Lexus RC Coupe revealed ahead of Tokyo debut

lexus rc

The Lexus RC Coupe has broken cover ahead of its Tokyo show debut – and isn’t she a looker. This is the widest and lowest application yet seen of the Lexus spindle grille, and adding to the aggression are sharp triangular headlamps, deeply contoured lines and huge louvres on either side of the rear bumper.

Its ‘eyes’ comprise three-lamp LEDs that take on an L-shaped pattern at low beam. The tail lamps also feature the L-shaped signature. 19-inch 10-spoke or 18-inch five-spoke aluminium wheels are available, each finished with elegant black and platinum centre caps. And check out the tiny spindle grille-mounted fog lamps!

The 4,694-mm long, 1,839-mm wide and 1,394-mm tall Lexus RC Coupe sits on a 2,730 mm wheelbase, making it 29 mm longer, 29 mm wider and 141 mm lower overall, with a 70 mm-shorter wheelbase, than its four-door counterpart, the third-gen Lexus IS compact exec.

RC 350 (3.5 litre V6) and RC 300h (2.5 litre four-cylinder hybrid) models have been announced. No technical details have been divulged, but the IS 350‘s V6 develops 310 PS at 6,400 rpm and 375 Nm at 4,800 rpm, while the marriage between the IS 300h‘s electric motor and Atkinson cycle four-cylinder petrol engine results in a total system output of 223 PS and 300 Nm of torque.

The interior is largely IS, save for minor changes that include revised steering wheel buttons and the relocation of the Drive Mode Selector knob to beside the gear lever in order to accommodate a new Lexus Remote Touch Interface, which presumably enables handwriting input and character recognition like the BMW 4 Series‘ new iDrive Touch system. For comparison purposes, see the interior of the IS here.

There are more contrasting colours, materials (including a new tone called Clove) and lighting used, and a Lexus-first lighting package provides cabin illumination that reflects upwards rather than downwards. Genuine shimamoku wood highlights – the result of a layered wood production technique refined by Lexus – emphasise the trim surrounding it.

A hot version called the Lexus RC F has been spotted several times by our Euro spies, undergoing tests on the Nurburgring. See spyshots, a video and another video.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• rifle on Nov 04, 2013 at 4:22 pm

sex on the wheels!!most sexy production Lexus after LF-A :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • My favourite exterior and interior, the IS is already a blast to drive, the coupe is going to be even better, this car has all the recipes to be the car of the year 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:10 am

This is just a Toyota lah. Wake up lah Malaysians, you spending BMW prices on a mere Toyota. That is not just silly, its super dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • qwerty on Nov 04, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Oh my, the back is gorgeous!!

Throw in a turbo-ed V6 and Lexus has a winner!

• be patient, the RC-F will come after that..it shall be a V8 though…but another new model, the LF-nx (a hatch) will hv a turbo…

• Damn Sexy! The back light looks like refined Lexus GS. The back air vent looks great too! Successor for SC?!

• kingston5 on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:08 pm

A very beautiful looking coupe indeed.Audi,BMW,Merc & Infiniti better watch your 6.The Soarer is back!

• Trying to be different from the Germans instead of following and benchmarking them? Lexus, you’ve done an awesome job. I suspect like the IS, there will be clear line between haters and praisers on the design, but there is no mistaking it for anything, and it will definitely steal most attention away even with the extremely handsome F32 4-series and A5 on the block. It’s undistilled in yer face design, handsome? Pretty? I find it neither, I find it unique and different, but your our opinion may differ.

• Fahmi on Nov 04, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Very gorgeous, RC-F with V8/turbo V6 will be awesome…

• frenzyaustin on Nov 04, 2013 at 7:25 pm

The rear, no words can describe how good lookers is that. BMW 4-Series looks outdated next to it.

• armandd on Nov 04, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Best looking coupe I’ve ever seen…

• lightberry on Nov 05, 2013 at 12:42 am

That ASS !!

• Heng Lee on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:18 am

Best car for top speeds below 110km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • PauKaya on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:34 am

beautiful. yet UMW is gonna screw things up.

• heybadigol on Nov 05, 2013 at 7:33 am

Very nice details and proportion. It also looks nothing like the sedan version, seeing that wheelbase & height have been lowered. But interior space could be compromised as a result.

One wonders whether Lexus got some help from the team that developed the ToyoBaru 86, for this one (it could happen). If it does, this RC will be a riot to drive.

• I swear this is by far the best looking Coupe to ever spawn from any car manufacturer! And this being compared to the utterly boring looking 4-series and a complete cut and paste design of the C-class coupe, THE LEXUS RC is WAYYYYYYYYYYYYY ABOVE THE REST! considering that it is an “IS-coupe”, at least Lexus isn’t lazy like the germans in designing a new exterior and doing something slightly different for the interior!

• Shame_Loo on Nov 05, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Lexus, looks nice and luxury over the marketing picture. I sat into a IS250 last month when I was at The Garden, Mid Valley. My perception immediately change. Very disappointed with the cheap plastic feeling and ugly design in “actual”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Hi my friend, you have mistaken a Vios with a IS250 when you was at The Garden.

• hahaha…yup…if u think a Lexus is plasticky….then BMW and the rests are bullshit…

• showmetheranger on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:42 pm

The spindle grill design is a bad idea and this is the worst of them all.
    But the rest of the car actually looks nice.
    Lexus should ditch the spindle grill, makes it look like a lawnmower.

• Differornot on Nov 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

One can follow the European design or one may distinguish apart and show uniqueness. But remember that by avoiding the mainstream design of the continental brands, one may not just look different, it also can fail far apart from being in the same league.