Aussie made Camry Hybrid to go on sale next year

toyota camry hybrid

Toyota has announced that it will begin producing the Camry Hybrid next year, with sales starting in February 2010. The Camry Hybrid will be Australia’s first locally built hybrid, and it will have a production run of about 10,000 units per year, including exports to New Zealand.

20 per cent of the first year run is already accounted for – Victorian Premier, John Brumby has declared the Government’s commitment to purchase 2,000 Camry Hybrids for its fleet. Victoria is the home state of Toyota’s Altona plant tasked with producing the green Camry alongside its standard siblings and the Aurion.

Toyota received part of the Government’s AUD $1.3-billion Green Car Innovation Fund to start this project. Australia is the fifth country in the world to produce Camry Hybrid, after Japan, USA, China and our neighbour Thailand. No chance of this car coming to Malaysia, whether from Thailand or Australia, as it would be prohibitively expensive without the hybrid car duty exemption, which is applicable only to cars below 2,000cc (Camry Hybrid uses a 2.4-litre).

For more pictures and details of the Camry Hybrid, check out our previous post.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 13, 2009 at 1:35 am

Toyota received part of the Government’s AUD $1.3-billion Green Car Innovation Fund to start this project. Shame toyota !!!!

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 13, 2009 at 1:41 am

pls fund at your own, dont suck tax payer money……

• shawal.ali on Dec 13, 2009 at 1:44 am

looks nice

• Gajen on Dec 13, 2009 at 3:00 am

kinda sporty…

i was talkingto a toyota salesman when toyota brought their prius to my uni…the salesman said if they were to bring the camry hybrid to malaysia…it will be around 250-300+ k…if a camry hybrid is priced that high,god knows how much a lexus hybrid will cost..

• mduan on Dec 13, 2009 at 3:12 am

the dugongness trademark is still there

• frossonice on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:21 am

Paul, just wondering, is there any new special edition Proton Savvy coming out? I was on my way back to my hometown today afternoon when I saw 3 trucks fully laden with White Savvys. The weird thing this is that the A pillar of the Savvys seem to be painted black and the front and rear bumper were covered with some plastics. Sadly tho, I didn't manage to take some pictures of them.

• Littlefire on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:27 am

If Austalian G didnt give the fund will they come to Aus to set up a plant? Is a win-win situation to give it's own people work while producing green cars..

Besides that, they need to pay back the fund in term of loan. You tot like us!?? Until now haven heard they pay back anything back the G except tax..

Thailand also have this kind of financial support & tax rebate. Only in Boleh land given most specially to P1 only…

• squawk on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:38 am

Other countries should stop spoiling the market and make us look bad!!!

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 13, 2009 at 5:13 am

Victorian Premier, John Brumby has declared the Government’s commitment to purchase 2,000 Camry Hybrids for its fleet. Wah sounds like direct negotiations. Maybe toyota badly needs bailout waka ka ka…..

• initial R on Dec 13, 2009 at 5:33 am

Littlefire said,

December 12, 2009 @ 8:27 pm

—————————————–

Wait to see financial report………………..

• Littlefire on Dec 13, 2009 at 5:58 am

Last time saw the P1 financial report they have somemore extra money pump in for Local R & D fund… Hmm…

• our G will use Honda Hybrids instead ? ? :P

• Insecticon on Dec 13, 2009 at 8:42 am

The front part looks like Altis to me …urghhh!

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm

nadzri m yusof said,

December 12, 2009 @ 5:41 pm

pls fund at your own, dont suck tax payer money……

You are refering to Proton or Toyota?

And?

So australia is giving incentives to get FDI. Ulike malaysia which is doing everything it can to keep out FDI.

• Najmuddin on Dec 13, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Stupid P1 and stupid Malaysian government! Our NAP will continue to protect P1 and deprive Malaysian of owning/driving safe and quality car, something that P1 will NEVER be in this lifetime!

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 14, 2009 at 3:40 am

Najmuddin said,

Stupid P1 and stupid Malaysian government! Our NAP will continue to protect P1 and deprive Malaysian of owning/driving safe and quality car, something that P1 will NEVER be in this lifetime!

——————————————————————-

hahaha… cakap boleh la.. pakai keyboard je… buat la sendiri tengok… stupid… ape yg ko dah buat… blaa blaa blaa jee…. kosong… 0000000..

pi la perbetul p1 or tukar G… tak leh tukar G, ge masuk jd G buat sesuatu… stupid… 000000000

• charles chia on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:48 am

Article says the price for Camry Hibrid wherever its made will be exorbitant. Only realised now ka, everything in Malaysia is exorbitant even our road toll and Int. passport. In fact, our BN govt makes more money than car manufactorers by way of tax. Nazri M. Yusof says shame on Toyota for taking the tax-payer money what about UMNO run Malaysian Govt taking everybody money. At least the Camry in australia sells cheaper than Malaysian one. How to vote UMNO to manage the country for us.

• charles chia on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:55 am

All car buyers you are full blooded fools to vote for UMNO to run this country that tax cars so heavily making you can hardly afford. I do not complain though i am also hit because me and my family didn't vote BN. We definitely don't need a govt to make all things expensive for us. Don't throw away your vote. Vote carefully or else we can only read all the new cars in print only.

• lazyf on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:01 am

front looks macam Altis!!!

• NIck Androjasic on Dec 14, 2009 at 2:04 pm

Price in Australia will be about AUD35k including road tax etc…pretty good

• odi862 on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Our Government should start the "green" policy also for automotive industry. Maybe they are waiting for P1 to roll out their Persona Hybrid then they will introduce the policy. I think the prototype was revealed in 2007 and drove by Pak Lah during Merdeka Day. It has been 2 years and still no sight of it.

I believe there are many Malaysian interested in hybrid cars (including me) but due to the exorbitant pricing due to tax and very limited choice (only Civic and Prius), it is still a dream for now.

When will the G gonna get the wake up call? Don't just think about the revenue they can get from the high tax. If they reduce the tax a lot and many people buy it due to relatively low price, than they can still get the high revenue from it perhaps few times higher than now. Anyway, this is just "kopi tiam talk". It is still up to the G to decide…..

• All other countries in the world are going green, renewable energy. Reduce dependancy on oil import. Yet, M'sian Gov is going backwards. Biuld more highways for ppl to ''drive''and corporate Malaysia to make money while ignoring the mass transit system (M'sian gov reactive only, not proactive). Then complain in the media ''Oil subsidy high''. Joke of the Century.

• Are the parts coming from ASEAN countries to be assembled in Australia?

• odi862 on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:09 am

I think the G will always reluctant to go 'green' as long as there is still oil to pump out. Maybe when the oil wells are dry out then perhaps the G will encourage people to use diesel cars using oil palm as fuel to increase the palm oil industry. If this happen we will never be 'green' but 'black' due to more air pollution.

• really like this kind of technology on reliable car in Boleh Land..