Mitsubishi to build second Philippine assembly plant

mitsu build

Mitsubishi Motors has announced that it will be expanding production in the Philippines with the building of a second assembly plant on the outskirts of Manila. Set to be completed sometime in 2015, the new facility will have a build capacity of 100,000 vehicles a year, according to the Nikkei.

The new Philippine plant will build subcompacts, sport utility vehicles and other models by 2017, the report said. Annual capacity will progressively rise to 200,000 units. Currently, the automaker’s existing factory is hampered by outdated equipment and a low output – it’s able to turn out just 30,000 units a year.

Beside the expansion in the Philippines, Mitsubishi is also set to build a second Indonesian plant by 2016. In Thailand, its third factory at Laem Chabang (which builds the Mitsubishi Mirage and its sedan offspring, the Attrage) is also ramping up production, and output capacity in that country is expected to be 500,000 units this fiscal year.

Overall production capacity in the three ASEAN countries is thus expected to grow by 50% from the current level to 900,000 units when the new factories are in place. Meanwhile, direct production doesn’t take place in Malaysia, but a recent report indicates that Tan Chong Motor Holdings is set to assemble cars for Mitsubishi here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Roger Tan on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:25 pm

It saddens me to read about new plants being set up in neighboring countries….

It seems that out country is no longer attractive to foreign automotive investors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 63
    • Read the last sentence..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 27
      • alldisc on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:40 pm

it doesnt say about any company setting up a new plant, just a company with 2 existing manufacturing facilities to assemble for another brand.

• How say no company opening plant here..open ur eyes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
      • Roger Tan on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:02 pm

You sure about that? Are there still people in such denial here in Malaysia?

The scale as to which our 3rd party assemblers are producing (KZM: Inokom/Oriental/TCM) are nowhere near that of the factories in Thailand.

Don’t lah try to appease ourselves for fear of being branded unpatriotic. We need to acknowledge that we lost out, and the government needs to buck up

Simple as that.

Xyah dolak dalih, poor performance is poor performance, objectivity is the only relevant issue here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • Bro kzm why u no sense of context – he’s talking on a whole different level than your understanding

Local assemblers here are not the same as direct factories lah….

Lagi2 they all here for so long already but volume still tarak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawa on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Thanks to Dr M…the father of Philippines auto industry….bravo NAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 26
      • which part of NAP? people usually say NAP..which part NAP that holding down car maker open plant here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Kong An Lan on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:21 am

there is no Phil Auto industry. They make basically cars for their own consumption. Well they make a lot of parts in the Philippines. Malaysia makes more cars than Philippines.

But Thailand is the real winner of them all.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Nobody wants to invest in Malaysia anymore lah. Lagipun, got so much gun crime, who dare to open shop here? Jepun takut so much with the rampant robberies and gun crime. Thailand so clever. We were Thailand 20 years ago. But because of all the bumi partner ownership requirement, all close shop here and moved to Thailand. Now Thailand is King of CKD for every car in the world. In 1990s, we were King, but no more anymore. Even tourist also slowing down. Mat Salleh think Malaysia got gunslingers like Western cowboy movies. or like Chuck Norris Walker Texas Rangers. All carry firearms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 57
    • Seriously dont u think..thai more expose with gunmen…if u see or read news carefully most if not all killed is either many yellowman businessmen with shody business or small number brownman with shody business or people with criminal background.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Media like to sensationalized news…if bus major bus accident occur..there will be news bout that everyday..if bout children kidnap…everyday news bout kidnap publish…do u guy think previously no gunmen exist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
    • bolehland never was a ckd king in the 90s it was thai till now. thailand start producing cars since 70s. then taken by bolehland-indonesia in the 80s. most boleh production in the 80s(p1 oni) n 90s due to p1 n p2 car production..check ur fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • sam loo's gynecologist on Aug 23, 2013 at 1:49 pm

spend so much of money for our education but jobs are going elsewhere.. hmmm time to get a degree in brick laying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 50
  • wake up wake up! look at the fact! not the report from gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
  • BLT CLUB on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:26 pm

That could have been us. What a waste!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
  • azrai on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:29 pm

It is the left hand drive hub for Misubishi.

• vesper on Aug 23, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Malaysia should be the centre of automotive industry for ASEAN region.
    Imagine the amount of jobs that will be created if major car companies set up their regional plants in Malaysia.
    All thanks to government’s policy of favoring P1 & P2, causing Malaysia loosing out to Thailand, Indonesia & Philippines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:54 pm

malaysia wins when it comes to trained manpower, goo logistics (highway and infrastructures), political stability but one thing we need to bear in mind – thailand has super low labour.

the factory will face problems in 5-10 years when workers are attracted to higher salary offer from a different company. this happened 10 yrs back when many companies realised that the can save a lot more by moving to china and hence – closing down operations in malaysia.

• Arvin C. Bartido on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:42 am

If your 2nd plant will start to construct here in the Philippines, may i request to you if you need manpower(s)? we can provide it for your company to operate the plant here in the Philippines, kindly contact me if you are interested to be part of your continued growing company..

Thanks and Regards!!
    GOD BLESS US ALL!!!