UMW Toyota confirms local Camry Hybrid CKD plans

Toyota_Camry_Hybrid_IGEM2013_1

Mentioned in passing during the Lexus ES launch last week, UMW Toyota has now confirmed its intent to offer the Toyota Camry Hybrid as a locally-assembled CKD model soon. Pending government rulings on possible tax breaks for large-capacity CKD hybrid vehicles, its pricing could be pegged at a small premium over the current range-topping Camry 2.5V.

At present, hybrid cars with engines displacing under 2,000 cc and electric cars enjoy full exemption on both import and excise duties, but the current set of tax incentives – which were first announced in Budget 2011 and then extended in Budget 2012 – is set to end on Dec 31, 2013.

The upcoming Budget on October 25 should see the continuance of exemptions for hybrids, but rumours abound that the current application is likely to be revised, with the possibility that import/excise duty exemptions will be granted to locally-assembled hybrids as opposed to that in effect now.

021-camry-hybrid-jdm

That would fit into the scheme of things for the Camry Hybrid if it is to be CKD-ed. Previous iterations of the model never arrived here previously because its engine displacement runs well above the 2.0 litre ceiling covered by the current tariff scheme – it’s powered by a 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE Atkinson cycle unit, the same unit as found in the Lexus ES 300h.

With a combined output of 205 PS, the Camry Hybrid can get to 100 km/h 8.6 seconds, compared to the standard 2.5V’s 9.7 seconds. Fuel consumption is significantly better too, at an average of 19.6 km per litre over 13.0 km/L for the petrol-only variant. Toyota’s proprietary eCVT replaces the six-speed automatic transmission.

The petrol/electric Camry was displayed at the 4th International Greentech and Eco Products & Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM 2013) last weekend, along with the NS4 Plug-in Hybrid Concept. The pair will again be present at Toyota’s KLIMS’13 stand from November 15-24 at the PWTC.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hooray on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Finally thanks to NAP we have the CKD Hybrid Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 221
      • Germans rulez on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Erm~ this is only your opinion, many riches still buys Germans over Japanese, maybe they buy this crap/camry to go to pasar or some rural areas…
        btw i work hard to get Audi (already owned one), Beemer, or Mercs, not this old fashion piece of junk….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 19
        • firts on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Century sprint in only 8.6sec? I’d rather put racechip into Preve and enjoy 7.3sec, pawns every camry hybrid on the road. Not to mention I can save for fuel with the huge price difference.

Oh, if my Preve breaks down I still have the warranty. If warranty ends I can still buy another Preve and that’s still CHEAPER than an overpriced and overrated fugly Camry Hybrid. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 21
          • rodney on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:15 pm

more like sounds from a sour mouth that cant afford camry…

hope you’ll enjoy claiming ur proton warranty throughout the ownership k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
          • saladin on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:43 pm

gud luck on claiming ur warranty from proton. when u claim they will say, sori bang tkde parts la, kna tungu 3 bulan.( thats classic) latest one , sori bang parts ni memang tkde lg. ( especially new model).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
          • rodney,
            jeles lettew (camry is nothing)
            leleleleleleel

• Camry is boring car and only suitable for uncles and aunties, I don’t want to be seen older before time.

Sorry Toyota, your design is not good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Enthu on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:19 am

Poor boy who only could afford a Preve haiz~

Bet he’s already having a hard time paying the installments and here he is, judging other cars which is way above his league. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Enthu on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:21 am

Poor boy who only could afford a Preve. Bet he is already struggling to pay for his installments.

And here he is, judging other cars which is way above his pay grade. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Eh Sam arhh. You Toyoda salesman arhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • work smart on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:53 pm

we work smart to earn 5 digits every month and enjoy german cars. pity you work so hard but can only earn little bit more than others, and some more get a toyota but thought yourself as high class ppl. but the fact is you are not and still far far way to go to reach this level!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Being Cheated by UMW? on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:46 pm

If CBU Super specced Camry in US is USD$35,000, how come this car is going to be about RM200,000?
        I thought there is no tax for hybrid cars.

Somemore this will be CKD. CKD should be cheaper than CBU. After all using inferior Malaysian parts and paint.

Also, the price of USD$35,000 is the price the US dealership clean profit. They are making a healthy proft and also this price is after US government tax is paid. I think the US dealership gets this car maybe far below US$30,000

The same with UMW. Being the Prinicpial in Malaysia, they will get this car straight from the factory in Japan at a very cheap cost if they were to bring the CBU in. So, even if they brought the CBU in, it should be RM100,000 or less.

But we are getting the CKD. It should be much cheaper than the CBU price. So, is UMW making more than RM100,000 profit on each Camry sold?

Oh btw, the US Camry is specced so high, you will get a shock if you see the spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
        • the amount of factual error in your comment is amazing considering the point you’re trying to make.

1) The Tax exemption for Hybrids below 2000cc ends next year. There IS tax for hybrid cars

2)CKD does not necessarily means cheaper and the fact that you say local parts/paint are inferior just shows how little respect/knowledge you have on the local industry.

3) How do you know the car is obtained at a very cheap cost??

Lets try not to be shallow when we assume CKD = cheap
          CBU = expensive
          there are various other factors that affects price such as parts availability, volume,amount of local parts in the vehicle. you order 10 door handle a year from a manufacturer, cant expect to get cheaper than someone who orders 1000.A small reason that explains Proton-Perodua pricing.

Back to the topic. The confident tone in this guys,might it maybe mean that there are some extra goodies that the government might give in replacement of the tax exemption?i dont think they will blindly bring in a hybrid for a model that is not even selling that well.

i understand the urge to bash at times but it gets irritating when you hope to find info/discussions in the comments and you get blind bashing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
          • Azt Rempit on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:28 am

The first para also wrong, how to read further? No credibility at all

Quote….
            1) The Tax exemption for Hybrids below 2000cc ends next year. There IS tax for hybrid cars

Azt rempit, there is NO tax for Hybrid cars lah. And the tax exemption does not end next year, it ends this year with a high probability it would be renewed for 2014 onwards.

Which kampung you come from saying there is tax for hybrid cars?

• There IS which is the 6% sales tax. The exemption is on the Excise and import duty. That was what im trying to point out. Obviously this ‘kampung’ boy knows a whole lot better than you.

however my apologies as i meant to say was there wont be anymore tax exemption next year.

• Camry Hybrid US Price on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:49 am

Actually you are wrong. Camry Hybrid is not USD$35,000. It is for Camry Hybrid LE $26,140 and for the Camry Hybrid XLE, it is $27,670

Most dealers give you much cheaper than that because that is the RRP price. Most dealers in the US give you about $24,000. That works out to RM80,000 for the car. A CBU 10 airbag car. In Malaysia, you get the CKD 2 airbag for RM200,000.

Is Toyota UMW cheating you? You should know the answer. Lagipun tax free for Hybrids.

• tiadaid on Oct 20, 2013 at 12:24 am

That’s because American consumers are smart, while most Malaysian consumers are not as smart.

Heck, some of these typical Malaysians are downright stupid – consider how many Vioses are on the road when there are better cars on offer for the same price!

If Toyota in the US were to pull the same stunt that UMW is doing here, shortchanging the buyers by offering crap cars, they’d be mercilessly attacked & their cars boycotted.

• Anonymous on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:46 pm

you sounds like those MLM ppl..

• ROBERT on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Be open minded. Up to a person to choose which they like. Not buy toyota, a poor? Don’t say like that. Some rich bought toyota because it is smart in different method of ecosystem friendly. Some bought thirsty non eco friendly. Up to buyers. Some even paid RM300,000 just to buy a 30 years old classic carburated mercedes. It is up to them. Toyota great in hybrids but they lack of technology and some chassis problems such as shock absorbers. People has rights to buy M6. They afford. Some people even rather buy 2007 530i recond for RM180,000. Nothing wrong. Some people just don’t care about RV. They don’t care about thirsty engine. They don’t care about their cars being problematic. Some bought recond X5 for RM190,000 because it is absolutely better ride than a new fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Bullshit. They don’t care actually,not when 10 airbags are omitted from the car,along with VSC. Lets not forget VSC only adds RM17.10 to its price. The treat our lives like its RM17.10. How ’bout that? ._.

• As a rich guy i don’t drive Toyota! my cheapest car is a Mini Cooper S, for my pasat pagi and pasat malam coz i can park whatever i want and never care about my car scratch or even crash! Range Rover Evoque is for my work coz i can bring so many things! Toyota is for my hand, if someone make me angry then i smash the door to other car or just kiss their bumpers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
        • @VS
          I cannot assume you as a rich guy until you buy a Camry. Toyota is the epitome of luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:36 am

The ultimate luxury is still the Toyota Camry. No doubt about that. come to my yard and get yourself a Mazda CX5. Lately so many CX5 come in to be traded. I think now Mazda beat kimchi in being No 1 rejected car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

So many imposters lately.

Kimchi owners shown the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • SAM LOO DON'T LIE!!!! on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Now all backfire and people are angry with you, you say got so many imposters. No imposters lah, we all know that it is you Sam Loo. We all know that you are twisted in your head and that in your small mind, you think by hantaming other car brands, your Toyota sales will improve. We know you are nothing but a fraud. We know that Sam Loo and SamShowedMeTheHilux are one and the same person. People do not believe you anymore. Come here in so many different names and bash Korean cars. We know it is you Sam Loo. We know you got at least 10 different names. Korean cars got SAME resale value as Toyota and Honda. I check Mudah, Carlies, Motor Trader and even Star Online, the Resale Value of Koreans are the SAME as Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 6:01 pm

This bugger above is the imposter.

As long as Sam has a steady supply of of sorhais buying kimchi new, we will be very happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:22 pm

The only imposter is you Sam Loo. You are nothing but a trouble maker with low inferiority complex. Come into this forum and spread lies. So jealous of Korean success. You got no sales because you play dirty. You spread lies and are dishonest. Nobody wants to hear your lies anymore.

• Trouble Maker Shown the Hilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:01 pm

I was so upset because when I tried to trade in my 1 year old Elantra, used car dealer asked me to leave the car behind, coz no demand at all.

At least Sam has the courtesy to buy it at 1/2 price

• Hadi75 on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:55 pm

What so special about toyota???are you so desperate for sale????

• samshowedmehispeabrain on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:12 pm

sam stop spending so much time here and go “earn your camry”. or second one, or even hundredth one if you feel so luxurious in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
      • KNS sam loo on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Hilux loo, you are really a joke here. I think you are bringing down Toyota sales further while making people here laughing at the same time. Appreciate your effort. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:37 am

So many people can dislike me because they cannot admit, Toyota is the ultimate to own and the best RV in Malaysia. Face facts people. If you don’t want to be on the high road with Camry, you are welcome to be down there with Proton, Kimchi and Mazdas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Hurrah on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm

But Proton still hope other people mercy for D-segment car…let alone for a hybrid…kesian betul ini jaguh kampung…Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • stanleychua on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:05 pm

in 6 more years i will be 35 years old and driving camry after trade in my vios hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • shooter on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:46 pm

You already look like a 60 years old man if you drive a Camry so you should wait for another 36 years to own it.

• No need to ckd…no quality ma!..low class ma!..substandard ma!..production people lazy ma!…cbu better ma!..oni rm5k diff ma!…nap fail ma!..don supot lynas ma!…u guys said that..I’m just echoing wat u guys said

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Fake Fella

• SAM LOO DON'T LIE!!!! on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:50 pm

No Fake Fellow. Only fake here is you. A big liar that goes around spreading rumours and lies. Don’t know the ethics of participating in a forum. Infact, you got no ethics in your whole life. It is because of you that many potential Toyota buyers have stayed away from buying a Toyota. We think, if Toyota salesman act like this, how to have confidence in their products and after sales service??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • SamshowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Obviously, Sam has shown you 3 Hilux when you tried to trade in your K5.

I understand perfectly. Chill bro. It will wear out

• Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Go away Sam Loo. Everybody here knows you are a trouble maker. Sheer jealousy. Korean cars are doing well because they are good and their resale value is the SAME as Honda and Toyota. Nobody believes you anymore. Now you lie so much you even say Mazda CX5 got bad resale value. Nobody believes you anymore. About the K5, you can only dream of owning one. A bad attitude person like you is a sore loser who probably just owns a 3rd hand Hilux.

• tombyron on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm

knowing toyota..the price must be at the hi side

• bluebird on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Its already mentioned, the price will be higher than 2.5V maybe in the ball park of RM180k-200k

• glaze on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:19 pm

to be exact its UMW not Toyota

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Most importantly, Jap cars won’t depreciate like kimchis by 50% within a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Still spreading lies? Everybody knows about your lies. Kimchi cars got SAME resale value as Honda and Toyota. Go check carlies, mudah, motor trader. Don’t spread lies out of jealousy and bad sales of Toyota. Nobody buys Toyota because of people like you. bad dishonest attitude.

• This is great news (pending full specs). I would buy a Camry Hybrid if the price and specs were right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Ipoh Mali on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Should do a Vios and Altis Hybrid as well.More affordable for the Malaysian

• Jeffrey on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:55 pm

On my point of view, this is the last resort to lure foreign automakers to settle down in Malaysia automotive industry. Most of the brands already placed the roots in Thailand and Indonesia, and did huge expansion due to unfair policy in Malaysia. Hybrid car certainly last at least 10 years from today before an electric car able to cruise as far as 1 full tank of petrol. We can easily become main exporter of hybrid cars within the region, abundance of land, good infrastructure and talents.

Please don’t keep protecting Proton, it is enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • U must know y many brand went to thai..not just bout labor cost. Import tax of car to thai is 80% flat regardless of engine capacity until now..this practice way before afta since 80’s if not mistaken…force car maker to open plant there if not their car will be expensive..that’s y u can see thai conti car brand hav similar or little bit costly than boleh..their excise is cheap though 20-50%(non lcgc) if not mistaken…

• U can refer to this if u don believe my word

Thai car tax structure

http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/435479-taxes-on-cars-in-thailand/

• If it has decent safety equipment and specs, then I’d reckon it as a good buy among D-segments (provided that it really IS a bit more $ than the 2.5V). But the styling… erhem….

• I would like to see the battle of Honda accord 2.0 hybrid CBU vs Toyota Camry 2.4 hybrid CKD…

• Jazzer on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm

The winner is reskined Honda Accord 2.2T (turbo) by Proton, more beautiful than a Passat CC and E klasse

• valjean on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:18 pm

So, it is possible that CKD will enjoy full exemption like that enjoyed by under 2.0l Hybrid?

If so, then it should be cheaper then Lexus CT200h considering that Toyota is priced below Lexus elsewhere. Otherwise a RM180k Hybrid Camry is not tempting at all.

• Specially the batter of spec , pricing… As we all know very well in Malaysia even is an CKD unit the pricing is jus cheaper that CBU unit 5k to 15k that’s the maximum.. Example: 1. Honda jazz hybrid CBU Rm94.8 , CKD rm89.9k at the 1st place when they launch CKD jazza hybrid. 2. VW passat CBU and CKD just 10k diff. If jus a little diff better get an CBU unit

• glaze on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:24 pm

there is no CBU Camry Hybrid, as mentioned by Hafriz if the rumours are correct only CKD get the tax exemption and CBU will not get tax exemption, so that is not 5k-15k extra to get the CBU unit

• can sell below rm150k

• sudonano on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:29 pm

well technically, since the Hybrid Camry XLE in USA, with moonroof, leather, BLIS Entune and every conceivable option (with 10 airbags AND VSC) is priced at about $34,960, which at today’s bank rate, is RM 110 258.60(before 10% sales tax), including the regular dealer costs, SA cost, Toyota profit (US also they are getting profit what) , if they can get exemptions on the excise and also import duty since Toyota is not from an Asean country.

Assuming that they don’t get 1% off also, then it will be an additional 110% of tax (90% excise, 10% sales, 10% import).

Currently, the comparatively specced Camry LE in the US, with 10 airbags but no leather, 2.5l 6 speed auto costs $23930, which is RM75471.63. With a 110% tax, it would cost about RM158491.20. However, UMW marks up the 2.5V here to RM180917 OTR. In total, our price is about 12.4% higher than the expected price

Applying the same formula on the Camry Hybrid, 110% tax on the US price will bring it to a RM231541.80. And the 12.4% extra count for UMW, it will be about RM260252.98. Provided there is absolutely no exemption, this is likely to be their price. Which is quite shocking, cause the Audi A6 Hybrid now is RM288k before tax, after tax, it would be, an extra 110% too (30% import, 80% excise), making it about RM604k. Yes.

Do note that these are rough calculations as we are not exactly sure of the into showroom price (which has the manufacturing cost + parent company’s profit), which is used to calculate the after excise duty price, which is then added with the dealer’s margin and commission, on top of which the after sales tax price is calculated which leads to the OTR price.

(There was an article explaining the high car prices of MY on the net, google and you’ll find it).

The point of all this is that, if say the exemptions for sub 2.0l hybrids go on next year, the Camry Hybrid may only be 20k less than an Audi hybrid. And mind you the Audi is CBU from Germany, and has more tech too. plus it has an aluminium frame! And the 4 ring badge.

UMW has to work super hard to get that exemption. Or it is going to be a big flop if the hybrid exemption goes on next year, and UMW gets no discount. Well. They have their work cut out. And they better not cut the spec list to poverty spec lists. 260k for a Camry Hybrid would be absurd, as the CC and the Lexus ES hovers at that price. And both are CBUs. Good luck then UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Correct way to calculate:
      Custom price x import tax (30%) = import tax rate(RM)
      (Custom price + import tax) x excise tax(?%) = excise tax rate(RM)
      (Custom price + import tax(RM) + excise tax(RM)) x sales tax (10%) = sales tax rate (RM)
      Custom price + Import tax (RM) + excise tax (RM) + sales tax (RM) = car cost with tax(RM)
      Car cost with tax + dealer margin = sales price (not on the road)
      Sales price (not on the road) + aksesori + registration + Insurance = car price (OTR price)

• wee teck on Oct 17, 2013 at 5:42 pm

lousy uncle boxy car. fail. suprima s is way better than this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • ROBERT on Oct 18, 2013 at 1:15 am

Be positive. Of course there are some pro of suprima than camry hybrid. But there are cons as well for example drive characteristic, maintenance and soundproof which camry might did better. Don’t judge a book by its cover. Be humble as well. No need to show off which car better. Every vehicle manufacturer create vehicle base on their specialities for example toyota -hybrid, proton-high torque turbocharged, mazda-skyactiv, Isuzu-fuel save & reliability, and many others. We just cannot find a vehicle which works 100 percent perfect.

• I’m sure Sam loo working with Toyota as a salesman ~~~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Uncle Sam was a kimchi owner like many of us.

Sold it off with a hailat look, took the trouble of understanding the vehicle consumer behavior and became a used kimchi yard owner.

It has been so profitable for him, as there are more and more kimchi owners (far more than his original estimate) that sells off the rotten cabbage within a year.

Easy money to make when the average net profit is more than RM10k per vehicle and turnover of less than 2 weeks for Hyundai

For Kia, there is no boz case at all. No demand in 2nd hand mart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Stop your lies Sam Loo. Nobody believes you anymore. You are just a sore loser Toyota salesman with bad sales. Because of you many have refrained buying Toyota because of your dishonest ways as a Toyota salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • With this car i cam carry lots of Luggages at the back and whole family!

• Fahmi on Oct 17, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Hybrid cars which are derived (not dedicated hybrid like Prius) from normal cars usually have smaller trunk size than their “normal” counterparts such as BMW ActiveHybrid, Audi A6 Hybrid and more… Enough but not massive compared to “normal” ones…

• elise on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Yup to put the battery, the boot will loose its size, prolly about 150l. Mind you that is huge lost for its size. It could make a sedan car boot shrinks to a hatchback.

• Fahmi on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Provided that it is nicely specced and nicely priced, I would consider this a good buy compared to “normal” 2.5V… But then, Toyota in Malaysia is not known for a good “value for money”, considering the Prius is at RM140-150k region, this one would presumably be priced higher…

I still hoping for the Accord hybrid to come to Malaysia, it will give Camry hybrid a run for its money, plus Honda have advantage in taxation (below 2000cc).. But why it must end in 2013? New Proton hybrid in making?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 17, 2013 at 6:37 pm

The front is 140% better than our Camry here. Rear isn’t that bad to start with. Performance is damn healthy and save lots of fuel too! If only UMW mantain the spec and priced it around 170K to replace 2.5 model.

• HONpengDA on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Where are u Honda Accord hybrid 2.0L ? i can’t wait to see the battle with camry 2.5L hybrid!Heard that accord hybrid are more save fuel than camry hybrid,The accord hybrid done only 30.0km/l,super save fuel.

• Still fugly to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Well, if you own a K5, your face will not only be fugly but so hailat even your mum can’t recognize you after Sam shows you his Hilux

• sianglee on Oct 17, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Seems like estima and alphard hybrid may be ckd soon!
    Hurray all AP KING going to suffer soon.
    Then the policy get revised again later…

• Toyota learn from your siblings Honda & Nissan on how to design your car. Your design engineers are running out of ideas (just my thought).

• Choongks on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:57 am

Stop arguing like a small boy. Let’s face the fact that Japanese cars are more reliable than Conti cars. Conti cars have more punch and soul. Malaysian cars don’t have either 1 of them.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Japanese manufacturers invented the Lean Six Sigma process.

How else do you think that they can dominate the North American Market in the 80’s?

Their Kaizen (continuous improvement) mentality made their products second to none

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Nobody listens to you anymore. We all know you are dishonest and a trouble maker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Rv anyone? on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:29 am

Eh? I am surprised salesman no mention of RV here-the only selling point now for me cars.
    Quality? Hahaha! That was in the history. Later ppl start posting on breakdown/patah links.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 18, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Sam has been so busy trading kimchis and making a very healthy income.

Many many imposters here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:13 pm

In fact, I have been doing a case study to export used kimchis to Sri Lanka.

The trade in value of kimchis have dropped by an average RM10k that is is now low enough to export. The 1st owners helped pay of all the taxes and duties oledi.

As such, i can now accept more kimchis. Bank Negara’s strict loan guide for used cars is just making the local market challenging even for sui kwan euros.

Anyway, I will need to get another Hilux as my staff are complaining that they have to talk too much telling kimchi owners they are Hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo the Troublemaker on Oct 18, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Nobody wants to hear your lies. For 1 year now you have been causing trouble in this forum. We all know its pure lies to make your Toyota sales better. Korean cars have the SAME Resale value as Honda and toyota. Its all there in mudah, carlies, motor trader etc. Stop spreading lies and being dishonest. Your Toyota sales might get better then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:22 am

Trade in Value is not the same as resale value. Some ppl just need to be knocked on the head with a sledgehammer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Wilson Kwong on Oct 18, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Camry is a damn good car. But the path they are going with their designing team, isn’t really helping. I’d rather have the previous generation Camry than the current one.

Of all the same class sedans under the same price range, I think the Mazda 6 looks the best, then the Hyundai Sonata and KIA Optima K5. But Camry will definitely retain its 2nd hand value better. Even the boring looking Honda Accord looks better than the new Camry.

What a shame. But nonetheless, a pretty damn good car, that will easily give you 400-500k KM without giving you major issues.

If reliability, comfort, residual value, are your priority, go for it, and also consider the Accord.

The Camry is basically the same car as the Lexus ES, same chassis, same engine, etc. except for the Lexus logo, and some interior touch-ups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 19, 2013 at 12:21 am

Another bugger that did not do homework.

The new Lexus ES is based on Avalon. If you have not been to North America or Oz, you would not know what is the Avalon. Its an E-Segment Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • fresco on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Sorry, but your homework is also wrong.

Underpinning platform for latest Camry & ES is the same.
        For their Hybrid versions, the systems are near identical.

• Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Which planet did you come from?

• SamLiarScukHilux on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:49 pm

SamLoo janagan cakap pandai pandai dan bohong lagi. Tolong balik kampung tanam jagung you, jangan cakap bodoh lagi

• heyhey8699 on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Camry is really a not bad car to drive.
    Hybrid coming?please make it more affordable to buy and with with equipped with more safety and tech,please!
    Now even the Japan Local version also feature 6 airbags,navigation,and auto tilt and telescope steering as standard,and memory seat!
    What we can see in current camry?it is still not bad but with that price tag,should have comes with more equipment.

• huehuehue on Oct 26, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Camry Hybrid CKD..

spec to expect
    2 Airbags
    ABS
    maybe kalau baik hati a sunroof..

• TheOneAndOnlySam on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Please stand up