Hyundai Santa Fe – stainless steel dresses it up

Sometimes you bling like there’s no tomorrow, and sometimes you go the more sedate stainless steel route. German company Cobra Technology & Lifestyle has chosen to go with the latter for the new Hyundai Santa Fe, offering a series of stainless-steel dress up items that show what can be done to dress up the third-gen SUV.

There’s a high-gloss 60 mm diameter tubular front guard, and auxiliary high-beam headlights – in a ready-to-install kit – can be added to the mix. Alternatively, there’s the Cityguard, which is also made of 60 mm tubing, but is centrally attached to the underside of the front apron.

Elsewhere, there are rocker panel guards, and options vary from custom-tailored high-gloss stainless-steel units to running boards with ribbed surfaces or an aluminium option.

To cap it all off, the rear end can be dressed up with four chrome exhaust tips, which replace the stock items. Whatever it is, it’s all less in-your-face than the Grandiose kit for the Audi R8, for sure.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hanssen on Nov 28, 2012 at 12:35 pm

THE KANCIL BAR IN FRONT AND LOOSE SPOTLIGHT FROM NOWHERE, SPOIL THE OVERALL LOOK. SAD, CHEAPING THE CAR…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Without the bar then this is one good looking car but it’s ok coz some T & H suv without the bar but they r still looks ugly !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Haha kangaroo bar can look better xD maybe they got no idea whats a kancil in german lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • looks more handsome to me hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Digir on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Wow…! This is so Korean cars 20 years back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • azemi on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Ha.. ha.. ha… like a small kit toy

• Kalun on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:37 pm

I will skip this Hyundai Santa Fe and wait for the new Kia Sorento with this Santa Fe platform.
    Looks nicer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • buy proton last on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm

what new sorento? The outgoing model is only 2 yrs old n a facelift model is due to launch nxt year with minor upgrades to front n rear bumpers as well as rear lights…

• Proton is your first car on Nov 28, 2012 at 5:02 pm

My Name is EPIC. Really match your name.

Just wait la! Kia design always amaze us. The current Sorento is based on the old 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe. Outdated.

• buy proton last on Nov 28, 2012 at 1:51 pm

This 3rd gen SF oredy looks awesome on its own…it is designed by an australian for the US market (in fact previous gen santa fe were intended solely for the US market but it also became a big hit in europe) n thnx to HSDM we msians also got to drive it here…i sympathize with mr digir for his brainless comments…blind loyalty to certain brands can make our brain cells dead u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Yup, the SF is a big HIT in US/OZ/UK/Europe and even here in Msia…esp the 2.2 R-series diesels..very powerful 190++HP and more important its awesome 440nm torque. It IS A TORQUE monster BUT frugal too! (14km/l)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • buy proton last on Nov 28, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Well anthony…any news of its arrival on our shores? Cant wait to see it in the metal…seen video previews of the US models n they look awesome…exterior n interior features r so premium..hope HSDM wont strip much of its marvellous features n accesories esp the 2.0 turbo when it arrives here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Look and specs definately much better then Toyota Fortuner been around ages plus Mitsubishi Pajero, If the pricing remains as previous models , I see this car to be selling pretty well as a CBU packed with loads of accessories. Even our immigration dept owns a whole fleet of them current model 2.2 crdi bought directly from HDSM.

• gomen staff on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:47 pm

not just imigration dept…loads of govt dept & agency is currently using the 2.2 diesels santa fe. They love it more than their prev fleet of very2 not comfortable T Fortuner. I know, i’m from one of the agency currency using SF.

• Alamak, Toyota Unser!!!

• athrunzala on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm

here’s the image without the cobra bar
    http://www.boldride.com/ride/2012/cobra-technology-and-lifestyle-hyundai-santa-fe#gallery/3

• Riyadh95 on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Rear looks like Audi Q7

• Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Three Words

NO RESALE VALUE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • How does the CRDI 2.2 engine perform/ endure with our Malaysia Euro 2 diesel? Are there many maintenance aspects need to concern with… Injectors, fuel filter… Etc? Can this engine perform under high sulphur content of our diesel quality?

The engine sec looks great on paper, but I would like to understand more on actual usage condition… I am interested to own 1 diesel SUV but have seen issues with my neighbour new 520D… Make me think twice before going for Diesel engine car

• ‘No Resale Value’… a sentence that always arise and one of the factor that persuade one intention of buying. C’mon guy.. don’t let you self persuaded by this sentence. we are not buying ‘brand’, we are buying technology, satisfaction of use and ???. Bear in mind that car is not listed as making property but to make our money come out from our pockets…am i right. Any car decrease in term of values…but satisfaction of using is one of the factor that make us happy with our decision of buying especially ” moving metal”. For me, It is worty to buy safety, power, design, convenience of using, service..etc..than brand. How good is resale value just because of brand, it is not worty because you will sell it later till you find a moving metal that quench your satisfaction. That why there is so many car that we can say good resale value seen in secondhand car dealer. How ever, the decision is “up to you”. For me, santa fe is one of the car that built by considering of many factors like safety, design, tecnology, power, convenience…etc..in reasonable price compare to other car brand.