Proton Preve bodykit by DreamEDGE at KLIMS13

Dreamedge-Preve-5

Malaysian company DreamEDGE is exhibiting this kitted up Proton Preve at the KLIMS13 show this week. It’s not on sale yet but it will be commercialised eventually, providing an alternative to those who don’t want to go for R3 kits which will eventually be widespread.

As part of their DreamEDGE TuneD program, the Proton Preve TuneD includes custom front and rear bumpers, side skirts, and 17 inch alloy wheels wrapped with 215/40R17 tyres. The show car also has a full set of strengthening bars by Ultra Racing – the car is mounted at an angle with a reflective surface underneath just to show off the bars.

What do you think, do you prefer this or Proton’s R3 kit?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mobilepseed on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:46 am

Once someone bought it and allegedly get another custom fibre bodykit shop to to the mould, then it’s goodbye to the original kit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:08 pm

It shows that outside designers far better than Proton own designers…imagine if DreamEDGE allowed to design cars…boleh goyang itu Toyota Honda Hyundai Kia sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • peyno on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:34 pm

alaaa dia cite pasal toyota honda… rupanya pakai keta nasional perodua je

prrfthhh

• nekko on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Bro.. For your information, it was DreamEDGE who designed Proton Preve inside out. Proton only did the concept sketch then sub to this company to do it all. I knew cause I was so close to be hired by this prestigious company. They also involve in ship building, monorail and they even have an electric bus http://indianautosblog.com/2013/08/dreamedge-zet-ev-malaysia-92899

• ........ on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:18 pm

looks “OK” but dont you guys think the proton badge on the preve is HUGE? soon it will probably cover the entire hood!

• sohai on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:00 am

Still better stuff than those overpriced, cheapstake and stupid R3 kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
  • seilo on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:14 am

still kampong enjine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 83
    • WAPALE on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:26 am

dude.. next year honda type R will come with turbo engine..can we call it kampung too..but yes,type R engine will be direct inject. but both are uniquely. the kampong engine u called it is from campro then we got the CFE aka turbo that’s unique..
      yes proton got those tech but i’m hoping those proton will matured as those honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Guan Yin Ma on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm

You are comparing an almost 70 years old car company with decade of experience in F1, and an almost 30 years old car company with .. erm… experience in rally ? You cannot blame people say proton is kampong.. Because that is FACT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
        • What FACT? Irresponsible, unsubstantial and without nothing to base upon. Coward opinionated jerk who hide behind the keyboard, spouting unnecessary comment so much unrelated to the topic at hand…now that’s a FACT, with your name on it!

• Enthu on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Are you boasting Proton’s Campro CFE engine which has a soft, single-scroll turbo?

Against the legendary Jap Honda that could churn out 200hp from an NA engine in the Type-R?

Really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • so what? R3 can do 180hp from 1.6 IAFM+ NA with minor changes (Preve R3 race car)…and 300hp from bore and stroked Waja 1.8 Renault NA (Neo S2000)

Not to mention E01W NA 220hp which kicked K20 VTEC’s ass..(I know it’s made by Petronas but it’s now in Proton’s hands..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • not-my-name on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Go study before make blind bash here, CFE designed not for Race, it is Charge Fuel Efficiency.

Do u think turbo just for race?? ha3

• lololol on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Charge FUEL EFFICIENTCY?? Sorry but it is not fuel efficientcy at all…I know u will say that it can delivers power same as 2.0 NA engine, but then other 2.0 NA engine like Toyota’s or Honda’s still have better fuel consumption…the Peugeot 308 Turbo 1.6 and Volvo V40 1.6 Turbo which are more powerful also can have better fuel consumption compared to CFE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Small vios 1.5l engine FC is similar with cfe, you said bigger n/a 2.0 engines are fuel savers?
            That’s funny, lol

• Ertiga on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm

The moment where body kit story has become much of engines arguement…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • The front bumper brings some nice feature to preve. Other than that.. meh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Personally, the whole car looks good. Interior good. But there is the headlamp design looks like sad. Hope Proton change it on facelift later.

• Ertiga on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:27 pm

headlamp wise i guess looks good there, maybe they should only change the inner part of the case. Redesign the DRL maybe?

• motorhead on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:31 am

Look nice not good enough if engine crap.. 9L/100.. I still laughing.. Not relevan at this time.. Cars not only about design & looks.. Practicality, economy & environment count…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • don’t trust Proton’s “very honest” figures lah. Go drive one and you’ll get 6-7L/100km easily. Euro5 emission some more..

much better than Japanese dinosaur engine we normally get

• vvt-i on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm

jap engines are only euro3 compliant. cfe ady euro5

• sp3d2 on Nov 22, 2013 at 10:06 pm

I agree. Preve is a fuel guzzler car. 9l/100 km is actual fc. Where is the so called fuel charge efficient?

• roslan on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:56 am

Don’t waste your hard earned money on these crap.
    UR bars , wider tyres and body kits will get
    get you no where cos at the end of the day
    a Proton is still a darn Proton.
    Just save your money and get a better car.
    Time to move on from this mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 59
    • smile33 on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:22 am

Well said!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
    • iahos on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:36 am

yes, since the handling already superb, UR bars is not a necessity for P1 cars. myvi will need the bars to avoid flying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Yes it’s still a Proton, but it’s still a damn good car (for it’s value)

UR bar is not needed. Chassis and suspension already too good. Get wider tyres instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Ertiga on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Sir Roslan, fly to Europe, look at those Volkswagen on the road. The local treating them like Proton there. The real problem is, the local will always have issue and arguement with their own local product. Just like in Korea, people prefer the iPhone over the Samsung S4 but in US, the S4 leading the iPhone. Its how we look at things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Yeah right on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:47 am

That is your mentality. Proton Preve/Suprima S chassis is better and harder than many cars out there. Do you know what is the required tension to bend the chassis? Anyway, Proton has improved a lot with Preve and the recent Suprima. They are value for your money with the specifications and features provided…

• Chong Yew on Nov 21, 2013 at 7:58 am

like slapping lipstick on a pig. a skinny pig.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
  • Does the bodykit make the car fly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:53 am

The car won’t fly, but to satisfy the ‘urge’ of some of the ‘Mat Motors’ to show off and syiok sendiri.

• bemmi on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

At least the original one is not so desperate to have bodykits like those on Teee Arrrr Deeee ah beng!

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:41 am

What bodykit?

• Roy Mustang on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:51 am

I have to say I like this front bumper more than the current preve. Especially the way how they hide the foglamp into the air intake.

• Still no engine upgrades to its current CFE? These current job is crap. MOVING ON NOW……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Still swimming from Pearl Habour on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:07 am

In Tokyo motor show, manufacturers bring out futuristic concepts and models… in Malaysia’s version, bodykits and latest car shampoo…

endless possibilities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Jual shampoo also got pretty cute model girls…visitors boleh enjoy cuci mata lah

• Peter on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:51 pm

LOL ~ The “latest car shampoo” part is inspiring. Why not? Proton already has bicycle as their product.

• wat to do..we oni have 2…one is backing out…tokyo autoshow…the home grown maker conquer the stage..here in boleh we want all anything made in boleh to be shutdown

• batumudo on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:07 am

paul, no girls pics from KLIMS13?

• abuya123 on Nov 21, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Put KLIMS’ girls photo on thread paul….. appreciate if you can provide also their advertising agency…. haha

• sam69 on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:18 am

Still better look than sorhai Vios….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • This crap is already ugly to begin with. You can give them GT wing, ferrari rim, an Abram turret or F22 air intake, it is still ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Say Who? on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:16 am

whatever la…ioma…you got the keyboard… to be the keyboard warrior is your choices that you have…
      have a nice day… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • KKU et.al on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:25 am

hi, it good to see that there are some company who interested in making aftermarket part in Malaysia. Hope to see this TuneD will become like Mugen, TRD and many JDM tune company. It a variety in auto market segment. The design is somehow a correction to the Preve original design, it minimal and low profile. A bit upskirt and uplift would make the design a bit cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • bluebird on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:46 am

This bodykit can add 0.5 horse power to the car.
    Its like beating a dead horse,

• ernie on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

the engine is not in sync with the chasis.too much vibration when accelerating. its like 2 cars cut and pasted together. ‘the drive is not refined’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • sighhh on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:57 am

good job..nice try! but no wow factor!
    Wondering to know how development of the design…what kind of 3D scanner they use to get original mounting point.

• Henry on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:23 am

Subtle and nice design. Good job. I hope in future they also cater to other models.

• friend on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:44 am

if the fog lamp not bright enough.. you can put saga flx headlamp to it (look match).. lol.. anyway it is good to have the option for bodykit since the original preve look not so umphh and the R3 kit quite pricey… hope there are more tuned kit company design the preve kit (not ah beng type)…

• lemonade on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:16 am

the fog lamp is already of the projector type.. better than the original one.. i don’t think there’ll be a brightness issue..

• carazy on Nov 21, 2013 at 10:47 am

better than R3 kit though. now R3 is not more than bodykit producer, that good for aaabeng wannabe, but for enthusiast like most of paultan.org do, its a bad omen, nightmare. Pls R3, produce a good car again, not good bodykit, lets aaabeng do the bodykit, not you!!

• Karam Singh Walia on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:09 am

Design of such protons to hone the creativity of the Malaysian, see ferrari or lamborghini. Hard u want to hone ur creativity. Protons know, Malaysians love car modification ;p

• so what did they tuned?

• watsittuya on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:05 pm

The question from Paul is translated ‘Which kit do you prefer, this or R3?’ This kit is better designed, lets hope the material is also of better quality.

• Zomba on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Not a”WOW”, just “OK”.

• Sukalang on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:41 pm

tayar kecik, x sesuailah..

• Enthu on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:47 pm

The only thing i felt after seeing the pictures instantly…meh~

• nzain on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:11 pm

i’m melting watched that hot kit…

• Abg Long on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:14 pm

ok :) we support proton already.. now what we want is.. cheaper cars by reducing the OMG tax la. at least 6% starting in december 2013! 30 divide 5 maaa..

• Abg Long on Nov 21, 2013 at 2:18 pm

just increase tax for cigarette, cigar & all the booze..

• only the rear bumpers will do. front and side skirts will only destroy the already good body line and proportions..

• ayamxxx on Nov 21, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Looks like a performance car, but when u drive it, the CVT let u feel like an s-hole

• DrHead on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Much better than over-designed Vios. TRD stock car looks like a performance car but…..LOL

Btw, preve 0-100 is on par with other C segment cars. Who cares about the CVT, the speed matters!

• Thompson on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:18 pm

At least we got one bodykit motorsport like Hamann kahn etc… Just hope they focus quality not money

• everytime proton and perodua launche new model , why u guys so sarcastic ? keep throwing all those bad words which actually potray who you all are , come on la , i m studying engineering in automotif and i know ho hard it is to build not to say the whole car , but the engine parts also very tough . from kritiking proton and perodua , why dont u all come up with good solutions or recommendations which may help our country automotive industry to stand tall as the foreign branded auto company ? or if u still dont want , why u dont build your own car company , design your own high quality plus good in design car n build everything by your self , then u know how hard to make a car. . saying is not as easy as doing the job . be matured , here is not the place for u to express all your ketidakpuasanhati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • so-so on Nov 22, 2013 at 10:18 am

I agree with 123. It’s not easy to build a car. There are so much things to do. If you think smart enough, go and design your own damn car lah. Always condemn the national car. What a pathetic life u have.

• lemonade on Nov 22, 2013 at 11:10 am

LoL your level of english proficiency are so mediocre despite claiming yourself as an engineering student.. what happened to our education these days.. sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • Pontiac on Nov 22, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Japanese build their car with english?
        Germans build their car with english?
        Proton build their car with english?
        Pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • matrxe on Nov 22, 2013 at 7:06 am

It is nice to see someone came out with new bodykit design which complement the car quite well. not too racy. What it really need i think is a new grill. its too 80’s.

• hey lemonade , i ddnt say that i am a student of english language course , so did u get problem with that ? come on. . people build cars not by using all those flowery + flawless Britain english like u , they use maths physics and all those things . i really agree with pontiac , why dont u open an english tuition class here so that i can learn n speak better english and post all bad comments with high class english writing skill as how u did . . i challenge u to go for engineering stdy lahh better so that u can bcome good engineer with good english proficiency . . u should thank your parents for sending u to english tuition and buying english books for u , if not i think your language level as bad as me

• sukvinderjit singh on Nov 24, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Nice..i would like this on my preve

• i like it a lot,,,put on to my Preve>

• Gazer on Dec 29, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Any news when will it put on sale?

• Prevblak on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:06 pm

There are many bodykits out there with good looking even some are bulky so give preve a heavier looks. With PU Or ABS, its cheaper I guess. I’ve done that plus bigger rims & wider tyres. The fuel consumption is about the same then. I would prefer the upgrading of the fuel efficiency better.

• preve mt on Jun 06, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Take my money and give me the bodykit now!!!!!!!!!!