What would you like to know about the BMW Concept X4? We’ll get your questions answered!

bmw-concept-x4-shanghai

This is the BMW Concept X4, which BMW will be showcasing at Auto Shanghai 2013 this month. We’ve featured it last week, but you’re not seeing a duplicate post here.

We’ve been invited to host BMW’s Auto Shanghai 2013 video, which will feature the BMW Concept X4. Yes, our man Harvinder Singh will be braving avian flu scares to fly there this month to interview BMW personnel about BMW Concept X4. The video will be shown online on BMW TV as well as their YouTube and Facebook channels.

What we’d like to get from you – our dear readers – is a list of questions about the BMW Concept X4. What would you like to know about the BMW Concept X4? Please ask anything you like, and we’ll get the best questions answered for you on the show floor. I’m sure there’ll be some pretty controversial ones, considering some people are still not used to the idea of an SUV-Coupe hybrid!

Click here to view the BMW Concept X4 from every angle. Leave your questions in the comments page, and thank you for your participation in advance :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HAIKAL on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:35 pm

How many type of engine for the x4..

• Mat Global on Apr 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

Better tell Harvinder to be good in China. I hear most men go there, they play prostitute because so cheap. I hope the bai does not do anything naughty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • adrian on Apr 15, 2013 at 8:57 am

i dont know if this comment is stupid, tactless or just plain brainless.

• u need a counseling or therapy….theres definitely something wrong with u…

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 1:07 pm

BMW should deal with their continuos breakdowns and electronic failures and start giving 5 years warranty. Its the ONLY car company giving a mere 2 years warranty. They have no confidence in their products to even give 3 years?

• Think Again! on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:45 pm

What are the differences in term of dimensions between X4 and 3GT?

• dhorasu on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:00 pm

is there a need for an X4
    isnt the X3,X5, and X6 enough already ????

• What kind of buyers the X4 is targeted at and how are they different from buyers of the 3GT.

• Off road capability? Fuel Consumption? AWD? Water level allowed when drive cross river?

• seancorr on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Any new technology to debut with this model?

I swore there was a review about the 3 Series GT a while ago…now its missing!

• sudonano on Apr 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Target market, how is the size compared to the 3 and 5 series, and also, will there be a 4 cyl/6cyl engine or a hybrid only powertrain. And most importantly, PRICE RANGE, as in where will it be placed in the lineup.

• i cant afford it rite now…so, no question..

• Ah Beng on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Will it be tax free?

• TruBlu CarNut on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Two questions from a true blue car nut.

1. It may be a little early to ask but it’s still good to know if there will be an M version of the X4. If yes, which one will come first: a proper M-Division X4M or an M Performance model? Is there a possibility for the X4M to be the first diesel M car?

2. Being an SUV/SAV the practical engine choice would be a diesel, yet with such a sporty image the typical X4 buyer may lean towards petrol power. Which choice of powertrain would fit the nature of the X4 best, and why?

Not part of my question list, but why are BMW’s recent headlights moving further and further away from the marque’s traditional four circles?

• jay8393 on Apr 13, 2013 at 12:40 am

Three questions:

1) Is this model part of the plan for BMW’s X family of SUVs/SAVs from the beginning?

2) Will this model be based on an existing BMW platform, or a totally new design?

3) What inspired the design of this model?

• Sick&tired on Apr 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm

1) why?
    2) what was the designer smoking when designing the x4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Apr 14, 2013 at 2:27 am

Since now BMW has x4 coming out, and we know BMW has x6 in its lineup, is there possibility we will see an x2 coming?

• X1, X3, X5, X6 and now X4? Where is the missing X2 goes to?

• Marzuqi on Apr 14, 2013 at 2:41 pm

1) What advantages/disadvantages does X4 bears from the other X’s family ?

2) Will there be an M version of X4 ?

3) When it will be in production ?

• nighttrain on Apr 15, 2013 at 12:05 am

BMW couldn’t explain the purpose of the X5. could they explain the uses and purpose of X4? Is it a SUV? Crossover? All terrain? Car? In what condition does this vehicle performs best? It’s beginning to look more and more like a clown car to me..

• v-power on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:34 pm

X1, X3, X5, X6 & now X4…seriously? Your nearest rivals are Merc, Audi, Jag,etc…not Range Rover!

So…why?

• Ngan Tengyuen on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:24 am

Will It Blend?

• P Agarwal on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:27 am

When is this car launching in India? And how will this car manoeuvre itself on Indian roads?

• Who are your target competitors of the X4? ie: Evoque?

• How many seats will it have and will there be an Msport version!?

• Rohit on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:32 am

What would be the power output of the engine and the remaining specs of x4. Which type of gear train would be adopted in it?

• PullShirt on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:42 pm

What are BMW’s plans with its line-up? BMW seems to be coming up with so many models to fulfill different niches. It this feasible in the long run from a business/profit perspective?

• cheong on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:10 pm

If it has a hybrid, what is the life expectancy of the electric motor and battery and how much would they cost?

• From what I know about BMW is using the marketing descriptions sports activity vehicle (SAV) and sports activity coupe (SAC) for the crossover sport utility vehicle (SUV) class. Each of the SAV class will be differ in the compact, medium & luxury classes in term of specifications & dimensions.
    May I know what segment of this X4 Concept is?
    Will be the BMW X2 Concept coming out in future to join BMW in term of compact, medium & luxury SAV range?
    Who will be the target of this BMW X4?
    Will it be coming with the hybrid/electric system just like the coming BMW i3/i8 Concept?
    Any new technologies will be implement into the BMW X4?
    Thanks.

• Abdisalan on May 03, 2013 at 5:57 am

Iam nt an enginer or de rich pple who nwz abt car so dat 4 me 2 knw dis thing u v 2 gve me 1n of dis car