AES gaffe – speedster caught, only it’s the wrong car!

The camera never lies, so it goes, and it didn’t, in this case. Only thing is, they got the wrong car. Eh, what?

According to news reports, an AES (Automated Enforcement System) camera recently caught a speedster doing the dirty in Perak, and duly slapped him with a ticket for speeding.

Alan Leong, a manager with an electronics company, received the summons on October 18, which stated that his vehicle was captured going at 145 km/h at Km 204.6 of the North-South Expressway at 12.34 pm on October 10.

The ticket indicated that Leong, who drives a black Toyota Harrier with plate number PKR 181, has to pay the compound fine of RM300 by December 11, failing which he’d have to appear at the magistrate’s court in Taiping on January 7 next year.

All good and fine (no pun intended), except that the vehicle caught speeding as in the ticket was a white Toyota Camry, with the number plate PKR 1811.

Leong took the matter to the local JPJ office in Penang, bringing along his vehicle and pointing out the glaring error in the AES summons to JPJ officers. Apparently, none of the officers knew how to deal with the matter – they gave him the address of the RTD director-general in Putrajaya and told him to write in to explain his case, the reports go.

A rather riled Leong told a press conference in Bukit Mertajam on Sunday that apart from writing to the RTD chief, he has also lodged a police report. At the event, Padang Lalang assemblyman Tan Cheong Heng said that it the clear case of human error was committed by the AES control centre in Perak.

Tan said the centre, which obtained Leong’s particulars from the RTD’s database, should have checked and compared the colour and make of the vehicle before sending out the summons notice. After all, doing so would have ensured that it was all black and white with this ‘one’ (again, no pun intended!).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hello on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Suddenly came an assemblyman, you are my hero.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • yeahh..all bullshit. trying to pick the right moments to gain votes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 76
    • Jimmy on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:57 pm

As I said, it is my mistake but no sorry to you, you yourself must take all the effort to rectify my mistake, go to see my boss in KL to explain. Most likely my boss will not entertain you as he is so busy with big people. You are a nobody. Only GE I will look at you one second. Will you help me if I have never visited your house even during CNY or Raya Aidifitri? I know a lot of people still will.

I want to make money because that is my sole purpose. I know you are busy so I deliberately make mistakes and some of you will just pay because you have no time to argue with me and you know even you hire a lawyer you will still lose the case to me. So kuai kuai give me RM500.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 7
    • _xXx_ on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:00 am

sabar…everyone. I think we have a more important issue – end of the world 21 Dec 2012. Be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • uwa student on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:06 am

Just want to shRe my exp when i was in AUSTRALIA for 4 years..they established AES for long time ago b4 now came in to MALAYSIA.Actually the system is good whereby it can teach the driver to respect more on pedestrian n other vehicles bcoz thy get used with the limit speed(60kmh at most area in city n suburbs)..when iwas there,i got a few summons due to speed limit which they charged aud75 for each 5kmh exceeded from any limit speed…the ticket will arrived at home along with a form attached which u can challenge if the camera caught a wrong car instead of yours..so i hope this can be an example for the policemen here to continuously improve the system and be justice to the all road user in this country..

• malaysian citizen on Nov 12, 2012 at 9:12 am

there is a lot of example for the AES system. They can refer to any of them. but you see here, (this is my head opinion) i don’t think their intention is to educate the driver and to reduce accident/death. their way of doing look like they want money all the way. if they do want reduce accident/death, the road need a lot of repair and renovation. and they should reduce car tax so we can buy ‘safe car’ to guard our safety ofcoz.

• Kokopai on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Both are still Toyotas anyway.. lol… Btw, I was onced received a summon for an offense I did not make – traffic obstruction in JB, while at the time of the offense my car was in my garage in Batu Pahat. A quick check at the police shows that it was a typo.. As in above story, my car has 3 digit reg number while the offense was made by a 4 digit reg number with the 1st 3 digit same as mine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • KillBox1Alpha on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:24 pm

So what can we learn from this?…. Get a 4 digit number nect time…hahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Black Dog on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:37 pm

I had almost the same experience last year. My car was summoned for an accident in Seremban. A motorcyclist fell during a hit and run and he reported my car’s registration number but black in colour where else my car was white. The Sergeant there called and I told him it’s mistaken identity. I refused to go down to Seremban to report. When the insurer enquired, I signed and acknowledged I was not involved. I don’t know what happened after that.

• Tazzy on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:45 am

Better single digit, then no matter what they won’t summon you cause you’ll be a VIP or crony or both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • oh well…if they can mistook a Toyota for another, i pity those Audi owners!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Dont blame them lar, because there are thousands of summons to process, makin them confuse in between black and white lor…. ;P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 81
  • Hadi75 on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Got press conference…YB must come la….tunjuk muka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • henryee on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Why they wanna catch those car plate starts with alphabets “PKR”???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
  • Darren on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I’m pretty concern as well as I’ve recently got flashed. I was cruising at below 110km and in a sudden a car overtook me from the right lane to my front. Who will they summon? Will find out soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • the aes camera took picture other car not your’s

• frenzy on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:28 am

Malaysian style, why don’t we catch both of them?
        Untung kao kao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • flat_tire on Nov 07, 2012 at 1:50 am

probably the car to your left.. that have nothing to do with both of you..

• awg1031 on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:53 pm

but penang umno perkasa likes AES what..siap demo nak AES lagi..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • Just a Thought on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:02 pm

AES may be perfect but humans are humans… and Humans err… I was once given a parking summon due to wrongful parking. So, I paid the summon but after paying, I discovered the receipt reflect an incorrect car registration plate number. Thus, I went back to have the receipt corrected to only discovered the original summon wrote the incorrect number in the first place…

• paulinetan on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Shit just got real. In fact, more on the way, I presume. Blame it on human error, they say.

• azrul on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:09 pm

those who hold the number plate “PKR”, “DAP” or “PAS” please be careful

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
    • I hope JPJ still has some stock of “BN”, “MCA” or “G 1 M” series plate number. It can avoid the driver from being summoned by AES.

• kemio on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:12 pm

oh boy… plate number PKR 181

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • achmadhendra on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:14 pm

PKR plate. thats why kena saman. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • plate no. PKR..what a coincidence

nevertheless, AES was a feeding tool to fatten up the cronies

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
  • Automated Earning System

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 3
  • Megane on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Haiyaaa , i think JPJ should open bidding for new car plate numbers starting with UMNO … sure safe punya no AES traffic tickets …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • nazgul on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:37 pm

i think bacause PKR already start to get 30000 sign to reject the AES

http://www.sinarharian.com.my/nasional/pkr-sasar-30-000-tandatangan-tolak-aes-1.100996

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • woody on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:41 pm

High tech system running by monkeys? what happened to the zoo management?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • every system have their pro and cons.. they should setup a respond team when implement it(AES).. the problem in our country is they(gov’t) do it, no easy solution to solve any problem.. the easiest way is doing press conference after tired being push around without solution.

• MoFaz on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:47 pm

i had a different issue last time. the MPPJ sent me a warning notice to pay up the summons which i never receive. if they didn’t mentioned the vehicle as Naza Ria, i would never know that they’ve got a wrong vehicle, because my car is actually a Proton Waja.
    that means, another vehicle is using my registration number and committed a parking offence in PJ. so i have a feeling that we would see many cases of fake plate numbers, quite soon. and it would be hard to distinguish if the fake is the same model and colour as the ‘original’, unless the AES camera could really zoom in on the road tax sticker…well, it’s said that AES could also show the driver’s face clearly.
    no doubt that AES is better, but somehow i see that the old method of shoot and ‘tahan’ at roadblock has certain advantage in this issue compared to AES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Fredo on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:28 pm

agreed. many will use fake reg. no especially when travelling on a highway….

• icymint on Nov 11, 2012 at 12:22 am

My dad had sort of a similar situation. He uses his IC number to check on summons when he discovered he was being fined for not wearing a helmet on a motorbike with registration number PDX5520 caught in a kampung somewhere in Kedah back in 2005. But the thing.is, my dad DIDN’T own any bikes and was NEVER in Kedah at that time! Adding to.the frustration, PDX 5520 was his old CAR… A Nissan Terano!!!

• icymint on Nov 11, 2012 at 12:38 am

Adding salt to the wound, those fellas don’t know how to deal with those issues and only know how to ask the innocent public to write letters to someone “high-up-there”. To save the hassle, my dad just paid the summon. When I got to know abt it, he has already paid it.
      Can anyone imagine if there’re so many people who’re like my dad who pays the summon even though they’re innocent just to avoid the hassle… How much would the “related dept” has earned through fake registration numbers?!

• Steve on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:50 pm

AES has become the biggest joke. Does the govt really put initiative to reduce the accident? There are so many reasons causing accident. I think the slow stop and start jam in highway causing more accident. Speedy is not the reason. If AES set up at area where speed limit is 30km/h or 60km/h. I think almost 9/10 cars will get caught. this is more a money squeezing system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • MoFaz on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:26 pm

slow stop and go might still have accident, but many are minor accidents. but accident caused by speeding is a major issue which usually kill many other innocent life. to reduce speeding is to reduce the killing too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Our jaguh kampung No. 2 car with low safety standard increase the chances to get kill in accidents, same also for other make with minimum safety feature!!!!!

Not only speed kill, unsafe car aggravate the rate of fatality!!!! This is the “secret” our Gov tried not interested to mentioned because any increase in safety requirement, it will reduce cronies profits, or can be use as excuse to install crony’s AES to generate more income!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • MoFaz on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:00 pm

safety features is not always the decision factor for Malaysians when they choose a car. within the same price range is Preve, Vios and City and many choose Vios because of brand, rather than Preve which has 4 airbags, REES structure, ABS, EBD, ESC, and TC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
          • Joe Radzif on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:45 am

lampu belakang Preve buruk…

he he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Hahahaha on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:38 am

come on man, even with high standards of safety, most malaysians will drive like they own the road. Yeah its safer for you but does it safe for others when you collide with them due to your own fault? first thing first is our mentality to change you can drive a car without airbags /EBD/ABS but drive carefully maybe youll be alright. Drive a full safety featured vehicle and drive like mad man jatuh gaung mati juga, worst still if you hit others in the process and that fella dies too.

AES is just a deterrent, enforcement is another matter (which we are lacking at the moment).

• Later on, our Govt will explain,
      “First of all, we need to collect fund using AES. Then we have fund to put on initiatives to reduce accidents…

fyi, AES is Automated Earning System.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Paulz on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:34 pm

I would agreed to your statement but looking at the fact the M’sia drivers become more daring than Eric Pastrana or Ken Block…the busy traffics is seriously in out of control. On other hands, he Feds should study AES component system carefully and know how to implement it on the roads for safety concerns instead of tendering works to top private companies for easy cash flows.

P.S The idiots shouldn’t have install AES camera near to the hospital. What a joke of the day…

• KK_99 on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:05 pm

once it’s human intervention , there there are always error !!! unless you leave the plate recognition to computer vision , but it does not mean there are zero error !
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xhBpdHQK2s&feature=related
    please update the AES system , else close shop !

• bhloy on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:10 pm

haha, joke ar?

• After driving in penang in these few days, i think penang ppl really needs aes to educate them. They are really suck and @#%&*)( on the road. No wonder penang gov dnt want aes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 15
    • Karim on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:16 pm

baru tau ka? most of the penang drivers r $uck!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
      • baru tahu bro..ni 2 3 hari ada keje kat penang.peng, mcm haram driver.mmg patut ada aes kat sini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • Whynot on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Accident happens everywhere! But the main cause of accident is the failure of noticing the important of other drivers behind you. You suddenly turned without signal lights warning and stopping suddenly to turn left or right or simply driving slowly in the fast lane. Others may includes using handphone, loosing concentration while chit-chatting too much and search for something within the car while driving. We should be very careful with vehicles in front of us while in busy towns as most drivers looses their head and jump queue without early signalling at all. And is not just in Penang only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • things you mentioned happens everywhere..but the very poor driving attitude is the one that penang ppl need to rectify. reckless, selfish, uncivilized driving style…perfhhhh..very annoying!

sikap kurang ajar spt driver Singapore yg drive di malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Life is getting more difficult for us drivers on the road. See! an obvious wrongful summon also you have to write and explain to the RTD Director General of PUTRAJAYA! AES is actually going after your RM300, The more summons the more RM to share. Hopefully Leong can get reimbursement for his petrol and stamp postage la, beside his running around!

• Megane on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Funny isn’t , clear cut blunder like this , JPJ DG has to look into it

• Expatriate VN on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:28 pm

To this goon, you are guilty until proven innocent …….

• Whynot on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Summons does not get rid of the Devil’s. It induces the Devil’s. They had monies and lots of monies to kills and kills again. Unless JPJ and the Govt is stern with a straight heads instead of a narrowed head like banning those crazy drivers – (Let said – 6 serious driving offences in a year). You will see more dead peoples in news to come. I strongly urge these people to get serious rather than going for the $$,$$$,$$$,$$!

• funky munky on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:49 pm

the pun was clearly intended! you can’t run away from this one!

• inderaloka on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Satu lagi projek kerajaan Baziran Nasional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • I wish to see what the RTD director-general in Putrajaya say about this case. Anthony, please do update us if, IF the RTD director-general does reply. Thanks

• Xefron on Nov 06, 2012 at 4:58 pm

ok PKR number plate.again no pun intended.

• These people just want money. They do not even bother to have an SOP to handle this type of case.

• polo saga on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:12 pm

damn government just want our money only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Expatriate VN on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:17 pm

AES – giant ATM machines for cronies!!!!!

They like $$$$$ too much …… can’t differentiate between Camry & Harrier …. huh, huh, ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • totti on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Leong is stupid and need to explain this to the DG.

Just let them look for you and show them their mistake instead of going to explain.

you don’t have to prove it to them and let them prove it to you. Simple.

Why worry for thing that you never do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Hahahaha on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:44 am

some people are just worried when they got summoned and some (may be like you) only wait to the last minute to settle the summon and hoping for discount

• _xXx_ on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:27 pm

why would mr leong need to run here n there, busy for others’ mistake? Can’t he just make a police report and let the Police handle the case?

• Whynot on Nov 06, 2012 at 8:36 pm

You pay summons, case close. You object, then runs around different department by yourself to get rid of your good name. What is this happening to the so called efficient system? BOO XXXX!

• confused on Nov 06, 2012 at 5:40 pm

I don’t understand the “one” pun.

• Xefron on Nov 07, 2012 at 1:10 pm

It means that it may have sounded like a joke, but they didn’t intend for it to be a joke.

• As a proponent to any system that value human life and promoting discipline, I’m totally in favor for AES.

The reason why:

1: Eliminate police’s discretion (ahem ahem)
    2: Malaysians in general not really law abiding, many would not hesitate not to stop at red lights
    3: Over 60% of death accidents contributed by motorcyclist made us top chart with 23.8 death every 100,000 population. Britain the best with 3.8
    4. The black spots was identified and good to have AES cameras and we can avoid accidents

Having said that the implementation of AES was crooked at best and revenue-making at worst if we consider the realpolitik of this system. WHY?

1: DO AES address motorcyclist behavior that make up of over 60% of the stats?

2: The existence of police’s hide and seek as reiterated by Deputy Home Minister is the best reason why the AES is flaw.

3: Law enforcement is STATE matter not a MCA-cronies otherwise it will jeopardize the system, the discipline and above all the VERY OBJECTIVE of AES. RTD must fully undertake the system, the procurement and the implementation of AES

4: Do they reveal the stats that the black spots is really black? WHich country in the world that implement at over 831 at one time? Why not we run 14 first, see the result and compared the stats with our record and implement it later? 90 countries have different problems; ours due to motorcyclist which is over 60% and we must address uniquely to ours.

AES yes not Asymmetrical Enrichment-for cronies Speedtrap gadgets. 30kmh before schools at all time is ridiculous and ill-intention, Mr Kong Cho Ha.

• _xXx_ on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:32 pm

issue here is – how to make sure that license/number plate mounted on each vehicle IS the real one

• aku benci motor on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:40 pm

i agree..we should ban all motorcycles and make cars cheaper,,so damn irritating those motorbikes..like mosquitos on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Are you so naive to think that there are no clever ladies & gentlemen in the team in-charge of planning/implementing this AES? It is all possible that many, not all, of the things happening around us are deliberately planned that way (share market, insurance, inflation, politics, business). Do we think all cases published in newspaper are as straightforward as they appear to be?

• no job on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:40 am

“30kmh before schools at all time is ridiculous and ill-intention” <– agreed bro!

kalo cuti sekolah hujung tahun 2 bulan, pun kene 30kmh jugak ke?

at night also 30kmh? weii..budak sekolah tu tidao kat rumah la weii..

to me, AES is needed but JPJ/RTD need to consider all aspects before fully implementing AES.

• dass G on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:40 pm

This is purely ridiculous!
    Wasting time and money explaining it to them.
    This kinda of ignorances should claim compensation in Court.
    Tho the Courts fully under the G.
    Hais, this is not a free world we’re living in.

• Carlos on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:29 pm

After GE one or two companies will be awarded a common REGISTRATION LICENCE PLATE like any countries in this world BUT Malaysia.

I’m in favor to common plate like EU or USA with many information and only issued by RTD. Why we need private? If a number plate have many information, i.e BIG NUMBER 1-999; SMALL FONT INFO: date of registration, OWNER LICENSE NUMBER or even chip (chip-wise is good but will add up more cost) we can reduce car thief and fake reg-plate that’s common issue now.

After GE13, whether you like it or loathe it, the cost of car ownership will hike tremendously, folks.

Public transport is the answer and we’ll no damn to traffic regulation if we embrace public transport. Motorcyclist need to be more sensible and respect the law. Bigger vehicles too, must be more considerate to smaller road users.

AES is a testimonial of chaotic nature of our country. In Malaysia law-breakers or criminal is too prevalence and the guys like Michael Chia and many involved in black money links.

We need Singapore model in governing this country. If this country run by honest guys in uniform or in suits we’ll enjoy life better.

• Jimmy on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Do you think Penang is starting to follow the tracks of Singapore? If yes, please vote wisely.

• _xXx_ on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:55 pm

really? they got sex bribery case involving 2 top govt servants lately….but at least both caught and case not covered up.

• AripSon on Nov 06, 2012 at 7:31 pm

clear case of human error was committed by the AES control centre in Perak!

When/how exactly human interference can be committed or did happened to this particular case of Alan Leong? Shouldn’t AES is an AUTOMATED system! This is a clear-cut-bright-in-the-sun-daily-based ROBBERY!

Just imagine, the total system cost RM700million. By averaging RM300 per summon, AES operators must issue an average of 2.33million summons just to achieve cost-payback!!! Any offenders delays their payments – then the compound increases – then only it is UNTUNG!

Ask yourself this one question, if no ones breaks the law as expected by AES operators/government, or ppl behave pretty damn well on the roads for the coming years out fear of AES, would AES operators achieve the targeted amount!???

If not, then will the AES is just another “Gajah Puteh” in the making!?

• i hate this camera

• no job on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:44 am

vios’ driver will definitely hate AES sbb driver2 vios ni bila pegang steering dia perasan mcm dia bawak camry 2.4. hahahha..memecut tak hingat. da la kereta mcm sampan.

• ada vios yang baik. tapi hampeh ni terutamanya vios j yang dah ditanggal sticker “j” nya. poyo giler kat jalan raya

• DArkerMarker on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:43 pm

wasted so much money on the so=called high tech equipment….

worst of all, still make mistake, and caused ppl problem…Did the Govt buy the camera from Bangaladesh???

Smells like a bunch of cronies that care nothing but their enriching their own pockets.

Satu lagi BN project….

• bergh on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:48 pm

most accidents that caused casualties happened at state roads,not highways..then why the heck almost half of the cameras are located at highways????

• matrxe on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:53 pm

doesnt change the fact the director or owner AES still bound to make millions and they dont give a damn about this guy getting the wrong ticket. but the kerani that keyed in the data, working on measly <2K salary sure kene hantam kaw2. life is like that.

• Should rename to Automated Suckiing System

• Anand on Nov 06, 2012 at 10:57 pm

What’s the problem. You know to speed than be prepared to pay. There’s nothing wrong if any typo error. But peoples like to find fault. I travel ti JB every week and drive more than 140km/h but if got summon than it’s my mistake. Grow up guys. Nothing in this world is free. JPJ has announced the location of the cameras. Just slow down there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • flat_tire on Nov 07, 2012 at 2:05 am

Ameno Electronic Side-income..

• Carlos on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:26 am

Anyone, please advice me on these scenarios:

1: How AES camera catch the motorcyclist if he/she wear full-face helmet?

2: Is AES capable of catch motorcyclist cum traffic light beater?

3: If LHD-cars were caught, do the AES camera mechanism will blank the left side of the car too?

4: I AES camera will practice selective persecution or simply catch and automatically send the photo to the owner indiscriminately? What happen when PM ride beating traffic lights or even RTD Beta Tegap and ATES’?

5: Is AES was inked in very fair and no lopsided agreement that favor the private concessionaires? The companies already made profit since the prices quoted to both German and Australian companies already INFLATED before AES was kicked off.

• James on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:23 am

Automatic Endangering System.. people notice the camera.. than Jam Break.. cause massive accident.. way to go Govt.. thumbs up for the extra accidents.

• you brake because you want to slow down to speed limit. not because you notice the camera.

• matured man on Nov 07, 2012 at 8:48 am

AES autobot transformed the harrier to a camry.. Transformer malaysian boleh version.

• There should be an AES at every traffic light to catch those pesky motorcyclist that loves to run the red lights.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 07, 2012 at 11:07 am

Apart from AES, other crony biz in waiting from this porno president party is next on the list may include Health Insurance for all. Proposed compulsory 10% of income regardless you are healthy or from minor to serious case like pening kepala only, ass itchy, cirit-birit, get operation, accidents, get cancer, etc.

Then the porn president make a case gov don’t have monies to shoulder the health cost for the people.

Then onward,

1) If you have alternative existing company or private health insurance, PA, or the like, this cronies biz also don’t care!

2) Look like will bring a lot of biz to private hospital, and make gov hospital look “redundancy”!

3) After 55, you are not covered in this scheme!

So, there are still blind supporter up there agreed with this AES system. On the surface, the objective to reduce accidents is good, but under the hand of cronies, then this AES turn into crony monopoly biz plan and act as giant ATM for them to collect monies.

So, upcoming compulsory 10% income contribution for the same porno president health insurance is another gravy train for them to suck people monies like there is no tomorrow, provided they still exist after GE 13. Please vote them out to save our pocket from the prying eye of this cronies.

• Remember, all ur voices in this forum for sure dont like AES at all. So, u all seems so sure that this AES will change new G in next GE.

But when the next GE shows that the current G is still maintain, r u showing that majority people are stupid and only people in this forum r so much clever?

I just notice 95% people in this forum r bias to Pakatan. All effort from current G u all dont like. Even give 1 1/2 bonus also complaining coz wasting tax payers money, only Gov setor benefit that. There r many people outside there are ‘atas pagar’ n pro-G.

Just remember ur voice does not represent all Malaysian. For me, if u all dint break the law on the road, for sure no saman (neglect about human error, only small percentage). People who complaining the AES are the traffic offenders, many time kene saman ekor. If we take out this AES, it will benefit traffic offenders.

For me, just revised back the speed limit at certain roads. Others r OK. Singaporean and Thailand people also complaining bout this, but later the results will change dramatically and they understand the real situation. Coz AES also can caught mat rempit racing at night.

Bout cronies, when it is related to the current G, u will voice up non stop. But when cronies related to state G like Penang, Selangor…all this people keep quite coz they said that is normal business. Even the private sector company u all currently working also got cronies to ur vendors and big boss/director get extra money from it doesnt matter Malay or Chinese company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Gotta give credits where it’s due.

I believe the AES system is good but it is only as good as the people behind it. This is perfect case of how silly JPJ is, when its clearly their error, it is the victim that needs to clean up their mess. It’s not even funny, and so friggin troublesome to need to go Putrajaya, write in and stuffs, WTF.

Two issues I see with AES that needs fixing are speed limit and customer service. As u said, speed limit needs to be reviewed and made uniformed (sekejap 50, sekejap 70, sekejap 60 at some section, WTF).

Then, there’s the customer service. How lazy of the JPJ staffs to expect the victim go through all the trouble, they think people so free is it? They are paid to make errors and tell off the victim to clean up their mess? Wow.

• AlvinNg on Nov 07, 2012 at 12:36 pm

U think that if the same G still win the GE, it is majority? Well, you better study the current election system. That statement make you so naive.

And also this article point out that guy didn’t break law but still get summons. And you think that the ppl who complaining are traffic offenders make you so prejudice. Can I say that you r the AES company director for supporting this? See, it is stupid statement, dont u think.

You say that when it is related to current G, we think it is cronies. But that is the fact, go explore bout this. Check who is main share holder of those company.

• As I mentioned, doesnt matter in BN or Pakatan, cronies always exist. A reason I hate BN is cronies thing. But when Pakatan have cronies, everyone pretending nothing happen. Doesnt mean I say cronies is legal, but u all only complain if BN have cronies. Every G is the same doesnt matter Pakatan or BN, just different style only and how they cover it. It is how my company business is totally down due to cronies issue at Penang, the company closed-related to Penang G will get the tender.

Now a people complain that they caught the wrong person for the AES, izzit representing 40% of total summons? Like what JPJ said, if any problem with the summon, just go with the JPJ and said the summon is not yours. They will reviewing on that and the guy no need to pay. This AES not 100% effective, sometimes got human error like what we do in our working life. But don’t blame AES not so effective at all.

Better share with you, my father past away in an accident coz of somebody drive fast at midnight, hit behind, my father’s car crashed but the person hit the car just run away. That’s the reason I feel AES should exist. If you feel what I feel, I appreciate that.

Remember this statement, AES purpose is to reduce ‘fatal accident’ due to overspeed, not accident. Accidents can happen in many factors.

P.S. : Im not BN or Pakatan guy. I just made decision not too bias to any party. Rules is rules. If get caught just pay the penalty. Where the money goes that will be diff story. In the end, less death from the accident. People for sure drive slower than before after allocate all 800++ AES in M’sia, less fatal accident.

• Hahahaha on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:02 pm

well said bro, I feel for you cause I have been in similar situation before.

• tokmoh on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Oi, you tok kok easy laa

You think “They will reviewing on that and the guy no need to pay”, simple like that? No read article? That guy told to ‘pay’ with cost of petrol, toll, parking etc, then waste time, annual leave, etcetcetc, simply because of JPJ’s error?

You go TGI Friday’s, the waiter wrongly billed you another table’s bill that’s 10X what you eat, then waiter ask you fly to USA, go write to their HQ’s directors and blabla, you feel stupid or not?

• if pr win ge, so it is majority? stupid la bro. like saying if bn win ge, its not fair, not majority, stupid election, etc. if pr win, its very fair, all ppl like pr, its majority.
        so i can stupidly concluded that pr just need to keep stupid quiet, no matter what they do, bn will win bcos bn can manipulate the ge.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 07, 2012 at 2:00 pm

This is not a matter of stupidity on the part of majority, but the issue raised here is minority elite cronies squeeze on the majority!

• Hahahaha on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:05 pm

theres nothing to squeeze if youve done nothing wrong. In this guys case, i think its the case of human error thats it. so pity that there is still need for human intervention in something called automated. should change to automated catching system rather than enforcement

• what so automated about the system if you need human to process it??? when your friend card number came up, you think they process ans send it to JPJ? never… The AES company will decide who will get summons or not.. what so automated about it.? all those speeding with luxury cars , or single number plate etc, will not get summmons…
    lets open up the processing center for us rakyat to see…

• If you dont have prove to justify regarding the company can select people they want to summon, no need to highlight that. If police, bomba, army drive fast for emergency issue, still kene saman?Thats the reason they to review it first to make sure they penalize the right guy. Did u know that even Selangor Menteri Besar car also can have special escort at highway. Who knows if his car also speeding at highway, but he can say need to drive fast coz of state/business issue and can ask to cancel the summons?

I cay say that, but I do not want to prejudice. Just focus to every1 of us, just drive safely. I drive my car everyday to work in front AES, still no summon. No issue.

• However, what tokmoh said also true, JPJ customer service also part of the problem. I agreed that because of the issue stated above, the counter guy not giving some effort to help. Just collecting money for each summons. (Actually, that is his job at the counter). Same like if your electric bill not at that high (exp RM500), but if you report that to post office or bank (person at counter to collect the money), nothing they can do to help you.

I also got summon past 10 years. Get summon for speeding at highway. But the plate no represent my own Kris 100CC motor. For sure somebody use my motor registration no and speeding at highway. End of the day, I dint pay at all the summons until now, and no action taken until today.

I strongly suggest that JPJ have a proper procedure/counter for summons investigation for any fault. Easier for any people to complain for any fault summons. My 2 cents.

• tokmoh on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Yea, that’s the main issue, the ridiculous customer service by JPJ. Human error normal la, we all make mistakes sometimes, but the way JPJ handle this is a joke.

This kinda blunder sometimes makes me wonder whether Asian culture is really a culture of berbudi bahasa or lost in the history book.

• FYI, in this forum almost every1 complain bout AES. In the other hand, many website/blog said that AES is very effective to reduce fatal accident. Not everyone dont like AES, many people prefer AES to be installed at M’sian road.

Like what I said earlier, AES is good but just do some changes of the speed limit. Give them 3-6 months to revised back. I suggest all the summons from the AES earlier can cancel 1st (as part of public awareness), then will be start enforcing back after being reviewed few months later.

• b sensible on Nov 07, 2012 at 4:59 pm

not money shd be made from AES. implement point deduction. if maximum point point breached, go back to driving school retake driving licence!

• _xXx_ on Nov 07, 2012 at 6:07 pm

u mean that kejara thingy?? long forgotten lor…taik ayam dh tu lama sejuk, dh jadi tanah lo…bang

• Micheal on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Don’t worry I’m with Barisan Nasional! AES settle!

• ATM ENRICHMENT SCHEME on Nov 07, 2012 at 7:22 pm

In other countries but Vietnam number of motorcyclist did not made up a substantial majority. So, how our ATM Enrichment Scheme can really meet our objective? Concesionaires’ objectives is only benefit from the implementation, l guaranteed.

• budlee on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Funny story, because it happened exactly to me. I got an AES ticket too, but it was fishy since it was in Kuala Lipis Perak. So when I check the picture, it not only the wrong license plate but also the wrong car! I drove a black Viva WRQ, while the picture showed a white/silver Isuzu DMAX WTQ. When I went to the Kajang branch, they told me the same thing which is to write to Kuala Lipis and provide them with a photocopy of my “geran” to prove that is not my car….

Funny how we both got caught in Perak…

• That’s y from the article above, somebody need to double-check izzit the plate no representing the model n colour of the original car. Thats y cannot automatic delivered the summons. Much more worst.

The main reason for them to check is when the camera caught the speeders, they have to make sure which car at the moment who drive fast. Most probably it would be 3 cars pass by the AES and the fastest normally on the right hand-side one. If not, every time flash, all 3 car on that moment kene saman.

• Chubbi on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:23 am

In german saloons, 145 km/h is cruising speed. Might be called speeding if you’re in a Kancil.

• Nick.C on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Why is he complaining to the JPJ, getting a MP involved, writing to Putrajaya etc etc? Just turn up in court and show the documents to the Judge and have him rule against the government lah.

• nick..it is not easy as that…go to court show to the court the document…pufff everything ok..no…no..no…you “kena” first then you know how miserable it is…

• 1Malaysia Ter Kena on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:37 pm

After GE13, our life become tougher. High fuel without reduction in car prices.

2. GST

3. Higher utility rate

4. Cronies will enjoy more subsidies or even very low premium for our land

5. Land acquisition related will use to acquire people land

6. Higher tolls and lopsided agreement will guaranteed concessionaire to milk from rakyat

7. Did l mentioned about property prices? Our EPF land in former RRI will appreciated as the parcel will be annexed to Tropicana.

8. Transport despite in poor state and substandard quality will be another proton, a gajah putih in the making as government still need to sell more car and this conflict of interest as car manufacturing state can’t permit us to be public transport dependent economy. Otherwise, major shift in public transport use will reduced car ownership and facing perils of destruction of post-Mahathirism economic.

In 1985, despite critics from his cabinet members, Premier Mahathir still firm with his idea; using Mitsubishi Lancer F to be donor of Proton Saga, back in 1983. After launching of Saga in 1985, we’re colonized by our country to support new business model that unique to us. Thailand and Indonesia using Toyota-way, and history never cheat. They enjoy their better policy at the expense of our “popular” Proton.

• elanly on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:27 pm

I think sooner, this AES will have auto debit feature as well. No need to issue any summon anymore. Once you break speed limit, RM300 will be deducted automatically from your bank accaunt. We will be the first to have a fully AUTOMATIC ENFIRCEMENT AND PAYMENT SYSTEM in this world. By the way, Anyone has any idea how to beat this AES?

• momotarojaroo on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:25 pm

why dont we request the gomen to force car manufacturer to limit the car to 110km/h only for normal passenger car sell in malaysia to solve speeding issue? if gomen dont want to do that, it means JPJ want the money from the speeding summons as an national income,just like tax. i only agree AES for red light offence.it is really dangerous. other than that, NO! AES cannot catch motorcyclist/ sleepy driver/ crazy overtake/ double line breach/ no seat belt/ play hanset while driving/ dukung baby while driving etc.

• again…small issue getting big…out of all issues..1 human error out of total thousands of summons…so what? is that a big deal? let the gomen/AES or who ever responsible take care of this..driving 140km/h is not safe…

• elanly on Nov 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm

140 km/h is not safe? It is just too general. You might as well say thay 10 km/h is also not safe.

• pak ya on Nov 19, 2012 at 12:12 am

sistem untuk kebaikan orang ramai memang dialu alukan …tapi kalau sistem itu untuk mengaut keuntungan harus kita tentang habis habisan… Saya kira sistem AES ini dari wajah permukaan depan memang ada juga kebaikan supaya pemandu dapat desipilinkan diri semasa memandu kenderaan….tapi alasan memasang AES ini dikatakan untuk menyelamatkan penguna kenderaan dijalanraya…mengikut perangkaan atau data yang dikumpul menunjukkan bahawa tempat tempat yang dipasang AES ini adalah tempat yang selalu tidak berlaku kemalangan.. saya rasa ini punca ramai orang tidak bersetuju dengan perlaksanaan sistem ini…Yang kaya nanti adalah pihak swasta yang memasang sistem ini kerana tempat tempat ini adalah tempat perangkap bukan tempat berlaku kemalangan… Sudah sampai masanya untuk JPJ menjalankan tugas sepertimana yang diamanahkan …menentukan hala tuju kementerian pengangkutan bagaimana untuk berkhidmat untuk raayat dan bukan untuk mengenakan raayat,,,salah langkah akan akibatkan segala usaha Perdana Menteri Najib merapatkan raayat dengan kerajaan akan jadi sia sia dan akibat dari sistem AES ini akan diputar belitkan dalam kempen PRU 13 ini. Datuk Solah tak bertanding dan bukan orang politik tapi Dato’ Menteri macammana bole ambik resiko ke… kena cari tempat selamat lah jawab nya. Kemalangan jalan raya bukan hanya berpunca dari kelajuan 100 kmsj atau 120 kmsj…banyak aspek yang perlu dilihat dan dikaji sebelum sistem aes ini dapat diluluskan… JPJ mempunyai pendapatan yang lumayan serta satu asset kepada perbendaharaan negara,, dulu dah bagi pada pusat latihan dan pada puspakom.. beban kerja jpj dah kurang… sekarang penguatkuasaan nak diswastakan dengan sistem aes. JPJ harus titik beratkan keberkesanan latihan sekolah sekolah memandu yang mengeluarkan pemandu..caj saja yang mahal takut takde kualliti…kebanyakan kemalangan adalah kerna CUAI sikap pemandu … jalan tak elok… dan banyak lagi faktor yang bole mengakibatkan kemalangan. Kalau bole adakan latihan secara maya dan stimulasi semasa mengambil ujian memandu macam nak jadi juruterbang… baru kita dapat tengok reaksi pemandu apabila ada satu satu perkara berlaku secara sepontan dan bagaimana pemandu mengambil tindakan bagi mengelakan kemalangan…lebih baik belanja disini daripada menyusahkan raayat. Tarik balik lesen pemandu yang didapati mabok.. dadah…panas baran,,,samseng…kaki lumba…dan cuba mendidik dan mengeluarkan pemandu yang berhemah sahaja,,,, Saya juga sokong sekiranya penguatkuasaan ini diserahkan kepada pihak polis sahaja yang menjalankan tugas untuk perangkap laju tempat tempat yang selalu berlaku kemalangan, Pihak SPAD diberi tugas untuk memastikan pemandu kenderaan perdagangan dilatih dan diberi tunjuk ajar supaya setiap pemandu kenderaan perdagangan ini adalah berintegeriti tinggi. Jadi JPJ cuba buat sesuatu yang memberi manafaat pada raayaat terutamanya pemandu. fikir fikir jpj