Kia Cadenza 3.3 V6 GDI launched in North America

Kia Cadenza-04

Kia Motors America (KMA) introduced the 2014 Kia Cadenza sedan for the North American market at the 2013 NAIAS in Detroit. The Cadenza will be KMA’s flagship in the US, but in Kia’s complete range, it sits between the Optima K5 and Quoris K9 limo.

The brand is heading upmarket, far from its roots as a budget brand, but KMA says that there’s demand for such a car. “Since the introduction of the range-topping Optima SXL last year, we have seen an increasing number of customers in our retail outlets looking for a sedan with even more upscale amenities and technology,” said Michael Sprague, KMA’s executive vice president of marketing & communications.

The US market Cadenza is powered by Kia’s most powerful V6 engine ever, a 3.3 litre GDI unit with 293 hp at 6,400 rpm and 345 Nm of torque at 5,200 rpm. The all-aluminum engine features Dual CVVT, a maintenance-free timing chain and a three-step variable induction system for enhanced torque. Power is transferred to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission with shift paddles.

Expected to arrive in Kia showrooms in the second quarter of 2013, the Cadenza can be had with toys such as Advanced Smart Cruise Control (ASCC), Blind Spot Detection (BSD) and Lane-Departure Warning System (LDWS).

Inside, you’ll find SiriusXM Traffic and UVO eServices displayed on a high res eight-inch touch screen, a back-up camera, 550-watt Infinity 12-speaker ICE system and a full-length panoramic sunroof, among other things.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PauCharSiew on Jan 23, 2013 at 9:30 am

As much as i like kia exteriors, their interiors still remain something they can improve on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • I.ME = Sam's gf on Jan 23, 2013 at 3:24 pm

The corporate grille is really awfully bad-looking, dun really blend well with the rest of the car. And the rear end design trying to look like a audi/vw, but failed also, looks cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • [ I.ME = Sam's gf ] = Schwachkopf on Jan 24, 2013 at 10:41 pm

It’s a great looking car, but after the K5, I’ve sort of lost interest in the Kia’s looks. I can’t help but feel that the rear lights are not as creative as the K5. Even worse, it looks like they sneak into Maserati design studio, and took some picture of the rear end of the new Quattroporte.

The Interior is really a disappointment. I expected more from Kia, but it looks like they went back to their pre-Schreyer days. I mean faux-wood veneer, seriously? no!

• kadajawi on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Sure it’s faux? To me the interiors look quite inspired by German car makers, especially Audi. I mean just look at K5 and A5.

• I’am sure is faux, I can only think of High-end [Bentley & RR] and Volvo having real wood. It reminds me of the interior of a Proton Wira Aeroback we had a few years back. To me it looks as like previous model Infinitys, with that analog clock.

The K5 had a better interior. Yeah it looks like an A5 with the only difference of splitting the air cond vents.

• Kenapa Ya on Jan 23, 2013 at 4:51 pm

perghhhh hidung babi..
      awesome good job peter…

anyway; technology are kind of old toys..
      as other manufacturer has already long installed on their car..

no thing to be proud off :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo's Ancestor on Jan 23, 2013 at 9:47 am

Low RV kimchii car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 3:25 pm

At lease Kia is generous !
      Not like new Camry Malaysia 4speed without stability control, other country getting 6speed and stability tech !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 24, 2013 at 12:52 am

Fake Fella

• I don’t think Americans care about RV that much as Malaysians.

• Sepot Reem on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:11 am

Aston Martin wannabe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • MiniCooperFreak on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:23 am

Come on la you korean junks stop copying other peoples design. If you wanna do it do it discretely la….why do it so blatant? Idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Grant on Jan 23, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Its ok lah….. At least we the consumer will benefit in the end. Even Porsche borrowed a lot of cues from the Tatra (a Czech car company from the 30s) when he designed the people’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • sepul on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:30 am

This version looks slightly different than the Korean K7.

Rival to BMW 5 or 7 series?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • I think they want to rival the Toyota Avalon…

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 8:52 pm

This one is definitely a rival to Tata, Mahindra, Geely and Dong Fang & Great Wall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • MycarMylife on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:30 am

Cadenza,cadenva, cadanva,cadanza,cadava,cadavar,cadaver
    I’m amazed in the Koreans’ use of english/latin sounding names for their cars and features !
    Never believe what you read in the offers, try it hands on first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • the back is identical to current audi a6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Grant on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:55 am

This is a good looking car!! When is it coming Bolehland??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • people on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:32 pm

as being predicted, same design ques can feel the ages now, faster than the japs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • waw. but if they bring it here this must cost as much as a passat. and lower sales volume. too bad.

• ben yap on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:56 pm

cc too big if they wanna sell it here. people rather go conti if it’s big cc.

• Digir on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:58 pm

This is a combination of BMW (front) and Audi (rear).
    KIA offers the best of both world?

• Sam Loo Original on Jan 23, 2013 at 2:41 pm

No resale value….Buy Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • By the look at this, the new Mazda6 coming actually have higher spec than this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • T & H hater on Jan 23, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Open your eyes and see the world, Honda and Toyota sucks and overpriced. Admit that Korean cars are getting better, and please, please don’t talk about resale value, it’s just lame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Urge you guys to buy more kimchis. Just look at my Hilux when you want to yell after hearing how much the trade in value is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Malaysian on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Hi Sam, I know you swear by RV…in fact most people are ditching Toyota here in Malaysia….let’s start with Camry….this is probably one of the biggest mistake by UMW, then look at Altis again the Civic sales got better Vios..same case City is selling better..what else? Hilux….Ford is coming and will run hilux down….The New Ranger is a better buy and you know it very well….Toyota is a goner wake up man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Once again, if you love your car, you wouldn’t attempt to sell it after owning it for a year.

• Grant on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:04 am

You would sell it after 5 years and still get back 70 to 80% of your money back to put for a bigger and newer Toyota. Don’t be bitter because your car got no RV

• gOOsh on Jan 23, 2013 at 3:38 pm

nice looking car…
    but again, it’s a no-no gangnam style for me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Dr Mamak on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Really horrid, like a beached goldfish gasping for air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Time to smoke Toyota Camry 2.5V

• Mat Global on Jan 26, 2013 at 11:52 am

I don’t care what others said based on the photo. To me a top end executive saloon must behave well on the road.
    Can it drives as comfortable like Mers C or E, and can it handles the highway as sharp as BMW or at least not far away? if it can then only i will comment about other aspects.looks, resell value etc

• gOOsh on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:29 am

even korean prefer japs car…
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/the-2013-korean-car-of-the-year-is/

• Kailord on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:39 am

I’m pretty sure that KCotY Camry is not the same with our Camry.