2014 Honda Accord PHEV Plug-in Hybrid – full details!

You’ve seen the new Honda Accord it its full glory, now here’s the hybrid version that will go on sale early next year in America. No longer just a regular hybrid, the 2014 Honda Accord Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) Sedan can be charged via an external electric source (like your home wall socket, hence plug-in) and is powered by what Honda calls its first two-motor hybrid system. No IMA here.

The Earth Dreams hybrid system (click here for more on Earth Dreams) consists of a 2.0 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder Atkinson-cycle engine producing 137 hp and a 124 kW electric motor. Electric driving is supported by a 6.7 kilowatt-hour (kWh) lithium-ion battery, and total system output is 196 hp.

Honda points out that this figure is higher than those in the Toyota Prius Plug-In Hybrid, Chevrolet Volt and projected output of the Ford Fusion Energi plug-in hybrid.

The hybrid system allows power from the ICE to flow directly to the front wheels, power the generator to supply electrical propulsion or even charge the battery pack. Honda says that the system moves seamlessly between all-electric EV Drive, petrol-electric Hybrid Drive and direct Engine Drive. The car will always start as a pure EV and soldier on till there’s no more charge, and the i-VTEC comes to life.

The all-electric mode is expected to last between 16 to 24 km, while the total driving range is over 800 km. When in petrol-only mode, the Accord PHEV is expected to return one of the top EPA fuel economy ratings among mid-size sedans, and is also expected to earn an Enhanced AT-PZEV rating from the California Air Resources Board.

There’s more. The driver can choose “HV” mode, where the Accord acts as a conventional hybrid, blending petrol and electric power to maximise fuel efficiency. In “HV Charge” mode, the Accord blends petrol and electric power while also augmenting the battery charge level.

The Accord PHEV will feature an electric servo braking system similar to the setup on the Honda Fit EV, which allows for “exceptionally natural brake pedal feel” while extending the range over which the regenerative braking can take place.

Speaking of which, the Accord PHEV can be fully charged from a low-charge indication point in less than three hours using a 120-volt household electrical outlet, and in less than one hour using a 240-volt “Level-2” charger. A free HondaLink EV smartphone allows owners to monitor the charging state of the Accord.

Powertrain aside, the Accord body received further improvements in weight reduction, aerodynamic efficiency and rolling resistance in its PHEV transformation.

Weight reduction features include an all-aluminium front subframe, proprietary 17-inch forged aluminium wheels, aluminium brake pedal, aluminum hood, aluminum rear bumper beam and a tyre puncture repair kit in place of regular Accord’s spare wheel.

Aerodynamic advancements include a powertrain undercover, cabin floor undercovers, rear decklid spoiler and special wheel covers. The PHEV rolls with less friction, thanks to low rolling-resistance 225/50 tyres and low-friction wheel bearings.

Lastly, the Accord PHEV also has an Acoustic Vehicle Alerting System (AVAS) to audibly warn pedestrians when it is approaching in EV Drive mode. If you’ve ever been passed by an electric car, you’ll know that this is vital. Wonder how Honda’s AVAS sounds like, though.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Richard on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:50 am

Nice Car.
    Hopefully Honda Malaysia can bring in the car soon.
    Understand that Hybrid car is 0% duty (am i right?)
    Nevertheless, our Hybrid car selling price is higher than Taiwan (eg. Prius & Prius C).
    Honda Malaysia, UMW, TCM and etc pls reduce your margin.

• _xXx_ on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Not duty free, i think it’s 5%.
      Distributors’ margin is not the main factor for high price.
      There’s another group of ppl contributing to high price. Guess who? Sorry, no prizes for correct answer coz I was almost sucked dry 40k a few years back…

• beng chan on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:49 pm

no duty but still need to feed crony for AP.

• Dear accord..phew.. I thought u gonna come out lame like the camry. Well done! At least something better this time.. and your hybrid looks better than the none.

• oko028 on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:58 am

OMG…front looks hideous!!!!
    Interior iand technology is nice

• lawak on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:36 pm

You’re right. Front is unexpectedly ugly, but the rear looks normal.

• Bird face and Camry rear.. Serious.. if you take take the toyota badge and put on this, no 1 will realize that it’s a honda.

• sleepwalkerz on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Only 1 word….ugly..

• c~two on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Lets do a survey
    Who like the front bumper thumb up
    who dislike it thumb down

• Alpha on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:32 pm

I like the front,but the blue stripe on the grille makes it look a bit weird.

• It looks like Luxgen 5 =_=

• Gianny on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Well Done, Honda, THE New Hybrid, PHEV. It sounds very attracting n wonderful. Hope when come to M’sai
    the price is right. How about the revise NAP? Hope the 3 taxs; Import, Duty n Sales Taxes ??

• Jimmy on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:29 pm

2-L hybrid but at RM150OOO is like the taxES still fully exists.

• a. rahman on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:20 pm

i dont care much about design.
    i really like the technologies underneath it.
    save fuel some more

• blue-traveler on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Hi Danny Tan, quick question; Since this is a 2L hybrid, I’m guessing that it should able to grace our roads then. As the current “tax benefit” is for 2L and below hybrid only… right? Or am I wrong?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 07, 2012 at 3:19 pm

You are right about the 2.0 litre limit. Last year, the government announced that incentives given to hybrid cars have been extended till 31 December 2013

• Jimmy on Sep 07, 2012 at 6:06 pm

If the hybrid version has not much additional features especially safety, and the only advantage is fuel economy and a tiny RM10OOO cheaper price tag, the people should opt for the normal 2L version.

• looks like a console controller on the steering. Did we need that much. Feel like not comfortable if we need to take care from mis-press it

• Josh Ling on Sep 07, 2012 at 4:00 pm

it’s not a pretty car, but definitely more “characterful” than the normal petrol variant, and i believe if it is sold here, it will be a hot-selling model, coz that look is really unique!! and people these days love their rides to be a little unique and outstanding (different from normal cars)….

• Kevin Lee on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:23 pm

It’s still better looking than a Camry and would qualify for tax exempt. Definitely something to look forward

• adam lee on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:59 pm

DISAPPAOINTED

• Sam Loo on Sep 07, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Anytime mechanically superior to Sonata, plus much nicer looking too

• Carl Wong on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:01 pm

I think it’s superior in every way, not just ‘mechanically’, and ‘electrically’ too :)……

• danedz on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Love the interior looks especially on the dual display features and all the gadgetery debuts…hopefully CRV will follow soon..

• Carl Wong on Sep 08, 2012 at 12:38 am

Amazing piece of Engineering. First 2 Motor Drive System, Atkinson Cycle engine, with Lithium Ion battery plug in Full Hybrid from Honda :]…………!!! 1000-1500km + per tank of fuel…….!!! Beats Prius finally….

• “The all-electric mode is expected to last between 16 to 24 km, while the total driving range is over 800 km”, none of it mentioning 1000-1500km.

• Carl Wong on Sep 09, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I assume 800km per tank (same as Prius) which is already great is without additional charging or plugging it in? It’s a plug in hybrid……..Plug it in more. Theoretically if you travel less than 24km per day from full charge you would not even use a single drop of fuel. Anything is possible, don’t limit yourself…………………..

• Earth Dreams on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:18 am

It’s more fair to compare this Accord PHEV with Toyota Prius PHV (in terms of engineering wise).

Toyota Prius PHV is already in the market. I think Honda is still lagging behind Toyota.

• Dear Paul,
    Will this PHEV 2.0L Accord or a normal hybrid 2.0L Accord(with IMA ?)be coming to M’sia next year ? If the PHEV does arrive, do we have the infrastructure to do the plug-in charging at our homes ? Any special hardware or gadget that we need to purchase (if it do not come with the car)to facilitate the home charging ?

• Kyler Laird on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:29 am

137 HP + 124 kW * 1.34 HP/kW = 303 HP, yet “total system output is 196 hp”? Is there some serious derating imposed?

• Weng Onn on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Probably because peak electric motor power and peak petrol engine power do not occur at the same RPM.

• publicENEMY on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:50 pm

when will accord 2013 arrive in malaysia? how much? any insiders?

• Whatever……Honda The Power Of Dream…
    you are the best…..