Sixth-gen Mercedes-Benz SL is here – SL350, RM890k

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia officially launched the all-new Mercedes-Benz SL this afternoon at their pavilion in Matrade KL (just opposite the humble booth of our sister site oto.my, check us out!) where the Asia Klasika 2012 event will be held this Sunday. The sixth-gen SL was unveiled to the media with the its five gorgeous ancestors as backdrop, showcasing a rich heritage that began 60 years ago.

More of the classics later. The new SL was unveiled late last year before making its world debut at NAIAS 2012 in Detroit. As with previous SL generations, this one debuts new tech from Mercedes.

The folding metal top convertible, which is now longer (+50 mm) and wider (+57 mm), has for the first time been produced almost entirely from aluminium, and it weighs up to 140 kg less than its predecessor. The body shell alone is 110 kg lighter than if it was made with steel.

The all-aluminium body is credited for the claimed “agile, sporty handling that has been taken to an entirely new level, coupled with exemplary roll characteristics and ride comfort.”

Other drive-improving measures include aluminium for the steering knckles and spring links on the front axle, plus all the wheel location components on the rear axle. The SL also features ABC (Active Body Control) active suspension and a new electromechanical Direct-Steer variable ratio, speed-senstive steering system.

The SL350 BlueEfficiency (our only choice for now) is powered by a 3,499 cc V6 engine with 306 hp and 370 Nm of torque, available from 3,500 to 5,250 rpm. This naturally aspirated direct injection unit, now with ECO Start/Stop, is said to be 30% more economical than its predecessor.

Paired to Merc’s 7G-Tronic gearbox, it does 0-100 km/h in 5.9 seconds, which is 0.3 sec faster than before. Top speed is, as usual, limited to 250 km/h.

Like its predecessor, the new SL’s roof folds neatly into the boot for top-down motoring, but the new car comes with a panoramic vario roof with Magic Sky Control. Basically, the transparent roof switches to “light” or “dark” at the push of a button. When “light” it is virtually transparent, offering an open-air experience while being protected from the elements. In “dark” the roof provides shade and prevents the cabin from heating up.

By the way, the frame of the roof is made of magnesium, which saves six kilos, providing a lower centre of gravity. The operating mechanism has been refined and it now takes less than 20 seconds to open or close it.

Other new tech include Magic Vision Control (applies washer fluid on the blade instead of splashing it on the windscreen), Frontbass (uses free space in the aluminium structures in front of the footwell as resonance spaces for the bass speakers) and Hands-Free Access, where one kicks the car’s bottom to open the boot. Not new, but Merc’s version allows kick-to-close as well.

Active Parking Assist can steer the car into a parallel parking space, while COMAND offers Bluetooth telephony and internet access on the 800 X 480 pixel TFT screen on the dashboard, between the central air vents.

There’s more. Mercedes says that the new SL is best in class in terms of drag coefficient (0.27 Cd), wind noise (on par with a saloon), high-speed top down comfort and no accumulation of dirt on the side windows.

The new Mercedes-Benz SL350 is priced at RM898,888. Live gallery from the event is after the jump. Click here for Merc’s official image gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Richard teo on Nov 09, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Wow, Sweet Ride… Wouldn’t mind in parking this beauty at my garage.

• Headlight is so so only but tail light is beautiful ! i prefer BMW M6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • sama sama on Nov 10, 2012 at 11:59 am

This site seems to be commented by poor people with no money only. You can see from their comments about the Civic and Korean cars!

No wonder, cars that are selling well such as the Civic, Passat, Teana, and Polo getting poor reviews here despite them being the top sellers in Malaysia this year.

• GT-Rider on Nov 12, 2012 at 8:36 pm

it still cannot beat my GT-R with < 3 sec century sprint lol

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Suitable for Wedding day, full of Joys. O

• 30k-40k for insurance?

• ernie on Nov 09, 2012 at 3:37 pm

whats the point? the public is still struggling with bread and butter issues!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on Nov 09, 2012 at 3:41 pm

better buy in Langkawi, road tax from East Malaysia, no need insurance lah, plenty of loopholes available

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • start-a-fight on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:15 pm

then somebody came and stole ur car.. nangis tak berlagu laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:00 pm

What are you talking about?
        If we can afford this kind of car, even if the car is stolen tomorrow and insurance refuses to pay, we will still not depressed. This is called ‘can afford’.
        I wish you good luck, one day you can have this kind of feeling. All the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • I rather choose c63 with 500hp +

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • This or a BMW 645 Coupe/Cabrio?

• Merc 4 Life on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:22 pm

it should be this or C63 AMG dude ! C63 AMG new selling price RM 7xxk :-) ..

• bro, C63 and this beast is totally a diff type of species. C63 = Super sedan, if u want to be SWAG.
        SL350 = Elegant roadster / Grand Tourer, if u want to have class.

• Ryan L on Nov 12, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Might as well get the new gtr. Cheaper road tax + bout the same price + faster + turns more head
        Hohoho

• this car is not just pretty, its actually arousing. mmmm mmmm

• Maserati on Nov 09, 2012 at 4:33 pm

890k for this? Nah, i rather have a Porsche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • _xXx_ on Nov 09, 2012 at 4:56 pm

nothing beats preve as usual….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Kevin on Nov 13, 2012 at 4:02 pm

..ha…ha…ha….u mean the price only….preve is fine but the SL is for a different group of people who have too much money rather than like us who are worried about making it to the next salary….

• Cargila on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:03 pm

This vs Ferrari California. Hrmmmmm

• start-a-fight on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:17 pm

no brainer… different beast..
      SL350, if need spareparts easily sources. Cali? At least a few days waiting from Singapore.

however,both is totally weekend drive up to genting for a lucky spin

• kingston on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Wow!RM890k for 3.5L V6 Grand tourer is quite expensive,for alot less why not just go for a unreg Aston DB9,Bentley GT,Ferrari F430,Porsche Turbo,Maserati GranTurismo or even a Jaguar XKR.This is not even a handsome as the others or as fast or even as fun to drive.Nor is it special.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Alpha on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Some people preferred brand news rather than unregs/recons.

• Merc 4 Life on Nov 09, 2012 at 6:24 pm

new unreg C63 AMG is RM 7xxk bro :-) .. value it yourself :-) ..

• seancorr on Nov 10, 2012 at 7:09 am

That’s second hand! No Ferrari or Aston will ever cost this cheap!

• Turboman on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Unregs are actually 2nd hand vehicle mostly with questionable history.

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 11, 2012 at 8:02 pm

2nd hand and recon untuk orang yang tak de duit nak beli kereta baru.
        also they dont care bout history.
        pay what u get.
        anyhow; another alternative now famous is sambung bayar kereta.
        thats why can see lots of e200/c250, 325i/525i/530i, a4/a5 on the roads.
        saw friends also sambung bayar some models (especially those whom involved in gold trading which now been banned by BNM)..

anyway; really got money only buy brand new..
        so no need to worry coz can afford and + super hot warranty :)

• BeemerFreak on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Aiya talk so much you also wont buy neither….let those with the money do the talking, at the mean time we could only admire

• DArkerMarker on Nov 09, 2012 at 8:29 pm

wonder how much was the car import tax the G pocketed?

• mccosmo on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Sorry, but the front looks weird and ugly to me… Prefer the previous generation SL… Better off with the CLS

• Kyoshooo on Nov 10, 2012 at 9:00 am

The front design is super ugly to me…

• joe jack on Nov 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Hahahah….diffrnt people with diffrent taste…just that if u got the money then why bother…..so the bottom line is that the people with lotsa money wont talk much…..at the time most of us are still reading this post, they might have already put a booking on it.

• Kyoshooo on Nov 10, 2012 at 9:00 am

The front design is super ugly to me…the worst SL ever.

• I think this car is better looking than the previus wan. what do u guys think? about the price, luckily its not priced too expensive compared to the previous one. but still a hefty price. RM898888, M5 or this? I’ve seen a few F10 M5 on the road alrdy. how bout this beast?

• wonder y i gt so many thumbs down even i spoke the truth, realli crazy Malaysian. Narrow minded who doesnt want to accept new things.

• Wow its so gorgeous especially the headlight, the Germans really knew about designs…it is the only model i that i bother to save its images in paultan so far

• Paying 890k for a 2 seater impractical not so useful car is plain silly. The only utility is to impress others, but u never realize that the car might elicit envy, jealousy or even hatred…???

• panglima on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

ur statement also inherit to all other 2 seater car bro :-) .. Plain silly to buy a 2mill 458 Italia ? Plain silly to buy 1.38mill R8 ? Plain Silly to buy 1.4Mill Porsche Turbo S ?? Ape lau kau nih, statement entah hape hape

• SL350 already cost 890k… Can’t imagine the price of SL65 AMG. That price would have scrapped the sky…

• Jilbaber on Nov 10, 2012 at 6:21 pm

the front is so ugly and it goes on other current Mercedes models a well. I miss their predecessor design language..

• mirror mirror on Nov 10, 2012 at 8:40 pm

‘Athelete, aesthete.’ – I like the slogan.

• SL 350 already cost almost RM900K…can’t imagine what price tag would SL 63/65 AMG come with in the future…i think can fight with SLS AMG alrdy…

• JualMahal on Nov 11, 2012 at 1:36 am

900k for this car! Better buy a recon GTR and a Prosche caymen R for that kind of money.

• GTR is not tat expensive, even brand new oni cost u RM700K. besides, its totally different class

• Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2012 at 1:51 am

What’s the RV of this?

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 11, 2012 at 8:06 pm

why must care RV. people whom buy is people whom got class/passion/status + MONEY.
      only miskin like u talk so much bout RV..
      baru beli 3series buruk/korean junk cakap banyak kan

• Kevin on Nov 13, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Didnt like the front lights at first…after some time at different angles, it grows on u….nice car….except for the price….