Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG – like a boss in Austria

S63 AMG on location-03

Here’s a gallery of the Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG on location in Austria, where the media presentation for the limo took place. Looking every bit like a boss, the AMG-tuned W222 S-Class manages to look sleek yet striking against the pretty mountain backdrop.

Announced in July, the W222 S 63 AMG is powered by a 5.5 litre V8 twin-turbo engine like the one found in the E 63 AMG and E 63 AMG S-Model, but with even more power and torque – in the S-Class it does 585 hp and 900 Nm. That’s good for 0-100 km/h in 4.4 seconds for the standard variant and 4.0 seconds flat for the all-wheel drive 4MATIC.

The M157 engine is mated to an AMG Speedshift MCT seven-speed automatic with three modes – C (Controlled Efficiency), S (Sport) and M (Manual). Watch aficionados, check out the cool IWC centre console clock. We’re not so sure about the steering wheel though, which looks like a face with a big grin.

We have written extensively on the W222 S 63 AMG already, and you can click here to find out all you need to know. This post is a nod to the great photography below, featuring a very handsome limo. Like a boss indeed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Oct 01, 2013 at 5:34 pm

WOW. BMW really needs to fix the funny look on the front of the 7 series. 7er seems to have a long face. This looks awesome. Well done MB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • chrono on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:03 pm

I just remember its rear is similar to my friend’s car old elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Obama on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:34 am

Argh…i felt so insecure driving this on our road!! Any same feeling?

• Merc is slow… our Ah beng already have blue light strips on the dashboard years ago…:p

• jolly_idiot on Oct 01, 2013 at 7:09 pm

I’m a boss… but why I can’t afford this?

• holofanboi on Oct 01, 2013 at 7:15 pm

I have never in my life liked any of Mercedes’s E serirs due to the way its front grille and headlights mesh together.

But oh my freaking lord the interior is sinfully beautiful!! Actually all of mercs interior mysteriously looks better than its exterior for some odd reason. I kinda wonder if the designers for the interior and exterior is separated in department o_0

• Of course you don’t like because you are too poor to own it!

• holofanboi on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Huh?….

Well in anycase I meant S class in my original comment. Srsly should have gotten a note 2 instead. Bloody s4 keys are too close to each other.

• Gavin on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:49 pm

and to imagine this thing is only like 500k there?

• Jilbaber on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:52 am

Oh god, now I’m torn, between this or the coupe version for my after-retirement car, got 2 years to decide…

• At that time, BMW will be coming out with the new 7 Series and the gorgeous 8 Series coupe. Maybe you can consider those too.

• Jilbaber on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:04 pm

No doubt BMW are nice, but I’m always Mercedes Fan through out my life (even on the next)

• holofanboi on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:51 am

Well Gavin, depends on your personality to begin with. If you like attention the coupe would be great.

Although if you’re at a senior age, this would be much better reflect your current persona. Tough and unassuming on the outside (exterior), calm and elegant on the inside (interior), yet possess formidable power gained throughout your years (performance).

• jolly_idiot on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:51 am

At that time maybe you should consider a bicycle for a better health.

• German tech, design and engineering at its best

• heybadigol on Oct 02, 2013 at 12:10 pm

While its fast (and looks the part), it doesnt look very comfortable, as say a Rolls Royce Ghost. Granted the S63 AMG will be faster than the RR (Ghost does the 0-60mph sprint in 4.7 secs versus the 4 secs for this AMG). But if were a boss, i would still prefer the Ghost. Cos the Ghost is a sleeper car, nobody would expect the huge thing to reach 60mph in less than 5 secs. Alternatively, there is the Bentley Flying Spur, which is even faster than the Ghost, though the S63 AMG is just slightly faster.

Ok, now can stop dreaming and back to driving my “kuli” car. Haha

• big screen..