Hyundai i10 – Euro-spec second-gen detailed

hyundai-i10-euro-ff-101

You’ve seen the Euro-spec second-gen Hyundai i10 before, when it was unveiled at the same time as the Indian-spec Grand i10 last month. We now have more details of the former, and a treasure trove of pictures to go along with it.

On display at the ongoing Frankfurt show, the Turkish-built Hyundai i10 was designed and engineered in Rüsselsheim, Germany, and is the first A-segment Hyundai to be designed, developed and built in Europe.

The city car is 80 mm longer, 65 mm wider and 50 mm lower than the model it succeeds, with a 5-mm longer wheelbase. This means more space inside, as well as a best-in-class 252-litre luggage capacity (fold the back seats down for 1,046 litres).

hyundai-i10-euro-ff-103

Exactly how much interior space is there? Front leg, head and shoulder room are 1,070 mm, 1,008 mm and 1,306 mm respectively, while the corresponding figures for the back are 820 mm, 960 mm and 1,301 mm. The boot opening is one of the widest in its class at 920 mm.

The use of high-tensile steel, tailored blanks, reinforcing loops and additional bracing increase torsional rigidity by 27%. Improving NVH are larger hydraulic engine mountings, a triple-layer dashboard bulkhead with sound-deadening panel, and dual door sealing strips, amongst others.

As a result, noise levels are measured at 38 dB at idle and 65 dB on rough surfaces – lower than its key rivals, says the Korean carmaker.

Hyundai has injected the i10 with a dose of its Fluidic Sculpture design language. The result is a vehicle with more presence, sophistication and athleticism, as well as more aerodynamic qualities – the drag coefficient is a low 0.31. There’s a hexagonal grille, side body mouldings, LED DRLs and LED indicator door mirrors (higher trims only).

New seat trim options can be had for the interior. Base variants get a cloth and vinyl mix in beige and black. Mid- and top-spec cars get tricot cloth in blue or orange with woven side panels in black. Woven pattered cloth in red with black leather-like side panels are an option on top-spec variants.

The dashboard trim can be had in red (top spec only), calming blue, vibrant orange or refined beige (base spec only) – and is mirrored by the gear lever surround and door pockets. Making it easier to see out of are a shallower windscreen and thinner A-pillars.

On to equipment – electric power steering, all-round disc brakes and a trip computer are standard across the range. Mid-spec cars get power windows all round and a height-adjustable driver’s seat, while top-spec kit includes cruise control and speed limiter, LED DRLs, heated leather steering wheel, heated front seats, hill assist control, Smart key with engine start/stop button, and auto climate control.

The Hyundai i10’s list of standard safety equipment is impressive, comprising six airbags, seat belt reminders, ABS, EBD, ESC, TPMS and VSM. Emergency Stop Signal and Hill-start Assist Control are optional.

Three dual-CVVT Kappa engines have been announced – a 66 PS/94 Nm 1.0 litre three-cylinder, an 87 PS/120 Nm 1.25 litre four-cylinder and a 67 PS/90 Nm 1.0 litre LPG three-cylinder (1.1 litre Epsilon discontinued). Five-speed manual and four-speed auto ‘boxes are available, with the LPG only getting the manual.

hyundai-i10-euro-7

Additionally, a 1.0 litre petrol-engined Hyundai i10 Blue Drive is capable of returning a combined 4.3 litres per 100 km and emitting 98 grams of CO2 per km. It’s equipped with the five-speed manual, a start-stop system and only four seats.

Suspension is taken care of by MacPherson struts with anti-roll bar up front and a coupled torsion beam out back. The setup has been revised to offer better ride comfort and handling, as well as less brake dive.

Depending on the variant, the new Hyundai i10 weighs between 933 and 1,051 kg. Wheels come in 155/70 R13, 175/65 R14 or 185/55 R15 sizes. There are 11 body colours to choose from, including solid, metallic and pearl finishes.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Brian on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Power not enough :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
    • kadajawa on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:04 am

For some hidden hand reasons, Sime Darby will be forced to sell it at RM80K full-spec….and to make that adult diaper car appear more cheaper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • OMG…Nice car, with nice features…but when it sell in here, the pricing will be the ugliest part of it…

• kadajawi on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:44 pm

What the… That black part on the sides was totally stolen from Renault. The Clio and Captur have exactly the same thing (can pick different colors too).

And then Rüsselsheim? That’s where Opel is based. I wonder if they picked that location to get Opel employees…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • OldMule on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:31 am

What the… That black part on the sides was totally stolen from Renault. The Clio and Captur have exactly the same thing (can pick different colors too).

~ Then.. who Xeroxed from RAV-4..?

• kadajawi on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 106
        • Sam Looser on Sep 12, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 129
  • Somehow the exterior looks like a MyVi to me. With already so many MyVi’s on the road, this is not gonna stand out much. IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 58
  • pooyu on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:09 pm

kia running out idea. no more interesting design….aspect more fr kia

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 344 Thumb down 341
  • pooyu on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 162
    • I liked your first comment, subsequently disliked the second.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Design much better than current Viva though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:47 pm

For what it is worth, the interior looks much better than the Mk1 and the Myvi.

So Inokom, lets see. Don’t remove the 6 airbags and the VSM. And price is about 60k. You may have a chance. After all the 1.25 engine is peppy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • You know it’s Sime Darby right? So dream on getting it at 60k, let alone with 6 airbags.

• come on on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:59 pm

boring la, Hyundai start fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 71
  • common Honda, even an A segment car equiped with 6 airbags. sadly that ur Accord only 2 or 4 airbags..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 35
  • calcutta on Sep 11, 2013 at 8:23 pm

lolz,funny how skin deep is our people here talking about car. nobody talk about the good ride quality,sounds insulation and engine refinement,just appearance…raw hp figures.suprima should suits you then

having the first generation i10,i can say this is so much more than just its looks,its ride comfort are better and quieter inside than honda civic for example

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 20
    • deemer on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:21 pm

???? what are talking about? suprima has both good ride and handling and quite good torque. exterior is up to different taste though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 18
    • the between-lower-middle-income people on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:29 pm

of coz quiter inside than civic..the engine is crap..no vtec sound

• Even honda goes for turbocharged engine. High revving n.a vtec engine power is not enough!! LOL

• Denaihati on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:12 pm

advantage of less noise but the price is a factor to make a decision.

• Chris on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:11 am

It has been bugging me. I think there’s two type types of people looking at cars: An enthusiast, or a prospective buyer.

An enthusiast compare cars in the same class, where the price tag is just one of the pros/cons; A would-be buyer would compare cars within his budget, where car segment is just one of the pros/cons.

Too often I see these two type of people fighting each other in this website..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Fahmi on Sep 11, 2013 at 9:17 pm

4-speed auto?? It’s 2013… Other than that the car is a potential rival of Perodua Viva.. Good looks, peppy engines, decent NVH, high safety standards…. Hopefully Hyundai Sime Darby bring this to Malaysia, keep the safety equpment like VSM and six airbags… If pricing is right sure is to be a good selling car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
  • Athene on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Poor design.. fail miserably to build momentum on the previous edition. Its sister company Kia gets ahead now, but unfortunately distributeted by Naza Malaysia which seem to hold true the company slogan – the power to surprise customers with bitch-like customer service!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Athene on Sep 11, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Poor design.. fail miserably to build momentum on its previous edition. Its sister company Kia gets ahead now, but unfortunately distributed by Naza Malaysia which seems to hold true to its slogan – the power to surprise customers with bitch-like customer service!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
  • Wow ! That arse is reminiscent of her big sister’s (which is a good thing)! Great effort from Hyundai. Don’t think we’ll get this here though, would love to see this on our roads all the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
    • kadajawa on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:06 am

It will be sold here at RM80k full-spec.

Suddenly the adult diaper car looks better cheaper buy…

Are you happy like monkey makan belacan now???

• roxas on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:49 am

this is sexy compare to the current i10 which is cute! design is much better thn the P2 tat floods the road. sexy boot and gorgeous rims ! notti looks !

• This is how you design cars, Perodua!

• OldMule on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:37 am

To those who said poor design.. Please let us know which car design fits your eyes so we can roughly know what’s your taste..

• kadajawa on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Compare to what? Savvy? Yes of course Savvy is butt ugly! Win hands down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • nobby on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:02 pm

savvy was launched looooonnnngggg before this i10. you just want to bash without thinking? that’s blind bashing!

• Chris on Sep 12, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Looks like what the Japanese would get in a JDM Toyota, and what UMW will never give us.

I still prefer Japanese cars but not the local versions anymore, they feel cheap and take the market for granted. Not saying Inokom or Naza is great, I still prefer European version of Korean cars.

Now I think about it, everyone is selling cheapo cars here in Malaysia. Indirectly it means in order for CKD car quality to go up across the brands, we need Proton need to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0