New Bentley Flying Spur arrives – from RM1.8 million

Bentley_Flying_Spur_Malaysia_035

Bentley Kuala Lumpur has just pulled the covers off the new RM1.8 million (before options), 322 km/h Bentley Flying Spur in Kuala Lumpur recently. This very high-end offering from the iconic, one-time proud and proper English motoring house (they’re under the Volkswagen group now) made its debut in Geneva only in March this year, and the name is about the only thing that remains unchanged on this sleek four-door saloon.

The clue to the changes is in the dropping of the Continental name, denoting a model in its own right rather than a four-door version of the Continental GT coupe. So, the fastest and most powerful four-door Bentley has its own unique set of tricks. Under the bonnet is a development of the 6.0 litre W12 engine used in last year’s Continental GT Speed, but tuned for torque and quieter performance.

Power stands at 616 hp and there’s 800 Nm of torque, all helping to make this the fastest Bentley saloon ever, even though it weighs a massive 2,475 kg! Even with all the bulk, it gets to 100 km/h from standstill in just 4.3 seconds, all the way to a 322 km/h top speed.

Of course, laying all that power to the tarmac is a 40:60 rear-biased all-wheel drive system. Bentley claims it is also one of the most economical models in its class, achieving an EU Combined consumption figure of 6.7 km per litre and CO2 emissions of 343 g/km. This is in part due to the latest ZF eight-speed transmission, which replaces the old six-speed unit.

Bentley_Flying_Spur_Malaysia_037

Fine performance does sometimes comes across as harsh in nature so noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) have been subdued to a bare minimum by means of a new slippery and more aerodynamic exterior design offering better insulation all around, and an upgraded computer-controlled self-levelling suspension system.

The outgoing Flying Spur, launched in 2005, is the most successful four-door in Bentley’s history, with 22,000 units sold in seven years. But it was also something of an accidental success. “The first Flying Spur was a four-door GT,” said Katya Zavialova, Bentley’s Dealer Marketing Manager for the Asia Pacific region at the launch, “it was never intended to be a limousine, but its owners defined that role.”

Zavalova goes on to say that American and Chinese customers (the latter take 50% of the outgoing model’s production), bought most Flying Spurs and it is for them that the new car has been designed. “This [new] car is a limousine,” says Paul Williams, Bentley’s powertrain director, “and that’s what the customer always wanted.”

The most dramatic change is the shape of the aluminium and steel coachwork, which is far more sporting and dynamic even though the new car is only marginally longer and actually higher than its predecessor. The bonnet line has been changed, with the larger of the twin headlamps moved to the outside of the body. The wheelbase is longer and the rear side windows are reshaped to give the impression of a longer cabin and a lower boot line.

Things continue to look up for rear passengers, who now have a new Touch Screen Remote (TSR), which allows them to control a variety of different car systems from climate controls to multimedia devices. The cabin is virtually all new, with more than 600 new parts and, while the traditional Bentley mix of wood veneers and soft leathers is still present, there’s a new seat design and a wraparound shape to the dashboard where it meets the doors.

There are also two 10-inch LCD screens installed into the backs of the front seats. But of course, as with most things that costs an arm and a leg, customisation opportunities are abound. There’s a whole lot more that can be fitted to your Bentley Flying Spur – and we could go on for days about it.

So once you’ve called up your finance department to okay some splurging, why not get in touch with Bentley Kuala Lumpur for the substantial list of individual customisation options? The quoted RM1.8 million price is just a starting point of course, and with a few extras it would go well past the two million barrier.

Ellfian Rahim

Ellfian Rahim is just hopeless with directions, thus keenly follows GPS tech in his spare time. Loves big sedans and K-Cars equally well, and will easily demolish a meal for three in record time. He's been in publishing since 1992 and now writes for Malaysia's longest running English language men's lifestyle title, and does translation work for some extra beer money on the side.

• Raja Lawak on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Probably I’ll get one after i sell off my Genniva gold OK…!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysian Government Pls Read! on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Government must check this. All Datuks and TanSri buy this car, their road tax supposed to be RM18,000 a year but they get their road tax from Sabah and Sarawak for RM4000 and use it in Semenanjung Malaysia. It seems this is LEGAL. Bentley Malaysia also knows this. Got even runner boys who can sort this out for few hundred ringgit.

What they do also, after they get the Sabah and Sarawak road tax, they say Road tax lost and get a replacement. They pay RM50 for the replacement. On the replacement, the road tax figure sum is not written on it. Just RM50 paid for salinan. So, the super rich datuk and Tan Sri, with all their millions, happily use this road tax in Semenanjung Malaysia.

Each Bentley sold is depriving the Malaysian government of at least RM12,000 in legalised revenue. The rich just love to cheat our government. Go and see any Bentley parked, and see the road tax. You will see either RM4000 or RM50. But the real road tax supposed to be RM18,000.

Bagus lah Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • brownkids on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:30 am

law abiding citizen? why dont you be one? . .. . or u cant brain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • msian on Feb 08, 2015 at 4:31 pm

The whole country is a corrupt cesspool.
        Even if the taxes were paid in full where do you think the taxes go? Back to the rakyat?Yeah right.

• peYno on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Hahaha, just wait and see our Proton Accord with Lotus Rides and Handling could offer better kits than this Bengley.

prrrfffftttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • wish to buy one for my mum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:28 pm

What a bargain!!!
    The Sultans must love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Rollers on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:39 pm

The Sultans prefers Rolls-Royces. It seems a Rolls is deemed to be more prestigious than a Bentley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Jinggo on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:16 pm

how much the road tax? musti murah kan?

• Sohai on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Jibby’s next new Government Official Cabinet Car.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Somehow I look at the “butt” but doesn’t seem to match the front! I feel it lack the prestige looking at the back. Unlike previous model, it really look like a million Ringgit car but this new model, the back look like normal German luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Sharvind Varma on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:02 pm

2 million seems hefty after taxes..guess those who wants value for money would wait 2 years to get a grey import one

• sam69 on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Pity Malaysian only can afford Fugly Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • your bro on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:39 am

When u are in Honk kong u cant even afford a car even if your salary is RM10000 per month. Tats how sad Hong Kong ppl are. Those who drive, of coz, all luxury cars. Are owned by billionaires.

• PauKaya on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:21 pm

oh really? as far as i know college students there can easily buy a nice second hand jap car. and people there earn way more than us. the thing is they dont really need a car and have limited parking spaces thus most family only own a car and thus it would be a big one. dont forget their car prices are way lower than us.

• Really? Their car price is not way lower than us if u check properly. U listen from where? I have been staying there for 6 months to know better than most Malaysian. Yes, Their car maybe 20-30% cheaper but if u wanna buy a car, ur cost for a parking lot is almost as expensive as cars. And mind you, their cost of living is so high that fresh grad is struggle for a living. Dont care whether they earned more. It has alrdy offset by all the high cost. Those who easily buy a car is from well-off family. Matter fact, college kids from well-off families in Malaysia live a better life compared to HK counterparts. Dont just listen, go and live there. feel me?

• kington on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:29 pm

what car do you drive?

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Yucks! The front looks good but the back is disgusting!

I rather stick to my maserati granturismo!

• Drive this bently to smoke all the upcoming NEW TOYOTAS!!

• your bro on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:05 am

Wow, Nice at RM1.8M. But our salary is too low to even afford this. However, in overseas this baby is only reserved for those ultrarich. If u r business magnate, then u can have one easily in Malaysia. Those with number plate Qxx or Sxx really lame. U can afford a RM1mil car but RM18k road tax u cant pay. Shame on you.

• MUHAMMAD SYAFI ISYRAF BIN SOFIAN on Oct 26, 2016 at 6:31 pm

I like that Bentley and I afford to own that luxury vehicle