Honda crossover based on the Jazz is Tokyo-bound

Honda Urban SUV Concept

The Honda S660 Concept we showed earlier won’t be making its world debut at the Tokyo Motor Show alone, as Honda has also confirmed the attendance of a new Jazz-based crossover there. As Honda puts it, it will be a full production model of the Urban SUV Concept (pictured here) shown earlier this year.

Other than the confirmation, no official specifics have been released. Earlier though, Honda described the concept as a “global model combining a sporty and dynamic SUV profile with a spacious, functional interior.” Petrol, diesel and hybrid powertrains have been suggested.

To be built on the latest third-generation Jazz/Fit, the new Honda crossover will embrace the fast-growing on-road-biased mini-SUV brigade that currently includes the Nissan Juke, Renault Captur, Chevrolet Trax, Ford EcoSport and Peugeot 2008.

We already know that the last two, built on the Fiesta and 208 compact hatchbacks respectively, will arrive on our shores soon. Fancy a baby CR-V, anyone?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• i do fancy a baby crv.. well if the production car is not too far from the concept shown.. and ofcoz if arrived in bolehland the baby wont be overpriced..

• Looks very production ready with that kind of interior. Rear has a hint of Audi’s SUV and it’s not a bad thing. Loving this concept!

• Would consider if it’s slightly over 100k, too sad the truth is always way above our imagination..

• Samuel Tong on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Nice design indeed. Great job by Honda.
    I do not see such a great innovation by Toyota though.

• Packers on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Honda should call this baby CRV as CRX. Reviving the legendary two seated nameplate CRX sold mainly in US.

• Packers on Oct 23, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Honda should call this baby CRV as CRX. Reviving the legendary two seater nameplate CRX sold mainly in US.

• Sahipul on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:26 pm

I’m looking forward to it, hoping it will hit our shore next year :) CRV a bit too expensive for me, so this should fit my budget.

• Call it HRV like they had once been called long long time ago. Maybe JRV as its based on Jazz.. Hope to see it in flesh soonish