Hyundai i10 full test drive review – a fun econobox

To be completely honest, I had sort of pre-written this review of the Hyundai i10 even before stepping into the small car. For some odd reason, I seem to find myself frequently behind its wheel and this means that driving it will be all too familiar.

This is after all not a new car. Danny has tested the i10 before and in comparison, the one that I have is just a minor model change – a new face and an upgraded engine. And the rest of the car relatively remains the same. But somehow, it is not. So, into the bin goes my pre-written review.

What changed my mind is this – the acceleration. This car runs with a reworked 1.25 Kappa engine. Reworked because it now has CVVT engineered into it. Power is up by nine to 86 hp, with a torque of 119.7 Nm. It is able to accelerate to 100 km/h and will eventually arrive at the electronically limited top speed of 160 km/h sometime later.

The engine sends power to the wheels through a four-speed automatic transmission box. Which is enough to get the car up and running around town. The gearshifts are gentle comparing to the other four-speeders from other makes, and this also makes the car comfortable to drive. While highways is dispatched with relative ease, I keep wishing there is an overdrive gear to bring the revs down without dropping speed.

I remembered the i10 to have more spunk than this. The compact car does not rev as freely or go at a snap as how I remembered it. Nevertheless, the engine feels smoother and more matured than pre-CVVT.

But Hyundai maintains that this engine is more economical and efficient than the one it replaces. The 1.25 litre Kappa does 5.3 l/100km and stores petrol in a 35 litre tank.

Ride is comfortable, as it should seeing that this car would spend most of its life running the school-shop route. The suspension does a nice job in smoothening out the road and it does not crash hard into potholes. Passengers going on interstate road trips will have to contend with some wind noise, although it is nothing to get upset about.

The i10 handles well, no changes here. The steering may feel loose and detached, but it is quick to respond. Due to its small frame, the i10 is also throws itself willingly into the corners.

It does not take much for the i10 to reach the limits. In fact, you don’t even have to consciously attack corners to make the tyre squeal or make the body feel as it is if going to tip over. It won’t, the i10 is built of sterner stuff, which makes it all the more hilarious to just swing it around the bend.

Who says you need a sports car to have fun? The i10 version of fun comes at a price of RM53,400.80 on-the-road without insurance. The Hyundai i10 also comes with a 300,000 km or 5 years warranty, which is a long time.

For that kind of money, the i10 also comes with redesigned for lamps, wing mirror indicators, an integrated double-DIN MP3 compatible and connectable stereo system and four speakers. As for safety, the i10 offers reverse parking sensors, ABS with EBD and two air bags for the meatbags in the front.

So if you’re in the market for a car that’s zippy to drive and easy to maintain, perhaps this i10 is worth your consideration.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Izzuddin Fauzi on May 30, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Nice and great car :) Love to have it :)

• ss427 on May 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Well the i10 maybe the smallest and most un-Hyundai of all Hyundais, it is still a very well designed and built econobox. And you can have fun with it w/o breaking the bank.

Who says you need to feel like bing in aa penalty box just becos you drive a cheap car? Proton should learn from the Koreans how to build a fun mini car without causing your potential customers go ewwwww… cheap brittle plastic… ewww awful driving position….ewwww…. awful dash design etc… LOL :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Storm on May 30, 2012 at 4:41 pm

How much fun can you get from a car like this? This is an economical car for ppl with limited budget. You will be more than happy and fun if this car does not breakdown and at the end of the day you don’t cry over the resale value. Don’t start talking about who cares about resale value because for me, most ppl who buy car like this will put resale value as priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • TurboMan!!! on May 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Have u driven it?

Or have u driven a Kelisa? That is one fun car to drive.

So how do you define a fun car if you think this cannot be a fun car.

• Kongbingleek on May 30, 2012 at 9:17 pm

i think any car breaks down? Resale value? You buy the car to drive or to sell?

• taulpan on May 30, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Which car never break down?
        if resale value is an issue, you should forget about new car and work harder until you can afford a non-rubbish car.

• Storm on May 31, 2012 at 8:38 am

Its really silly for someone to say ‘you buy a car to drive or to sell’. I m not here to talk about which car is better but merely referring to the topic here. Cars are extremely expensive here in relation to our per capita income. I know many people are using a big chunk of their monthly income just to pay for their car installment, maintainance, petrol etc. With almost all gone just by paying for car, they left nothing much for themselves. At the same time car is really a neccesity now. I have known many who are so excited with the specs thrown in and they like it so much and bought the car only to regret so much it comes to a time to sell. Unless you want to drive this car for the rest of your life, you think buying a car like this without taking into account RESALE VALUE, maintainance, fuel consumption, parts, etc is not important?? Of course there are some fortunate people who can afford to NOT care about the resale value but as I said, not for this car. Forget about the talk on fun from this 89hp car. Don’t be naive, just one of few points they try to use for marketing, and you just bought their idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • protonowner on May 31, 2012 at 10:30 am

yawnnn

• kutty on May 31, 2012 at 10:56 pm

fun for people who can afford it. if you’re poor, nak beli the next car sampai kena jual tanah, main mahjong bagai, then buy car with good resale value and suffer throughout your ownership lah. beggars can’t be choosers, am i right? i am.

• pravin5267 on May 30, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Buy viva 650 cc better la !

go ahead then. No one stops you.

• Sam Loo on Jun 10, 2012 at 6:58 am

P2 cars will have higher resale value than Koreans.

Do not make the same mistake I did buying kimchis instinctively

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Buy 2nd hand on Jun 09, 2013 at 5:47 pm

So buying 2nd hand Korean cars are the best options for those looking for good quality cars.

• Hyundaiiiii …… IIIIInokom

Oh no!!! My Hyundai car logo just changed to a dick!!

• sudonano on May 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

You can change the logo FOC if you want. Just tell the SA. thats what I did.

• Sam Loo on Jun 17, 2012 at 9:12 am

You can change it to a Mercedes Benz Logo, but a kimchi will forever be a kimchi.

Sui Kwan, Kwai Tai, high maintenance cost and poor resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ajim1Malaysia on May 30, 2012 at 4:56 pm

well designed car.. just bit priced compared to the national car in the same segment. =)

• hanifhamzah on May 30, 2012 at 5:37 pm

overall which one is better?? myvi 1.3 or hyundai i10 1.25??

• tokmoh on May 30, 2012 at 6:31 pm

The only Myvi I’d consider would be the 1.5L SE (can fly to the moon man, fuyooo!!).

For 1.3, I feel it’s not worth it, and rather get a 2nd hand. It’s got the same engine and gearbox anyway.

• driver on May 30, 2012 at 6:45 pm

dua2 mahal…

• sudonano on May 30, 2012 at 6:47 pm

I am actually having this car, different colour though. Nearly bought the Myvi, until i ‘ter-went’ into the hyundai showroom to look at it, seriously, the build quality is better(not the best la, mine has one plastic loose, gonna get it done on Monday and the petrol lid the paintwork has a defect) but the doors feel solid. And the seats are supportive, Power is not bad, but it tends to downshift, but since, as Chris says, the gearbox is very smooth for a 4 speed (better than my Santa Fe) not so noticeable. Overall, it is better than myvi la, except the boot is TINY, no seat height adjustment and the back seat can only accommodative 2 adults. If not its perfect. One thing the SA told me which got me hooked was Why buy the Myvi when you can get a car which is safer (Euro 4 star) at the same price, 50cc isn’t much of a difference.

• It has same spec as europe?

• This is very true. Safety. The Myvi has its side bar removed for cost purposes

• sudonano on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:43 am

Not the same spec as europe, different radio unit, no integrated stop-go, no seat height adjustment, seats fold a bit differently.

To GD: What? Are you serious? :O

• docanis on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:36 am

It is a solid car. 34major setbacks.. Fuel consumption is high contrary to claim (too bad.. FC was the main reason for buying an i10, 1.25 dual CVVT, tendency to downshift, poor pick up and car stereo has poor reception and sounds lacks umph. Otherwise the car is comfortable, steady, handsome and feel-safe ..
        I do have regrets every now and then when I think of its FC…

• Fahmi on May 30, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Myvi has slightly more power (91 vs 86 hp) and little bit less torque (117 vs 119)…
      Myvi has little more weight and slightly larger..
      Both use electric power steering..
      Myvi: EZi metallic, RM50400
      i10: Premium, RM53400

Both has ABS, EBD and dual airbags..

• myvi has a lil bit more space than i10 and i10’s transmission better than myvi. both car have their own pros.

i10 1.25 High spec

• theanswer on May 30, 2012 at 9:34 pm

old comparison. size-wise..myvi. handling..fun factor, i10.

• LE_buruk on May 31, 2012 at 12:56 am

this baby Hyundai tackle corner better than p2.slightly small but enough for those who seek for first car.come with good warranty deal.quite reliable car. consume very little fuel.(meru to pj and back meru only 5 ringgit during rush hour). I owned for almost 2 years.never gives me a problem yet. the only bad thing about it is probably the resale value and high price for body-part.overall, it is a good competitor for myvee 1.3. why buy a new car if you want to sell it 2 or 3 years later.

• protonowner on May 31, 2012 at 10:31 am

savvy better

• Maserati on May 30, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Rubbish car at a premium price tag.Myvi 1.5 anytime.

SO how much did they pay u to do another advert on this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • OH GOD! THIS PRICETAG IS ALREADY PREMIUM TO YOU? THEN I BET YOU CAN’T EVEN AFFORD ANY BETTER CARS. NOOB. Then the Vios is considered as luxury car for you?

• Hyundai De la Junk on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:54 am

Spot on Maserati ! it’s an Adv indeed.

• Sam Loo on Jun 13, 2012 at 6:49 pm

MyVi is prolly one of the better value for money cars in bolehland

• dozy888 on May 30, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Super Expensive for a budget car! Should be price at RM15K!

• tokmoh on May 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm

“It is able to accelerate to 100 km/h and will eventually arrive at the electronically limited top speed of 160 km/h sometime later.”

Lol, why the Jeremy Clarkson-like sarcasm there?

• “. It is able to accelerate to 100 km/h and will eventually arrive at the electronically limited top speed of 160 km/h sometime later.”
    Hmmmm…… accelerate to 160km/h and still able to pass 100km/h. confused!

• Azydy on May 30, 2012 at 6:43 pm

yeah good for second car.. as vehivle to drive you to market, sightseing etc.. but when looking to its price, i think its too high..

• this car is a lot better than myvi .

• says says on May 30, 2012 at 7:14 pm

sh%t! Its dashboard is better than PREVE!

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 30, 2012 at 7:39 pm

FUN?, u must be kidding me. lol, the only fun that malaysian can enjoy because of the NAP. the REAL fun is the Mini, audi a1, fiat 500. Thats FUN.

• kevin on May 30, 2012 at 7:43 pm

i just change my old i10 1.1 to this new 1.25 i10, just got my car on monday. This car is just awesome,power delivery is smooth,ride is firm n comfortable, u can tackle corner confidently.Love the blue instument panel~i cant stop admiring its look!!

• kevin on May 30, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Hyundai is now a premium brand in global market, its no longer the cheap and value buy brand with ugly styling as before~ \(^o^)/~

• Sam Loo on Jun 17, 2012 at 9:14 am

Kimchi cars, Premium my anus. It may cosmetically look premium for the first 2 weeks, but looks cacat thereafter.

DNA wise, if kimchi’s are reliable and durable, their resale value will not be 50% after 3 yrs

• mamat on May 30, 2012 at 7:52 pm

MYVI more luxury looked because of the camry wannabe meter cluster and the OEM unit …..oh ya the sound of the starter sound like conti car…ha ha …inokom errrrr…..only the front looked alike the big bro SONATA …other than tat …..resale value just like throwing stone onto the sea….sorry to say…

• its stil a (P), not a (T) if u get wat i mean. a myvi is still a myvi. a LOCAL car, not a global recognize car with safety structure.the starter in the i10 1.25 sounds like a turbo charged engine too.

• and not the SONATA that it looks like. its the ELANTRA. SONATA is not using the hexagon grill

• gonna get my i10 soon, anytime better than myvi.

• _xXx_ on May 30, 2012 at 9:34 pm

when can I see the new kia picanto? This one cacat looking. Good for OKU

• Naza Bestari is more fun to drive.

• John Player Special on May 30, 2012 at 10:24 pm

strictly for the ladies!

• Tony Cheah on May 30, 2012 at 10:34 pm

After 25k km, I must say it is a nippy car. Easily rev up to 5000rpm to provide a steady pickup and high speed cruising. Hard to remember when was the last time I fill her up. Everything works well. Handling improved after changing to better tyres

• well … get a 1.5 lagibest Myvi or Saga FL/ Persona

• I am actually more interested comparing it to Viva Elite. Any input from the reviewer or the editor?

• david on May 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

coming from atos days, i hope they changed the gearbox to be more lasting in our hot climate.

i did test drive the pre-cvvt i10 (the one direct import from india) i find it really fun to drive except the steering wheel. feels like playing video game due to its electrical power steering.
    also to note that the car feels very sturdy and well built. definately not a tin milo.

in short, i think its a great car to own and stand out from the sea of mivi’s

• oh my…..so ugly…….

• A car is not a house, resale value you are concerning? the dont change car, stick with it until u die.

• nenen on May 31, 2012 at 2:14 am

I’ve sat in my colleague’s i10 and the interior quality, ride quality and solidness of the body felt waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than myvi… What puts me down is the design, space and the resale value…

• u guys looking for fun ride, anytime get a proton la.

and if u want a hatchback so badly, get a myvi, its the best selling for a reason.

i dont see a reason to buy a korean car at this price level when we have myvi and saga which both are solid performer.

if we’re talking about rm70k-80k then fine, korean car is a good choice. rm50k?

come on. if u feel rich, get a swift. fun and resale value in a package

• much better suzuki alto..comfortable seat & quality plastic

• Chilavert on May 31, 2012 at 8:34 am

i dont understand why some people bash this car without even drive it. i have test driven this car last month and i agree with Chris Ng that this car is a fun car to drive. fun doesnt have to be expensive like mini or audi A1.

Well the car got some power and pick up, enough for its small body. and what impressed me the most is the suspension and the riding comfort. Even on bumpy road the car did well. The NVH is also decent and the interior is well built, you wont feel cheap.

I didnt buy this car of course because im looking for sedan. but if u are single with limited budget, instead of buying myvi, why not be a little different and drive an i10 instead.

• shawal the airhead.. on May 31, 2012 at 1:08 pm

the reason most people bash about this car is price..I like to think this should be around 38 to 40k tag…also the resale value scenario in this country make most target buyer choose not take the risk on it.

but tech wise, this car is one of the best in it segment

• Jonathan Lee on May 31, 2012 at 8:52 am

I don’t understand why Inokom (and many local distributors) find the need to add useless, tasteless tat that we just don’t need. The car would look so much better without the hideous spoiler and that stupid thing they felt compelled to stick onto the front fenders (what is that even supposed to be?).

• that thing in on the front fender is used to cover up which previously is the turn signal which now have been move to the side mirror. look at the Mitsu ASX, its entirely a new model, but it has the same thing. wats wrong then? its just a design add on

• Jonathan Lee on May 31, 2012 at 4:23 pm

But it’s hideous. I’d much rather have the turn signals on the fenders if it meant they didn’t need to have something unsightly plug up the hole it left behind.

• Jonathan Lee on May 31, 2012 at 4:26 pm

For the record, I didn’t like the fender “vent” they stuck onto the ASX, either.

• sudonano on May 31, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Exactly, I find the rear spoiler useless. In fact it pours more water on the back window when it rains =.=”

• My Name on May 31, 2012 at 9:27 am

How about mazda 2.

• i drove this little car almost every week ..and its not small..if u compare side by side its actually bigger than kelisa..almost on par with kenari..

went to genting 4 times and bukit tinggi Colmar 2 times..and yes its fun..same like kelisa and consumed very little petrol compare to my Integra (yeahh the comparison is weird..hehe)…

what i do like about this car is
    1. The driver seat is well design (at least for me) and comfortable with its lumbar support
    2. The door – its amazing how effortlesly u close the door..and the door will shut tightly..yes you no need to slam the door to ensure the door close properly ..like my honda.
    3. city driving and stop-go at traffic lite feels energatic – just like kelisa..
    4. Fun to drive around twisted road..but off course its only 1.25 cc…well just enjoy the handling is fun oredi.

what i dont like.
    1. the price
    2. small boot
    3. kinda expensive maintenance – u need to service at autorized Hyundai service center only for that 5 years warranty thingy..for 5 years.

will i buy it?..for the time being..NO..i still fell in love with kelisa (for a small compact car) hehehe

• oblong on May 31, 2012 at 10:32 am

Mr. b18A said “i drove this little car almost every week ..” Vs “will i buy it?..for the time being..NO..” What a contradict statement from you.If you don’t bought it yet then whose car did you drive every week?

• bonbon on May 31, 2012 at 11:20 am

u drive avery week, but not buying? ur dad car?

• theanswer on May 31, 2012 at 11:51 am

his gf car maybe. he already own an integra.

• aiseh..di i really need to explain every details?..my GF went to oversea (Suwon korea)..for 2 month training ..she left the car with me some i drove it almost every week..well sometimes..i drive my integra..sometimes the little i-10…its really consumed little petrol..thats why almost every week i drove it,..ok any other Q? :D

• squawk on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Boot is small but there’re compartments under the boot floor to store loose items.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on May 31, 2012 at 11:51 am

Ugly looking dwaft car, the entire car need an re design, remind me of those buggy been modify to RR, Lambo or Ferrari.

• Masked Ryder on May 31, 2012 at 11:53 am

I am supprised smaller mfg can facelift their Myvi so well, Suzuki too done a good job for Alto, but Hyundai facelift i10 is such a disaster.

• i own this car 1.25.. everything is perfect. except for 1 thing.. fuel consumption is too high.. rm50 only can go 260-270km ( city driving). huh!. more than 5 times complaining.. but still the same..

• Michael on May 31, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I owned this car too, bought it for my wife as 2nd car. Same color -silver blue. Every description in the article is true except 2 things;

1) Fuel consumption – city driving is about 22sen/km; highway driving about 14 sen/km. No way near the spec. Has complaint numerous time, but the end result very consistent. High fuel consumption.

2) Noise from the doors (Maybe just my car). When your car on the move, you will hear some vibrating sounds from the doors. Try to fix many times, but no improvement.

Other than these, this is a very fun car to drive.

• Masked Ryder on May 31, 2012 at 3:31 pm

That very bad fuel consumption, 10km/ltr for a mini car is ridiculous.
      Look like korean car never improve on their fuel efficiency.

• sudonano on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:46 am

I got this car too in Oyster Grey, mine the consumption full tank to empty i get 300km +, approx 320 max? . My door is not vibrating, but i have a loose panel on the dashboard, and the petrol lid has defective paintwork, going to get it fixed on Monday, Any experience on Hyundai service??

• Michael on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Well, from my experience the Hyundai service support is good. Very responsive and friendly.

Just take note that is hard to fix any unwanted noises from the car (either from doors, dashboards, etc). Maybe this is due to the grade of material used in local assembly or some kind of manufacturing defects.

• sudonano on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:45 am

MIne so far no funny ‘sound effects’ yet. But i have one lose door panel near the footwell of the front passenger. And also my petrol cover, the paintwork is not done properly, so yea. Are they any better than UMW Service?

• sudonano on Jun 04, 2012 at 6:49 pm

You were right about Hyundai service. SO efficient, sent in at 8.30, they said 11 can come and pick up. True enough by 11 it was done. And they got it cleaned, fixed the dash panel, but the fuel lid they said they have to wait la. But it is not corrosion so not too bad la. The sales staff are so friendly and nice, really i don’t mind going back to Sime Darby Auto Hyundai in Glenmarie.

• Maserati on May 31, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Lol,u drive it every week but u wont buy it? So u driving a stolen car? Anyway its big compared to kelisa and kenari but how much are those 2 selling for? The price of a i10, i can get a huge myvi 1.5 , bigger car n more powerfulengine.

Pls compare with the same price car, dont compare with cheaper cars like kelisa n kenari…lol

• along on May 31, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Hi All,

Why this puny little car cost 53k and we citizen need to take 5 or 6 or 7 and even 9-10 years loan to own this small car. This is ridiculous, why we need loan for so long to own a basic car…

Day in – day out, week in – week out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we talk, discuss, analysis about what should the government do, what should MITI do, now what should MAI do, what should bank do, to reduce cost of owning a car…

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the customer, the biggest stake holders…

Its us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increases every facelift, we are the ones that que to book and some do book the car for 9 years long even before the launch of the car, preve for example…

Let talk about, as consumer and citizen, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they wont be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia…. If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me they will succumb to our knees and price will drop… They can say a lot of thing, but if we aint buying, what the are saying is irrelevant…

So come on guys, let boycott buying any new cars for some time until we see a reasonable priced cars.

Let play our part and dont hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
    When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• oblong on May 31, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Sell your 2nd hand car…join me and thousand other using public transport…together we can save earth and send strong message to everybody esp. people in automotive business that we can live without their overpriced automobile huahuahua!

• Do u have any friends? Are you the only one who knows our cars are priced too high?

• agreed with mr Along here

• you come to paultan and ask ppl to boycott new cars. what is your agenda ? if you got no money to get new rides, then shuddup and go study. what? u already working but a cheap car like this also cannot afford ? then confirm u r a failure.

• yea. If this car also these monkeys complaining expensive lar, this la that lar. then confirm any other car features in paultan they cannot afford. sore loser and a failure in life. Go get a bicycle and a life !

• pauline on May 31, 2012 at 5:19 pm

myvi 1.3 can anytime do 13km/liter in city ( federal highwya kind of jam) and 15-16km/l in highway.

so now i know why myvi is number1 sales in malaysia.

• yea, but it’s not 4 star euro ncap. ur money or ur life more important?

• agree with anon. ppl are bashing this car,but duno the truth,duno wats under the skin. myvi?try google search myvi overturn and accidents. too much .

• Maserati on May 31, 2012 at 7:00 pm

All korean cars are rubbish.Forte,sonata,k5…all rubbish..people thinking its good cuz of its good looks thats all.

Utter rubbish.They are so desperate for sales that they resort to advertising in paultan every month.

You dont see Honda,toyota,merc,bmw doing this.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Boh Soon on May 31, 2012 at 10:34 pm

You are rubbish cause you write a lot of rubbish.

• haha..You LIE !..

• David D on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Oh really? How about keeping your stupid mouth shut? I don’t drive an i10 but i find your endless rantings sickening, befitting a bastard who deserves to be beaten up for insisting that his useless views are to be accepted.

Back to the i10, it’s very pricey, considering the size, and that rather undesireable ‘condom’ logo. Other that that, it’s pretty decent as a everyday roundabout, something you don’t find always, and, hey, it is good to drive, contrary to the old Atos.

• sudonano on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:47 am

Price, sadly is so high here cause if not it will eat into Myvi sales. Sadly :( i got it cause i don’t quite trust the myvi la, and Myvi is too mainstream.

• wat to do. alot of malaysian the mindset canot change, so old fashion, in their mine is the japanese or the myvi only. they just cant accept that korean are now much better n more stylish.

• Sam Loo on Jun 10, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Being an ex-Korean car owner, I must say that owning a korean car was a nightmare.

From high maintenance cost to roadside breakdown, I swear I will never drive a kimchi again

• This particular entry requires more proof reading, sir. There’s just too much errors and typos alike. It is a major turn off to read an article that has not been given full attention to. It has to be addressed, honestly speaking. I mean no offense, but coming from a journalistic background, I sincerely hope to see improvements especially from your entries, Chris. Cheers

• When my wife sent her Atos Prima for a top overhaul at Hyundai Glenmarie, we were given an i10 as a temporary replacement car for a almost 2 weeks. That one with the old 1.0 engine so on the engine performance side it wasnt a pleasure drive la. But on the other hand, it offers a steady and firm ride for its class, and i was a bit suprised, as if you are driving a sedan – that kind of feeling. The cabin feels nice too, unlike on some other small cars. My wife was reluctant to return the i10 at the end.

• squawk on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:42 pm

The thing about the i10 pricing…. do you guys think there’s no pressure from higher up on HSD to price this above P2?

• sudonano on Jun 02, 2012 at 6:48 am

Of course la! if it is not higher confirm wont be approved!

• manfurb on Jun 01, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Myvi better? i10 better? Picanto better? Which one is better? Eeeeh pandir la enkorang sume!! Beli aje la kalu dah suka. Resale value jatuh la….kalu taknak resale value jatuh beli kereta lembu la….

• u all saying this car is expensive than the myvi.lolx, then wat did the myvi give you?passenger safety?brand?styling?ride n handling?yup it does offer bigger space, the boot is the same BS small. other than that?? lagi best pulak. RM60K to buy a local car, really ‘lagi best’ la.

• Madcow on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:41 am

The fuel consumption is very misleading, I am i10 owner here, you are lucky if it can get half of that 5.3l/100km.

• i own a hyundai i10 1.25cvvt high spec..the fuel consumption i got is rm0.21/km for city driving and rm36 drive from Penang to KL..the pickup is quite slow bcoz of the 1.25l engine..if you dont want to regret later like me..better buy myvi 1.5l

• i10 1.1L pre-face lift owner here. The one that was built in India. Owned for 2+ years now.

Fuel economy for me range from 14 – 15 km/l on highway, between 85 – 95 km/h. Steady cruising with no hard accelerations. City, probably average 11 – 12 km/l. Don’t know as hardly get into traffic jams on daily commute to KLIA.

Fuel economy is always dependent on your driving style. If you have heavy foot and always push down till rev meter is above 3500 rpm, you are burning more fuel lah.

I just love how my i10 can easily rev up to red line by just pressing down on the accelerator hard and it surge forward, all without needing to switch off Overdrive.

Great little car.

• I can get 400KM full tank, but i dun care so as long as its solid and sturdy.

• Sam Loo on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:01 am

But very poor RV

• David D on Jun 13, 2012 at 2:12 pm

A 2009 model found on Mudah.my fetches 30k. Still wanna talk about the RV bullshit?

• hakim on Jun 13, 2012 at 9:58 am

i10 much better and fun to drive.. drive like a gt car..very capable for long distance trip.. handling much much better than myvi,very fun car to have…superb chasis
    my i10 turn 2years old next month.. if u want space and great aftrsles value go for myvi, if u want fun and pleasure of driving go for i10.. honest little car.

• This car is designed to be small and suitable for city use .. Well , with this price and the required size for small cars… There are several other choices like swift or alto.. Of course, we do hv our local brand of choice…if u are looking into finding from mudah .. Just be real careful as for many agents write really low price with other hidden cost.. I have had both swift and i10.. They both had their own shining function
    If any of u would like to ask more, I would be more than willing to give u tips about buying new car:) [email protected]

• hmmm… high FC is an issue, about 11.5 km/l, which is high. and the CKD quality is terrible bad, especially the door panel. others than that, basically is good, stable on high speed even on 140 km/h, good pickup. if i can re consider, i won’t buy!

• James on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm

same here..if i can reconsider i will buy perodua myvi 1.5l

• Mat Global on Dec 23, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Stop press! Hyundai i10 is the best city car right now. I have Myvi 1.3 also Swift (good for long distance) and previously also owned Kelisa.choose 1.25 kappa cvvt for fun driving.

• kentc on Jul 25, 2013 at 2:27 pm

own a i10 1.25 kappa (Colourz).
    Most of the review said it can run 500km (city), 700km (highway). 5.3L/100KM.
    ALL BULLSHIT, I NEVER HIT 480KM with city drive or highway. There is no way.
    My city drive only get 400+-km.
    The fuel consumption is bad than my 8 years honda city. (I can get at least 470KM for 35L with city drive & 550KM for highway).
    The small car like i10 is not really fuel efficient, but it is better than Myvi la.

• ming09 on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:22 pm

own a i10 1.25 Colourz.
    fuel consumption is very high, average 10.5km/liter city ride.
    pickup performance is disappointed, example when on the road the traffic suddenly slow down, when u want to move on the car move so slowly, while you can see cars on other lanes were moved far more in front of you already.

• i won the car for free!

• Lee Lang on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Same to me, if i can re consider I wont buy this car. the FC is so terrible however the driving experience is good. Remember for all Hyundai buyer, if u wanted your car still under warranty, do not service the car other than hyundai. even though u service only once outside, hyundai wont give a shit to bother if any breakdown happens. my i10 less than 6 months, alrdy battery kong! its hard to start the car and the central lock sucks. customer service at Hyundai the warranty is alrdy void and i have to pay all the spare parts. so I send to other hyundai workshop and said its wiring problems that caused its hard to start and effect the battery shelf life. the door’s central lock cost me RM70-80 only instead of RM200 to what the Hyundai central service said. its funny that they easily void my warranty juz because I service the car outside while I was in out station. but the truth, Hyundai suffering for loss recently for spare parts. thats how they come with the bullshit idea!

• azhary on Jan 12, 2015 at 1:40 pm

I bought this car hyundai i10 im 80% regret with my decision. Have face alot of problem with it. First the aircond is not cold, cabin light switch problem, hon not working, the battery water leak and damaged my car inside paint, and damage fog lamp relay. Ask to fix the aircond. took 2 months for them to contact me back after back to back call then say my belting crack that was like 10 months of using the car the milleage around 20k and already have crack on the belting? shows how good is the hyundai quality.. 1 months after bought the car the capping of the battery is not close tightly when i receive the car so the battery water leak then they blame me for it. stupid to the max.., now they not doing anything with it. so i must live with it. service terrible horrible to the max! but the car engine is good. thats all i can say.

• SHANMUGAM on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Its all depends on whom and how is the driving skills. Though there are many (-) remarks, for me, I have been driving this car for almost a year now. Its gave me a good mileage as well as driving experience.Have been driving up and down KL-Malacca-Penang a few times. SO far so good. Easy parking. Thanks

• Johnny on Jul 06, 2019 at 9:37 pm

Good car to buy

• David on Jan 26, 2023 at 4:29 pm

Hi im looking module paid made Hyundai i10 for 2012