Driven Web Series Episode 4: C-segment round-up – Honda Civic 2.0 vs Kia Cerato 2.0 vs Ford Focus 2.0

Enjoyed Driven Web Serieshot-hatch special last week? If you haven’t, do find out why the VW Golf GTI Mk7 still towers over the Merc A 250, BMW 125i and Volvo V40 T5 here. It may not be the result you want to see – the breathtakingly pretty A-Class coming in last surprised us too – but that’s the ugly truth.

The same goes with our first episode’s shock verdict, where the Toyota Vios beat the Proton Suprima S and Honda Jazz Hybrid to the RM90,000 crown. Sometimes, models topping the sales charts really are the best cars in their classes. But that’s not always the case.

This week, we’re looking at the C-segment contenders. Does the Honda Civic’s market-leading, best-selling status automatically make it the class-leader? Driven Web Series finds out, as we compare it to the Kia Cerato and Ford Focus in a 2.0 litre sedan shootout.

It’s here in this segment that the Japanese brands’ recent market domination has somewhat translated to complacency. The current Civic, itself barely a year old, has very little in its utility belt to go against its newer rivals’ arsenal of toys and bevy of modern touches. Can it still come out on top? Watch the video above to find out.

In classic Driven Web Series-style, there’s not one, but two surprises in store within this episode. Be sure to watch it till the end and tell us what you think of it in the comments below. Enjoy.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jinggo on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 213
    • frenzyaustin on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm

The only FTW Civic sedan is this.
      http://goo.gl/wjOC1D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
      • Petrolhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Numbers from the video
        RM118,888 Kia Cerato 159hp FC 15.9km/L 0-100km/h in 9.3s Top speed 205km/h
        RM129,938 Ford Focus 168hp FC 13.3km/L 0-100km/h in 9.4s Top speed 216km/h
        RM136,980 Honda Civic 153hp FC 14.5km/L 0-100km/h in 9.9s Top speed 214km/h
        RM146,888 Mini One 98hp 0-100km/h in 12.3s Top speed 181km/h
        RM139,888 Peugeot 208 GTI 0-100km/h in 6.8s Top speed 230km/h

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 7
        • May i ask? For the Honda Civic, how can you feel “Power” in ECON mode?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 209
      • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:27 pm

K5 owner that has been shown the broomstick over and over again impersonating again.

What these 3 gentleman did not tell you is the trade in value of the KIA, or the inability to trade in.

Even I can’t help you when you want to sell. No thieves wants the cabbage as well. You will need to set it alight or drive it into Klang River and risk arrest for damaging your own property for insurance claim

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 164 Thumb down 119
        • Maserati(Official) on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:25 pm

LOL~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 12
        • Don’t bullshit here. If nobody wants to buy a used KIA, then where the hell do those insurance companies got their market values from when renewing car insurance for KIA? It would be 0 you idiot.As long as there are buyers for a used KIA, then it is not logical to say cannot trade in. You are only talking to yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 81
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Insurance will sell coverage to kimchis, absolutely.

They are more glad to sell to kimchis as the chances of theft are zero, because no thief in their right mind will ever steal a KIA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 23
          • Obviously on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:04 am

Don’t mind me saying but, that’s actually a pretty good advantage.

• asyik Toyota on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:47 am

A

• carlies on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:51 pm

This Civic is no longer best selling C segment la! Aiyo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 128
      • jinggo on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Best selling doesnt mean best car.. The design of Cerato & Focus have no soul, copycat from the Audi & BMW. BOOOOO!!!!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 159 Thumb down 128
      • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:28 pm

The best seller C-Segment is still the Altis

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 131 Thumb down 123
        • bigman on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:47 pm

bull shit… toyata salesman…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 89
        • sam69 on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Sorry, but your trash toyota not even on the list..hahaha…keep your trash toyota on your showroom till it rotten..nobody cares..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 58
          • carlies on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:27 pm

The current Malaysian Altis is 2008 model. Not fair to put them together with these all new model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:57 pm

If its a sushi, it will have great RV

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, do pray 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 44
          • Fahmi on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Aiya, you use Toyota, Honda even Proton you still need to pray every day.. Better pray your Toyota Corolla don’t go turtle when driving on the highways like on NSE few days ago…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 38
          • blublibla on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Yeah right. 2012 Camry 2.5v selling for RM140k now. Go and check for yourself.

Sushi RV going down nowadays, mind you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 33
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:11 pm

RM140k is roughly 80% of new 2.5V price.

That is great RV for a D-Segment >2liter engine capacity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
          • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:31 pm

It RM60k to RM65k because you do not own a Corolla Altis and just lying thru your nose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
          • Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:04 am

Just wanna thank sam69 for telling everyone that RV for 1 year old sushi is 80%-85% of ori price.

Usually, D-Segment that have engines with more than 2000cc of displacement will be harder hit with RV.

For Hyundai Sonata, RV now is around 50% within a year, depending on condition.

For K5, so sorry, no trade in accepted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 31
          • bigman on Dec 11, 2013 at 1:42 pm

blablabla….the only point u hav to buy a toyota altis or camry is just the rv …anything else?
            not every people is care about the rv,for ur info…
            not saying tat toyota’s car is not good but u cant deny the fact tat the quality of kia or hyundai cars is good too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 43
          • There is no such thing as which is the best car in the world. It is about what you think you need and prioritize in your car that talks.

• fenzo on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Most affordable c segment car at this moment is Peugeot 408 2.0 at on 95k!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
        • rickyll on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Even a Toyota doesn’t guarantee a good RV. My 2008 Altis 1.8G full spec with aerokit that cost me almost 120K can only fetch about RM60K to 65K at the most now. If a person is very mindful about RV of the car he/she is buying, there are only three models that command good RV namely Toyota Vois, Perodua Myvi and Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
          • carlies on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:25 pm

I’m sure you don’t have an Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • sdfsdf on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:39 am

Your rv is low becos of the fugly toyotat bodykit.

• honda-civilian on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm

civic still d best selling c segment in malaysia, how many cerato did u bump?even worst for focus..simple, if you gonna change ur car in 3 yrs, then enjoy your cerato n focus, even the video stated CERATO is not for “fun to drive”, only for gadget freak(like you gonna spend the whole day in the car..duhh)honda is for reliability, i can live without gadget, i can spend more on gadget, but definitely not going to spend more on workshop, ENGINE RELIABILITY, at least that’s what the warranty direct said..the power of dreams..cheers guys:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 54
        • honda-civilian on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:26 pm

like my comment if ure civic fb owner..:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 52
        • Mighty on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Herm, perhaps you should come over east coast (kerteh), you can see focus is more than civic here…

• If this is how you guys conclude the winner then every comparison that involved Korean car, they will be No.1. All Korean cars are cheapest and also loaded with specs at the same time. So, they must be No.1? Hafiz already mentioned that the Cerato handles badly, Havinder mentioned about poor 6speed that performed worst than Civic 5 speeder. You guys just conclude the winner because they have more specs and cheap. Not everyone buy car based on specs alone. The drive, handling, NVH and etc are those things we consider. For your fuel consumption results, I find it very hard to believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
      • wendy on Dec 12, 2013 at 3:20 pm

of course you need to review based on spec and price bro.. imagine if the cerato was rm250k.. it would not be the best here right.. and imagine the civic dont have aircond but only a fan.. so u see.. a review need to be balance la bro..

• Hadi75 on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:17 am

It’s value for money…..with the cerato, you got a full spec car with all the safety features, premium feel at a very low price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • focusing22 on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:01 pm

there`s no cat there Jinggo, there car only so u must say copycar (in ur face)

• 3star on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I don’t know why you folks rated A250 last.

Pussy drivers complain it’s too hard suspension.

I think your last video, i would have rated A250 as the winner. First thing, branding, resale value and service outlets will triumph VW anytime.

To compare with v40 is a joke. That is ah pek car.

If want to compare with gti, might as well, throw in megane rs, ford focus st which is more or less a better contender than a gti pitting against v40, A250 or that ugly 1 series.

If vios can even win your previous verdicts, then your gti first place is seriously flawed. Ask any cinapek, they will says, sure Mercedes lar. And gti is getting a bit of the beng status lately.

So, my take, A250 take the cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 120
    • frenzyaustin on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:49 pm

I might say Paultan’s car choice is a balance between handling, comfort, practicality and efficiency. The A250 has logo advantages over the Golf GTi but the hard suspension isn’t for everyone. But it’s the matter of people preference. I don’t mind hard suspension but I do mind after sales service, fun factor, exciting looks so to me, I still go A250 despite hard suspension. I do go for a Civic Type R for a 200K car and a 208 GTi for a 140K car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
      • Black Dog on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Fantastic Review. Unbiased, Frank and Funny. Correct me if I’m wrong, Paultan’s review is based on price against engine performance, ride, handling, comfort, fuel economy, equipments and built quality. Resale value and beauty is secondary.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
        • waterman on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Of course in malaysia if just to talk about resell value is only Toyota and Honda bull shits. what’s the point of it?

anyway a fun fact that i just check mudah, a forte 1.6 2009 vs honda civic 1.8 2009, both resell value forte (50k+) and civic (70k+) it’s only 20k different.
          don’t forget the purchase price forte 83,800 and civic 1.8 115,800, that is a clear 32k different.

to be frank civic hold resell value worst than forte. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 59
          • carlies on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:29 pm

What about you go and take a second hand Forte then. Please. or, second hand Civic? haha. Please go for Forte please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Yes, get a used kimchi. If its KIA, it will a 50% off the new car price drive away, but for Hyundai, its more like 70%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Excuse me, resale value is only applicable if one can get a trade in price.

As for KIA, no dealer in town accepts. So, how does resale value even gets associated with KIA?

At least Elantra still have a trade in value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 56
        • Nobody on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Not entirely true, just go back Kia dealer, I’m sure they are more than happy to trade in any Kia, for another Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
        • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:43 am

Not true entirely true.

There was a Hyundai Santa Fe owner that could not get a trade in even for a new Santa Fe.

I will be worse for KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • nabill on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:09 pm

So for u manhood is dependant on how hard is da suspension is??
      Its an opinion bro…just like u dont hv to agree with da verdict,seeing how many thumbdown rating ur getting,ppl hav their opinions too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • 4star on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:25 pm

stfu 3star. you dont know what you are talking about. bet you are driving a lowlife preve now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • policeman on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:42 pm

No one cares about these European Put Key Mug cars.
      Where is Inspira? Price wise Inspira is Winrar! Shiokness too.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:26 pm

A wild Peugeot appeared. It’s better to compare those 2 unusual car with all the 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Daniel on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:48 pm

My friend’s uncle/auntie/bro say Korean car makan minyak compare to Japanese..

your review correct or not???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 63
    • Fariq on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Tiu go bang wall lah. Your uncle vs 3 reviewers; whose verdict you believe? kanasai =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 66
      • sutrak on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:45 pm

read his posting again. it’s actually his friend’s uncle, auntie and brother vs. the 3 reviewers. so it’s 3 against 3. fair what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Hyundai was sued in US for falsifying fuel consumption numbers.

How can you trust these Koreans?

KIA uses Hyundai engines, so KIA is equally telling lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 27
    • My own experiences with Korean car tell me – what they said about the FC and RV is a bitter truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Nice comparison thou I feel more negativity coming from this review than the previous. Throuout it, I felt like the main message is Dont buy these cars and get a Cerato. Hope you could point out more positives next time. But I do agree with the winner and loser.

As a fan of Honda for all these years the FB Civic remains the most dissapointing considered how I lusted over the FD. Yes the side profile is sportier and there are wee bit more features, it just dosen’t feel like what a Civic should, a sporty alternative. And unlike its other offerings, it is a clear downgrade over the previous gen.

The Focus, errr, I had my qualms during my little time in it, its small and cramp, and I am not really drawn to the looks. Auto-park? I just struggle to find the use of it in Malaysia considering the age old idea of parking is ‘can fit, can park’. The Cerato comes out the best and my favorite, good looking, feature pack and best part….ventilated seats!!! It may be a price up from the old forte but it is also a product up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
    • later shame loo will say you gonna be in big trouble later when selling off your kimchi. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
      • Jamesfan on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Is that James tan in your avatar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • To quote Jeremy Clarkson, I will put my car on a plinth and displayed it for the world once the Kia is done serving me. Sorry Sammy, you are not getting buisness from me

Hahahah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Raja Lawak on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:56 pm

The next Driven review should be the most expensive sedans Rolls Royce Phantom, Ghost, Wraith

Let us escape a bit from reality of normal everyday car but how Driven team can experience the driving in absolute opulence for one day…

Rolls Royce Malaysia should be able to lend the demo units lah

Mau rasa juga how to become Crony enjoying lifestyle even in video…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • It looks like the Civic Eco mode is on when Harvinder was driving it. The car engine is throttled when eco-mode is on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • Kommunys on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:10 pm

You want high Quality car buy Cerato,6 airbags,ESP and 6 speed.
    Civic and Focus?Sorry this 2 cars are junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 62
    • Kommunys on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:20 pm

1.18 I saw a VW Passat behind a black car.As a Cerato and Passat owner,i feel very proud and can smoke the useless junk Civic Focus and Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 31
      • Bob_B78 on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Smoking is bad for health. Between normal smoking and smoking cars, I would prefer you indulge in normal smoking where u r only accountable for your own health. Smoking cars put other road users at risk and when lives are lost, no matter what you do will never ever make up to those who lost their loves one due to such actions

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 12
        • Dear Bob_B78,

please go read about normal smoking before put up totally wrong info. normal smoking is bad for the person who smoke and the other person surrounding him. have you ever heard about passive smoker? similar risk factor with normal smoker dude..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Marvin on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:11 am

May I suggest that you boost your ego and confidence by smoking a Lamborghini too?
        Yeah, the stationary one.

• Joshua on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:11 pm

The new Mazda 3 is much better.210 nm of torque, 162 hp,more fuel efficient than kia cerato with compression ratio of 14:1.only 20,000 ringgit difference!

• Critique on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Thanks for the review guys!

This review confirms the extra power in the Focus is not without its drawbacks!

Sad to see the Civic falling behind tghg. I wonder (hope) if there’s a refresh of the FB Civic in 2014?

Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • sam69 on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:20 pm

haha..Sam Loo going to show his Hilux face here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
    • Kommunys on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Show lah,that is his choice.But i tell you i wont buty anything that is JUNK to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:28 pm

This is good advertising for me.

I may be able to trade Forte/Cerato next year with this kind of advertisement.

What they did not tell you in the video clip is the TCO of the 3 cars. Within a year, the KIA will not even be worth 50% of the ori sale price.

Buy it then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 35
  • ben yap on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:27 pm

my vote goes to ford focus!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
  • The Civic loses it when they started to use SOHC 2.0 engine rather than the previous DOHC 2.0 engine which is much much better. For me, I don’t drive a Civic for good FC. I only drive it because it’s a fun car, previously. If only this new Civic comes with 2.0 DOHC engine, I would buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Urzu3 on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm

where is Sam Loo..? usually he will show up quickly when there’s a Korean car around..

or maybe no Toyota Altis here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Sam is only interested to trade used Hyundai.

One day when the trade in price of a 12 month old KIA drops to 30%, we may consider accepting used KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • Much more relaxed this time around with proud Malaysian flavour, well done! Malaysia Car Review for Malaysians.

Tell it like it is, Honda kena rotan this time, haha! Altis is not even in the game, but I can anticipate where it will be placed in my book.

The Japs especially Honda need to lift their game. They did well with Accord so not all hope is lost!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Polo Saga on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:32 pm

What’s wrong with Honda nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Denaihati on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:34 pm

very nice comparison, best value for money as final criteria. honda civic 2.0 price just little bit lower than accord 2.0 might be not a good choice.

• ss427 on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:35 pm

haha Sam and Masarati bro, what do u have to say? Your good old Jap Civic came in last. BTW… this POS, CMI FB Civic is NOT LONGER BEING SOLD in Jap home market already. In fact Civic nameplate was dropped from JDM after FD Civic retired.

The FB is too crap even for the old Japs folks. The Honda Stream is the only car you Can buy/rent in Jap these days.

Told you guys Honda and Toyota simply lost the game these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:02 pm

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 19
    • So Camry won COTY in Korea, what are you complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Camry Hybrid also won COTY in OZ 2012

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Errrr… there are lots of cars with that price range…
    1. VW Jetta
    2. Toyota Prius
    3. Altis
    4. Peg 408

• blublibla on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Toyota Prius for the win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Bob_B78 on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:02 am

As much as i would like to know how jetta fair against other cars, but the price itself already in the D-segment price range. Assuming no matter how good it is it will still not win 1st place because of the price.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:50 am

VW Malaysia always charged their car 1 segment higher than all competitors.

• How about Preve?72k got 6 airbags,ESC,7 speed,best cabin size and 205Nm of torque!Not even worth a shoutout?:P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • ss427 on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Once again, I’m amazed that someone actually tried to include Proton into this comparo discussion.
      Please bro, please do a reality check… The Preve is totally on different league as compared to these 3 well established brands..
      Esp the new Kia Forte (erm.. your Cerato). Park your CMI Preve next to the Cerato, even non car guys can tell which is the much prefered choice.

The Preve looked like something from the 80s.. and the built quality is something only Kampong manufacturer can fool itself into thinking their products are ‘world class’

While having max amount of airbags is always preferred, airbags count doesn’t equal a great car hor…

Some China pirated cars have 6 airbags too… but weather the airbags are real airbags or just imaginary is another story altogether

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
      • dear ss427,
        by including preve in this comparison review atleast readers can acknowledge the pros and cons of preve,,,
        yea i know its a cheap car and jaguh kampung, but dont you think jaguh kampung is that bad??
        in term of features and accessory, preve is quite good car with superb handling, the lack is only fit and finish..
        by comparing also can threaten Proton to build more quality car in future by improving their product..
        let me take an example, if your kids is stupid, do they will be stupid for ever??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • ss427sark on Dec 11, 2013 at 6:29 am

Jealousy and envy is high in ss427 comments/ You say those airbags a imaginary? Then you can so sure other brands have real airbags too?

And it looks like 80’s? Then give 10 examples of cars from that era or you are just blind jealous pathetic proton basher.

• ss427 on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:26 am

The trouble is, in the face of severe competition, has Proton improved at all?
          As I’ve said many times, you need to see how well Proton is doing OUTSIDE BOLEHLAND to know if they’ve ‘arrived’ or not.
          And I don’t think I need to repeat myself how ‘good’ Proton sales is in SG, or even UK.. :D LOL

Proton sold ZERO cars in SG for the past 1.5 yrs! :D There’s far more Lambo and Porsche sold within the first 6 mths of this year than what Proton could achieve for the past 2 yrs :D

Ok let’s compare Apples to Apples… We are paying over S$80k for a piece of imaginary paper called COE these days :(… yet.. the new Forte K3 and the Elantra are selling very well despite that piece of imaginary paper cost way more than the car itself

Proton buyers will also pay for this $80k COE too… so why Proton can’t sell any cars in SG?

You tell me lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • this is mentality,,
            people perception toward proton base on their past model..
            and mentality is the most difficult to change..
            it take over time..
            eg: u can change your dress up style over a night, but your way of thinking i bet you it take a years..
            but now proton try to improve, just give them a chance..

• Looked like something from the 80s?seriously?Though it’s not really a looker, I don’t see the likes of civics that pleasant either.

Proton’s built quality nowadays have definitely improved and the Japs/Koreans are really not that much better either.

Comparing chinese cars that are unproven unlike proton’s latest cars that received 5 stars ANCAP just shows your blatant hatred towards Proton.

The Koreans are not really that great either until the last 5 years,Proton cars definitely improving and maybe in 3-4 years you might eat your own words buddy.

• Krasher on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:57 pm

What is a preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • sambitch on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:55 am

Preve is known as pervert.

Pervert car for pervert people.

Then again, pervert is still better than hailat toyol car which sam drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • that your grandma

• The superior suprima S also lost to vios, how come Preve wanna come up to challenge cerato civic or focus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Peter on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Good observation.
        Another point, if preve fell into tHis price range, pls ask sam-wth-hilux-face comments abt its rv.

• ss427 on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:19 am

Exactly well said and Proton still thinks they’ve got a competitive product on their hands? The Vios is already dead down at the bottom of the ladder… and Proton ‘best’ model is even below that LOL
        World Class vehicles indeed… and global car too… yup.. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • blublibla on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:33 am

Yup. I was also surprised to see the Honda Jazz Hybrid in the last place. Behind the Suprima! A world class car indeed a Honda Jazz Hybrid is! Right, ss427?

• mazda 3 is the best, you should compare the civic with it. no car can come close to the fun of driving mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • BTW how’s the resale value of Mazda 3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • AUSNSW on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:19 pm

I agree Mazda 3 is better than Honda civic,Kia cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:35 pm

If its a KIA, make it a habit to pray 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Whatajoke on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Really? Then mind telling me RV for Honda Freed? hardly can see on the road..Not all sushi car will have great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • shars on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:46 pm

always about resale..resale…if want to sell, dont buylah. Just open kedai jual kereta la. We buy car because we like it. Dont like it, dont buy la. Want to sell, bukak kedai la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 18
    • nabill on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Bcos of low purchasing power,alot of ppl go buy car even with 9yrs installment,thy find it hard to afford da mnthly payment compare to what thy earn…but thy stil buy dat car which is beyond their means,dats y resale value is da holy grail to them,as u say,if ppl want to buy car,thy do so for da luv of driving not to minimise ur lost on ur loss making investment which is buying car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • frenzyaustin on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:51 am

So the fault is Malaysian are poor and everything is expensive?

• ss427 on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:16 pm

well said bro.

I don’t know la does Malaysians buy cars just to please the used car dealer?

SG auto scene used to be like this up to the late 90s.. but we’ve grown up from such silly notions and this is why Korean cars are much sought after these days.

A 1 yr old Elantra can command similar if not equal selling price as the POS G10 Altis and FB Civic… and both Japs brands costs way more than the Elantra when new 1 yr ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Sam has many customers that have great remorse owning kimchis. He was kind enough to take their cars for trade in.

That is why he has so many supporters. He know how kimchis owners feel, as he is one himself before, same as I.

We have learned our lesson and now we make our money trading Korean Cars.

But we do not accept KIA now, coz no demand.

Sonata is by far the best to trade, K5 is the worst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Well, any smart person will look at TCO.

For Hyundai, its trade in Value is 50% within a year,

For KIA, so sorry, no trade in accepted now.

For T&H, the 1st year RV is 80%-85%

Do your maths and you will know which make to buy.

I love new Hyundai buyers, coz within a year, about half of them will sell it out because they are looked down by their colleagues, bosses see them as untrustworthy, relatives give them a sorchai look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 47
      • nabill on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:34 pm

ur either a loner or soneone is paying u to piss us off..if yess thn ur doing one heck of a job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 50
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:07 pm

It OK to feel down and low being the owner of a Korean car.

Yours truly and Sam were kimchi owners before.

You can be aggresively defensive now but at the end of the day when its time to sell, you will feel the pain on you wallet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:09 am

I am a businessman that is making a pretty decent income ever since I discovered that 50% of kimchi owners will wanna sell of their rotten cabbages within a year of ownership.

Money is my driver here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Sam did just that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Annoynimouse on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:20 pm

I wouldn’t put RV top on my priority list when buying a car. If I do, then I’d end up with either a Toyota or a Honda or perhaps a Perodua.
      Why bother looking at other cars at all?
      Long live the drivers!!!

• sudonano on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:30 pm

My vote would be for the Focus. While the Cerato is not bad (it is for comfort, not for sportiness) if only it came with BLIS and auto park as per the Korean ones. But it is not a deal breaker. I have to agree the Cerato feels plush. In fact, I was a bit shocked when i heard the price. Very well screwed together.

Civic I think Honda really messed this one up. While the front looks really good, the interior looks a bit drab. The worst is the rear however which has the white plastic thing. Not nice. Thank goodness the 2014 in US fixes it, but I guess we’d get it as a FL…

Focus, save for PowerShift’s hesitation (a dual clutch thing), I would say it is a good car. I like the interior colour scheme, but the black suits it even better. One cannot deny the Sony Audio is a mess. At least we don’t get the rubbish MyFord Touch.

Oh and the reviews just keep getting better. I like the Mini One part!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • sonic31s on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Awesome review… keep up the good work :D

• Quiet on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Another well produced episode guys, keep it up! The dialogue and witty banter is a major improvement, also keep that up! :) And yes, calling a spade a spade (e.g. Focus’s garish colour combo, Civic’s lack of “toys”, Cerato’s shoddy gearbox, etc).. don’t ever hold back! ;)

• Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:33 pm

I would suggest that you listed to the review and buy the rotten cabbage.

Afterall, maybe by next year, there will be sufficient volume of this cabbage at 30% of ori price flooding the market. Then, i will have a business case to trade KIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 25
    • sammmy on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:16 pm

I think you can’t accept the fact that honda just lost to KIA..disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
  • And it’s quite funny to think that Honda switched to 2.0 SOHC i-Vtec for better FC.

While the Kia Cerato with 2.0 Dual CVVT which more or less like a DOHC can get better FC than the Civic.

So Honda is following Toyota?..you bet..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Kimchis FC will only be good for the 1st 2 weeks.

Thereafter, it will consume petrol like an engine from the 80’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 22
      • SamTheBan7 on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Hey Sam, are you ok? have you ever driven a kia? Stop acting like you are the god and RV and blind follower of anime country like a nerd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
      • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:21 pm

As a matter of fact, I used to own a KIA.

The bugger started to break apart after 2 years. And the great Naza KIA says “not in warranty scope”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
        • Krasher on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:08 am

Can’t agree more with you, Sam Loo
          Was fall into kimchi trap once and haunted forever
          Sushi FTW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
  • Kallen Anthony on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Civic Downgraded to SOHC Engine compared to the Previous Gen which was DOCH… People complain banyak makan… Based on that they have decided to Change it to SOCH.. Besides.. with AES on Road.. Mana Mahu lari lahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • venomous on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Come on Mr Singh.. at 2.48, the Civic’s Econ mode was clearly engaged.. Yet you complained about the acceleration. Just turn Econ mode off and the Vtec would kick in..

In ECON mode, the Civic’s engine and other energy-consuming systems are automatically configured to operate more efficiently. The ECON mode helps you improve your fuel economy by adjusting the performance of the engine, transmission, heating and cooling system/climate
    control system.

http://honda.com.my/model/performance/civic
    http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/environment.aspx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
    • iknowbetter on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:03 pm

please la, dont make excuses, upon full throttle downshift ECON mode is disengaged because ECU considers the driver as wanting maximum power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
      • mayor81 on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Brother, you are obviously assuming. I drive an FB civic and I can tell you that your assumption is wrong. Turn the ECON mode off and things get pretty exciting from there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
  • Ken T. on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:26 pm

That Chuck Norris ‘joke’ made me cringe.

• Kazuya on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Would love if you guys could do a B segment round-up in the next series – Kia Rio vs Peugeot 208 vs Ford Fiesta vs Honda Jazz.

Thanks for the C segment round-up, it was entertaining!! :)

• carlover on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Please, I would like to see a comparison between the MINI and the 208 GTI that came out late in the show. I said “please”. :)

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm

All i can say is ….

If its a KIA, no trade in allowed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
    • blublibla on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Camry 2.5v 1 year old RM140k. Nuff’ said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Thanks for letting everyone know that a 1 year old Camry 2.5V still fetches 80% of its value.

This is what I have been saying about Camry, the lowest TCO D-Segment in Malaysia. I am using the 2.4V ACV40 model AND being a HYUNDAI used car trader. Does that not tell everyone a clear and strong message?

If its a 2.0 Sonata, the owner would lose RM80k in a year.

If its a K5, I may consider taking them in at RM40k, which means that the owner would have lost RM100k a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • civic has the most highest top speed among others despite having lowest horsepower..its all about the drivetrain, aerodynamic n weight to power ratio…n its clearly stated that 5speed civic drives better than 6speed cerato..no matter hw much gear no that koreans hv its just gimic n signifies ntg..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Koreans have done a pretty good job in disclosing the little strengths and concealing all their weaknesses.

Only smarter and intelligent people that bother to dig deeper and pay attention to details will be the real winners in the longer term

As for kimchis, they are a hit and run country with a short visioned culture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
      • Sam, I’ve been reading your comments on this page and you seem to have some strong opinions on the Korean vs. Japanese debate.

Do you have a blog or something like that where I can read more about your take on this?

• James.R on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:44 am

how offer u can go for top speed?
      please advise..

• autodriver on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Nice review from Driven with well balance of strengths and weaknesses.

And some of you debate about resales value, please enjoy your resale value before 2016 when Malaysia going to remove the national duty for all local and foreign car makers.

Look at Proton SV version, how do they able to reduce price while putting more safety features. It is simple, government reduce the national duty from Proton and boost their sales. Perodua also having big time with this structure soon.

I can’t tell you guys where the sources from but I am working on automotive industry right now. Believe it or not is up to you.

• BLT CLUB on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Malaysia going to remove the national duty for all local and foreign car makers. – Pray tell how will the government recover the loss in revenue? Higher GST? No more fuel subsidy? Increased income RPGT/income taxes/ assessments?

Look at Proton SV version, how do they able to reduce price while putting more safety features. It is simple, government reduce the national duty from Proton and boost their sales. Perodua also having big time with this structure soon. – This is just too funny, but I’ll indulge you. This contradicts your first statement. And why would they only reduce the taxes from Proton and not make this public? How would the other manufacturers which have put in investment in the form of local assembly plants and create jobs react when/if they know of this? If G wanted to boost local products, why would they remove duties of all makers in the future? On a level playing field, who would buy P1 or P2, seriously? And you think the Syed Mokhtars of the world will allow this? Come on, nothing in this world is free, there must have been deals made between the G and DRB for DRB to take on this troubled son known as P1. If anything, G might only reduce the duties for P1 (and maybe P2) to protect the cronies.

I can’t tell you guys where the sources from but I am working on automotive industry right now. – This is also too funny. Are you working “on” automotive industry right now? Or are you working on a car maybe in Brothers or Cars International.

Salutations!

• autodriver on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:51 am

Proton and Perodua are preparing for their future without government “protection”.

Can you tell me how Proton manage to reduce price for SV meanwhile putting more gadgets? Don’t tell me proton can make 10-20k profit per car coz it is impossible. They need to pay tax and also the “cost of production” is much higher without the ability of massive production.

G is not stupid. When GST kick in G will get more income than the gain from car exercise duty. And G really protect proton all this while? It is an excuse been using for long time, so that G has an excuse to impose tax to other foreign cars.

Do you think if I were working on car accessories or cash wash shop can get this kind of information?

• gdntsk on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I expected the Cerato to be the top pick among the 3 cars and it came true after watching the video.

If Honda Malaysia (and also not forgetting UMW Toyota Motor) keep on pricing their lowly-equipped models too high against their competitors, they are helping Honda Motor Company & Toyota Motor Corporation of Japan to lose their influence in the Malaysian market as time passes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:37 pm

I know that Cerato will be the top from the bottom in resale value within a year, with proviso that it can be traded in then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 34
  • best episode so far. well done.

• darren on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:59 pm

the civic still in eco mode. that why least power. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Sukhvinder S on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Nice review, but should have done with Toyota Altis as well since it covers most of Malaysian market.

• Maserati on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:56 pm

are you retarded or what, the latest altis is not even launched in msia how to make comparison

do the world a favour and dont reproduce

• Ah Tan on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:33 pm

The driver who drive civic are very lousy…

He dint turn off the Eco mode to fully activate the power of vtec…

Should try at highway …

good car with lousy driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
  • Syameer on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Thumbs up for the Driven+ team! Simple and brief review yet very informative! This is how a review should be done!

Here is my 2 cents. Rather than looking at all the fancy stuffs packed with the car, I would choose Civic over the Cerato if I am to consider the resale value which undeniably the number one decision-making factor here in Malaysia. It would be interesting to see how the Civic will go against the upcoming Altis though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Cerato should be compared with makes from India and China instead, as they belong to the same Grade 3 manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
      • Das Auto on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:58 am

Correction! Toyotata should be compared to Tata. Same standard. Even Tata will surpass them soon at the rate Toyotata is moving backwards!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • mystvearn on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Thank you for the episode. Coincidentally, my mom was adamant about getting the new civic, despite my reservations. Shown her this video. Hopefully she reconsiders her choice.

On another note, is it possible for some web admin at paultan to put DRIVEN as it’s own tab. I do not see DRIVEN in the sticky icons at the top of the page. It would be nice if DRIVEN is prominently shown, or link is made so that people can access all the shows. I got the show from Youtube (subscribed to Paultan) first, before coming here.

Keep up the good work.

Next, D segment, will be a slight headache
    Mada6, Accord, Camry, Optima, Sonata…what else?

• akafoz on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Thanks for the review guys.

Looking forward another C-seg review if possible when new Mazda 3 and Elantra FL is launched in Malaysia.

• 富哥 on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:04 pm

We should get a second hand cerato!!

• heybadigol on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

The Honda CEO admitted that the Civic wasnt as good as expected because they thought that the world economy would go belly up by the time the Civic was launched, so they made a “cheap” (aka boring) Civic. Thats why car design should not be left to economists & marketing people, as they have no soul, and only care about statistics and numbers which they pick from marketing study and economic reports. Honda used to pride on engineering, but all the engineers are busy doing non-car stuff like making robots (which is fun, but not something to be applied to cars – yet), and aeroplanes (the HondaJet is cool, but seriously how many will get to own one). Luckily, they improved with the new Accord, which was launched just a few months after the Civic (somehow now the economists dont think economy is going bad after all). But for reasons unknown, the powerful DI engine was left out from Malaysia, boo!! Anyways, US Civic has been refreshed, and most US reviewers agreed its a way better car (quieter, handles better, softer dash plastics, better looking dash) than the pre-refresh, for only a few extra hundred bucks. Im not so sure this refresh will actually reach here, so dont bother waiting on it.

So, in a nutshell, dont buy the Civic. Cos I have a feeling Honda will make the next Civic truly a good car worthy of its heritage. Honda already showed the new turbo engines in Japan recently, and the 1.6 turbo was fitted into the Civic (though its the Euro version). Lets just hope and pray that this turbo engine (the 2.0 turbo would be even better, but thats just wishful thinking) will actually be used in the next Civic, and Honda Malaysia fights to bring it here too. The new Jazz/Fit handles well, so that means the engineers are busy at work now. And with Honda returning to F1 in 2015, could mean turbo engines and advanced energy recovery systems might make it to road cars. The future looks good, but for now its pretty dull for Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • Sam loo owned a kia on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Now we know why Sam hates korean car car so much. He owned a korean car which was very sucks during those times and got burned. Basing on past perceptions.
    But Naza service… The rumors I heard, He might be right.
    That is not the case for Hyundai.
    I am glad Malaysians waking up or just Damn sick of money sucking T & H with highest price and least kits. In the end they feel like they are paying so much ore for nothing at all.
    Seeing so many Hyundai and kia on the road Nowadays. Who give give a shit about rv now. Xcept Xcept those who cannot afford to buy but die die want to buy. Life is too short. Buy a car u like driving and can entertain u especially when everywhere is caught in the the Jam now. If want rv, go buy a house.
    I for one look down on T & H owners for kolot ppl who who no longer know how how to enjoy their drive. They buy just for the sake of selling off in next 5 years. I salute those who saw take the leap from tradition set by our parents old perception that T & H is still good as if in the 90s.
    Taabik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 54
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:41 pm

That is precisely what I have said. Hyundai cars have a resale value but not KIA, and one of the contributing factor is after sales service

Why are you being such a dumb ass and repeat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • he is a joke here, get used to it :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:45 pm

“I salute those that take the leap …..”

Believe me, you will be thinking about taking the leap off Plaza Masalam when you are told of the trade in value of you kimchi when you try to sell, if the dealer even wants to give you a price.

Nowadays, the best thing any dealer can do for KIA is to have you leave the car behind, pay rental for space of RM100 per week and sign a declaration. Otherwise, you will be asked to take the car away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
  • BigKahuna on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Why the hell was a mini one and 208gti brought in last minute for comparison?? Y diff segment for comparison?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Just a nice alerter to the smarter people.

Malaysia’s used car market is getting damper again in 2014, and the 1st category of cars that will be hit are D-Segments.

And for the kimchis, those that that have intention to sell now is already too late. Be prepared to use it for 10 years (if they can last that long)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Supporter on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Hafiz…… ur the best in this episode. Kepp up the good work guys.

• what happen to Altis?

• Good question. I just realised that Corolla Altis isn’t in the comparison – maybe because the new one is on the way.

• To hell with resale value. Korean cars are beautiful…unlike those days. They make T and H look like an old man’s car. I know people who sold their Kias. There are buyers…used car dealers will take them also..but the price cannot be compared to T and H. Ford is a good car, but I don’t think they have good resale value also. Sam is just exaggerating. Probably jealous..because you see more and more Kimchis on the roads. Eventually, they will command better resale prices. Those who buy them are bored with what’s being offered by T and H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 30
    • blublibla on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:42 am

Agreed! I see a lot more Ceratos nowadays!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:04 pm

I would have seen more Ceratos and Fortes this week given the no of trade in requests we get.

But to date, the boss Sam has not given us the green light to accept KIA yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • I am driving the civic fb 1.8 and I enjoy driving it. It has the good combination of fuel efficiency (when engaging with Eco mode) and performance when you turn Eco off. I tried to put Ron 97 and i can feel the difference significantly. Low ,mid and high rpm also perform much better. Therefore, civic I don’t think is that bad overall. It is one of the most affordable sushi car in the market ( for 1.8 and c segment categories) Korean vs Japs. I will go for japs for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
  • Josh Ling on Dec 11, 2013 at 6:50 am

Mini One and 208 GTi are not from the same segment lah. poor harv, why he has to be the one to suffer in every episode?? treat him nicer next week perhaps? lol……

still wish to see danny tan featured in the episode one day!!

• Azrique on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:28 am

Expecting power from civic when the econ mode is on. How intelligent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Raja Lawak on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:32 am

No more wearing skirts by Havinder? Thank God! Hey nice boobies too :D

• This is what I’m looking for, a review from local perspective. Keep up the good work paultan and driven teams!

• Here is the fuel consumption after 4 episode, although is not the ideal compare to all (diff venue/route) ; Look like Proton Suprima S not the worse consider +/-RM50K less vs C-segment.

Should I change my 9 years Gen2 to this new Proton? As I am enjoy no car installment for 6 years (I loaned 30K for 3 years installment)?

Honda Jazz 20.2km/L
    Toyota Vios 17.3km/L
    Proton Suprima S 13.9km/L

Honda CR-V 2.0 18.3km/L
    Mazda CX-5 2.0 17.0km/L
    Ford Kuda 1.6 14.0km/L

BMW 125i Sport 14.1km/L
    Volkswagen Golf GTI 13.1km/L
    Mercedes A 250 Sport 12.5km/L
    Volvo V40 T5 10.7km/L

Kia Cerato 2.0 15.9km/L
    Honda Civic 2.0 14.5km/L
    Ford Focus 2.0 13.3km/L

• blublibla on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:57 am

The two models I recommend are = a) Proton Suprima S Premium
      b) Toyota Vios 1.5e

The Proton is a good choice. The fuel consumption is good considering it gets nearly 14km/l for a c-segment car. But there are other cars that are even better in fuel consumption. i.e the Toyota Vios. But the Suprima S offers top notch safety features and other features that is really nice to have.

Like the Toyota Vios that achieves 17.3km/l. That is if you don’t care about safety features, you can get the Vios. Top up 5k from the price of the highest spec Suprima to get the 1.5e Vios. It is quite a good deal to me, minus the bare safety spec.

That’s said, you can’t really get the best of both worlds. As for me, I would still go for the Vios as the fuel consumtion is lower than the Suprima.

Advantages of Suprima = 1) Safety top notch (6 airbags 5star ANCAP), 2) Loaded with features, 3)Cheaper than a Vios, 4) Spacious

Disadvantages of Suprima = 1) Slightly low fuel consumtion when compared with Vios but is quite high if compared with other c-segmenters. 2)brand image 3)subjective design

Vios advantages = 1) Nice design, 2) fuel efficient 3)spacious too 4)tip top after sales service 5)10 years can use no problem

Disadvantages of Vios = 1) Expensive for models 1.5g and above. 2)Measly safety features (2 airbags abs ebd -_-) 3)Quite a kosong car to be honest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Peter on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:53 am

Pls drive 50% in city 50% highway (i.e 250km city 250km highway), and verify whether Preve / Suprima can achieve 13.9km/L.

Don’t quote PaulTan, quote existing local Preve drivers (from all the forums, including those setup by Proton). Pls find out whether I’m just another proton basher or the 13.9km/L is over estimated?

If you replied without even without research or fact finding, you’re just another blind proton die hard cyber troopers. We used to see thumb-down increase exponentially overnight on comment not good to Proton. (co-incidentally similar to our recent election, last min gain + blackout!)

• Peter on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Sorry, pls ignore the last paragraph, it’s not meant for replying you but for those who simply upset by bad comments on proton cars.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:58 am

I thought CR-V and Civic are same engine, but why FC is significantly difference despite CR-V are heavier and less aerodynamic than the sleeker and smaller Civic?

• If the econ mode is turn off, civic is way way expensive. In 5-6 years the price will drop to rm65k, half from original price

• Contender on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:51 am

When people say forget about the resale value … if you worry about resale value means you can’t afford it ? Really ? Enjoy the car …. Koreans cars are such great cars you called driving them an enjoyment compared to Japanese cars ?? I think both Jap or Korean are decent cars to drive …. enjoyment leave it to Merc or BMW Audi etc

Resale value better for Japs like T, H & N be because their infrastructure is excellent in terms of service centre, durability and what not etc etc … Kia under NAZA is far far behind, Hyundai slightly better …. that’s why their resale value sucks …. simple it is based on demand and supply

• autodriver on Dec 14, 2013 at 1:09 pm

you said Naza’s service center infrastructure is “far far behind” T, H, & N, what a joke man. I had visited SC of Proton, Perodua, Hyundai, Ford, Honda, Toyota and Kia before. I confirm Naza Kia SC infrastructure confirm better than Hyundai and Ford. Naza core biz is automotive, whereby automotive is not core biz for Sime Darby.

Naza SC may not reach to Honda or Toyota now, but it is not far behind. Please go visit Kia SC and confirmed by yourself.

• Resale value..?? Here it is,
    Option A
    you buy T and H = kereta kosong = they already cover the high price for cheaper spare parts, service and resale value

Option B
    you buy others = kereta full of gadgets = little cheaper or same price BUT spare parts , service are higher and resale value much lower….

So which one you prefer?
    it is all about marketing strategy…..up to all of you to choose option A or B

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Those who buy Korean cars can easily afford a Jap equivalent..however they decide on Kimchis because they are bloody bored with Jap cars. They are.so basic…totally no excitement. its not like in the 90s and early 2000..when people will go..waahh..when you buy a jap car. Nowdays…people go waaahh for Korea cars. thats the truth. they are real head turners. Even..the Kimchi bashers…would not be able to stop their heads from turning when a Kimchi passes by….and give that look of envy. Kimchis are desirable today…starting from the Kia Forte. You see so many of them on the roads today….despite any of the disadvantages mentioned. Kimchi isthe future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Japsfan on Dec 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm

This Sam Loo, SamShowedMeTheHilaat n meserati really made the forum very interesting. They are all jokers , just to entertain everyone here.
    Hey jokers, keep up your good job, all need u always.
    Hhahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • breaL on Dec 11, 2013 at 2:26 pm

just like in most aspects in society,,general consumers here is now getting smarter to make their own decision and its not all about brand perception anymore…its always about the product and whether its worth it…which is the reason of growing numbers of many different kind of models coming into our shore and more different cars on the road nowadays

• If you have a bit more dough…the ford focus would be the number choice. Why? because 99.9% for the time you are driving. Not fiddling about with creature comfort features.

• Transformer on Dec 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Dear, Paul
    Can you upload Driven+ episodes into paultan.org, so reader can download into thier devices(such as PC, LED TV, Mobile, car’s ICE)and watch whenever they want, even on the go… Common format such as 720p Mp4/Avi would be the best… Thank you!

• May i ask? For the Honda Civic, how can you feel power in ECON mode?

• omanjedi on Dec 12, 2013 at 12:12 pm

the FC of cerato is reasonable enough. truly bang for buck

• Bill K on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:19 am

ford focus dgn cerato punya lampu belkng lebih kurang sama je tgk….

• jroyzero on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:06 am

Honda – Old school. Down below to memory lane.
    KIA – New school. Rising up up on the way these day.
    Ford – What? Too good to be true. Auntie and Uncle drive it? Younger people probably..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:25 am

My business depends on sorhai tai lan ngongs very much like yourself.

Once you realised that you have bought a cabbage, remorse sets in exponentially because :-

1) Your friends whisper behind your back that you are a cheap skate bugger
      2) Your bosses start to lose trust in you overnight when they found out that you drive a kimchi
      3) You relatives start asking you why did you buy a kimchi and do you know the resale value
      4) You see promotions pass by you very rapidly

Within 6 months, you will be starting to look for a buyer and you will fail

Then, before the road tax and insurance expires within a year, you will be looking for me.

If you had bought a Hyundai, my team will still layan you by showing the Hilux first

If its a KIA, we will not be so polite and show you the broomstick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
      • What about Americans, Europeans and even Singaporeans? Korean cars seem to be selling well in these markets and giving the japs a run for their money. So are they dumb arses too? Kia and Hyundai are benchmarking their cars with European Marques…not the Japs…with their top of the line models such as the K9 and Genesis. Mind you..with great drivetrains. Well don’t think Proton is in the equilibrium.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 14, 2013 at 9:03 am

“Korean cars SEEMS TO….”
        Yes, artificial perception usually lives in the minds of those that smoke grass or pop some pills occasionally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Sam..the numbers show lah..and they have earned great respect from both East and West. Ok..for your benefit,..I will rephrase it. “Korean cars ARE selling well in these markets….”

• Sam Loo on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:38 am

Kia & Hyundai can be benchmarking their cars against the Europeans partlt because they are equally unreliable, difficult to maintain, wears our prematurely, breaks down sporadically and requires a huge amount of OPEX to maintain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 14, 2013 at 6:54 am

KIA = KEEP IT AWAY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • japsfan on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 122
  • Preve better!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Michael on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Fawd Focus is a bwilliant car. I smell twouble with the gearbox. haha this paul tan funny la.

• gamemaniac34 on Dec 14, 2013 at 9:03 pm

I dont get it,KIA cars have good design,OK performance,the KIA Optima was named international car of year 2013,the Cerato was named family car of the year 2013,so why the hell does no one want KIA cars

• Sam Loo on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:34 am

Because KIA cars (& Hyundai) breaks apart the minute the free service period is over, poor built quality, poor image and short lasting design, difficult to maintain and most of all, built by Koreans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Mmmm..strange isnt it? Despite all these weaknesses…they seems to be winning numerous awards. and sales is soaring. brand recognition is increasing. Good for them..bad for the japs and their increasingly outdated products. the Koreans i guess have the right formula.

• You can’t really say “no one want KIA cars”. I see LOTS of KIAs on Malaysian roads these days so people do like KIAs.

One reason why people still buy Toyota and Honda is because of the brand assurance they get. Another more important reason is parts. Japanese makers have been in the Malaysian market for many years and have built a reputation for good quality and good service. Additionally as a result of being in the marketplace for so long, there are lots of parts distributors and workshops which are familiar with Toyota and Honda.

The only real problem with Toyota and Honda is the importers like Sime Darby who strip the cars of several features to drive down the price.

On the other side, Korean cars have a reputation problem. In the past, Korean cars were no better than Proton cars but were more expensive. People who shelled out money on previous generation K-cars were pretty much disappointed with it. So filled with buyers remorse, many have sworn off Koreans marques.

• Y didn’t compare with peugeot 408 1.6T ?

• Commoner on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:05 am

There is something wrong with FC comsumption comparison. How come SUV consumed less fuel than Sedan car despite being heavier and less aerodynamic? For example Honda CRV vs Honda Civic with the same engine. Paultan should devise a better fuel measurement method in order to compare more accurately.

• FC calculation is a pretty contentious issue – even manufacturers from different parts of the world use different standards. I’m not sure where you got the CRV FC that you’re using to compare – but just be wary of manufacturer quoted FC values as those are usually the more optimistic numbers.

• Buy a focus an you’re stuck with it for life…for those who think Korean cars have no RV…this focus is worse.

• hahaha on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:00 pm

aiyo choose ford focus lah.. the interior’s color combinations and spacious or not doesnt matter lah as long as it has lots of features to play with!

• Paul, I don’t get it – isn’t this supposed to be a shootout for C-Segment sedans? Why does the Mini and the Peugeot show up?

We shouldn’t be comparing them IMO – though the price is in the same range, unless the intent is to compare a whole series of cars in Malaysia at that price level.

If we do a Segment based comparison, we’ll have to put that Mini and 208 up against Polo and others. Just my two pennies’ worth :)

• terry on Jan 06, 2014 at 1:29 pm

i’m planning to get a new car, still thinking between kia cerato 2.0 and civic 2.0s, and recently my friend bought a kia cerato 1.6 and he’s happy with it and persuit me to get kia cerato. BUT i’m still thinking of Civic because of the brand..and can’t deny it kia cerato performance is way better than Civic

• Mighty on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Have you consider focus?? Im in ur situation too… but i do include focus in my consideration.

• Why nobody compare about civic 1.8S?

• somebody on May 07, 2014 at 5:19 am

Very wrong comments from Paultan
    1. Focus has very good high quality interior and the color of interior beige and brown looks good, its only his opinion it looks bad
    2.Focus has highest power,highest,features,best audio system and foremost of all a quiet,comfortable cabin unlike tin can Japanese and Korean interior
    3.Focus is worlds 3rd best handling FWD car behind Mazda 3,Subaru Impreza
    4.Fords ride quality over broken roads and stability over broken roads at high speeds etc is in a league of its own, In Malaysia only Golf comes close to Focus, rest all are crap
    I am not saying Focus is best car here,the best car should have been VW Golf 1.4 TSi DSG still the Korean and Japanese though offer more space and practicality it delivers nothing like what Euro cars do