Qoros 3 Sedan makes China debut – 1.6L, from RM64k

Qoros 3 Sedan-01

Qoros, the new Chinese kid on the block, made its first ever appearance at the Guangzhou Motor Show by announcing the China spec and pricing for its first series production model, the Qoros 3 Sedan. The 3 has received positive response following its global unveiling earlier this year at the Geneva and Shanghai shows.

Billed as the most advanced car ever developed in China, the Qoros 3 will go on sale in the world’s biggest auto market with a line-up of six variants, ranging in price from RMB 119,900 to 167,900 (RM63,500 to RM89,000).

It is the first Chinese car to achieve five stars in the Euro NCAP crash test. Not just that, the Qoros is one of the safest cars ever tested in the programme’s 16-year history, and is the best performer so far in 2013 – click here to see the crash videos.

Qoros 3 Sedan-02

The 3 is powered by a 1.6-litre VVT petrol engine in either naturally aspirated (126 PS/155 Nm) or turbocharged (156 PS/210 Nm) form. Both can be had with either a six-speed manual or a six-speed dual-clutch transmission.

At Guangzhou, Qoros also unveiled its ‘Style Accessories Concept’ for the 3. The package includes small spoiler extensions, subtle side skirts and a rear wing. All are functional and improve aerodynamics, says its maker. Those alloys are 18-inch 20-spoke items. Looks pretty good, don’t you agree?

Along with the launch of the 3, Qoros is developing its dealer and aftersales service networks following the opening of its first dealership in Nanjing earlier this month. Parts from the Style Accessories Concept will be available in the second half of 2014. Next up for Qoros will be the equally stylish wagon and crossover versions of the 3, as previewed in Geneva.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 28, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Goes to show what some good amount of money and a competent team of engineers and vendors can produce.. unlike our local Proton and Perodua who are still producing junk year after year (especially Perodua). At least Proton has seriously improved their technology with HPF steel and the continuous research into turbocharged powertrains. Perodua only knows how to rebadge crappy cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 296 Thumb down 15
    • Agreed & Salute them, but its still miles better than Proton design & etc…! who knows 2-3 yrs down the road most of us will be driving cars that made in China.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
    • kthxbai on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 163
      • Boycott? come la boycott most chinese goods. I guess malaysia wont survive for long. And at the same time, ask the Chinese to boycott malaysian market. I think u will eating shit by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 23
      • abuya123 on Nov 29, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Cannot trust anything from China. The car will leak some toxic poison into your bloodstream through the steering wheel or gear box when you hold it.

If China can poison baby milk and still have no problem with it, anything is possible. Even cooking oil also they take from the longkang and sewer and reuse again. So, I will stay away from this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
        • Lim Wen Jun on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:28 pm

I think I will give it a benefit of doubt. Honestly the car does look impressive. And to achieve a 5 star in crash test, for a Chinese manufactured car is even more unbelievable.

Do not stereotyped. Remember Japanese car 30 years ago? Who would drive a Japanese car 30 years ago? And if this Chinese Car ever came out good, I would say this is the result you will get when you put your heart into the industry.

But dont get me started with Proton though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • 30 years ago Japanese car was rebadged into a proton! LOL

• kambingg on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:41 am

try to flip up your mouse n keyboard that u use right now..made in where?

• your mum gave you butt to shit crap, not speak crap.

• supkima on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:05 pm

dammit..then you have to stop using WAZE. Google who develope the software and where it come from!

• AH CHENG on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:58 pm

BALLS LA YOU

• Raja Lawak on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:39 pm

If nobody interested to deal with Jewish car company, give it to me lah the dealership sure big sales here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 40
      • Don’t ever dream MITI will allow this car to be priced at RM64k. This looks more upmarket than Suprima S and Vios there is no way it will be sold cheaper than those cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
        • Petrolhead on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Malaysia’s best Suprima S vs China’s best Qoros 3, Proton founded 30 years ago vs Qoros founded 6 years ago, but why does it seems like the Qoros 3 is milestones ahead of the Suprima S? Mhmm..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 6
          • Mat Global on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:43 pm

I Can say with certainty that no J & K cars between 1.5 and 1.8 c.c cars can match the driving dynamics of Proton Preve esp. in its turbo form.
            Handling is outstanding and it has a composed and very comfortable drive.
            Mind you Proton Preve non cfe has won Sepang rally 1000km endurance race in its 2012 maiden run outsmarting H & T & S of Japan.
            If people want to say this Qoros is better than Proton without even testing the car, surely they make a hollow conclusion.
            Please note that i come from bank manager background and now a remisier. I owned a new Bmw since 1989 and several Jap cars before and currently also have pleasant motoring in Nissan X-Trail.
            Somehow, over a quarter century of driving saloon cars i found that nothing as enjoyable to drive as good as Proton Preve. It is in the areas of fit and finishes only that Proton needs to upgrade in order to compete seriously with others. But, the Lotus driving is simply uncomparable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 72
          • Learn multinational company huge capital, it does matter. Why you don’t question much older companies? They should be much better than Qoros

• armandd on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:12 pm

It’s a joint venture with an Israel company, not 100% Chinese car. Get your facts right before you comment bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
          • transformer on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I hope Fifthgear will do a comparison between Qoros 3 sedan vs Proton Preve/Suprima S.

Guess whats their response when they say P1 cars interior built ???

• That u suppose tell to other chinese car manufacturer rite?

• killer on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:41 pm

nobody asked for your background story Mat Global

• glaze on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Mat Global

The Suprima S is with Lotus handling but the Preve is with Proton Ride & Handling.

• LimPek on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:18 pm

TDM created Proton for 1 reason only;
            imposed huge car tax to collect more money from rakyat, in order to making crony rich.

• komarad on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:58 pm

agreed…if this car sells in Malaysia turbo w/manual sure laku…. nampak mcm best… any dealer here??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • MR.Cool on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Nice car nice design..!! salute!

We malaysian whoever read this news instantly think of ourselves, relate it to the very homemade Proton, and we felt shame right away….

Qoros show an clear example of a car company who is really into “making car” and not just focus on “making money/profit”…and too the taiwanese brand Luxgen also looking good..its new brand too.

thanks to Dr.M..Umnooo, come out a Homemade brand with ppl money, but with personal agenda behind…you hav had make our life miserable all these years, and many years to come…

If don’t have such a big head then don’t where a big helmet.. can juz be like Thailand, a regional car resemble hub, country make hell lot of income from it. (for us? other than buying expensive car and yet have to pay the debts which Proton create!)

on second thought, its not we malaysian don’t have the brain or heart.. genius will get dumb by politician too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 14
      • U guy involved too much in politic and too many complaining…that’s why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
    • Krasher on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Not trying to tarnish local car makers, but it’s really sad that we’re loosing the automotive game after 30yrs as a Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Preve dashboard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 77
  • tenine99 on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:01 pm

this is 80% proton perdana replacement will look alike. It seems also from honda accord base..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 56
    • DrCooper on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Dude, if ur statement is a reality I would buy this without second opinion !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • what are you saying…..?

• Sure Bor on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm

U sure? From what I read its not based on Accord platform.

• Mrlogic on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:53 am

if true, i believe the other 20% will mess the 80%… at the end the car look odd.. sad but truth…

• asdiqa on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm

How i wish proton can design a good looking car rather than the odd look which looks like a bit ‘half cooked’ design.. and not to forget, bad vendor-ship.. pulling the handbrake, closing the door.. i can imagine how it looks like after 4 years.. can’t even beat 10 years honda city.. how devastating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 11
  • venven81 on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:23 pm

finally it’s out. man just look at the interior. it certainly looks pretty good. perhaps that’s the results of having some of the top people from other european marque now sitting on the management at Qoros… sweet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • victortan on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:36 pm

this could be a very good car.
    and that price is super duper cheap (in China may be it’s expensive)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • A good smack on your face Proton!!! Even new contender can come up with a beauty with performance kinda car…what Proton had achieved all this years? It’s like a 3 months old baby who can outrun a man that still learning to crawl.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:42 pm

They are like a cheetah while the P1 is like tortoise, but no problem to P1, I can only afford to buy P1

• Krasher on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:42 pm

I don’t mind buying this china product!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
    • Chris on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Since the Koreans have speed off chasing the Japanese and the Europeans, P1 and P2 now needs to fend off the Chinese.

What’s next? The Indians and the Russians? Dreaming one day Proton can make us proud… one day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • Autoexpert on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:22 pm

You can start dreaming… forever.

Proton will never make us Malaysians proud because this is a Bumi company, NOT a ONE MALAYSIAN company! Go figure!

• blablabla on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm

I am truly amazed by the Euro NCAP score. A Brand that really believes in its Product will not be fear testing it by international standards. I hope they Open the Eyes of other Car Manufacturers. I hope this Qoros brand succeeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • blablabla on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Sorry correction.. “..will not Fear testing*”.
      Also I Hope the Engine lives up to international standards too. I’ve not been this excited for a long time.
      (I’m not a Chinese or a Jew but I still am proud of this brand)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • jibby on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:46 am

true bro. unlike p1 who only dare to tested with Asean NCAP only. even if suprima s get 5* Asean NCAP, Euro NCAP sure lower than 5* (maybe 4 or 4.5 only). this is due to more strict testing condition. for example, 2013 picanto is getting 5* Asean NCAP but only managed to get 4* when tested with Euro NCAP. i don’t think p1 or p2 dare to get their most safest car tested with Euro NCAP. haha

• Preve 6 airbags / SS got 5 stars Australian NCAP, that’s more or less same with Euro NCAP.

Dun talk cock here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • jibby on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:45 am

who talk cock? go google different car’s brand & model for their Asean NCAP & Euro NCAP result. for sure got different. usually rating for Eu NCAP is lower than Asean NCAP. unless the car is really is really safe, it will get 5* rating for both. Some more, some cars will have different equipment for different country. F.Y.I preve got 5* in Asean NCAP because p1 fitted 6 airbags inside it (for australian model) meanwhile malaysian model got no 6 airbags. stupid ggot, u’re the one who talk cock! puiiiii

• Krasher on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm

It’s very impressive to come out such product as a new player in the market.
    Meanwhile, we were only able to rebadged a Mitsubishi Lancer back in 1983

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
    • Still continue to rebadge 30 years later, this time a Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Krasher on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:47 pm

What’s with the thumb down?
      Just stated facts that Proton did rebadged 1983 lancer renamed it to proton saga and that’s when hell break loose!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Passerby on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:32 pm

they are just some macai umno supporter cum loyal plotong driver… they just can accept the fact that our local P1 is losing the game in automotive industry

• such a handsome looking car. slowly changing my perception of china-made cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • sam69 on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:49 pm

wow..even china car are much better design than Fugly Hailat face VIOS!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • Sure Bor on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Vios looks like cat fish… lols

• Vios can tapao if this comes to Msia at 64k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Dvvtt on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Sure lah…that’s because the whole design and production team is European…apart from those in the assembly line I believe. If you leave it all to the Chinese…the outcome would have been different..

• Black Dog on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Look closely the front end looks like a leopard

• Here’s an interesting news:

Some ex-Proton engineers who worked on Prevé/Suprima chassis, also worked on this car’s chassis. Probably they were tired with Proton… and chose to be engineering consultants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Just Another Dude.. on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:38 pm

The malay dude from Magna Steyr?

• JoeE90 on Feb 15, 2014 at 8:35 am

Magna Steyr used to be consultant for Preve and manage to get all tech spec and provide to Qoros

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:02 pm

this is the best-looking chinese car by far, except for the variant with body cladding…

• Whichever car when put in 19/20 inches of rims are all look good isn’t it?

• really? try it on a preve.
      seriously, after a few decades, Proton is still lagging behind with crappy, design and quality.
      Proton should change all existing R&D and design team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • autoczar on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:20 pm

a joint venture with european designer and very well made I must say.

• valjean on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:20 pm

wait wait wait….. New kids on the block, Best EVER EURO NCAP testing n the ir 16 years hisotry!!! and cost below Rm100k!!!!!

Nevermind proton, perodua, it will put many if not ALL manufacturer to shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm

100k before tax. In Europe 100k will get you a 170 hp Mondeo with laser guided cruise control/auto braking, automatic steering and many other goodies.

• zatro on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:28 pm

what a handsome looking car. the engine bay looks nice and tidy. and the price is around proton preve’s if being sold globally.

i hope qoros will do well locally in china and globally.

i wonder, do people around the world give positive feedback when they first saw preve (global car)? just like when we saw qoros 3 sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:26 pm

This is way more than the Preve. Keep in mind the 65 or 75% tax on the Preve price that isn’t included in the price of the Qoros.

For a C segment car I’d say this thing is at least as expensive as conti brands… You can get a Focus or Golf at this price point in Europe… Including 20% tax. The Preve would be sold for much less than that

• Proton Staff on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Ini bukan tamparan kepada Proton sahaja, tapi tamparan kepada Kia/Hyndai dan Toyota juga. Design cantik, interior cantik, enjin ada power, transmission dual clutch. Hebat master race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Sendiri dah kalah, lagi mau drag brand lain. Alasan loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • rubbishlorry on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Loser jugak kalau selalu peleceh orang lain. Dalam hidup tak pernah berjaya sebab kerja kutuk orang je pandai.

• Contender on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Well done for a newbie car maker …. do they receive any govt protection in terms of tax like we Malaysians have been supporting Proton all these years and what do we get or what has Proton archive ??? It is either Qoros are run by really competent and smart people or Proton is run by really incompetent and dumb people ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo on Nov 28, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Kimchis RV slide with this China made cars entering the market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • SamLowRVtoyola on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm

you forgot to mention your ugly vios and hilux… memory is deteriorating for Uncle Sam!

• Autoexpert on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Not only that… it will slide the Proton RVs as well!

As long as there are still ignorant Malaysians buying Protons/Peroduas, and supporting the BN led government who protects P1/P2 at all COSTS by practicing unfair business trade barriers and at the expense of the rakyat’s money, everybody’s faces get slapped, including the non-supporters! Go figure!

• at first, I thought RM64k launched in Malaysia..

Potong Steam. If come onshore, RM100k++ already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • This car gonna wipe the floor with the preve..

The japs made it to the global stage,
    The koreans did it too,
    It won’t be too long before China as well..
    Hell, even tata India is more reputable worldwide conpared to Proton..

Here in bolehland, all Proton/Ummno do is count the eggs before they hatch, talk about flying before walking..
    Still need unfair playing field to even shift some units in malaysia, still talk so much about global expansion and brand name..
    Seriously not malu??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Please give Proton another chance (another 30 year period!) to try-lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • what a good looking car…. like the design, one of international-looking styling :)

• sonyman on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm

any dealers going bring this in, i am sure it be quite a good buy if they sell at RM 70K ?

China brand what should be cheap and good,

• kadajawi on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Don’t forget that in Malaysia ALL cars are taxed at at least 75%, including Proton. Those prices mentioned only include whatever low tax the Chinese have. So if this were to come to Malaysia… and I don’t see that happening given the Israeli involvement… Expect a much higher price… Probably around 100k?

Yes, the Chinese CAN offer quality, but quality costs money, so the product will be just as expensive as European, Japanese or Korean brands. Maybe slightly cheaper.

• albag on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Keyword: China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Beem-er on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:14 pm

There always Beemer like rear lamp on almost every new cars nowadays. That is a true benchmark.

• ntah pa2 on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

proton bikin malu ja..design 10x better than preve & suprima plus dual clutch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • look at the price, suprima without tax if 89k sure 10x better than this.

• yo lah on Dec 02, 2013 at 1:08 am

put 11x more price, proton still fail..preve nampak tonggek..no class tail lamp still like 90s only plus few led..preve no wow factor..

• Alot of ppl dont realise what a incredible company Qoros is. Its investors gave it a clean slate, new factory, new design teams, allowed it to hire world class european management and designers, and this car is the result, congratulations to the Chinese, a 5 star car that Proton after 30 years cannot achieve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:10 pm

I suppose the only thing Chinese about this car will be the money and the workers at the factory. Everything else was done by foreigners.

IMHO the Chinese education system doesn’t allow for good, creative design. Creativity isn’t a focus, learning is. That way you get good human computers/wikipedias, but solving new problems…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • flykite on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:02 pm

It’s the power of $$$

• Ash Menon on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:27 pm

This has Schreyer written all over it. Which is not a bad thing, as the car looks fantastic!

• No fanboi on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Wow! A Chinese car that looks normal! If the quality is there too this will be popular.

• Sam Loo on Nov 28, 2013 at 5:49 pm

If its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a KIA, it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • donnyck on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:09 pm

better than proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Qoros makes bmw looks like a garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • superbird #43 on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:05 pm

bmw is still among the leaders in the auto industry. this chinese brand need 2 ‘prove’ themselves in the States if they want 2 succeed.

• Prodana~1 on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:24 pm

WOW… A great opportunity for Proton to rebadge!!!!!! Cmon Proton, you can do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Blublibla on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Meanwhile Proton…

• Blublibla on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Meanwhile Proton… I just hope that the Proton GSC will do well.

• farizY on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:01 pm

I would not mind buying one!! 1.6L turbo variant!

• 64k+tax+bla bla = almost RM150k.. zzzz

• lookin-good on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:05 pm

We malaysian whoever read this news instantly think of ourselves, relate it to the very homemade Proton, and we felt shame right away….

Qoros show an clear example of a car company who is really into “making car” and not just focus on “making money/profit”…and too the taiwanese brand Luxgen also looking good..its new brand too.

thanks to Dr.M..Umnooo, come out a Homemade brand with ppl money, but with personal agenda behind…you hav had make our life miserable all these years, and many years to come…

If don’t have such a big head then don’t where a big helmet.. can juz be like Thailand, a regional car resemble hub, country make hell lot of income from it. (for us? other than buying expensive car and yet have to pay the debts which Proton create!)

on second thought, its not we malaysian don’t have the brain or heart.. u all know

• just me on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Our dumb malaysia buyers still worship proton so much. Need to put proton on the level competition field only they learn how to improve. Otherwise a little improve already start to exaggerate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • rickyll on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Bravo. A nice design by any standard and a 5 stars Euro NCAP rating is an added bonus. We in “bolehland” used to laugh and sneeze at Chinese products without even knowing that they have improved tremendously in almost every field by the days.
    As for the success of Qoros, it could be due to the open competitions

• MR.Cool on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:38 pm

on second thought, its not we malaysian don’t have the brain or heart.. genius will get dumb by politician too..

• repel on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:26 pm

“making car” with almost all parts are outsourced? that’s too close to rebadging. no knowledge or expertise to be grown, only pure capitalism

• armandd on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:20 pm

You guys praise this Qoros too much and forget about reliability. It’s a new brand, we still don’t know about it’s reliability.

• wee teck on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:42 pm

bring it to Malaysia!!!

• D.I.Y on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Walao.. even China car also nice than the toyota.. good feature!

• Krasher on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Can someone tells Azlano that’s how a car should looks like?!

• norman on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:06 pm

First of all the car is not even half Chinese only the President is a Chinese and his vice is German jew
    Supplier of the car parts is Bosch,Continental,Getrag,Magna Setyr and Iconmobile engine parts although its 55% Chery group and 45% Israel Automobile..The engine if u rip off is 95% European and the software and infotainment is by Microsoft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Krasher on Nov 29, 2013 at 1:54 am

I never know there’s car maker that manufactured their own parts from A to Z and what’s wrong for getting the right supplier to churn out good product?
      You rip off any proton you’ll find the same “Rojak” anyway
      Again, it’s about getting the right formula to make a product that sells!

• norman on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Sorry to burst your bubble,if anyone thinks its Chinese made then you should do more research before even comment further.Its built by Israeli and German engineers but its the Chinese that co owned the brand…so much for Chinese engineering..Thats what money can buy,Geely buy Volvo automotive,Keeway buy Benelli…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Krasher on Nov 29, 2013 at 1:43 am

Sorry professor, does made by Chinese important? End of day, people only recognize Qoros as a China brand. And it’s the product that makes money that matters!

• Monday on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:23 am

No wonder this country can never progress beyond if we have mamat cam ni. Katak bawah tempurung.
      Sorry Norman, you should look at Boeing and Airbus.
      Lu buat sindri la……

• PLoton on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:47 am

Least the chinese made full use of their purchase.

Proton bought over Lotus and till now, dunno how to benefit from it. Ask Lotus to make campro engine when Lotus themselves use other ppl’s engine like Toyota.

• vvt-i on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:44 pm

YOu don’t anything about Lotus Ride and handling? It’s easily beat Japs cars’

• PLoton on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Ofcourse! Lotus chasis and ride is legendary.

However, other than stick a badge which says Lotus Ride and Handling, ape lagi proton do? Rebadge? ahahaha….. Just put a badge trick all of you. Ahahahaha.

• vvt-i on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:29 am

Proton make cars from scratch lor, not like this which outsourcing is the main course

• proton also has home grown cars. don’t be a sorhai here

• Autoexpert on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Only BODOH people will use back their bodoh people to make things! Go figure! Otherwise why MNC? China has the best Engineers in the world. Just look at the Great Wall of China, it is still standing strong all these years and the only man-made object that can be seen from the moon. Even the Berlin wall has collapsed! Shit Hitler!

• Thompson on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Actually Proton can be more sucessful market dy, just the problem is… Makan, if you know what i meant…

• just me on Nov 29, 2013 at 12:09 am

Not only makan. It a junk!

• probably >90% of P1’s vendors are owned by or people related to those who walk in the corridor of power.

P1 should review the parts vendors and replace all those supplying sub-standard/low quality parts.

Bring in people with proven track record to head/staff the R&D and Design Divisions. All those who cannot perform to be removed and employ people with talent and skills.
      Don’t just employ relatives’ or friends’ children , nephew, nieces etc…P1 will never progress if this step is not taken.

All MNCs, PLCs, Sdn Bhd companies which are successful, this is how they do it, the Management Team members are usually lead by outsiders with proven track record in their line of work. Those companies with tonnes of relatives working in the same company are usually not so successful. At the end of the day, the owners still resort to employing talented people to run their companies in order to be successfully listed on Main or 2nd Board. True story.

• MAI Apprentice on Nov 28, 2013 at 10:45 pm

i might say, this could be one of my choice to buy 1st car..

• benzs on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Very good effort by china. Good engineering team from overseas, china knew they cant produce due to lack of experience. So, the Solution is to hire expertise n done it. Compare to us, im a little bit shame. If proton cant do it, they should learn from this. Those interior n exterior looks is very classy, even engine compartment is fully closed up like bmw o mercs. Good job China.

• Henry on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:39 pm

China qoros and taiwan luxgen… worth every cent, price low quality and technology more advanced. got test drive the luxgen 7 in china… fantastic….

• The Chinese are fast catching up with the Japanese and Koreans..it’s matter of time when they will produce world class car..why our Proton and Perodua still sleeping? What is so proud of being the owner of Lotus if the parent company still produce third world car?

• Hadi75 on Nov 29, 2013 at 1:32 am

China product so bad is it???? Try look at all the electornics equipment….made in where????

• Abg Long on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:21 am

wikipedia: 55% own by israel corp & 50% by Chery… so this is israel car lorr.. israel shud get more credits than China..

• Abg Long on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:22 am

ooppss sorry.. 50% & 50% lah..

• watsittuya on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:43 am

Everything about car design and manufacturing is money la. If Proton has RM10 Billion at their disposal, not only Mercedes quality but Bently quality also can do la. Why not if any of you keyboard warrior here is a billionaire, buy over proton and produce a car of the above quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • If I am a billionare i would invest on making a car under my own brand rather than taking over proton…

• PLoton on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:50 am

If Proton had 100 Billion, still the same. Cronies are the ones getting richer as the problem is not funding. Its the attitude of management there.

• How do you know? I believe you are just a pathetic story-teller

• PLoton on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:39 pm

I can ask the same. How you know dont have? So you are story teller too? Know what they say… takes a bigger story teller to identify a smaller one. Ahahahahah.

Either you are a crony or you also dunno. Just want to be debate.

• I don’t say anything, it’s YOU who make fantasy story here.

• Passerby on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:35 pm

every year plotong crap is burning our tax money into researching… a company making loss still can survive until today… dont u think the rational behind it? our stupid government is providing them fund non-stop… dont talk about rm10 bil… rm10 tri also can achieve in another 10 yrs time if plotong keep on doing its failure products

• Evilunatic on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:41 am

Guys, Is it just me or the front bumper of this car looks similarly to Proton Preve’s DreamEDGE front bumper?

http://paultan.org/2013/11/21/dreamedge-preve/

• Dvvtt on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:50 pm

I don’t think the name Proton ever came up in the minds of the Qoros design team…May just be a coincidence if there are any similarities with Proton. Someone said the dash looks like Preve….but I think Preve’s dash is a rip off from BMW E90.

• There goes the proton basher minds
        everything bad is related to proton
        everything is good is not proton

• Proton can go and fly kite with DR.M la

• the darkside on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:06 am

they made this possible with low developement costs as they dont have big engineering depts…basically they source their parts from all over the world …hence minimum R&D done on parts etc. but the key is to have top talent at the right area, they hire people from BMW and Saab to head their divisions. I think this is one business model that maybe our local car maker can emulate.

Too bad due to its Israel link, it is unlikely this car will ever be on M’sian road.

• b sensible on Nov 29, 2013 at 1:22 pm

if you want to do it, you do it better. this this the philosophy to building a car. isn’t it so hard to take a lesson from qoros. the chinese automaker is not resting on their laurels, they benchmark to the european, so expecting their cars are of highest quality.

i read a coverage on the qoros secret of making cars in nov’13 issue of autocar. i found out that all the development including engine & suspension are being outsourced except for design is to be done in-house! this is to keep the staff small so focusing the resources to produce the cars, at profit!

besides the qoros would be mistaken as foreign brand as it has achieved a 5-star euro ncap rating! a pure feet for a star-up luxury car maker in china!

on top of that qoros is not selling cars to vie for market shares but building a very safe, reliable & refined car while keeping the engineering simple! wow, pure the art of making car!

• looks alike ford + subaru .. design is really nice.. i think cost production in here is high, maybe proton really want to be global cars, they open their manufacture in China.

• Qoros will be the only Chinese brand car that I will buy if I’m planning to get a cheap but good quality car.

• howard on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Is a nice product, Israel and French company design it together, French magna styer which produced x3, mini cross country on behalf of BMW, this is China best quality product to beat the world market especially Europe… will try to get one…

• Wow this is what I call Value For Money..worth every cents. Just looks too awesome and perfect. RM64k wow..

• Nama pun ganas Qoros. Keseluruhan rekabentuk nampak seimbang.

• peter on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:31 am

I would buy the car immediately. Good price, good service, what more can you ask for ?

• Ooi Hock Jin on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Better than own a Proton! B)