2015 Kia K900 – the flagship K9 goes to America

2015 Kia K900-07

The Kia K9 has made its American debut at the 2013 LA Auto Show as the 2015 Kia K900. It was revealed last month that the big sedan will be called K900, after Kia faced an injunction over the Quoris name, which was originally intended for the Kia K9’s export markets.

The K900 can be had with Hyundai-Kia’s all-aluminum ‘Tau’ 5.0 litre V8 engine with 420 hp. The GDI dual-CVVT engine is mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission with Eco, Normal and Sport modes, which also alter the electric steering’s sensitivity. The K900 is also available with a 3.8L V6 with 311 hp.

The Kia brand is synonymous with value for money, and some might wonder if there’s a market in the States for a big, luxurious rear-wheel drive saloon. Kia is optimistic, though.

2015 Kia K900-01

“Kia’s rise over the last five years has been fueled by a willingness to challenge the status quo with vehicles such as the Optima, Sorento and Cadenza, which have brought new and more affluent customers to our showrooms and dramatically raised the profile of the brand while maintaining our value proposition,” said Michael Sprague, executive VP of marketing and communications at KMA.

“The K900 is the next logical progression for Kia. It demonstrates what Kia is capable of and will help redefine what the Kia brand stands for,” he stressed.

The range-topping V8 equipped with the VIP Package is packed with limo amenities including reclining outboard rear seats and a 900-watt Lexicon high-fidelity audio system. The V6 can be had with Luxury and Technology packages. The K900 is expected to go on sale in the first quarter of 2014, and pricing will be announced closer to launch.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jinggo on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:22 am

Beemers wannabe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Loo Kena Heart Attack on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:25 am

Sam Loo sure kena heart attack now. Now everybody not buying Toyota because their cars got no VSC and somemore the new Honda City looks like a better buy than the Vios because it has better safety than zero safety Vios.

Pity Sam Loo. Past few days have been hard on him. He will say this will be in his yard, but the only thing that will be in his yard is his dead body after heart attack. Let him RIP besides all his Hilux cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 68
    • ahahah yeah! Kia has IMPROVED very2 well then Toyota and Honda in term of Design,Safety and tech. RV is not important as u bought ur car no matter what brand it is it will drop as soon u get ur car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 56
    • JpCarJunk on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Of course this Korean 7-series aka K9 monster V8 engine can easily smoke those fugly junk Hilus every moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 69
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:39 pm

I can only associate smoke coming out from the K9 engine bay and a tow truck coming to the owner for rescue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
      • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Nobody buying your Vios because got no VSC, you seem so upset. Can see you are going on a rage. Toyota salesman are losers. Only a bodoh will buy a car without basic VSC safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Comaparing an E-Segment kimchi with a workhorse pick-up truck?

Wow, you must be such a sor hai tai lan ngong that has been shown the Hilux and broomstick multiple times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • Front face is Maserati look alike…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 64
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

The face of the owners that sells it off one year later will look like the mati betul betul fellas in Walking Dead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 13
      • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Nobody buying your Vios because got no VSC, you seem so upset. Can see you are going on a rage. Toyota salesman are losers. Only a bodoh will buy a car without basic VSC safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Wayangkulit on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:56 am

So it’s the time of the year again we will hear how this model will unseat Toyota Lexus Honda Mercedes BMW Audi because it’s specs and price wins all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

KIA’s will not be accepted for trade in anymore.

If Hyundai, i will support the tai lan ngongs that buy them new, but for KIA, no demand at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
    • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Not to long ago proton was considered a better car than kia. Now look at kia, dominating alredy. Proton le? Still the failing after years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:37 pm

But kimchis are still the 1st in class for low Resale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Now Toyota Vios is No 1 No RV. Nobody wants a car with no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • agree…proton is far behind now and china cars are coming, give them five to eight yrs. really dun understand when there are ppl still feel proud of proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Demi cintaku pada mu…(lagu Amy Search) :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • farizY on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I don’t get why you got thumbed down, the pics says it all, this car is miles better than what Kia produced then.
      Now, compare to Proton, during the same period, Preve not bad, but not exceptional either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Mackaroni on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:39 pm

why the dashboard is so short? O.o!

• Americans love V8 engine…

• The immaturity of bulks of comments from so-called car enthusiasts really reflect the immaturity of many Msians towards the global growth and improvements of various makes of cars. And the credibility of the comments columns here really let down by all the senseless & childlish bashing of any brand. Hope 1 day can see more real facts & logical comments posted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Carfox on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:04 pm

You said it, bro. I actually learn things on the comments on the other sites. Here, it’s always bashing or rage.

• kitty on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:08 pm

jaguar grill
    bmw side
    lexus rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • why proton do not produce luxury cars like korea?

• bReaL on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:14 pm

because its a niche market with low demand and requires exceptional details and quality where proton is surely intentionally lacking of. I put ‘intentionally’ there cuz i always have hope with local brand, they just dont want to

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Because here in Malaysia, if you can afford a Luxury car, you want a car with a Luxury badge.

If you buy a Luxury Car (lets say made by Proton or a non luxury brand) what in essence is that you are shouting to the world that you want a luxury car but too cheapskate to buy a “proper” one.

Same thing happens overseas, but less as people tend not to put too much emphasis on cars as status symbols…and focuses more on the inherent value of the car itself. You could get 95% of the Luxury from a Toyota Avalon to a Lexus ES

But the real reason why proton does not make one is quite simple. They don’t make and sell enough of it to make it feasible, even re-badges.

• I can see BMW all over this car..thats why its beautiful

• AUSNSW on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

I can buy kia used car at price of $10000 in US…What for buying luxury kia car for Rm300K TBA in malaysia?

• heybadigol on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Its not bad looking. Personally prefer this over the Hyundai Genesis (I believe they are in the same class right?). But honestly, for a premium car, i think most people would rather get a Mercedes Benz E Class or BMW 5 Series, even if they cost more. People who buy premium cars dont really consider value for money to be as important as luxury or handling. But a good job by Kia nonetheles.

• Genesis is not in the same class. The Kia K9 is on par with Hyundai Equus. Both are flagship vehicles representing their brand.

• Thompson on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:25 pm

The classes of kia – k3 3 series, k5 5 series ad k9 7 series.
    But the engine name…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:51 pm

One common class for all KIA’s.

No trade in allowed class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Japanese cars are beginning to look boring now. Kimchi cars are now desirable unlike before. The transformation is Just amazing…no wonder so many kimchi cars now on the roads. they will have good resale value in the near future at the rate they are going.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • paypal on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Why not simply called it k9? K900 heard like a name of lorry

• Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:54 pm

At least if its a lorry, it will have resale value.

Can’t say the same for KIA’s

• Marvin McConoughey on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:42 am

The Kia K900 (USA) looks to be a stunning car with excellent engineering. I often hear Kia’s referred to as “good value for the money.” Well, money is something that most car buyers have many other uses for. Value is key when money is limited.

The K900 V8 offers better styling, more room, good mechanical sophistication, and more standard equipment than the nearest-priced Mercedes E550 4Matic, which has a 402 HP V8. Plus, the Kia has an eight speed transmission, versus the elderly seven speed Mercedes automatic.

I would be delighted to buy a new Kia K900 V8 and when we are ready to replace the Mercedes, my first stop will be the Kia dealership.