Hyundai Tucson updated – new features and variants

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has announced that the Hyundai Tucson SUV now comes with new variants and added features, said to be of similar specifications to the European market.

Readers of this site would already have caught wind of this when we detailed the new features earlier this month, with info gleaned from an ad on our sister site oto.my. Here are the five trim levels and their prices, which are on-the-road with insurance.

2.0 Elegance 2WD (RM131,888)
2.0 Executive Plus 2WD (RM141,888)
2.0 Premium 2WD (RM144,888)
2.4 Executive Plus 4WD (RM155,888)
2.4 Premium 4WD (RM158,888)

One of the key additions is the incorporation of Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) on all variants except the 2.0 Elegance. VSM combines the intelligence of ESP and the newly incorporated Motor Driven Power Steering (Hyundai’s term for EPS) for better performance in emergency situations. The adoption of electric steering in place of a hydraulic system also reduces load on the engine, helping fuel consumption.

More new features come in the form of a switch to deactivate the front passenger airbag (for young occupants) as well as the inclusion of ISOFIX child seat mounts. The main headlight beam is now manually adjustable.

The cabin has been upgraded with “Nappa” leather seats in Premium variants, and with the exception of the 2.0 Elegance, all Tucsons are now fitted with a touch screen “Audio Visual Navigator” system, which includes GPS and reverse camera display.

Cosmetic changes include a set of new front driving lamps and a rear fog lamp in place of the old reflectors. The SUV also sports front and rear MS Design skid plates. MS Design is an Austrian-based bodykit designer. The press release makes no mention, but we noticed styling changes on the front fog light area and grille compared to the pre-update LM. Looks cleaner now.

Like other Hyundais, the CBU Tucson comes with a five-year or 300,000 km extended warranty. Click here to view detail shots of the new features.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What I’am about to say is very dangerous ,I’am sure it will receive many dislike until it’s hidden due to too much negative.
    But here is my honest opinion, I still do not like the looks, I find in certain angles to be funny and the wheels looks small on that body. Prefer the much more conventional looking and still awesome Sportege. And for the final bombshell, the interior looks, not the feel just look, kinda cheap. Although that said, It’s still a quantum leap over the last gen Tucson and shows how much the Kimchis have come. There I said it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
  • seancorr on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Nice kit list….only thing missing out is the HID or xenon lights on the premium version perhaps and/or front parking sensors.

• albag on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:00 pm

saw this in the Walking Dead… kinda like this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • SUV driver on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:18 pm

If the zombies from are chasing after you, you’ll be safe in this car..haha lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat on Nov 17, 2012 at 3:07 am

This car looks like it was designed by zombies, no wonder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • Volvo supporter on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Lol, not bad….first time being the first commentator….quite ok specs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • sam loo junior on Nov 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Kimchi cars… just wait in 1 years, drop 50% in resale value, and prepare to hear the word Hilux from the used car dealers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 71
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Copy Cat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • why you want to sell it after been using it for one year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
    • Turboman on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:45 pm

50 only? I thought sam loo said 75 percent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
    • Update ur dictionary pls. Now already 2012. The resale value of kimchi car was not that bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • SUV driver on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Ya why you want to sell after one year so pointless of buying it in the first place…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
      • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 8:57 am

Because kimchi cars just feel worn and torn after a year, with annoying breakdowns that are never attended by the SC’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
        • SUV driver on Nov 18, 2012 at 11:55 am

Well not really I’ve been driving my Kia Sportage almost a year now and still okay to me. Yes mine is the new AWD one…Its awesome btw..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
        • sudonano on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Never attended by SC is a bit true, but breakdowns? Please, “kimchi” cars are quite good la. Camry after 60k km changed the absorber 2 times, and mind you the roads are all good. I had an 09 Santa Fe 2.2 Diesel and yes it may not be as beautiful as a CRV, but it is very reliable. 80k km in the 3 years of ownership. Never once broke down. Company owned so the service was never on time. But it could take me from one end of Peninsular to the other. Good car imo. Kimchi cars have arrived. go drive a new Forte 6 speed and then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
        • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:09 am

All kimchi owners will deny kau kau that they have a lemon on hand.

Its OK, Just dun blame the good samaritans for not telling you the behavior of these cars, and also the low RV that you will experience when selling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
          • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:54 am

Good samaritans?

One who lies about losing 75 percent in a year. But in reality, i still have my RM 5k.

One that concoct lies one of them being korean cars airbag wont deploy in a crash without citing proof?

By telling the whole world toyota cars are better when in reality, a <100k forte is safer cause it has more airbags and stability control compared to a camry?

And u still hv the balls to call yourself a good samaritan?

A lying samaritan maybe la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
          • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Fake person again, no backbone fella that does not have his own name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • David D on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:22 pm

All cars drop like hell in resale value when it comes to the first year. You smoking crack buddy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
      • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:09 am

Not T & H though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • David D on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:45 am

Bullshit again. Used car dealers won’t take my family’s 2006 Innova 2.0G, with 100k kms on the clock for anything more than 50k. Try 47k at best. You call that strong resale value? Give it another year and i feel they will only take it for 40. Don’t try and manipulate the situation here. Resale value these days is just absolute bullshit.

Just ask anyone who drives a new T/H. For example, an Altis. A 2011 model will only be taken in at 70-75 by a reputable dealer in Puchong, nothing more.

Wanna fight back? Simple. Unless you have more shit to spew, i rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
        • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:47 am

100,000kms vehicle can be in immaculate condition or junkyard condition.

Looks like yours in junkyard grade, and you have not been doing your homework

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • suckered_by_samloo on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:24 am

Don’t waste your time arguing with this sam loo. hes a lying 2 headed crack smoking snake. he said toyota got high trade in value but when i bring my 50k km 2 yr altis 2.0v to him he give me RM65k trade in only. Half my new car price
          And say condition is no good la, high mileage la..bla bla bla…but my car got full service record in UMW and still looks and smell like new.

He will buy your car for low price and later sell for high price. beware of this con-artist…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • maserrattiShameLoo on Nov 22, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Dont talk to this stupid fellow Sam Loo, he is only a very junior sales man at UMW showroom. Dont waster your time talking to kid lah fren.

• Just me on Nov 17, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Don’t play play with kimchi car huh. The engine of Kia Forte used by Hamas leader survived Isreal bombing. The whole car shattered, left only with engine and front emblem. Wakakaka… This is what we call the best engine!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
      • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 8:58 am

Yeah, typical kimchi car owner mentality. Let the car survive, but the passenger and driver may die.

That’s why have no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • sudonano on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Go read Euro NCAP. All Hyundais since 2009 are 5 star vehicles, with average of 90% protection for adult and child occupants. Kia also, except the Picanto and Venga (4 stars). So your comment here is a bit baseless.

http://www.euroncap.com/results/kia.aspx?dontlaunchmobile=1

http://www.euroncap.com/results/hyundai.aspx?dontlaunchmobile=1

Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
        • SUV driver on Nov 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm

My Kia was awarded top safety pick by IIHS….so I think I’m kinda safe. All the Kimchi cars do..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:10 am

When you have a mishap, just pray to god that the airbags will deploy as designed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Kimchis can have 6 stars in their rating. Smart people will just stay away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • finally they realized the importance of having ESP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Did they increase the airbags as well? SD really needs to shape up or ship out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Too bad. ..no DRL. …

• Green on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

I’d rather pay a little more and wait a little longer for the CKD Mazda CX-5….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Honda CRV is the best selling suv in canada, abd 2nd best selling small suv in north america

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Pay a little more and sell at a much lower depreciation.

TCO for non-kimchis are much lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Davinnci on Nov 17, 2012 at 12:03 am

With this price tag I rather buy CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
  • As “beautiful” as before lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Range Rover Evoque looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • thequestion on Nov 17, 2012 at 11:13 am

Why don’t upgrade the amount of airbag too? make 4 as standard(6 is recommended) and more people will invest on those price tag for korean car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Dugong SUV spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18