JPJ to send out Ops Selamat summonses this month

Last month, the authorities conducted Ops Selamat, which – unlike its Ops Sikap predecessor – took into account crime prevention, not just road safety. Ops Selamat was held from August 12 to 28 and some 5,487 road traffic offences were recorded during that period, with the highest number of cases (2,616) being traffic light offences.

The Road Transport Department (JPJ), which played a part in the operations, will send out Ops Selamat 2012 summon notices to traffic offenders by the end of this month. JPJ director-general Datuk Solah Mat Hassan said the notices were being processed by the police enforcement division.

“We have proof of offences being committed in the form of photographs and will be issuing summonses,” he said at JPJ’s Aidilfitri celebrations earlier this month. Solah added that anyone who failed to comply with the summon notices could be blacklisted.

Should one reach your mailbox, it can be paid at a JPJ office near you, irrespective of where the offence was commited. How are you feeling? Confident or fingers crossed?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rapidshifter on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

nice pic you have, wonder if I was in it…

• Basikal Cabuk on Sep 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm

To those RealMoron and BodohSombong who really love to jump que via emergency lanes…it is about time for you to receive your love letters.

• nabill on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:30 am

if u commited a traffic offence thn its only fair u pay for it…..bcos thats the only way we can be alittle bit civilized…

• carnoisseur on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:39 am

well, if you “Kena” then just pay up la

• P Singh on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:05 am

What about the faulty camera’s that keep on flashing? I was at Sentul the other day, I did not beat the light but it it flashed at me several times. I see so many cameras doing that also.

How to dispute with the police? What to do?

• Adoyai on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:08 am

but most of us will wait to the last minute then ask for discount and complaint for long queues etc

• alldisc on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:09 am

janji ditepati

• TL Square on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:29 am

Keeping my fingers crossed especially on the days when I had to use PLUS during the festive season! Anyway, if “kena” just have pay up. Period!

• car driver on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:43 am

i’d rather go to court with them

• Mackers on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:22 am

why so late one meh

• Yellow-car on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:22 am

I thought it was mentioned that there will not be any summonses issued during this period, only system testing..? ALso if the AES system is not to entrap/catch offenders but to promote road safety at dangerous stretches of road, why not publish ALL 800 AES camera locations?

• goBetong on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:42 am

Why bother to pay? Wait a few years, JPJ will run a “Raya” campaign and allow you to settle the offence cheaply.

I just settled 20 years of fines (primarily expired parking coupon within PJ) with MBPJ at RM10.00 per offence. It would had cost me a lot more if I had paid earlier!

• Expatriate VN on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:50 am

This is JPJ’s “expertise”! Collect monies out of thin paper work…….

• messi on Sep 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm

They should implement a Standard Operation Procedures (SOP) and issue the summon within 7 days from the actual summan date. Any summon beyond this date is invalid.

They know how to pinalize the offender for late payment with high fine but taking their own sweet time to issue the summan notice that can not be recalled by the offender.

This will enable the public to recall the incident and file a complaints if needed.

• are they buying time to “sort” the VIP samans?

• Sabahman on Sep 13, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Does JPJ send summons to Thai drivers now? The photo is from Bangkok.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 13, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Ah, an eagle-eyed observer. Yes, indeed, the photo is from Bangkok, taken “from the skywalk at the Ratchaprasong junction,” in Danny’s own words. Great file pic for stories as such, doncha think? :)

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 13, 2012 at 3:21 pm

… then later they would announce the amount RM that they collected which is more or meet the target of so and so RM. By that they consider it a success. Next year they would predict the amount to be more than a certain amount of RM, by which the RM is predicted to increase so as to define success. In other words, the more the traffic offenses the better. This is business as usual…

Please JPJ, instead of boasting the increasing number of traffic offenses, please tell us how many successful road safety/awareness campaign/education programs that you have conducted instead. Or make it compulsory for the offenders to attend a half-day workshop/refresher course on road safety instead for the amount of money paid for the offenses.

• Sabahman on Sep 13, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Nice picture. It is indeed the Rachaprasong junction, opposite the Erawan shrine. I noticed the bus first. Skytrain pillars. Too many motorbikes. Thai Military Bank on the right. No way this could be KL. :=)

• _xXx_ on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Of course not KL la…our motorcyclists veri obedient wan….they queue 2×2 behind car. They won’t squeeze all the way to the front…they queue behind stop line wan…

• _xXx_ on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm

helllllo all the alongs…there’re new places for you to paste your ad. On the lense plz…

• Ahlong on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:05 pm

A regular red light beater and que jumper is calling for ahlong help.

• p.charlie on Nov 11, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Highway cameras . I wonder whether some of the cameras are fit to function .I have notised sometime the camera flush after the vehicle pass through. If the camera flush after the vehicle passed the camera, the vehicle may be the target.I am not sure whether the highway cameras does a perfect task.We hope the next vehicle on road who is within the speed limit fall as a victim