White Peugeot 408 with black tape testing on the NSE

Reader Nazree Ismail sent these shots in yesterday, and they’re of the Peugeot 408. According to the alert snapper, he was heading back to KL in the afternoon from Penang, and saw the car around KM 227 of the North South Expressway.

White car wearing black tape doesn’t show us what we haven’t seen before, except for the colour. Previous sightings of the 308-based C-segment sedan were of grey and silver coloured taped-up units, before one was caught completely naked. Click here for a full view of it, including the interior.

Should be due anytime soon, we guess.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gabla on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:21 am

A lame attempt to get attention for launching. It’s not like people don’t know how the car looks like.

They are only trying to get more coverage by the media, which is a successful attempt since this site is covering the subject.

• Nasser Dato Ismail on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:39 pm

The 408 won’t sell well lah Adik. French cars generally don’t do well In Malaysia. Look at Renault, also non existant on the roads, as well as Citroen. Anyway, my dad, who is short, likes Peugeot cause the seats are quite high

• racotua on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:56 am

the high number of 308 and 207 on our roads could be the exception though. if the spec of the 408 and price is alright, they could have another strong seller. now with the 5 year unlimited mileage warranty, they could sell even more.

• Dear Nasser Dato, you cannot see and will not see Renault, Citroen, Skoda, Alfa Romeo, Lancia, Volvo, even vW on malaysian roads as often as BMW, Mercedes, Peugeot, Ford, Honda, Kia for example. This is not because the cars mentioned in first place are not as good as the cars mentioned in second place. It is because in order to sell a car we need a network of services, correct pricing, quality and brand name, publicity compaign, availability and proximity of manufacturing/assembly plants etc. It happens that the cars mentioned in second place have it in Malaysia whereas those mentioned in first place dont have it. Who will buy Citroen when they know that Peugeot is a similar car with 40% less price and availability of service, spares and market share?? I hope you got my point.

• Minor T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:56 am

publicity attempt.. and plain boring car.. next!

• thinkerr on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:35 am

Just launch it already….why bother with the tapes and all.

• pauline tan on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:59 pm

its like more than 1 year dy this kind of peugoet roaming the road.

• policeman on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Ada aku kisah?

• intermilan on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Paul,

Kindly consider stop posting any spy shots of the 408.

Lets wait until they launch it proper. And then do a proper write-up / coverage.

The continuous spy shots reporting (which i believe is just them taking the car out for testing, not to gain free publicity), is creating unnecessary negative perception.

• Gabla on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Just test it as it is, no need to cover the car with tapes since it was already launched elsewhere. Nobody will notice it anyway without the tapes. The tape is just to attract more attention.

• Mm…. why no sunroof de? I’m waiting to get one…… when this will be out ar?

• zack randolph on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Will the aircon cold enough on 408?

• Vince on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Saw a similar white Peug with black-taped camou. approaching Gambang toll entering East-Coast Highway last Sunday morning…. rather smallish!

Unable to snap any pic as was on the opposite direction, exiting the toll booth.

• off tangent on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:01 am

saw one at their SC recently and had a chance to look into the rear seat area. honestly, it is much bigger than the sylphy inside. no problems about space. imho, it has easily the biggest space inside in the c-segment. perhaps even bigger than some d-segment cars. only when you see it parked in relation to other c-segment cars do you realise just how large this car is.

• sonyman on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm

last 2 weeks ago a bunch of this 408 kena involved in accident. long pile, raining heavily, it happened after the ipoh tunnel heading north

• whysoserious on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:28 pm

I can see the car without tape here:

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/408.aspx

• majeeeda on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm

1.6 thp or twinscroll turbo=another BORING produc from peugeot…… Grow up please.

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 11, 2012 at 3:14 am

Unfortunately the this engine has some serious defects. Stay far far from models with the 1.6thp.

• perhaps they are testing this model extensively to make sure that the turbo engine in this car will not be affected by what has been going on. i have been told that the turbo engine code is different for this car so it could be a big improvement for peugeot 1.6 turbo engines here.

• In theory, a turbo engine based on aluminium block used in hot climae like Malaysia should loose its performance due to over heating, unless a serious effort is being made to cool it down. What we see with Peugeot and VW that they bring small turbo engines with high horsepower and torque. I am skeptic but I see more and more cars with this, not only in Malaysia but in Singapore too. I myself choose a 1.6 vti (prince) 308 for myself, although it is with less torque but it is very smooth, long life, less heating hence less wear and tear, low servicing and other costs. I can take one oil change to 20,000 kms easily, although I have to change after 10,000 as there is a service counter in the car which starts warning. i would ask my Peugeot workshop to fix it after 15000 and not after 10000 next time.

• Azlan Baha on Apr 11, 2012 at 1:05 am

What a lame publicity stunt. Masking looks as if it was done 15mins before the car was taken out for a spin. As if there are going to make changes just for our Malaysian roads here. Next…

• DArkerMarker on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:45 pm

hahahah, syok sendiri only…..cover with tapes here and there pulak…….

• kenny on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:13 am

they are probably just testing the car lah. and since it is not officially launched, maybe they cover parts of it up just for the sake of it.

• Costwise on Apr 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Why bother with black tapes when its already available in another country? Its good looking, but tall, as any transformation from hatch to sedan.

• let’s hope the handling is good even though it is tall. the height should translate to a roomy interior.