Mazda CX-5 arriving soon in Malaysia? The ads hint at it!

Ah, you’ve just got to love selling through the Internet – you sometimes get to know what’s coming long before the official channels open up. Take the Mazda CX-5, for example, which we wrote about earlier. Ads for the vehicle have started popping up on Mudah.my, and working on the adage that there’s no smoke without fire …

The vehicle is set to be launched into the market sometime in spring, which essentially means that the CX-5’s introduction here will be close in line with other markets. The version we’ll be getting, according to the ads, is a 2.0 SkyActiv G variant mated to a six-speed auto transmission, with indicative pricing being RM165,000 for the two-wheel drive variant.

Features – as listed in the ads – include:

* Six airbags (front, side and curtain)
* Smart keyless with push-start button ignition
* Front and rear parking sensor + reverse camera
* GPS navigation system with TFT screen
* Full leather seats, with power adjustment
* A nine-speaker Bose sound system with USB connection
* Bi-Xenon headlamps, with auto light functional system (AFS) and auto leveling
* Sunroof
* Bluetooth hands-free system
* Daytime running lights

Five colours are available, these being Sky Blue, Aluminium Metallic, Metropolitan Grey, Crystal White Pearl, Zeal Red.

Sources – Mudah ad 1, Mudah ad 2, Mudah ad 3

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alpha on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:00 pm

165k for this Infiniti-looking chibi behemoth??I’ve to say I was expecting RM180k to 200k considering the fact that the CX7 is 258k.

Although this is a CRV-competitor,but the spec that’s coming to Malaysia looks quite impressive,rather than the low specced 147k CRV.I wonder if Honda Malaysia might do better if they sell the latest CRV for 155k-160k for a full specced one.

• squawk on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm

If the CX5 specs are as quoted, will anyone run it down because of its comparison with the CRV? :-)

• Alpha on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:52 pm

That,my friend.Will have to wait for the actual ride to arrive.

But then,they might not.Because although Honda have somekind of “upmarket Japanese” kind of thinking in most Malaysians,Mazda have been bringing in CX-7 and CX-9 which are considered as a semi-luxury,if I may say so.So,people might just buy this CX-5 based on the impression of semi-luxury oozed by it’s bigger siblings rather than the comparison with CRV.

• Gabla on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Really excited about the Skyactiv engine. Not sure swhether our Ron 95 fuel can be used for the 14:1 compression ratio. 165k is a good price considering other products with direct injection turbo engine are more expensive. Skyactiv is one of the most efficient engine without hybrid.

• ron97 have yoo

• Should be able to use ron95, onboard electronics aren’t dumb nowadays. Even the vw 1.4tsi can use ron95. Just less power only.

• 165k is worth for this car ! Mazda ‘ value for money ‘

• Yes, I was pleasantly surprised and immediately booked one in Mazda Balakong! Was told it will arrives in May, now anxiously waiting..

• Clement on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Dear friend,

i booked one also but they give me 4 k as discount.

• Hi Clement,

Pls tell me your dealer’s contact no. I want to book with him for 4K discount

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:06 pm

two-wheel drive? mazda you serious? nissan tried to sell the x-trail with 2wd and we all know what happened next.

• 2WD better fuel maa….thats why SUZUKI GRAND VITARA improved their SUV by having 2WD from 4WD….other brand SUV opt for that too…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:23 pm

why do you buy an suv if its 2wd? high driving position? you could have save the cost and just get the sedan which shared the same chassis

• Lol, the reason X-Trail failed to sell well isn’t this one.

As in 2WD, less fuel consumed, and you won’t need 4WD all the day.

• mangata on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:08 pm

at first i thought it is overpriced since its rival such as crv and sportage are priced way lower but the 9 bose speakers changed my mind….still quite expansive

• Six airbags (front, side and curtain), your life is not cheap yo..

• Wallstreet on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Spec itself already way surpassed CRV. Most interesting in this car should be their Skyactive engine and their 6 speed Skyactive transmission…and you are still complaining its expensive for this premium Japanese brand? This car going to conquer Malaysia for sure!

• maaajeeedaaa on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:18 pm

wooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww i like!!!!!!

• jolly_idiot on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Sportage, Tucson, Sorento, Harrier, CRV, X-Trail, ASX contender?

• glazee on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Sportage, Tucson, CRV, X-Trail, ASX, Tiguan, X3 are contenders

Sorento, Harrier, Santa Fe, CX-7 Fortuner, X5 is another category

• Tiguan on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm

SUV market is getting more competitive!

• dozy888 on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

RM165K is a little pricy.. Starting price should RM138K OTR including insurance.

• CX5Lover on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Feedback from Bermaz PJ :

Launching end April 2012
    2 variant — 1) 2WD – RM165k 2) AWD – RM175k (est. price)
    Both variant comes with the same specs (the only different is the drivetrain)
    Although smaller than CX-7, CX-5 offers larger interior cabin space
    Booking fees as low as RM1,000 (fully refundable)
    Interest rates below 2.5%
    Delivery starts in 2nd week of May 2012

The rest of the info you can get from the Mudah ads.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Aiyah of course they would say Refundable la…

They always say dat ….

and then give u loads of HASSLE when u cancel …

• One of the SA also asked me to book & if later find waited too long can cancel..i also worry very hassel to get back if really happened.

If they price it around RM150k, i will seriously consider :)

• g-mey on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Fully refund.. tapi berapa lama?
          dulu saya pernah tempah livina dan batalkan tempahan..
          2 bulan baru dapat duit balik.. hehe..

• Heard from SA for Bermaz, price should be lower than 165k for 2wheel drive but specs r firmed. I think if it is price around 150k will attract many SUV lovers..incl me :)

• brunei no need cx-5 since their fuel quite cheap

• TopGear on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm

hope to have a choice of 4×4 version…

• AhBeng on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm

wah my saliva dripping for the manual gearbox

• Bring it in equiped it with a 4WD and priced it at RM159k

• How about the diesel? Only petrol variant?
    I’m looking forward the diesel cx 5

• seancorr on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:34 pm

So…..does our CX-5 comes with Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) system and Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) system? If it does then Mazda…you got another customer =]

• RedBeanBun on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm

might steal my $$ for X1. the specs are not bad. move to the 150K region with promo launch please…

• TopGear on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:19 pm

pricing seems reasonable with the generous specs and is a CBU japan… hope the built quality is good. ..

• yup.. to those who are interested better get it now before Bermaz consider to make it CKD and reduce just a little price of it like Mazda3.. i see that Mazda CBU pricing strategy is really attractive and their ckd price is just reasonable.. so better to get the CBU..

• Danny on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Look good, spec good, competitive price, how CRV can survive?

• CX5 2.0 / 1.6 1.8 naturally aspirated or Turbo??? Tak der cerita pun displacement ?

• It’s the SkyActiv-G 2 Litre petrol unit. No turbo. 6 speed unit, a more advance version of a conventional AT (not DualClutched).

I believe the power range is 160hp @6000rpm n 194Nm @ 4100Nm.

• the only reason i shy away from the current cx5 is the price… if this new model price fixed at 150-155k region that wud be lovely!!

Interior wise, i think the all-black looking interior in the current cx5 is more ‘classy’…

• Have to admit @ 165k it’s abit over my budget. I know it’s a premium jap brand and the cars have more gimmicks compared to the T&Hs but at a 20-30k price difference makes it abit hard to consider.

Really wish it’d be at 155k or something. (budget was 140k but would break for this) 25k more is too excessive sadly. =(

• fedorov on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:49 am

:) would like to share my experience in Mazda showroom last weekend. My wife was thinking to upgrade her car to SUV, so we went to Mazda showroom and had a feel2 & touch2 on CX7. Since my wife didnt really need that size of CX7, she asked the salesman – “Do you have CX5 (she read somewhere in internet & I already told her earlier that model not yet launched)?” … This is funny part – The salesman answered “Dun have la CX5. We only have Mazda5.” I kinda expected that they don’t have the model but as Mazda salesman, he should have known or hinted that the model is not in Malaysia yet or will be launched later. Obviously he was clueless.. hehehehe :)

• ThePolygon on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Yup almost same thing happened to me. I asked about the CX-5 2 weeks ago and they said it’s not coming and pushed the CX-7 to me. Luckily I held on to my dear money.

• I went there to look for mazda 3 skyactiv but was told that you can book this CX5 already.
        2WD for 165k and 4wd for 175k.
        The sales guy says no news yet for mazda 3 FL.. so no maazda 3 skyactiv yet.
        but this cx5 is definitely coming in april/may but it is out of my budget even with that price.
        trust me this cx5 will be the best FC in its class

• ThePolygon on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Yup should topple the Mitsu ASX 2.0 2WD at 7.6. l/100km (31 mpg) compare to CX-5 2.0 2WD at 7.35 l/100km (32 mpg)

• sad but true, sometimes it is so pathetic to look at those SAs that do not know their car at all. Know your product before you sell to other people. This is the most basic thing in selling

• ThePolygon on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:35 pm

OMG got manual trans.. it has been long since an SUV comes with manual besides the rush

• Wallstreet on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm

You must be hiding inside the bush…manual cars are still widely used especially in Europe who really appreciate true driving experience. Not only Mazda but many other manufacturers still upgrading and improving their manual transmission for European market.

• ThePolygon on Feb 16, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I actually loves manual cars just that in M’sia most SUVs are auto :(
        I am driving a manual :D

• ThePolygon on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Hope there is a manual AWD. That sould be a perfect replacement for Kembara owners who is looking for these…

• Why not offer 2.0 Turbo or 1.8 turbo…..hay ya Jap manufacturer why dont offer Turbo engine like european manufacturer???

• They dun have a turbo version. But it does have some serious compression ratio at 14:1. Honda CR-V also got 10.5:1 only. So in terms of engine efficiency in consumer lineup, this is the master in Japan, ahead of what you so call iVTEC or DVVT-i.

BTW, turbo prefer less cylindric compression ratio as compressed air will come in to compensate.

• I saw a CX-5 at Fraser’s Hill two days ago! Soft launch already huh? No hoo hah like VW launch one?

• Does anybody know what is up with their website, mazda.com.my ? Is it their offical website in the first place ?