Proton Prevé achieves five-star ANCAP safety rating

proton preve ancap
UPDATE: Frontal offset crash video released – click here to view

In a first for the brand, the Proton Prevé has achieved a five-star Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) safety rating. The Prevé was crash tested in late December last year. It was launched in Australia last October, and at that point was unrated by ANCAP.

The Prevé 1.6 CVT evaluation mule scored well across all ANCAP crash tests, which led to the five star safety rating. The car is sold in Australia as standard with six airbags (dual frontal, side chest and side head-protecting curtain) as well as ESC and front wheel traction control.

The car obtained 34.25 points out of a possible 37 in the overall score, with 14.53 out of 16 points in a frontal offset score and 15.72 out of 16 points in a side impact score. It aced the pole test, and managed a ‘good’ rating in the whiplash protection test.

The only area in which its score was rated as ‘marginal’ was with regard to pedestrian protection, something ANCAP is encouraging Proton to work on improving, according to ANCAP chairman Lauchlan McIntosh.

Nonetheless, he said that the Prevé’s five-star rating is “a testament to the commitment of Proton senior management and its engineers to incorporate high levels of safety into its new vehicles.”

“Proton hasn’t let the previous poor results for its vehicles hold it back, rather it has used this as incentive to strive for the top safety rating for the Prevé. A lot of time and effort has been invested in improving the design and safety equipment of the Prevé, and it is reassuring to see Proton reach this mark.”

Australia was the first export market for the Prevé, and this has been followed by introductions in Thailand and Brunei.

View the full results and complete points breakdown in the gallery below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Xefron on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:15 am

too bad you don’t get this variant in Malaysia.LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 36
    • Allen on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:29 am

It would be interesting to see how the 4 airbags variant of Malaysia CFE perform in Asean NCAP.

With Honda City doing 5 stars, I can’t see any reason Preve CFE will not do the same.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
      • alifamzari on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:43 am

The Honda City only have dual airbags but still getting 5 stars. So, Preve should scored better, and it is a medium sized car compare to Honda City which is smaller.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 11
        • zafroonaldo on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

5 stars is the max a car can get rated, how could it be possible for Preve to score more than 5 star? Preve should receive 5 star. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Err, I think in future all Proton cars will have 5-star NCAP crash tests as DSZ is still there. He contributes with passion.

• Jimmy on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:08 pm

BTW do you read with your brain or just eyes?

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:10 am

Protons have very bad RV. Buy today, in one year, you can only sell for 50% of the original price. Only real fools buy Proton. Better to buy 2nd hand Toyota. Better RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
          • pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:09 am

maybe officials from ncap should revise the ratings only for Proton. just to differentiate with others. not fair if city score 5, then Preve also 5. they must score 6 to equal with city’s 5.

• honda city with only dual airbags can already score max stars and preve needs 6 airbags to score max stars, no matter how much airbags you can stuff in a car doesnt make it any stronger, it has nothing to do with the structural integrity of the car, i cant say that the honda is safer because there is no evidence to prove such, but i still rather spend money on a car made by people who knows what they’re doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
      • Expatriate VN on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:40 am

This is for export market version with 6 airbag!

for local market, aheeem …….. 3 star perhaps with max 4 airbag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 110
        • Ononimos on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:53 am

Well.. Haters Gonna Hate~
          Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 23
          • Expatriate VN on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:59 pm

This is how Jaguh Kampung No.2 treat export and local market: –

1) Australia life expensive but car cheap!

2) Bolehland life cheap but car expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 41
          • Ononimos on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:43 pm

And this is how the haters hate. hahahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
        • It doesn’t work like that, bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Expatriate VN on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Check the specs for Australia vs Bolehland for this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
        • spyshotX on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Expat, you disappoint me.. i’m expecting the infamous “jaguh kampung no. 2” comment from you.. how could you.. you are the epitome of proton loyal basher.. you are wayyyy better than this!! c’mon dude wake up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:09 pm

You are a genius. Australians won’t buy a non 5 star EuroNCAP car. So Proton has to make sure it reaches that standard.

Malaysians buy lousy 2 airbag low safety standard cars (Vios) over 7 airbag safest in class cars (Fiesta). And are willing to spend more for the Vios.

As soon as good safety specs are important to Malaysian buyers, the manufacturers will offer them. As long as they don’t give a damn, manufacturers also won’t bother. You produce what sells well, and in case of Europe, Australia or America that’s safety. In case of Malaysia it’s lack thereof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
        • say who on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

oh come on Expat… you always do better than this… we love how you bashing P1… is this only you can do right now… how lame…

• AVH® on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 122
        • critic_A on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:16 pm

yea, i know ur mom did the same for having u~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 10
      • Celicazz on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:06 pm

5 stars in ASEAN NCAP, not the same as ANCAP, you stupid moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Zface on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:44 am

lol as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • You’re actually correct. Not sure why the thumbdowns. The tested model has at least 6 airbags.

Aussie spec:
      http://www.protonpreve.com.au/pricing-specs/
      SRS Dual Front Airbags
      SRS Dual Side Airbags
      SRS Dual Curtain Airbags
      *For both the variants sold there.

Malaysia spec:
      http://www.protonpreve.com/pricing.php
      Dual SRS airbags with seatbelt pre-tensioner *All variants
      Side airbags *Premium version only.
      Curtain Airbags *None

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
      • Actually proton shd giv us d side and curtain airbags to all models la since d car price here damn expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:10 pm

The car is expensive because of the high taxes. In Australia car taxes are much, much lower.

• karipap on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:49 am

Weh, this is the same car made in Tg. Malim la weh. The same abu & ali who assemble the car. The body structure, safety measure are all the same, except in Aussie, they provide curtain airbag. They have different rules & regulation. Here at Malaysia, they can put curtain airbag, but the price will be higher and it is not compulsory to have curtain airbag in Malaysia requirement. Despite of that, Preve for Malaysian market provide 4 airbag, 1 driver airbag, 1 passenger airbag + 2 side airbag at the front seat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 18
      • Wweh, no curtain airbag, side impact crash result also different one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:14 pm

It is not compulsory in Australia either. Proton is allowed to sell the Saga and the Arena there, and the Arena is a bloody deathtrap (same as Wira…). However customers decide with their hard earned cash which car they will buy, and in Australia a car that doesn’t have 6 airbags and a good NCAP rating means it won’t be bought. In Malaysia safety features means more stuff that can break. The less, the better. Or at the very least they don’t care, otherwise Vios and Camry sales wouldn’t be so strong, and Fiesta and D segment conti sales weren’t so bad.

• Holden on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:36 pm

The difference is only curtain airbag. Body structure and other safety feature (ABS, ESC, BA etc)is the same. So I don’t think we should worry too much.

But I would love if proton add the curtain airbag for domestic soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • takhtukiwi on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm

God Bless you Dato’ Sri Syed Zainal for being the mastermind behind Proton’s first 5-star crash test car. You will always be remembered as the one who renewed Proton’s line-up and we are proud of your contributions to Proton making safer cars for our families!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 8
  • Gavin on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:16 am

At long last

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • first meh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
    • I hope this won’t be the last,can’t wait 4 new model frm protoon

• An achievement by Proton team. That’s the way forward. Keep on improving..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 11
  • berombon on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:28 am

Good job Proton! Please sell the same variant to us locals….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 10
    • with the same price… Don’t kill own citizen la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • support proton on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:26 am

no can do. malaysian people life worth less compared to mat saleh.

you guys get crappy quality, export market get better quality.
      well unless you’re some big crony or crony relatives. then can drive big big car like bentley. otherwise your life is worthless and please make do with 2 or no airbag thank you.

don’t like can go to venezuela.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
  • nizam1402 on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:31 am

is it the same spec that is sold in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Everything (body, powertrain etc) is same except the curtain airbag. Ours have front+side airbag only whereas the aussie get front+side+curtain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • nick.c on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Then again, seeing as how Malaysians still don;t wear seatbelts, especially at the back, this could be a good thing.

After all, if you are in a crash and the airbags deploy while you don’t have your seatbelts on, the airbags itself could kill you.

• DSZ has made his positive mark with Preve & this is shown by the results of this ANCAP.

Nevertheless, we should be getting the same 6 airbag here in Malaysia.

Now it is time for DRB-HICOM to give Malaysian some good results.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • say who on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:11 pm

I’ve doubt at DRB-HICOM… but pray for goodness… miss DSZ touches for Proton

• Well,…that is really good. Dear Proton, Please include side airbag and curtain airbag to Malaysian market. This is the way forward a true global car. Dont Deprive malaysian all the safety features…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • Cheese on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:36 am

why the total score is only 37? is this same for all NCAP test?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • what kind of smelly cheese did you smoke just now?
      total score must be 100? do you realize the score is in term of point?
      convert to percentage, it scored 92.57% out of 100%
      happy naow??

• go proton go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • That’s good Proton. Keep it up and improve as time goes by.

Btw, where are the typical Proton haters / bashers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Wilson on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:59 am

I saw side air bag is standard in the analysis. Is it true? All preve comes with side air bag as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • for Malaysian market, side airbags only comes in Premium CFE variant. for Australian market (in the analysis), all version comes with all 6 airbags (because side/chest airbags for new cars are compulsory over there).

Proton can sell those ‘6 airbag’ versions over here, but are Msians willing to pay for it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • support proton on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:30 am

yup. because the cost would be sky high and can’t make too much profit anymore.

add 2 more airbag and it’ll be priced RM100k more. RM200k for a preve nobody will buy.
        4 airbag is already enough for the rakyat. there’s no other car with as much airbag selling under RM100k anyways.

oh wait there is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 64
        • vk9545 on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:54 am

Kia forte and ford Fiesta below 90k cars have 6 airbags why dont a malaysian made car cant have it in malaysia but in Australia? Proton betrays its countries people whose paying it with our tax money. Its should be we the one had the 6 airbags 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
          • To be fair, they don’t have the turbo engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • spyshotX on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:24 pm

kia forte got 6 airbags also still can only score 4-star for ANCAP.. go search in ANCAP website under kia cerato..

proves that without good body structure still can’t protect you even you got 10 airbags inside your car..

• Allen on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Seriously people never ask why Vios only come with two airbags, without ESC. So are the Suzuki Swift.

Fiesta is a B segment vehicle, Forte is more a better competitor to Preve CFE with its 2.0 variant, selling at 25k extra off CFE price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Pat San on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Whether Malaysians willing to pay for 6 air bags version will depend very much on how much Proton is willing to go with us! ! ! The previous and current trend is we Malaysians are given lower specs. for higher price. Is this fair to us for supporting Proton? ? ? We hope DRB will consider treating us Malaysians on par with the rest of the world. How can you expect the locals to love you when you treat them like the current condition, so start giving and you will see the results sooner than expected. Unless DRB is only interested in making money and nothing else……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • halefomar on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Future model will be standard for domestic and import. There is article here where drb want to change this. So our model and import will have same spec.

• kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Blame the government. Proton is taxed as high as other car makers. It is already amazing that they can offer the car at this price.

• leong on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm

For your information,Preve is more expensive here MALAYSIA compare to down under!go ask uncle Google! Are we paying for it?….YES!,with a 9 year loan and still without curtain airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • How come uncle Google never tell you about the different tax structures between here and Australia? Here you pay 75% excise duty + 10% sales tax. There you only pay 10% GST and 3-4% stamp duty.
          Proton get a lot less for each Preve they sell here than in Australia.

• not proton get a lot less, but the BN gov get a lot money from tax.

• Abg Long on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:01 am

yup, we shud get the same spec!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Mietawar on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:03 am

Congratulation to Proton, last saturday i tumpang my friend Preve to tasik Kenyir from Kl and back. I found it more comfortable compared to my wife’s Altis, that too it is not high end Preve.
    I hope Proton will continue to improve its performance .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 6
  • MoFaz on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

Tahniah Proton kerana berjaya score 5 bintang dalam ANCAP crash rating. Tapi, kenapa tak jual variant yang ada 6 airbags tu kat Malaysia?… tak aci la macam ni. kami pun nak kereta yang mantap & selamat untuk keluarga kami. sila la jual variant yang 6 airbags tu kat Malaysia ye!… and again, tahniah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
  • malaysians’ lives are as valuable as australians, there is no room for double standards in terms of safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • speedrider on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:26 am

Nice job Proton.

• Sam Loo on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:31 am

This 5 Star doesn’t convert into high RV la wei..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 87
    • theasnwer on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:52 am

rv is rv la wei. safety is safety la wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • RV doesn’t matter when you can’t survive a crash. Or in this case prevents a crash, looks at Camry without VSC ^^.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Brayokmok on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:03 pm

I support you 100% Sam Loo. If RV is high, when we got accident we will get xtra money to pay to hospital. Right, Sam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • amirad on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Let see… RV or life, RV or life, RV or life, OK Sam you win it’s RV for me. At least my soul will rest in peace knowing that I have a good RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • so u are also looking for wife with high resale value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • vader on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:38 am

TQ.. u create a joke to make us laugh again.

• Johnny on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:32 am

Just got my Preve yesterday. It’s a great car and fun to drive. The only drawback is the sound of their engine and CVT gearbox, obviously is louder than my previous 7-years old Honda City Vtec. As a Malaysian, we should feel proud that our Malaysian brand was recognized in oversea. Keep it up! Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
  • Whoaa..the front was devastated but the cabin still intact..good crumple zone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • SorChai on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:46 am

Good work to DSZ and Proton.

The only thing not good is pedestrian safety. In Malaysia…don’t care lah. Langgar only… especially the damn mat rempits and Bangla that cilok here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • junjun on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:47 am

well done…boleh bawa laju2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Ah Beng on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:49 am

Malaysian no need side or curtain airbag. Malaysian head and neck stronger and tougher then Aussies ones. Mo tuck teng ar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • That’s the power of competition. We should have more national car companies, not only proton and perodua. It will benefit the rakyat.

• Allen on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

I could not agree somehow when Vios/Swift/City are being sold at much inferior specs to Malaysians, and Malaysians still worship them

• malaysian like to worship brand.. nothing else.. oh ya.. and also RV..

• This is all about safety but quality worst.
    Preve sent for repair 4 times in a month. Can Proton produce something that is really good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • wor..kesian lor..preve CFE aku setakat ni dah 8bulan ok je.. melaka-K.terengganu Rm70.00..speeding, bmw pon segan nak potong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • theanswer on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm

cfe ka? any major prob? be honest ah. i’m still waiting for hatchback preve…prefer hatch than sedan. hehehe

• theasnwer on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:53 am

mind sharing ur car problem? dont want to bash..but i’m also interested with preve.

• ben yap on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:29 am

we don’t have curtain airbags in malaysia version. so the crash might only score a miserable 3 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • farghmee on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm

itu vios baru berapa star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • ben yap on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Vios pun ade 4 star dgn 2 airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Ononimos on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Next time all OEMs no need to send their car for stringent Crash and Safety test. Just let you evaluate by your superhuman eyes and you alone can give the rating for them. =)

• 6packs on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:47 pm

did you reaaaaallly watch the video mr.. the preve on the video had two air bag only.. aiyaa..

• DoubleStandard on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

Well obviously Proton thinks that M’sian lives are not as valuable than the Aussies ! As a national car they should treat M’sian better than others more so if they make bulk of their profits from us !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • rally_fan on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Same as the entry level japanese cars in Malaysia.. double standards as well.. i dont have to say anything.. but you all know what sort of safety features they have. So to take the same line, japanese car makers think that m’sian lives are not as valuable as…etc.

but instead.. people continue to buy, and make no complaints..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:40 am

Credit must be given when due. Good job Proton.

Now, at least let us have the curtains too. Then they will be the first C segment below 100k with curtain airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Penang playboy on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Dude, Kia Forte 2.0 is with curtain airbags and it is below 100k. Get your fact right. Proton is charging us, their own countryman at the same price with oversea and given us less in return..??? WTH is this? Credit should be given if they charge us cheaper with more safety features and functions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • bonbon on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:42 am

which one first?
    1. ask proton to put 6 airbag,
    OR
    2. ask gov to make a rule of minimum 2 airbag first lahh… then those automative brand in malaysia will start to compete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • theasnwer on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:54 am

plus an abs module. most malaysia didnt wear any seatbelt..so if put 2 airbags also no use.

• If didn’t wear seatbelt, air bag will still deploy?

• Yes, but the inflating airbag will likely kill you.

• pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:06 am

yes. the airbag sensor is triggered when there is an impact/collision no matter you put the seatbelt or not, A/C on or not, full passenger or driver alone, change bigger rim/tyres etc.

• I thought min 2 airbag rule already implemented? Cancelled again a?

• Well done P1, pls give Msian consumer option for the Curtain Airbag too so that it can be a 5 stars too in msia. Guess, the version in mSia will only qualify for 4 stars since it do not have curtain airbags

• protonsucks on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

somehow i felt that mostly praising proton must be proton marketers and proton employees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • and i believe the bashers was T, H, N, perodua, bla bla marketers and employees..

• say who on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm

no, basher are like KETAM malaysia… if you know story about KETAM…

• The Real Sam Loo on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:43 pm

My Camry -even though no ESC/VSC – have better RV than ESC/VSC equipped Preve. Its all about RV people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
  • Proton must provide a safety to Malaysian rather than outsider. No matter the regulation is compulsory or not, they have to treat Malaysian citizen same as outside country. If Malaysian Govt. not impose a curtain airbag, Proton should make an initiative to be responsible as car manufacturer to provide safety car to their citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • say who on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:08 pm

I think Malaysian MUST wear seatbelt, give proper signal to turn left or right, no speeding like gilababeng, NO changing lane like sukahati… then baru cakap pasal safety kereta… other brand taknak pulak lebih2…praise all the time… put our face in front of mirror first then we think… thanks guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • kazanixm on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:13 am

truly agree with u la dude…it`s all about the attitude and habit when driving,even if the car got all airbags around it,it is useless if the driver it self drive like hantu lol

• tebuan on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:26 pm

One must remember that crash test is at 60kmh only, we never drive that speed in highway..dont expect you may safe from accident even in german marque etc…depend on how it occurs !!!

To those driving 120kmh …you may expect that your car will be crashed until the middle of the car…dont be too excited !!

• Allen on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Well I wonder how will Vios @ Dugong will be if crash at 110km/h?

• leong on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:42 pm

If you crash at 110kmh,no need test,sure die,our body cannot stand the GGGGGGGGGGGGGGSSSSSSSSS from 110 kmh and stop in a second!

• i agree that they should increase the speed used to evaluate the safety of a car..

but the test still relevant cos most of the time, unless u have very slow reaction time(eg: intoxicated) fell asleep, normal people will start to react and apply emergency brake before an accident occurred and that might be able to reduce the speed from let say 90km/h to 60/70km/h in the split second

driving at 120, dont forget to pray lah..only ur god can help

• Ononimos on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

This argument has been explained by some of the readers couple of times. The 64kph is taken after considering the sudden braking during actual vehicle crash.

Do take note that, the regulations for full vehicle crash (ECER94 and ECER95) is wrote after detail studies made by qualified people.

PS: The study of Crash Analysis made by the Graduates of Lowyat and Paul Tan’s University might be far superior as usual.

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:13 am

hail to the graduates of Lowyat State University and University of Paul Tan!

• I am sure the model tested is Prever 1.6 CVT+ (note the +).
    After the Saga FLX+ fiasco, people do not take their test result seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Ononimos on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:46 pm

As usual.. you are so sure with everything.

• he is a MR KNOW IT ALL… He even know how frequent my bro changed the engine oil..

• ahpek on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

no worries la moi.. even preve got 5 star ancap wont kacau your myvivalza sales lorr.. somemore your customer wont bother asking you how much your myvivalza got for ancap test one.. they only look at T brand behind you maa.. got confident already..

• Datuk Jack. on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:50 pm

i am a proud owner…good to have it… keep good work proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • hadi75 on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Credit given where credit is due….so good job proton
    but safety should be standard in all car….proton shouldn’t wait for regulation to installed 6 airbags for malaysian market….they should take the initiative themselves….and sell here cheaper than overseas market…

• Totally agree.

It’s the double standards practiced by Proton that irks Malaysians. Regardless if Proton cannot offer the 6 airbags with lower price, Malaysian should be given the options.

• spyshotX on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Comparison with some of the sedan models which has been tested by ANCAP and are available on sale in M’sian market. Note that these Aussie spec models came standard with ESC which may not reflect on local spec. The info includes model name, production year, variant, airbags quantity, rating & total score:-

D-Segment:
    BMW 5-series 2010 530d 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 36.53
    Toyota Camry 2011 All 7 (F+S+C+K) 5-star 36.27
    Kia Optima K5 2011 All 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 35.58
    Peugeot 508 2011 Sedan 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 35.10
    Audi A6 2011 All 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 34.91
    Suzuki Kizashi 2011 XLS 7 (F+S+C+K) 5-star 34.83
    Hyundai Sonata 2010 Sedan 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 33.53

C-Segment:
    BMW 3-series 2012 320d 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 36.76
    VW Jetta 2011 TSi 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 35.20
    Honda Civic 2012 All 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 34.91
    Audi A4 2008 All 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 34.45
    PROTON PREVE 2013 ALL 6 (F+S+C) 5-STAR 34.25
    Ford Focus 2011 All 7 (F+S+C+K) 5-star 34.17
    Toyota Corolla 2010 All 7 (F+S+C+K) 5-star 33.63
    Hyundai Elantra 2011 1.8 GSL 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 33.21
    Mitsu Lancer 2007 ES 3 (F+K) 4-star 31.56
    Kia Forte 2009 S Sedan 6 (F+S+C) 4-star 28.13

B-Segment:
    Honda City 2010 VTi 6 (F+S+C) 5-star 33.49
    Proton Saga 2010 1.6 G 2 (F) 3-star 19.96

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • spyshotX on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Legend:
      F – Front airbag
      S – Side airbag
      C – Curtain airbag
      K – Knee airbag

• pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

thanks buddy. this is what we call a truly knowledge sharing.

could you please share with us the link for this info?

• spyshotX on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:03 pm

all info is available at ANCAP’s official website.. do take note that some models use different names from the models we have in M’sia.. e.g. Kia Forte is called Cerato in Aussie market.. doing some search in wiki is helpful if you want to know the alternative name that the particular model uses in different markets..

• Brightside on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Actually in Malaysia, if the brake works 100% of the time, I would give it 5 stars already :)

• Asrul Jazlan on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm

DSZ last product lead, may god bless him and hopefully the spirit to move on is still hot in Proton. Starting on improved Persona, Saga, Exora and Preve the pattern of improvement is positive.

For the next product should be on par or much more better then Preve. The body structure and design is important, just need more improvement on pedestrian protection. Current rank is better then Korean car and some of Japan car, next model/version should be better then all Japan car.

But I just worry how Proton can improve, not just without DSZ but also because now own by DRB-Hicom the one of taikun cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Mat Global on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

It’s good to know that Proton Preve meet the high safety standard in the C-segment cars, which to me is not beyond expectations judging by the safety features and the tough body of the car.

I don’t really go for many air- bags ( already 4 in the cfe model) as for sure the price of the car will be more. After all, my own house is without alarm system, cctv and other safety features.
    However, i do carry two car alarms from my car keys to master bedroom just in case of emergency needs.

Apart safety, what i like most about Preve is the good chassis, ride & handling and comfort driving.

What I wish from Proton is better fit and finish and build quality of the interior / cabin.
    Hope now Drb-Hicom has already undertake actions on this.

• Lynasboy on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Look at it wow… Then see again… Australian … Worthless

• Mean Machine on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Car safety is secondary but what most important is how people drive their cars. Knowing Malaysian bad driving habits, no cars can prove their worth as far as safety is concerned. I was travelling along the North-South Highway over the weekend and I could see the ugly side of Malaysian drivers all the time from small cheap cars to expensive high end cars and not to mention even buses and lorries and even motorcycles. In fact, I witnessed 3 accidents along the Highway. The situation is even worst on our local roads with motorists competing for the small road space. No wonder Malaysia records among the highest accident rates in the world!

• kazanixm on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:23 am

it is all back to how you drive, not how good the car is

• Carl Wong on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Hi, when I was going South and back during Chinese New Year, some ignorant impatient drivers (including cars from Singapore) drive on the EMERGENCY LANE even in SMOOTH TRAFFIC………..:O!!!!

• hm.. this car also have rakyat attitude.. 5 stars for occupants inside the car but sorry for the pedestrians.. haha.. joke aside,

congratz proton.. now keep it up and make sure ur next saga have this kind of result or make it at least a 4 stars so that general rakyat, not only the rich one, can enjoy safer cars

• Car lover on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Is that Malaysian life has no value, why autralia spec has 6 air bags while Malaysia spec only has two.

• say who on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Yes, malaysian life always has no value… put out seatbelt and car signal lamp… they are no use at all, then put 10 air bag to make it more safer car, dont get me wrong fren, we all frantically want added more air bags… but are we mentally change bout how we drive? think…

• CONGRATE. proud to be previan

• DSZ and proton team behind Preve. salute all of you. you make me proud. sayang DSZ dah tak ada

• gOOsh on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:28 pm

alaaa… kalau PROTON pasang 20 airbag pun korang mesti komplen punyer…

• bonbon on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:54 pm

H and T , kalau takde airbag pun, orang malaysia stil kata kereta paling selamat

• Azlanish on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Hehe… Pakatan Rakyat don’t want to put in their manifesto ka? Cheap2 car with 5star ENCAP. Perhaps RM25k will full safety gadgets onboard…

• Absolute Rider on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Overall ratings is good as it archived 5 Star. However, when look into details, there a many rooms need to be improved including the pedestrian protection.

Hopefully, with this new data, Proton can use it to improve their P3-22A Preve Hatchback. Redesign your front bonnet, headlamp and front bumper/grill for your current test P3-22A units to archive better results and only then go for production stage.

Whatever NCAP, for sure they are introducing and implementing more safety electronic systems not only about airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, ESC and Traction control.

• Nanotech on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Haha… Pakatan Rakyat doesn’t want to capture in their manifesto ka? Cheap2 car with good safety gadgets onboard. Perhaps 25k with 5 star ENCAP rating

• NIEKO on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:54 pm

CONGRATULATION my dear Preve/Proton you have done it,I wish the Preve hatchback score an even higher safety rating

• Noriko on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Dont buy proton its very dangerous and ugly looking

• prfags? on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:26 am

semua bodoh..tak sedar yang sebenarnya gov yang tak hargai nyawa kita rakyat malaysia..tax tggi manufacture mesti nak untung..maximum untung minimum rugi..basic je pn..bila tax tinggi nak jual high spec punya kereta belum tentu laku..nak jual murah kena la cut cost..tu la vios kesayangan rakyat malaysia ni dpt dua airbag je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • kalo sayang nyawa jgn beli viva elite la oi.. vavi elita itu lebih mahal dari saga executive…

• Superb work Proton. Now can we please have the Australian specs sold here from now on ? Pretty please ?

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:33 am

So other car makers should follow proton in using Milo tin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • The windscreen is gone due to the airbag. Everytime the airbag deploys, change your windscreen.

• You think your shit ass Toyota (vios) is any good? Coming from a well established brand….. its piece of SHIT.

Check this out….. then you will see that our local cars (in this case targeted Proton bashers) are no longer like shit. Proton bashers, wake up you morons, its the new century now. No longer those milo tin and power windows issue days anymore. That’s buried and history already.

Vios vs Camry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHiYSAenanM

Same similarity of the shitty vios safety here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oH6pSnyQbMY

• shawal on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm

this is a new small overlap test in which was conducted on the new camry xv50 in the US by IIHS as well , it failed , the only 2 cars (that i can remember ) that excelled in them is the 3 series (F30), and the new honda accord…

• homeboy on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:12 pm

sorry, once bitten twice shy.

• And windscreen breakage due to such accidents and due to airbag deployment is completely NORMAL and the same with all other major car brands. Obviously, you morons don’t know much about cars at all.

• Annoynimouse on Feb 27, 2013 at 6:28 pm

I’d say good effort and keep it up! As for the Malaysian market, if there’s a political will, then all cars sold in Malaysia will be equipped with the same safety options. Then again, the first line of defence against an accident is always the driver… and not the car. Happy motoring!

• Still won’t buy it. Why? Because it is a Proton.

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm

For Malaysian market, not only curtain airbags, but we require more safety features & accessories:
    1. Auto signal. Coz malaysian lazy to use signal stalk.
    2. Auto vehicle sensor at T junction. Coz malaysian not stopping at T junction & always runs red light.
    3. Auto light when its rain. Coz some malaysian lazy to switch on lights & be visible in the rain.
    4. Auto inflated tyres. Some malaysian lazy to pump tyres.
    5. Trashbin by the windows (considered compulsory exterior acc coz malaysian like to throw rubbish out of the window).
    6. Autofast seatbelts. U know why.
    7. Exhaust fan. for cabin, not engine exhaust. Coz many malaysian still smoking cig while driving.
    And many more….

• Where is amoi??? Suddenly so quiet. Usually the first person blabbermouth with pessimistic remarks. Give credit where credit is due please! Good job DSZ

• Where is amoi??? Suddenly so quiet. Usually the first person to blabbermouth with pessimistic remarks. Give credit where credit is due please! Good job DSZ

• Why not give it 6 star rating:)

• Yes, I agree curtain airbags or whatever neccessary airbags should be included in Malaysian Preve. And all other cars for the sake of human lives! Why double standard?

But before that, for a start, let’s make full use of the rear seat belts. Unlimited amount of airbags won’t save lives if passengers are not properly buckled up, not to mention parents who don’t give a sh*t on their kids having circus session in the car.
    Anyway, congrats on the achievement, Preve.

• Right Hand Drive on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:59 am

All talk about how many airbags in Preve. But did anyone interested to find out what is the cost of one airbag if need to replaced?

• Good job proton. Life is precious everywhere so please do the same for all cars including Malaysia. Not just exported cars.

• blink ME on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:07 pm

proton preve, everything ok..just quality very poor. I have changed many things that malfunctioned, i.e. radio, the buttons for changing the display on the dashboard, car seat, rubber at the side of the door. Now i’m just waiting for a relieve car coz the problem just keeps escalating ( too long to list here)…proton..haiz..dunno what to say.