Lamborghini Urus on track for 2016, to be MLB-based

lamborghini urus beijing

The stunning Lamborghini Urus SUV, which arguably stole the 2012 Beijing show in concept form, is slated to arrive in production form by late 2016, according to a report published by Autocar UK.

Audi boss Rupert Stadler has told the British publication that the Lamborghini Urus should be given the production go-ahead sometime this year, and that it would sit on a new generation of the MLB platform that employs a mix of aluminium and steel bonded and riveted together (carbon-fibre may also be used). This new platform will also underpin the next Porsche Cayenne, Volkswagen Touareg and Audi Q7.

At the point of unveiling last year, Lambo said it aimed to make the Urus the most powerful production SUV in the world – 600 hp being the target figure. But that’s not all – it needed to emit the least CO2 among its competitors, without using a diesel engine.

That relatively short bonnet means Lambo’s V10 or V12 units are unlikely too, but reports have speculated more recently that a hybrid drivetrain with as much as 670 hp could power the SUV. Some suggest that the Bentley Continental GT‘s 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 is also possible.

With Aventador-derived sharp angles, 24-inch matte-finished aluminium wheels encased in 305/35 Pirelli Scorpion Zero rubber, quad hexagonal tailpipes and those mad, mad intakes, the concept certainly is one imposing beast, to say the least. We do hope the production car doesn’t lose too many of these.

See more pictures of the Lamborghini Urus on the Beijing show stand here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• PauCharSiew on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Reminds me to go for an urut urut gembira ending later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Chimpanzee on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Lambo’s USUS Suv.

• Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 1:51 pm

All BN politicians are excited. Even work as kerani also, but if you are BN politician, this will be one of your cars in your stable of 10 cars.

• So not Lamborghini.. Looks like an Aventador head stuck to a Cayenne.

• Veneno on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:29 pm

I hopes that only the engine and platform are shared with its cousin, others, original Lamborghini bits..

• Everyone is trying to follow porsche…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • jilbaber on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:52 pm

I don’t think so.They actually following VW..all live under same VW roof..hence same platform for all

• zboss on Mar 22, 2013 at 6:06 pm

stupid VW only trying to make money, purity of lamborghini soon to be lost. just like what happened to porsche

• “What happened to Porsche?” U mean just being one of the most successful sale in SUV market?

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:06 pm

very nice its like x6 + porsche cayenne

hopefully in 2020 the car would be more affordable for 4 years old recond unit lower than 1mil ,then i finally a lamborghini for everyone.. at least i wont be that old 35 years driving lambo not too bad

• jnlst on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Yeah sure, all cars will be cheap for all people. It’s good for this site to put emphasize and put updates on porsche, ferrari, lambo, mclaren because we all are going to drive it soon

• Good luck living ur dream in boleh land…

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:22 am

cars below 1mil are quite affordable to the masses

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:26 am

i have a c class,e class and a 4wd. all these cars combined amounted to 1m already, lamborghini urus is like combination of all of my 3 cars (4wd,sporty,comfortable,practical(4 doors)

so getting 1 lambo urus instead would be more practical than owning 3 cars with different purposes

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:28 am

economist forecast economic growth of over 6% for Malaysia. retail sectors will see more than 10% growth some even expecting 20% growth in retail sector. if this continues on for the next 7 years i dont see why i cant afford a 4 years old recond lamborghini urus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Enrique Ortiz on Mar 23, 2013 at 12:46 am

I really think this is a huge step for Lamborghini, Hope its cheaper for those as me who will love to have a dilemma between wich one to buy. Porsche Cayenne or Lamborghini Urus

• Lets not forget that Lamborghini is the grand daddy of SUV. It was them that launched the LM002 which the mid east market liked. 4X4 off of roader with a Countach V12. They did it in the 80s before the term SUV was even invented.

• sharfox on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:46 pm

URUSan Seri Paduka Baginda will be official car for Govt replacing Prado and X Trail