to the 1-er range, complementing the current 116i and 118i, and as you can tell from the model numbers, it’s now the most powerful petrol F20 1-Series you can buy.

Previously, the top of the line petrol F20 was the 118i, powered by a 1.6 liter turbocharged inline-4 engine with Valvetronic, Double VANOS and direct injection making 170 horsepower at 4,800rpm and 250Nm of peak torque from 1,500rpm to 4,500rpm.

The new 125i is powered by a 2.0 liter inline-4 turbo engine from the N20 family – you’ll find it in the bigger BMWs such as the newly launched F10 520i as well. In 125i tune, power output is positioned in between the 184hp/270Nm “20i” and 245hp/350Nm “28i” tunes that we’ve previously seen – the 125i makes 218 horsepower at 5,000rpm and 310Nm of torque between 1,350rpm to 4,800rpm. 0 to 100km/h takes just 6.4 seconds with the 6-speed manual or 6.5 seconds with the 8-speed auto.

There’s also a new powerful diesel engine – the 125d, which slots in on top of the previous king of the F20 oil burners – the 120d. Power output for the 125d is 218 horsepower, which matches the 125i, but torque is much stronger – 450Nm at 1,500rpm to 2,500rpm. 0 to 100km/h acceleration is 6.5 seconds for both the 6-speed manual and the 8-speed automatic.

On the other end of the spectrum – there’s a new BMW 116d EfficientDynamics Edition, powered by a 1.6 liter 4-cylinder diesel engine. Note that the normal 116d is powered by a 116hp/260Nm 2.0 liter 4-cylinder diesel engine. The 116d EfficientDynamics Edition’s 1.6 liter turbodiesel does the exact same output at the same RPMs – makes me wonder why the regular 116d continues with a 2.0 liter. It consumes just 3.8 liters per 100km with its sole option of a 6-speed manual transmission, and hits 100km/h in 10.5 seconds.

BMW has also finally officially offered the F20’s M Sports package for sale, though pictures of the M Sports F20 was released together with the official press kit when the F20 was first revealed to the world. Other than just the bodykit and interior enhancements, the M Sports package also includes the M Sports suspension lowered by 10 millimetres with tighter spring/shock absorber settings and harder anti-roll bars, and an optional M Sports brake kit which consists of aluminium multi-piston fixed calipers finished in dark blue metallic bearing the BMW M logo and 17-inch lightweight construction brake discs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• good news :D

• kadajawi on Jan 15, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Oh. What happened to the 130i and 135i the old 1 series had?

• yangsfx on Jan 15, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Sad! New engines for normal general model comes 4 cyl.
    How and why their still carry 118,120,125,130… which means nothing now.

• erwinkarim on Jan 15, 2012 at 6:08 pm

amazing, the 116d is more fuel efficient than a toyota prius..and got better interior too

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 12:12 am

I think the 320d EfficientDynamics with 4.1L/100km is more impressive. It has something like 163 hp and good performance, is a proper not too small saloon, …

• 2wheels on Jan 15, 2012 at 8:28 pm

now that’s 1.6 car that I had waiting for..by the way,PROTON WHO?

• what it need is a .. facelift!!

• droll on Jan 15, 2012 at 9:57 pm

oh no. 325 and 328 cannot be bullied on the road by golf gtis anymore hehehe. :P

• ayyam on Jan 15, 2012 at 10:15 pm

specs…. good
    but that face is just not pretty…

• seancorr on Jan 15, 2012 at 10:18 pm

hm wonder when we’ll see this in Malaysia?

• Jgn ckp lebeh.. on Jan 15, 2012 at 11:15 pm

ek elleh seancorr…even though they r selling in Malaysia u cant afford to pay….ceh…nway Golf still the best…if BMW 2.0 turbo will do 240, the standard golf next one would be 280hp just like the Golf R…simple

• golf is 1 league below la friend, only the audi A3 is the proper contender to this car.

• Your King on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

There is Golf, Golf GTI, GOLF R which different in term of price and build quality. So GTI and R is definitely comparable to this car.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

You are comparing ‘high spec cheap car’ with a ‘low spec expensive car’. Stupid.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:19 am

When you are one level below, you always like to compare yourself with something that is one level higher than you, This is normal mentality.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:00 am

125i meh….128i or 135i coming?

• Eh, the #1 picture…this car looks quite ok la..i guess when you play with angle, you’ll find this car looks quite ok actually…

• BM Lover on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:26 am

Just remarkable!

• tpain on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:16 pm

seriously… noone is hating the F20 design?

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 17, 2012 at 2:07 am

the front is hideous…how to drive a car looking like that.
    Lucky got BMW badge…. if got China car badge sure people
    bang upside down…

• Ya, but with the Audi badge, all the hairdresser will sure say very nice looking.

• Volvo supporter on Sep 09, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Paul, how much will the 125i cost? 240k?