Honda unveils new turbocharged 1.6 litre race mill

Honda has announced the introduction of a new direct-injection turbocharged 1.6 litre mill to be plonked into a Civic, but don’t get too excited – the engine is a racing unit meant for the Civic taking part in the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

The HR412E, as it’s called, is a completely bespoke unit fully conforming to FIA regulations for the WTCC. Developed at Honda’s R&D centre in Tochigi, Japan, the engine has been delivered to the Honda Racing Team JAS workshop in Milan, Italy, where the Civic WTCC is being developed.

“The HR412E heralds a new generation of high performance racing engines from Honda. We believe the innovations that have led to this revolutionary engine will also lead to benefits beyond the race track, helping us to further increase the efficiency of our road car engines,” said Daisuke Horiuchi, WTCC Development Project Leader at Honda R&D.

Whether this will translate into turbocharging making its way into the company’s road-going cars like the supposed new Type R hatch being bandied about remains to be seen.

Meanwhile, the Civic WTCC is set to take part in three races this season, with ex-F1 driver Tiago Monteiro behind the wheel, starting at Suzuka in October. Honda is set to compete in the full FIA World Touring Car Championship in 2013.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• alah.. orang malaysia dah lama dah masuk turbo kat enjin honda.. apa ada hal…
    haha.. pomen malaysia lagi power dr pomen honda..

• isengard on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:32 pm

this is a direct injected + turbocharged engine.. not just turbocharging only.. :D

• Compilor on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm

1.Honda did produce turbo, with Honda City Turbo between year 1982 and 1986.
      2. Honda did bring the turbocharged NSX into the 1995 24 Hours of Le Mans.
      3. Honda did produce GDI engine in 2004 with Honda Stream Absolute (if you want to know about Honda’s GDI)

Sad for Honda since they can’t hire Malaysia’s pomen to be their engineers. Maybe Honda can’t pay enough for the world-class Malaysia’s pomen.

• rally_fan on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:17 pm

our local malaysian pomen build a factory team FIA spec. world touring car engine from scratch? I don’t think so.

• _xXx_ on Jul 30, 2012 at 6:02 pm

tengoklah sendiri brp ek ej turbo jual kat mudah.com.my, I x nk…

• JeremyNg on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:49 am

we bolt in turbo in almost all the engine BUT how reliability is it is still a mystery !! try imgaine that why manufacturer used so many hours and money to build a turbo engine ??!! while those mechanic jz bolt in a turbo in an engine and they think they are better than those manufacturer engineers

• Vincent Ang on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:17 am

You punya turbo masuk pertandingan antarabangsa derapa kali? Tak malu jaguh kampung cogoh buka mulut tanpa pengetahuan.

• kampung boy memang tu.. tau sikit cakap besar. tak tau malu langsung. nerlagak kat situ je la budak kampung yang tak maju.

• _xXx_ on Jul 31, 2012 at 3:13 pm

ello bang, bikin keta bawah pokok tu bahaya tau? Kena kilat je trus hangus ko ngan ek turbo ko tu….

• Hope it makes it into future Honda “passenger” car and not wtcc, jrcc or whatever

• beatnik on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:15 pm

T-VTEC?
    just curious how will the engine sound.. praaangg.. kepish..

• comrade on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm

should test it against CFE….??

• confused on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm

If this engine is proven on race track, then no doubt it will be plonked into the new Civic Type R.

If not successful enough, might as well scrap the Type R plan.

• honda have already been running its turbocharged engine in europe, albeit in diesel form through the excellent idtec 2.2 diesels…now they are bringing turbo to their petrol finally. Yup, honda is going to the downsizing route due to strict future europe’s emission regulations. Anyway, it will be great…finally, a small & efficient honda engine which you dont need to rev to make decent progress…Finally…

• Insight kaki on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:25 pm

If only they mate their Idtec’s to crv’s and saloons here, oh wait, it needs at least euro 4 diesel…boo hoo

• but sohc is suck

• damage digital on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:48 pm

wait until your dohc kena tapau with soch vtec.then u’ll know.

• sohc vtec is light years behind my 2.0TSI

• agree, sissy -i-vtec civic is jut for sissy driver. not masculine enough but also not feminine, lol

• Dean2 on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:00 am

tapau here n there..no wonder accident rate so high

• BeemerFreak on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:44 pm

High revving turbos from Honda? Come oen Honda lets show those hard headed asses at Toyota how it is done. Turbocharging the future

• alex chan on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:07 pm

better buy vios ma..high quality one..and prestige summore ah!

• my myvi can smoke civic anytime.

• _xXx_ on Jul 31, 2012 at 3:29 pm

oh u can but only when the civic is not moving…

• civic 2.0l = 1.8l, if 1.8l = 1.6l

my myvi turbo 1.5l ~ 1.9l plus light body, so i won woohoo

conclusion = don’t buy civic, only power on paper lol

• v-power on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Great news Honda…enough tree-hugging already! This is what fans are really waiting for…

Many are be dying to know what will lie under the hood…whether it’s the aforementioned turbo unit or a special VTEC + turbo cocktail (yum! yum!)…so all I want to say is…please make the Type-R, Honda…!

• So far behind the curve, vw tsi and bmw prince already occupy the forerunner space for a while now…

• thewheelman83 on Jul 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm

That explains why Chevy is pulling out of the WTCC at the end of the season, they can’t beat Honda expertise in developing engines. GO HONDA POWER!!!

• Astroguy on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Honda won F1 many times already maaaa…. How many times Hyundai or Kia won major world championship?

• kiahonda on Jul 31, 2012 at 6:40 am

why talk about hyundai and kia here?

• TurboMan!!! on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:53 am

Your point being?

What about toyota then?

Dude. U are getting desperate and it shows.

• yeah won many times f1
      also had massive recalls all over the world too due to part defects

• zippypolo on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Yeah Honda pls bring back the Turbo engine….i once own a Honda City Turbo II awesome little pocket rocket in those days…..

• forget it, it’s old enough to use, only brings eyesore to other drivers

• zippypolo on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Yeah Honda pls bring back the Turbo engine….i once own a Honda City Turbo II awesome little pocket rocket in those days

• RamboRamsey on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:48 am

1.2 i-vtec turbo unit for Civic. Yummeh.