Chevrolet Sonic gets 1.6 litre E85 engine in Thailand

sonic-1.6

The Aveo-replacement Chevrolet Sonic was launched in Thailand and Malaysia last year with a 1.4 litre engine. The little Ecotec was selected because it fell under the 1.5L limit the Thai government set for its first-time car-buyer scheme. The scheme is over now, and in comes a bigger 1.6 litre engine.

The Sonic 1.6 is powered by a new E85-capable DOHC Ecotec engine with 115 hp and 155 Nm, which compares well with the 99 hp/130 Nm of the 1.4. Like before, the DCVC (Double Continuous Variable Cam-phasing) engine is paired to a six-speed automatic with +/- buttons on the gear lever. The Sonic 1.6 is the first car in the segment to offer E85 gasohol capability.

Engine aside, the Sonic 1.6 adds on Chevrolet MyLink, this brand’s latest-generation infotainment system. Like Ford Sync, once connected to a smartphone, the six-speaker system can access online content and streaming audio. It also features voice recognition and voice calls. Everything is shown on a seven-inch, colour touch-screen display.

Read our Chevrolet Sonic launch report and first drive report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hihiho on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Whos buying this car? Never seen even once on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 4
    • blalang on Sep 14, 2013 at 7:13 am

my colleague bought 1 (sedan). he’s the only Sonic owner in Kerteh, Kemaman, Terengganu. what’s with only left side reverse light?

• OMG…Allien car…

• sepul on Sep 14, 2013 at 8:43 am

Yep, although personally the car look very muscular. Too bad the specs are underwhelming for its look and brand image.

• Fahmi on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:41 pm

From some angles the metre panel looks aftermarket….

• I see a hedgehog

• Roger Tan on Sep 14, 2013 at 1:36 am

I’m a little confused. The Thai first-time-buyer incentive is over?

Then why would the Fiesta downsize the engine now from 1.6L to 1.5L?

• Monsanto on Sep 14, 2013 at 5:41 pm

A very good question. Where is the bloody 1.6 EcoBoost Focus? Ford wasting time with the current Focus line up.

• to make the price cheaper…they oso has excise u know..the cheaper price make the car relevent without incentive

• Aybir on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:20 am

E85 is alcohol. This car is haram.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • Fahmi on Sep 14, 2013 at 7:02 am

So alcohol for cleaning is haram??? Alcohol only haram for drinking, hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Tracks on Sep 14, 2013 at 6:07 pm

In Islam, limitations to the use of alcohol by a person is not ONLY in drinking as what you have claimed.

• not haram…its not from fermentation of fruit/plant to produce food or alkohol in food…does anyone here drink pure methanol for pleasure?…do doctor clean ur body for bedah or injection using water..obviously they using alkohol first as antiseptic to prevent infection?

• I’m sorry, E85 is not Methanol, but Ethanol (C2H6O).

Wikipedia: ‘Bioethanol is an alcohol made by fermentation, mostly from carbohydrates produced in sugar or starch crops such as corn or sugarcane. Cellulosic biomass, derived from non-food sources, such as trees and grasses, is also being developed as a feedstock for ethanol production.’
            http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biofuel

• i know that i said alkohol in general..lol

• Sorchai on Sep 14, 2013 at 7:34 am

I see you work for Jakim. I wait for fatwa before I buy/not buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Lol I didn’t know Sonic converted to Islam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • hadi75 on Sep 14, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Agak2 la…..keta apa kena – mengena dgn hukum agama…..alkohol tu isi dlm tangki keta bukannya suruh minum…..apa laaa

• tokmoh on Sep 14, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Ak nampak permainan ko.

Logo chevvy berbentuk palang, melambangkan Kristianiti, chevvy itu harooooom

Nampak tak permainan aku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • are u sure chevy logo like palang and haram?anyone have info or Fatwa?

• great info for chevrolet sonic

• Since it was launched, maybe saw only 1 or 2 on the road.. Same with orlando n cruze..

• Tested the 1.4 sedan before, nice car spacious , good road holding, cornering not bad, good suspension setup. Good news for 1.6 though 1.4 seems struggling to get speed with a bit heavy shell.

The airbag shall be added hopely for next 1.6 litre though nowadays at least 4 bags for car >70k

Very nice and well built in and out

• Modern realities buying Chevrolet in Thailand.
    Was purchased new Chevrolet Sonic 1.6 LTZ in Pattaya Chevrolet. December 22, had to go to Chevrolet Buriram, as after the trip was highlighted emblem oil change. On Sunday, the service was not working, so I had to pull in 500 meters in search of service. During the ride , the engine stalled and had to make emergency stop.
    Immediately drew attention to traces of oil under the car. Was caused by the assistance service Chevrolet, it took them about 2 hours for a tow truck supply ( although the official Chevrolet Service Center is located 500 meters )
    The next day we arrived at the service center , we were told that the broken oil pan, replace the need to wait for 2 weeks , first class insurance . Came insurer photographed necessary . I had to urgently return to Pattaya for work , general manager of Chevrolet Buriram Chatchai Konram proposed to repair this pan for 3-4 thousand baht , the advance was granted 1,500 baht. The manager said that the car will be OK at 12:00 the next day.
    December 24 at 11:00 am we arrived at Chevrolet, no employee was repairing my car and after this we turned to the manager, he left in an unknown direction and brought renovated sump . It took about 1 hour on the installation , after which they stated that faulty car engine !
    Why was it necessary to repair the oil pan, even if they have not checked the operation of other parts?? The car is new, under warranty.
    As a result, when buying a new car Chevrolet you get:
    1) There is no warranty on the car
    2) Do not trained staff who do not speak English.
    3) Problems with the delivery of spare parts.
    4) Additional financial costs
    You also do not provide another car during the repairs.
    I advise everyone to turn their attention to other brands of cars that are sold in Thailand!