2013 Toyota Vios – spot and snap, and a preview too?

All-New-Toyota-Vios

We know that the 2013 Toyota Vios is set to be officially launched in Malaysia next month – the order books opened in mid-August for the car, with estimated pricing revealed, and earlier, we pretty much ran through the impending arrival’s specifications and equipment list from a brochure. Not much left to do but wait for the car to be unveiled.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report

Ah, but there’s still a bit of time to go, and as such, UMW Toyota has come up with a teaser campaign, one that involves some photo taking – you stand to win a gift, and there may be a chance to preview the car too.

Starting from tomorrow until September 22, the Vios will be showing up at hotspots around Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor Bahru as part of the Vios Spot & Snap Cruisers programme. If you happen to see the car, snap a pix of it and upload it to Facebook – UMW Toyota will be handing out gifts to those who post a picture of the car on their Facebook timeline.

Apparently, you might even be able to get a closer look at the new Vios during the activity period, given that the company says in its press release that “brand ambassadors will get the public to get up close and personal with the all-new Toyota Vios.” Which should mean more than just a mere peek, presumably.

You can check Toyota Malaysia’s Facebook page for the date, time and location as to when the Vios will be nearest to you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 274
    • Vader on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:35 pm

is an old topic, no need anyone to tell u that..
      and u try to tell us that toyota using old engine and gearbox is a right way? lol..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 16
      • Come on. I didn’t says it is a right way. I never like stays on old technology. I never own a single toyota since my grandfather.
        What makes your mind negative and said that I said old technology actually good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • ya ya ya, do it until year 2020…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
    • frenzyaustin on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:41 pm

The problem is the price, not the spec. It should sold from 50K to 70K range.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Exactly! Old matured manufacturing process means cheaper cost. They have the choice of passing the savings to consumer, or to give more goodies/better equip the car.

Sound like they choose to do business as usual and milk the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • frenzyaustin on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 205
        • True enough the manufacturing cost should be lower..UMW iz Greedy bastards becoz offer the naive mslaysian consumers with underspec vehicle, overprice car & later claim high RV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • alldisc on Sep 06, 2013 at 4:24 pm

umw is owned indrectly by the government as more than 50% shares held by PNB.

like a dog barking at a hill. nothing will happen.

• malaysian should really refrain from buying this vios. while other manufacturers already reduce their car prices, toyota still very arrogant by not offering cheaper price. Theres almera and soon hopefully Attrage soon will be able to teach them lesson!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 3
    • Japanese Toyota is totally different but here same old technology!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Yeah. Phil. Toyota is totally diffrent too. Here it is known as the most durable car with best features for a fair price. Its a very good sedan here. O_o

• How about no!!!
      New look yes, Dated tech yes, overpriced yes, for retard buyers only…similar with kimchi, why people still interested to buy this vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Kuinosan on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:09 am

What a lame excuse… Please don’t tell me that Toyota intend to use this museum piece technology for the next and coming generations of Vios??? Then I wish Toyota good luck and all the best in your sales targets! Rubbish…real rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • alldisc on Sep 06, 2013 at 4:26 pm

museum will only take old push rod engines, with 2 valve per cylinder and single venturi carb with manual choke.

vios may not be advance as some of the competitors, but still has a modern engine nevertheless.

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:29 am

Well, try to find kimchi parts even in the SC. Some you will still need to wait for months, like those sui kwan euros

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 355 Thumb down 333
    • OMG…Expensive craps…

• Keris Jawa on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Boooooring…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
  • Norman on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Thats not an excuse bro as time is changing..The lame excuse is just like Proton Suprima using the underpowered cfe 138hp/205nm with extra weight added.See honda new 1.5 engine producing 130hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 25
  • Gokul on Sep 05, 2013 at 7:48 pm

I’ve an evil plan.. Why not google a real dugong’s image and then post it on their Facebook page… Thehehehe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawa on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:54 am

“Suprima RM80K?”

“Better go buy Vios J lah”

Not a surprise if Toyota is 2nd top sales carmaker next year lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Vios – The name that cause Korean car salesman sleepless night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 140
    • …..grinning and thinking about where he’s going to spend his extra salary on…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Less ppl buy Korean car here even without Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 111
    • Kuinosan on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:15 am

Ya..ya.. Sleepless night and day for Korean car salemen because Kimchi car sales people extra busy servicing buyers converting from Vios to Kia or Hyundai cars mah!!! Don’t dream about dominating the B segment again with this museum piece!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 277
    • Fahmi on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Good FC? Depends on your driving style.. If you push the car like “hell”, even Toyota Prius or Chevrolet Volt becomes “gas guzzler”, but if you drive sedately even BMW M5 will get good fuel economy…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 10
  • As long as the ‘T’ is still there, don’t worry Malaysian will still buy it :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
  • noname on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:01 pm

haha, I wish the gift is the vios itself :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Although it still use back the old technology frm 1st generation till now, but i would say the engine still work like a charm. Durable engine, cheap maintenance, good fc. For normal driving i would say the engine can out beat any 1.5 on the road. The disappointment part was the accessory, such as vsc, airbag & so on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
  • sudonano on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Listen Toyota. You are really moving backwards. Look at the Accord. At least all models have 5 speed auto. This one 4 speed auto from the 2000s still you want to use? And you think by slapping a cheapo bodykit and a bunch of TRD stickers, like magic your Vios can sell?

Malaysians are not so oblivious now. I see other brands (Non-Vios) rolling more now. In fact, in 2013 I didn’t see that many new Toyotas on the road. Unlike in 07-08.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 8
    • Fahmi on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:38 pm

For the price i would choose Ford Fiesta, Honda City or formerly old Kia Forte 1.6…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • Kuinosan on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:23 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 194
      • sudonano on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:54 am

Exactly my point.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Was about to agree with you until you mention a Korean Junk

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 174 Thumb down 126
  • kenyalangman on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Toyota Malaysia have a bit late to release it new vios version. In Brunei this car release on middle of May. I have drove this car look mostly look plastic cosmetic. In Malaysia it is not worth even the price is so expensive. I Brunei it cost only RM68K for TRD version. The features also tooo lousy compare our Proton SPERMA…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 3
    • Chris on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:56 pm

How’s the interior? Really still plasticky? The last time I’m in a Vios, the seats are nice but the dashboard are no better than proton, or almera. Korean cars actually have better interior for the money.

To be fair, ford fiesta’s interior is horrible as well, but at least it’s nice to drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:09 pm

And biggest problem with Fiesta is it has no rear disc brake with that price compare to other. Even empty Vios has it since 1st gen. 1.4 Swift has it too. So, Fiesta is near perfect, but isn’t there car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • Fahmi on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:43 pm

No rear disc brake? I don’t think that’s a huge problem, 80% of braking is done by front wheel as weight shift to the front during braking… Thats why front discs are mostly larger than rear discs (All-disc brake cars)… Though i definitely pleased when offered with all round disc brakes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Chris on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:27 am

I don’t think having drum brakes is a deal breaker nowadays. It is unwise to think that drum brake technology didn’t improve since the 70’s, and Ford might think that a modern drum brake is enough for the car. For all we know, Vios could be using disc brake with a 15 year old technology.

Neither car is a high performance car. Unless I go up and down Cameron Highland/Genting on a daily basis, rear disc brake isn’t on my shopping list.

Fiesta’s deal breaker is the rear seat/head room. I can’t fit in the back!

• Darth Maul on Sep 08, 2013 at 1:43 am

u idiot, japs car are no match if they put on all the wheel with disc brake, if they dont even have the latest techs, what fahmi said is true, most important thing is the front brake, which controls the manuever of a car. plus, u are not driving fast in backwards. ^_^

• miskin on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:27 pm

korang kutuk lah macam mana pon… “benda” ni tetap akan laku dan laris jugak…..

kenapa? tak percaya?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
  • let the sales figure prove it on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Wasting time to comment, just wait and see how it sale after launch.

• Ewww..never in my shopping list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • very ugly, skin deep…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • So many will butthurt when any news about vios appear..ugly la,underpower la,cheap bodykit la,old engine la n whatever..why???did ur loan for vios got rejected by bank ka n only approved for viva 660 with 9 years??barking only but I think only keyboard warrior n doubt if this keyboard warrior cum worshipper got driving license or not..every posting no matter for proton,perodua,toyota,porsche n etc,they tend to bash manufacturer like a pro journalist for automative industry. Same old thing keep barking on every posting..typical malaysian..like to find mistakes and bash like no tomorrow.moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 49
    • Wait, aren’t you the one who’s butthurt the most here..? Oh the irony!

• Then why are you so butthurt about them making comments? Aren’t you just the same as the one you bash? They bash is their problem, everyone is entitled to their opinions… typical hypocrite, go sell more toyota and dont make so much noise here.

• Moron..if someone talk good about toyota,labelled as toyota salesman.if praising proton,u said him or her as proton salesman..typical short thinking from keyboard warrior..since when I sell toyota n I’m not car salesman..I’m not a toyota die hard fan nor driving the toyota car..entitled to their opinion ya??so our country probably have so many good car designer,journalist n etc..I bet u can be one of them..bashing car in every posting no matter wht brand..I think kereta sorong suit u most..if malaysia about to launch new car manufacturer,all keyboard warrior tht act like profesional car journalist should apply job there..pffftttt

• xxx-scuk on Sep 07, 2013 at 5:38 am

If you don’t want to read all those bashing comments then go and crate your own forum/blog,, ok?

• Keris Jawa on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:48 am

Honestly, it’s all the bashings that makes this ‘forum’ lively! They are addictive! :-)

• Another example cum worshipper keyboard warrior..keep changing name n bash2 here n there..pathetic moron bash like no tomorrow n bash with fact is different..I’m not only talking about toyota or whatever but all

• 666devil on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:26 pm

U guys r wrong. Malaysian will still blindly buy anything T, albeit minority getting smarter. Branding is everything to Malaysian. That is why UMW will continue milking ppl here when the r so willingly been milked. Reminds me of our never changing gov… 4 gears? Really Omg. At least make it cheaper already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • 666devil on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:29 pm

And what happens if it Really cannot sell? Easy. 1 year later, give 5 gears. That is what happened to my Altis. 4 gears to 7 gears after 1 year. Same goes to carry now. Non vsc to vsc within 1 yr. With so man track records like this, still so many rakyat wanna support them. See what I mean that our folks here like to be milked willingly?

• Fahmi on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Toyota (mostly), a car that “enthuthiasts” love to hate (except 86 and some Lexus)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:30 am

What talking you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 295 Thumb down 221
      • farghmee on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:25 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 126
        • Fahmi on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:23 pm

He’s right, that’s what I’m thinking… Toyota is not known as a driver’s car… Old Toyota’s are legendary, but now mostly are boring, uncle cars…

• Scouser on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:15 am

*YAWN*
    i’ve seen a handful of the new vios in miri, spotting bruneian reg plates… and boy are they ugly or what… (>.<)

• ultraman on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:22 am

even with the ‘redesign’ the car is still one, ugly effing POS.

• Nicholas on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:57 am

It’s only strong point is durability… And for our busy society that is a price we willing to pay to save on our time and maintenance cost…

• klguy on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:34 am

fuh, the ultimte sports car is her. watach out, golf GTI owners, ur gonna be smoked by this super sports car :P .

• Norman on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:19 am

The reasons why it get good fc, quiet engine is the ultra lightweight body and chassis and timing chain. body structure and rigidness is as suck as Perodua.Cause engine and transmission is supplied by Japan that’s all.Interior wise and safety features is just below par.If u wanna quality and reliability then go for JDM.Go compare Jdm Toyota Corolla axio 1.5 and this thai made one on exterior durability

• Mou Mou Ren on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:42 am

Oledi seen New VOIS on the road at Kota Kinabalu. The car is from Brunei, standard spec. The actual looks of the car are nice but the problem is still using the old technology on the engines & transmission. Anyway, still toyota… Good Luck

• jolly_idiot on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:53 am

Seems like fahmi is giving lotsa comment. Is he butt hurt?

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:27 am

i got no problm wif old enjin & old tranny.

i got problm wif safety spec.

• 666devil on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:41 am

Quality? Last time yes. Now? Try test driving a toyota during any day and u will know. The water drop on roof is louder than my house zinc roof. Try be a passenger in any of ur friends 1 yr old car. U get free orchestra concert. The rattles are everywhere. Also the current vios, ask those who own it, how long their drives shaft give tak tak sound when turning. Quality – Past legendary story my friends..

• 666devil on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:47 am

*rainy day.
      Go on, test drive is free. Don’t take my word for it.
      Owned too many toyotas in the family to know their cost cutting measures.. Cut where they least expect u to find out during normal test drives.

• Denaihati on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:42 am

many people expected more than cosmetic changes.

• iluvproton on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:05 am

Vios score how many stars in the crash test?

• Chow 1 on Sep 06, 2013 at 10:33 am

Vios , best B segment car in the market, no doubt. BBB.

• Better exterior design, but me personally really really hate the way toyota name it “the-all-new” to fool blind malaysian.
    I red previous vios hand-out, toyota proudly say sold 250,000 units GLOBALLY since 2002… ha3. A shame for ‘value range’ car. Even VW golf sold is 1,900,000 units..!!

• Gua Punya Rasa on Sep 06, 2013 at 11:28 am

>.BORING.<

• Bryan on Sep 06, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Mazda The Best!!!

• TeacW7 on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Brunei people already almost hitting 15K mileage with this model. And now we are just about to launch?

• Proton, you can’t do a jack to other brand like Toyota. No matter how hard you sell the Suprima, it’s lucky if you can sell 300 units in a normal month.

• Toyota please, malaysian deserves more airbags and VSC…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:34 pm

After learning the ultimate lesson, I swear that I will never let uncle Sam show me the Hilux again.

I was, like many of you bought over by the so called “high spec” kimchis. When you sell, none of these spec counts when RV comes into play.

Its supply and demand. Not too many people trust kimchis, as they tend to break apart after 3 years 60,000kms

If you want save the remaining of your money sell it immediately

• lion king on Nov 07, 2013 at 2:16 pm

……apply for a car loan and ask the bank officer which they would prefer to see customers buy and they’ll say japanese makes!

true story about a friend who was asked to pick Almera instead of Forte or Inspira when applying for a car loan. he already had his heart set on the Almera anyway but the revelation was startling. of course malaysian car dealers and those selling korean makes are also customers of the bank but at the end of the day, these officers would admit they’d prefer japanese cars.

maybe in KL it’s not so bad but in small places like Kuching or KK where korean makes are not so popular, the loan officer would actually recommend sushi instead of kimchi.

when it comes to tablets, the koreans do it better but for some reason when it comes to cars, the japs lead the way.

• Wow..baby camry.