W221 Mercedes-Benz S300L for Penang Chief Minister

858660_10152131536427899_377577653_o

It looks like Penang Chief Minister will be rolling in 2014 in style, as his new ride with the customary PG1 number plate is a long wheelbase W221 Mercedes-Benz S300L in Palladium Silver with a grey interior. Photos of the freshly registered car uploaded by dealership personnel appeared on Facebook earlier today.

According to sources, only one unit was procured from Lowe Motors, a Mercedes-Benz Malaysia dealership in Georgetown, Penang. Being a government purchase, no tax was paid on it. The car comes with a four year unlimited mileage warranty and is locally assembled in Pekan, Pahang.

Given that the new W222 S-Class has already been released, this previous generation car must have been procured at quite a bit of savings. A quick check for brand new S-Class on oto.my Malaysian car classifieds reveals a brand new year 2012 unregistered car advertised by an official Mercedes-Benz Malaysia dealer for RM560k (with tax), which is a reduction of RM100k from the car’s new price.

UPDATE: The Penang government has revealed that the car was purchased for RM298,263.75, which includes the exemption of duties as well as a RM100k discount, which is consistent with the pricing we saw on oto.my. This means the tax for the S-Class came up to about RM260k.

The PG1 number plate used to be on an 18 year old W140 Mercedes-Benz S-Class. It was moved for a brief period to a black Toyota Camry that was part of the new fleet of Toyota Camry 2.5V purchased as the state’s official car at a cost of RM113,500 per car – tax free as well. The Toyota Camry has been reassigned to deputy Penang state speaker Maktar Shapee, who was using a Proton Perdana.

According to the Penang state government, the decision to replace the old fleet was due to the high costs in maintaining them – all the cars are more than 15 years old. “The cost of maintaining all 21 official state cars was RM370,400 in 2011, RM383,000 last year and for this year, up until now, RM301,238,” said state exco member Chow Kon Yeow.

The federal government will also be getting new cars – the new Proton Perdana based on the last generation Honda Accord was unveiled earlier this month, including a special stretched version for the Prime Minister.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• abuya123 on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:30 pm

So people….. politician always con you. They said, itu BN perabis duit rakyat pakai kereta besar2. The truth is…. when they got power, all them are same. Never trust politician…. they talk something bad to their opponent because they want to climb up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 594 Thumb down 244
    • buaya on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

It just 1 single state official car, go calculate how many private Mercedes Kak Ros have.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 439 Thumb down 289
      • tricycle on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:11 pm

I really agree on pay hike for the Adun, ie Selangor and Penang. (they deserve it, after the hardwork and prosperity brought upon.)

If this news is true:
        But getting an S-Class(no tax and old model), at this moment of time, I don’t think it is wise move.

What says Anwar on this, or is Anwar only dare of attacking MB Khalid?

If I were LGE, prefaclift W212 would do just fine. And it is normally accepted by Msian as official car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 72
        • wat if the pay hike is given to PM or TPM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 26
          • KhaZanahMalaysia on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:13 am

Selangor and penang govt use pay hike to motivate and appreciate aduns, both governing and opposition, and at the same time, discourages the possibilities of corruption…
            BN use projects to motivate its own aduns, and at the same time, promoting corruptions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 107
          • If BN is Barang Naik..then PR is Price Rise..same

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 81
          • farizY on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:17 am

Cannot be justified if PM and TPM got, Najib 2008, national debt ~RM250 billion, fast forward 5 years later, 2013, national debt at ~RM600 billion. So, NO for Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 52
          • alldisc on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:46 am

Prise Rise? prove it.

all price rise comes from BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 75
          • do u have harder question? u ask la selangor people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
          • i do not know until now which country their cost of living become cheaper and cheaper?…as far as i know we can oni control or try maintain cost of living but we can not make it drop unless the gov has unlimited money n resources

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
        • it nice to see how people from opposite side defense their leader..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
          • Ignorant people like you who make Malaysia suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
      • armandd on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:41 pm

That private Merc that you said Kak Ros has, is it real or just your imagination?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 52
        • Go see the coffer of LGE’s gov and Najib’s gov before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 29
          • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:02 pm

yeah as if budget surplus is a good thing. if YOU run a budget surplus it is. if a govt is hoarding money then it’s not doing enough. learn economics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 15
          • Then hoarding a deficit budget is a good thing?

We are comparing between the two gov. After all the car belongs to the state gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
          • tidak_tenang on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:06 am

Rakyat,

GDP to debt is now over 50% and counting. YOU should learn economics instead.

• farizY on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:18 am

Nah, it is real, even her son can afford RM100 million condo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
          • Big Mama on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:57 am

Merc? That’s too mainstream.

At least a Bentley or Rolls Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
          • fikrisoleh on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Do you know who he (DS Rosmah’s son) really is? A film producer. No wonder la. This is CM we are talking about.. duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • if u have driven around and peek into the houses that these people live to look at their cars the private merc is the least of your concern. wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:28 pm

oh yeah rakyat biasa has to save this and that, want to buy big car also limited to camry and accord…and YET chief minister can drive S class which is out of reach of most of his rakyat he claims to serve. so disappointed. i dont know who to vote anymore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 31
        • alldisc on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:13 am

the price of a Jaguar XJ 5.0 in peninsular is 1.1 million ringgit. in langkawi, the price drops to about 450K (still with 10% sales tax).

imagine that S-class without tax, it is not that expensive really. and consider that LGE for the past 5 years did not rush to get the latest merc as its official car.

bear in mind that W140 S class was really an old model, remember Princess Diana last ride in 1997? this model has been superceded by 3 generations of S class (W220, W221 and W222)

i simply do not understand why LGE is put to blame here when he had proven his capability of driving a higher revenue for the state before deciding to replace the car – and that is for economic reason (too costly to maintain)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 70
          • glaze on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:34 pm

For economic reason? S-class? Many rakyat are not “economic” enough then..

The 2.5 Camry was fine and economy to maintain compared to the S-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • anakcicak on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Jadi kalau ikot teori kau ni, kalau org lain buat, kita pon ikut sikt boleh la yer? kalau nak pertahankan DAP pon agak2 la. jgn tunjuk bodo sgt.
        Jadi kalau org lain merompak puluhan juta, hanya untuk justified apa yg kau buat, kau kata ala org lain rompak pulahan juta, aku rompak 10 ribu jek.

itula teori sasau kau ni yer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 39
        • lololol on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:25 am

Bukannya nak pertahankan Dap atau siapa2…tp Merc ni adalah kereta rasmi kerajaan negeri bukannya kereta persendirian LGE…pemimpin BN kena kutuk sbb beli kereta mewah sbg kereta PERSENDIRIAN padahal mereka suruh rakyat berjimat & naikkan harga barang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 73
          • who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • takkenatipu on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:11 am

Kereta rasmi kerajaan? maknenye cekau duit rakyat la. Pkai duit sendiri la kalau nak beli baru anak jantan. duit sendiri simpan abiskan duit rakyat beli Merc. yang kene tipu kau. hahahaha

• Ambigos on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Everything is good everything is when it is PR side.. Who’s more macai now?? Lol!!

I know deep in your heart, you’re hurt reading this news

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 38
      • brownkids on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:42 am

a con is a con. no matter how big the lie is~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 4
      • cilakak, want to show off cannot ah… state car paid by rakyat what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Camry is a much better car than this car where it will kwai tai at the highway. Penang gov shall look for car that has high RV and reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • It’s ok to steal, because other people steal more.. Where is ur logic darling?

Why are we defending these politicians, bn or pr?.. They should defend us, not the other way.. Sorry to say, they r suppose to be our macai, not we becoming theirs.. We hire them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • gov and opposition sama jee… so macam mana la nasib rakyat biasa ;(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 31
      • Kamehameha on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:50 am

Bak kata pepatah melayu, bagaikan keluar mulut harimau masuk mulut buaya. Rakyat sendiri tidak tahu tahu mana yg boleh di undi untuk pilihan raya nanti. Semuanya nya sama saja, walaupun bertopengkan agama sekalipun, mereka tetap sama, politician. Susah mahu percaya sekarang. REDHO jelah yerk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
        • macai on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:08 am

tak suka duduk/sistem pemerintahan di Malaysia, sila keluar dari Malaysia ya. Pergilah ke DUBAI, baru kau tahu macam mana kos sara hidup di sana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
          • tak suka duduk/sistem pemerintahan di Malaysia, just change the system, why need to get out from malaysia?who are you to say if dont like this and that must get out from here?ini lu bapa punya rumah kah? bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • no la this is the cleanest chief minister or mentri besar…bring trillion RM of investment..bring wealth to all people in penang..most brilliant leader in boleh currently..he is second leader sent by god(the other one u know la)..even 500% increase salary no hal ma..as long as PR gov no problem

lololol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 54
      • pontiac on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:16 pm

i love ur sarcasm.. i know the first one.. azizah once said that.. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 12
      • Kamehameha on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:54 am

He goes to Taiwan to bash off the RAPID project. Haha that was what he did in a talk in Singapore. He did said that Johor is a dangerous state and you will be kidnapped there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 10
      • I tot it will get more thumb down then up..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • farizY on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:20 am

Care to look at Auditor General revelation? Or you just too thick headed to notice how corrupted the federal government is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
        • alldisc on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:16 am

it was read but with both eyes closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • worst people who close both ear n eyes just to defense the second anugerah tuhan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • anakbochek on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:24 am

Dia sudah simpan duit ang pow dari dia sekolah tadika lagi lor. Jangan tuduh dia macam2, ini orang kan sama level dengan itu khalifah Umar Abdul Aziz (tak percaya cuba tanya penyokong PR).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 13
      • olang biasa on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:41 am

The cleanest Menteri Besar? Bring in Trillion RM of Investment? Bring wealth to the people of penang? most brilliant leader? Kau buek kelakar ko?

• kingbob on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:55 pm

produa vivavi,myvi,saga and vehicle below 1.5 cc, please drive on the left lane highways especially when climbing hills. annoying dude!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 23
      • Dude, ur statement bloody arrogant. Just because u have money to buy 2.0 cc above..does not make u a god to kutuk other people cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
        • kingbob, i agree with you. not just 1.5cc below, i thing also to those drive slow. it make highway become jammed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • i think those non turbo car also please keep to the left lane coz their accerelation is damn slow, overtaking car is like snail.

• vk9545 on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:42 am

King bob why should use left lane? Why u freaking own the highway is it? Whats up with this guys? U mau speed cari jalan lain bro. I pay road tax I pay tolls too. I have all the rights that u have on it. There is no wrong for myvi viva to go on the right lane when they follow the 110km per hour national limit mind u. U dont have the authority or rights to ask us to change lane just because u wana go fast. 110km per hour not fast enough? If not please try autobahn not malaysia highway. U risk other peeps life too. Be a human.

• turun turun on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:08 am

Thats why only PAS could be trusted. Only PAS consistent with no isssues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 79
      • lovesCARS on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:15 am

Sorry you are wrong. Last MB of Kedah bought a S class for himself too. LOL!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 9
        • hello on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:54 am

errr correction! he bought 2!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
        • ur ass on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:29 am

PRIVATE or OFFICIAL car? and look at those BN leaders what are their PRIVATE car(S)…pls understd the difference between PRIVATE & OFFICIAL car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
          • u oso know PR leader PRIVATE & OFFICIAL car? especially “The First Coming”..u know who

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:34 pm

guna agama lagi tak boleh trusted…gave few millions ringgit of kayu balak permit to a 21 y/o girl that happen to be the second wife of an exco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…Time to change the old 18 yrs old merc lah. Value for money. This new Merc maybe can let him use another 20yrs loh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • abuya123 on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:26 am

Where is car photo? Kena warning dengan Guan Eng? Kah kah kah…. See people… when they got power, they can force ‘anyone’ to hide whatsoever the thing that can affect their political image.

We are being control actually from both parties. If you think BN controlling your voice, PR also do. This missing photo is evidence!

I dont really care politician rip money. Because I dont have power to stop it. Setakat tepuk meja kedai kopi, menjerit2 kat paultan doesnt change anything. PRU is over and next PRU is about 4 years so within this 4 years I really hope they can stop point each other, together make Malaysia moving forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 21
      • And please know that, it is an OFFICIAL car. Not PRIVATE car. OFFICIAL MEANS WHAT? It means the car is belong to the government. Not his own.
        He doesn’t use the money AS his own money.
        This is the difference with BN.
        Get the fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 41
        • Painter on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:42 pm

If you use the same argument, then you shouldn’t argue if PM wants to upgrade to a Rolls-Royce. Or if he rides on private jet. It ‘s government money, after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • You need to know that Lim Guan Eng doesn’t do this only because he got the power. If he was to do that, he could have did it five years ago when he was also elected as the Chief minister of Penang.
      Can’t you see how much he changed Penang? Or you never visit Penang? Not even heard about Penang?
      Because of this Chief Minister’s works, o many investor went to Penang to invest.
      What have BN did? Force citizen to die by rising prices.
      And now you say they are just the same as BN ???
      Is it a problem just to change a better car for a chief minister who did his job well? His last was the old Mercedes Benz where he used for more than 5 years without changing it. This is the first time he change, so any problem?
      Look at Najib’s son, bought a RM100 million penthouse, who pay for it? Yes they pay for it but where do the money come from?
      You know I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 57
      • That make thing even worse. He wasted government money on buying super expensive S-class Merc instead of 5 times cheaper Proton Perdana Accord. If he is buying using his own money, that is not rakyat business to spend whatever he likes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 33
        • As what I said, it worth when he eventually did his job well.
          He wasted government money? I would rather say he USE government money. He USE the money and he have great contribution for the country.
          How about BN? What contribution? Contributes for RISING price???
          If you were to think like what you said,
          Can you please answer me what have BN contributed before they WASTE the money? They don’t not even qualified to have a Proton Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 31
          • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:31 pm

you level of fanboyism almost bn pencacai level dude!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • He wasted government money?
          I would rather say he USE the money.
          With his distribution to the country, he totally deserve it.
          So how about BN’s distribution? What have they contribute to the country? Rising price? They don’t even deserve a Proton Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
        • anakbochek on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:36 pm

In that case, I think Tun M deserved a row of Ferrari, Maclaren, Pagani or Rolls Royce. Well look at his achievement compared to LGE.

BTW Tun M didn’t drive a Merc during his premiership. Guess what car he drove. Proton.

After 5 years a Merc, give another 5 years a Rolls maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 16
          • tun M is the one that make us so poor today.we hutang so much because of him, so much corruption because of him,your salary stuck at rm 3000k because of him,your toyota camry cost 160k instead of 80k because of him,foreign worker become malaysian citizen because of him…..so much more.so if u ask me,he deserved a pair of slippers and walk,no even a bicycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
      • Grand Marquis on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:10 pm

An utter garbage from LGE worshiper. Penang is so good bla bla bla. Penang is so efficient bla bla bla. Investor come in in drove bla bla bla.

Show us the fact man. LGE only ruled penang for 6 years. Are you telling us that there is no Free Trade zone prior to LGE? Are you telling us that Intel, Seagate, Motorola, and many of the multinationals in penang never exist prior to LGE.

Either you are the one who never know penang or you are just his blind worshiper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 18
      • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:34 pm

dude,how old are you?you think bosch,motorola all lge effort ka?stop being an ignorant fanboy dude!!!penang always been a wealthy state!!!you think when ask handed the government to lge penang like kelantan ka?penang already rich!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • KennyG on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Comparing with Jib Gor, Taib, or famous politician, this is like nothing. S-Class. There will be people shouting high and low for the S-Class. Common guys, Guan Eng dare to open his account for public check, which BN politician in Malaysia dares? Think before you type, it shows how low some mentality are. BN is trying to suppress the mentality of Rakyat, so you just accept what ever they do and thank them for RM500 during voting season.

If you come to Penang, you will think it is time for vote again cause every where of the road is newly refurbish with tar, just like voting session before 2008. If you like Malaysia, make them competitive, and not allow corruption.

Once before, foreigner is told that Malaysia is a clean country, because our national religion is Islam and we despise corruption. But facts told us that corruption is a must in many government sectors, law enforcement. Even Malaysia Anti corruption party is trying hard to cover and give lots of excuses on such issue. They only purchase expensive, 5000% more expensive and there is nothing to do with corruption. You must be joking.

God bless Malaysia for 2014, and hope Rakyat can have a cheerful lifestyle, work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
      • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:39 pm

errrr……every politician have to declared their assets,no biggie…fanboy will always be fanboy…biased,one sided…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Get your facts right, the Najis gov didn’t declare any of their assets at all. Theres no law saying that they must(to cover their corrupted backsides).
          LGE & all the PR EXCOs did it on their own free will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:36 pm

huh?anti corruption party?

• drMsohai on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Old model s-class and tax free i believe will cost below 300k, which is nothing much these days. Some people’s branded handbag cost that much too. We know who ya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Romzee on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:26 pm

What so noisy? U betul2 orang Penang ka? This just a cheap car in Penang ma… many people here drive Bently, Ferrari, Lamborgini. Even Adun UMNO drive Merc too as private car.

U mana duduk? Myanmar mari ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Think carefully lah.. LGE get this Benz decision is much better than BN Ministers claims more than thousands ringgit every month fr entertainment only… When accumulate it you will stunted, can even buy a personal jet!!! Get it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • fenzo on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Dear Mr Lim Guan Eng, I’m BN supporter and would like to thank you for showing your true colour. DS Najib would be laughing now and thanks to your wise action. Regards Barang Naik supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Alifzz on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:30 pm

BN or PR it still same. The leaders want gaya…

The late Kedah Menteri Besar Ustaz Azizan is using his old Merc for his official car.

So now who’s to blame for rakyat suffer on cost of living?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 42
    • Andrew on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:03 pm

The cost of maintenance of all those old cars is equal to the monthly utility bills of Najib’s residence. I wonder which is the bigger expenditure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 102
      • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:29 pm

because if your revered parti anak beranak will live in a hut if they become prime minister is it? i think they will vote for their salary increase every year and every party member will get s class. ptuih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
        • pakhang on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:33 am

Which parti anak beranak? Razak-Najib / Hussein Onn-Hishammudin / Mahathir-Mukhriz / PakLah-Khairy ?? buy S-class as OFFICIAL car still better than those curi duit rakyat curi duit LEMBU to buy luxury car as PRIVATE cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 34
          • anakbochek on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Kurak2 dalam perahu,
            Purak2 tak tahu.

1. Lim Kit Siang – Lim Guan Eng, Betty.
            2. Anwar – Azizah – No Role.
            3. Nik Aziz – Nik Abduh.
            4. Karpal – Jagdeep, Gobind.

And guess what, those names are still active in politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • anakbochek on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Will the cost of maintaining the monthly utlity bills be lowered if Anwar becoming PM? So Anwar is not going to live in the official residence. Where will he live? In a two storey link house?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • lovesCARS on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:15 am

He bought a new S class, did you not know? Was in the news.

• budin3000 on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:35 pm

hypocrites.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 21
  • jolly_idiot on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Mr. Lim is even higher class than our PM. Federal gov PM only ride on stretch rebadge Accord-Perdana.

Hahahaha… I wonder whow PM feel when he is having meeting with Mr. Lim.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 40
    • Unforgiven on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:22 am

Not sure remember correctly but the maintenance cost for Perdana is like rm100k a year? Or is it another process to channel free money into the pocket system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
      • This is Accord rebadge. Not the old Perdana.

• Unforgiven on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:21 pm

The old gen accord maintenance in gov department may be a new/any figure too, unless the auditor is transparent, but the truth is out there, we knew it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Heard like the cost of special stretched version of PM’s rebadge Accord – Perdana isn’t that cheap.

Cost for LGE S-Class is RM260k.

Anyone have any idea on how much PM official ride costs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • glaze on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Probably free? Proton has to contribute to the government after getting so much “protection” from government for them to be able to survive till today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Michael on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Look at this way, at least he really does develop the state properly and brings business everywhere, thus the economy is growing. Few hundred K’s for government cars are better than tens of millions spent on private spendings.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 184 Thumb down 170
    • Andrew on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:04 pm

If only the rakyat thinks like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 43
      • Teehee on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:31 pm

In actual fact, if Malaysia was governed better with efficiency and corruption being 75% of that of Singapore, I wouldn’t mind if our Prime Minister drove a Ferrari. He deserves it. Seeing Penang prospering, it’s no wonder Penang’s Chief Minister does this so openly. Ask the Penangites. And why is Paultan even posting this? If so, can this post be a bit more neutral?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 97
        • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:05 pm

no wonder ppl want to become politicians. they have the support of ppl like you who think they deserve great wealth because they’re doing what the ppl elected them to do in the first place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 17
          • Teehee on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:19 pm

His car was priced at RM300k. Somebody’s son’s apartment cost RM100m and you’re fretting over this? Yes, he may have used our money but is Penang suffering a lot now? My belief is that if he has done a good job of not condoning into corruption, he deserves a reward once in a while. Nothing too expensive but acceptable. I don’t see what the fuss is all about unless the Merc cost him a cool RM3 million. Our government used the old Perdana previously for the sake of being humble but the repair cost ended up being quadruple the value of the car itself – tsk tsk. I may be biased but at least I know for now, our head CM in Penang is the lesser of two evils. Call me ignorant but so far, his moves are far more acceptable than our government. After the BR1M was phased out to everyone, we’re now responsible for repaying that with increased taxes everywhere. Politics. There is never one where we can put full trust but given the choice to choose, the one who chooses to be the most transparent should be the right one for the people, for the meantime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
          • do that someday son use gov money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Teehee on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:39 am

kzm: What? Really? That’s the problem. When people become transparent, they get criticized. When people hide their evil doings, their deeds aren’t worth mentioning. You sure he didn’t use government money? Then tell me where he forked out the money.

• pontiac on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:20 pm

u think penang prosperous because of LGE? where do you live before? Bangla?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 46
          • Enthu on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Are you a Penangite? I am.

And right now you looked like a BANGLA to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 81
          • Teehee on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Are u a Penangite yourself? Why don’t you drop by and take a stroll around the island and ask us people how we feel about our current leaders? We didn’t see a boost of economy after the elections but we’ve seen how much less corrupted our leaders are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
        • lovesCARS on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:25 am

Eh … the issue is they say not to spend la. Must fly ECON, must eat nasi lemak bungkus.

That is the issue here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • ahngeh on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:42 am

cannot help the tears frm dropping aft reading this news..a brilliant chief like CM Lim should be rewarded with a new and latest Rolls Royce, not a prev gen s class! Properous penangites should hv no prob to donate one to the beloved CM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • I'm A on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:48 am

But yet he got a new benz…bring business everywhere huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Contender on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:41 pm

well … well … what have we got here ? Finally succumb to temptations and have moved to the dark side … let’s see what have the Chief Minister have to say … hmmm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 35
  • Its a late model s-class bought with discount and without tax! Why are you guys complaining? At least its not a re-badged car pretending to be a local car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 144
    • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:31 pm

still a perfectly good car and tons cheaper. your turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
    • Woit anon..its not about rebadge car..its about spending more money for a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:43 pm

its about lge supposed to be humble and moderate you koo koo head!!!

• Wow..this is the real chief.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 10
  • KL Born on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:01 pm

A lot of Penang people looking for a job in KL now… i wonder why… hmmmmm.. a lot of Penang Plate in KL…. getting annoyed… why? they never give signal and drive like mad, parked their car like their father own the parking, they took 2 parking space wooo..!!! True Story….
    p/s: not all laaaa…. but 65% are like that…. huh….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 31
    • seancorr on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:08 pm

What I got from the Penang locals are that their island is slowly being overrun by rich foreigners hence the exodus from Penang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • lovesCARS on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:26 am

Penang FDI is down like hell for 2013 … extremely bad. But many say its great. LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
  • Andrew on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:01 pm

People just can’t come to terms that Penang is being governed so well under Mr. Lim’s wing, and that small incentives like these shouldn’t even be questioned.

What happened to Jibby’s son’s condominium? Or Rosmah’s bags and jewelry? You think they paid for it all with their ‘private’ money? Even if it was private money it was money that came from the taxpayers. Wake up and stop being petty fools, look at the fat monkeys sitting on top taking all our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 136
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:11 pm

lge is the best,no matter what he do he is the best,because pr is an angel..hand picked by god to serve,but the devils always sabo the holly pr angel…well the devils you know how la!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 29
    • athlon888 on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:17 pm

hahaha… u r seriously a joker… that is rosmah’s son and not najib… bags and jewellery? evidence? anwar told u? before election anwar said got 40k bangla, recently he denied it and saying he didn’t mention that… use your brain and eye to see… no politicians are cleaned… even yourself if having the opportunity, you will be the same…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 23
      • athlonmacai on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Eh hello u evryday read utusan watch tv3 izit?? Before election Anwar said got 40K of PHANTOM VOTERS, with SOME is from bangla NOT ALL…and then Umno’s media spinned the news and said tat Anwar tell thr r 40K banglas voters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:33 pm

if next ur chief minister wants to live in a bigger bungalow, eh also can, small incentive. then more overseas trips. then more allowances. then more salary. before you know it, same like current govt. calling ppl petty fools? you’re more naive than those ppl you call fools and monkeys. you just went full retard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
    • Syazwan007 on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:56 pm

If LGE is so great, why are houses still so expensive in penang? Why are road congestion getting worst? The only major development in penang are those from BN days such as the second penang bridge n that tram heading up bukit bendera.
      If LGE is so great, he would have solved all this before they get worst. Instead, he gave interest free loans which are low in amount and bought only 104 houses and selling them cheap for the people. Wow, good job, A plus plus.
      At least najib, no matter how flawed he is, does better. 1 million low cost houses to be develop, MRT, increase in middle eastern investors, and the likes, and he dares take short term pain for long term gains.
      And, at least he bought a cheaper car then a mercedes. Rebadge or not, a stretch perdana/accord cannot be more expensive then this mercedes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 51
      • Wakeup on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Najib gives you a sen, but gets back a dollar from you. You will experience it next year. Stay tune!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 60
      • Unforgiven on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:33 am

Rebadged is a multi b business, channel free money into the pocket system, old junk/machines from Jap, selling high prices in M’sia. The gov will spend multi m to buy it, channeling free money by using the process/system govern by the cronies companies. It’s a huge money/transacted amount behind, if you ever find out how the rebadged business works

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • _xXx_ on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Syazwan, I am pretty sure that you won’t like it when houses are cheap. Do you know where/when/why/how when houses are cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Najib does better? Yeah right price of fuel hike, sugar hike, toll hike, bus fare hike, lrt monorail hike, electric hike and so on…and one more thing, houses in KL also expensive, who is taking charge on KL? Penang house price expensive cause it is an island with limited land, whereas KL is not…and lastly, LGE that claimed by Umno as ‘tindas Melayu’ and bla bla is the one gave highest fund to hal ehwal Islam in Penang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Ah Ros’s son just bought a 100mil condo in us :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 84
    • I'm A on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:42 am

Stay tuned for “Wolf of the Wall Street” starring Leonardo di Caprio, produced by red garnet who co-founder is Riza Aziz…oh wait, maybe rosmah gave him the rakyat money to produce the film too!! Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
      • tidak_tenang on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:02 am

But where did he got the money from to start up Red Granite Productions?

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:46 pm

itu semua orang tau corrupt bangsat,but you…you yes you..dap fanboy!!…it’s about how lge supposed to humble,moderate “i fly airasia” now buy s class!!!!

• mkhee on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm

He thoroughly deserves it. This is nothing compared to the private cars that the BN ministers are having at home procured with their ill gotten gains. All will be revealed if each of them declare their assets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 107
  • drMpower on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm

I thought they bought the 2.5v camry for state official use, so whats going on with the s class? This is why the politicians are screwing the rakyat. Whats wrong with the camry?

this webpage tried to playdown the purchase by saying things like ‘the one only purchase’ , ‘after extensive discussions.etc.etc’ ,’ bought at great saving’, before garnishing it with ‘federal also got new cars with PM getting a scretched version’

but at 300k a pop, the mercedes cost almost a YEAR worth of maintenance for the entire fleet of states official cars! and now with atleast one 100k plus camry potentially made redundant (with guan eng riding the s class) then the state is paying 600k plus for its official fleet (maintenance and purchase)

i strongly suggest guan eng to show some respect to the people of penang. Some are riding 20-30 year old sunnys and on motorbikes. Its going to be a cunning political move is he discard the mercedes and will be seen as the hero as he always like

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 26
    • Goosfraba on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:35 pm

So our prime minister with his new Perdana is humble?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
      • SureRock on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Nope….

Ex-MB Nizar is humble….only use Camry…

Sadly LGE also lacking in that department…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
      • drMpower on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:53 am

So is this another agreed testiment that you agree for if najib does it then guan eng can as well? so.if najib gets a lwb honda accord then guan eng must get a new s class despite he was allocated a 2.5v camry earlier?

so if u agree on this tit-for-tat, then i am sure rakyat like u will always.be screwed no matter.who in.charge. great

U can try goooossfrabaa in your free.time. it works for annie shankly of.course it will work for u

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:43 pm

just because bn can doesn’t mean pr should.

i mean if a bn state minister son drive a ferrari 458,should pr state minister son buy a f430?

you get the idea?so basically pr can go low but not as low as bn…seriously?

• Lim Guan Eng earned his keep. He deserves much better than that Ah Beng Camry 2.5. The cost of that S-Class is nothing compared to what he has done for Penang and Malaysia.

CM Lim, you have my support.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 99 Thumb down 179
    • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:36 pm

eh for what he;s done to penang, i think he should get a bugatti veyron. hello, politicians work FOR the people. it’s their job. if anything they should drive cheaper cars than ours!

guan eng’s fanbois are just as bad as those apple ones.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 15
      • Keris Jawa on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Hey! Keep Apple out of this pathetic debate okay? :-)

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm

yo fanboy…you know that lge is supposed to be humble,i fly airasia guy right!!that’s what a lot of people questioning!!!did he sell out now?

• N0jib on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:31 am

Well said,if that is the case…can u ask najib to kurangkan the cost of living for rakyat malaysia?LIKE you said,politician work for people….

at least LGE being honest and show us how much his mercedes cost unlike all BN servant,try ask your ahjib or any other BN menteri show their cost of purchase? all kecut…

• sad as it may sound, car = image. our pm gets a stretched accord. penang cm, a merc. penang richer than the feds? if you were a foreign investor, wouldn’t you think that way? the merc may set penang state back by 300k but the prestige and image it gains will be unvalued.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 57
      • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:09 pm

if you were a foreign investor, and you’re easily swayed by what car does the cm drive, then you’re probably selling a rich quick scheme or some stupid mlm. pls tell me you don’t do business like this in real life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
        • aiyoo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:53 am

for sure CAR wont affect whether the foreign investor want to invest or not…but it is image…just like attire…if he wear casual cloths also wont affect investment of investor but formal attire will give good image

• Carnut on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

As long as its transparent and they are doing a good job what’s the problem? I suppose a corrupt politican who rides in a saga will get heaps of praises from some people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 91
    • downsys on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:44 am

Unfortunately, a corrupt politician who rides in a saga will indeed get heaps of praises from some people as they are seen as being a jaguh kampung.

• PauCharSiew on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:29 pm

lim guan eng….give him bugatti also worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 86
  • jefri on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:36 pm

this is not abt which side has bigger penchant for luxury.this is about sensitivity.the ppl are hit hard right now with the countless price hikes.we are being robbed in daylight by the federal gov.now the chief minister of penang wants to buy a luxury car for his use. doesnt that make him look as if he doesnt care about the rakyat fighting for their survival in their own land.

like he’s saying “be damn with all of ye and your hardship, im rewarding myself with that shiny merc for the things i did for penang.” a little selfish, no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 4
  • D.I.Y on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Think this way.. PG1 the car is register under state government, it doesn’t belong to somebody. But if go search it out how many personal registration car under our beloved pm, the number it gonna be surprised

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 78
    • But if go search it out how many “personal registration” car under penang beloved CM, the number it gonna be surprised u also…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 17
    • ohpls on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:38 pm

But if go search it out how many personal registration car under our beloved chief minister, the number it gonna be surprised

see how easily i can make a statement without any proof? you ni set kena spoon feed masa kat sekolah ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • That I just copy & paste..not that hard..just like most people here copy & paste without knowing the actual fact or truth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Rational on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:41 pm

The fact that it’s a state car IS the problem. It’s the rakyat’s money. If it’s his money, I simply could not care less. BTW, what’s wrong with your English?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • D.I.Y on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:33 am

Yes… It’s rakyat money, but so what? because he deserved the car after so long serving penang. Then why don’t you blame BN gov wasted so much money to the overpriced item’s every year after a year? that one who money? from PM his own pockets? or from rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • ironically, you sounded so much like BN’s macai defending their beloved leaders… people like me chose PR for CHANGE so that they won’t repeat the same mistake like BN. but now, i guess it’s true that all politician are the same…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • All of us were cheated and being used by the politicians, be in PR or BN. Padan muka!!

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:54 pm

this is not about bn being corrupted…itu semua orang tau…its about lge supposed to be humble,rakyat first..i fly air asia just like most rakyat…now???

• How many?

• People will start criticising for but as some people say i think the state deserve it……the main question is although the proton perdana would cost a lot less, but will it be charged more for other “miscellaneous” stuff like how they charge a wall clock, walkie talkie etc at few hundred % more than it’s actual cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 57
    • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:10 pm

so from perdana you jump straight to s class lah? why not get private jet terus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
  • armandd on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:44 pm

What happened to the Toyota Camry 2.5 that they bought?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
    • Manny on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Sssh..PR maa. Everything is in order. Trust us and we just vote US. No need to worry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
  • Penangite on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Despite the good (but not great yet) works done by CM LGE and his administration, I still think it was an unwise decision to procure the S-Class in view of the current economic climate. Yes they might have made the decision years earlier, but could they have reversed it? By the way why must top gov official ride in a luxury vehicle? Is it because he needs to travel long distance frequently? Is it because he will often need to meet with other VIP? If LGE can take AirAsia/Firefly flights, surely he can ride in 1.3L Proton Saga SV right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 10
    • yes the timing couldnt be better. its a very ‘unpopular’ move. no true leaders deserve a luxury items when their rakyat are hopelessly bracing themselves for coming rough years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Guan Yin Ma on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Yes. He can ride in saga SV, thats after his working time. But when he is working, he is the CM, are you suppose him to sit inside a saga sv and meet with those oversea’s government representative ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
      • SureRock on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:19 pm

why not?

President José Mujica of Uruguay ride an ol’ VeeDub Beetle as hes official car….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • So that mean our PM Jibby oso can buy la? Xkan PM use saga sv oni? The great leader penang CM use mercedes…does not sound rite…but then again Selangor MB n Sarawak CM salary more than PM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • JohnTan on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:31 pm

The Datuk Bandar of London rides to work on a bicycle. Yes, a bicycle. Yes, the Mayor of London, who runs a world class mega-city.

• japankiller on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm

wonder what types of car you are driving..i just thought you should ride a bike to stop making fuel hike further. Just like you though LGE should take a ride on Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • BH LOY on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:54 pm

nothing wrong here for a state car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 67
  • amfin on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Haiyaa semua bising bising for nothing . In Sabah all our BN Adun n Menteri been using VOLVO S80 for years already. Veeery patriotic :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
  • Painter on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:55 pm

All I know is that Penang running a budget deficit. Wouldn’t be a wise move by head of state who champion accountability. A Camry, or Accord would suffice. We are a not rich European County.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • athlon888 on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:12 pm

a laughing joke on this… guys, don’t be fooled by this LGE… he can pretend and act like an angel in front of all rakyats (from going kopitiam, taking fireflyz and other stuff), he is a devil outside, an evil inside as well… he is enjoying his life outside country by staying at luxury 5 star hotels, going 5 star fine dining and spent thousands for shopping also… POLITICIANS are the same except PAS and some senior members like Lim Snr and karpal…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 14
    • SureRock on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:24 pm

u think some of the PAS top gun will settle for Best Western in London? Even good ol’ Nicky want to stay at Marriot when he goes for haj…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • Enthu on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:29 pm

our PMs booked the President Suites that cost hundreds of thousands a night. 5 star hotels only?

Do some research before you comment next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • You’re the biggest devil, not LGE because you are bullshitting without any facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • athlon888 on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:01 am

I am staying at the same hotel and bump into him at the same restaurants. No fact?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • The Rock on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:14 pm

Aiyo guys. Politics is like wrestling la.

On stage, they kick, smack and beat each other to pulp. But in real life, they are golfing buddies. One day your favourite wrestler is on the good side, the other day he change side. And like a good wrestling association, you need wrestlers who act like clowns too.

Unknown to the supporters, all the acts on stage are scripted — from the dialogs, the swear words right to the vicious attacks. If our politician enter the film industry, I say goodbye Aaron Aziz.

Without power, everyone is a saint.

But like any stupid supporters, we justify whatever our favourite wrestler do — alah, sikit saja ma, lawan dia lagi teruk — though actually both are the same.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
  • Penang Boy on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Well, if a elected representative starts to spend unwisely like this (in time where people are facing hardship), I’ll need to think twice come next election

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • LGE realise cilaka toyota camry not enough airbag….so chg to merz a wise decision…he deserve it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • wheressamloo on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:11 pm

haiyo where’s sam loo when you need him. sales skills not power enough laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:58 pm

cilaka you so funny i almost vomit!!!!!

• Protocol on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Protocol dictates that head of state potrays the outlook & with elegance & style especially when attending to outside functions. Being a state asset, this shouldnt be confused with personal asset unlike of course all the ccc incidents – I.e “cow con condo”!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
  • Allen on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Camry perhaps for other state officer?

A new car, at least minimum 4 years maintenance expenses on the old merc, that would be min 100k for big potato merc?

New car with better technology, safer, it’s wise decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Lobak PG on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:36 am

Hello, the problem is, the state government just bought a new camry for CM 2 months ago…. so whats wrong with the new camry~?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Richard Foo on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Malaysians are really shotsighted. You expect LGE to meet overseas investors in a Proton Saga. Great sense of humour. Its just a Merc. Whats the big deal? There are CMs who owns Rolls Royce. He have done a great deal for Penang so dun make a big fuss out of this. LGE keep up the good work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 69
    • wheressamloo on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:14 pm

accord or camry not good enough for your dear leader is it? which stupid foreign investor cabut when he seems dear leader not in s class? you’re one of those ppl who have to have a good car and feel smug about it right? hakikatnya…MISKIN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
      • seewhy on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:21 pm

You obviously don’t understand how business works. If you have close friends that are very successful in Sales, please ask them why they drive big car like BMW or Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
        • Lobak PG on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:41 am

TNS, Drive a luxury car means you can bring more business??? Warren Buffet is driving his old car everyday so he dont know business???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • oblong on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:28 am

Bro, your CM doesn’t go to hotel coffeehouse to met investor but they’ll meet him at KOMTAR but your salesman friend does go to hotel coffeehouse for business meeting. CM Lim should instead bought “Eurocopter Mercedes-Benz EC 145” if wanna arrive in style!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • JohnTan on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:07 pm

If they have done very well, then power to them.

But I have met many businesmen, corporate, and sales people who drive the latest luxury cars, but their company balance sheet is dicey or have poor gearing ratio.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:45 pm

penang have always been great!!and I’m very sure its not because of guan eng..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • let’s see how PR macais will defend their leader.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 10
    • Oh Yes, because of LGE Merc we should continue vote BN with very well reputation, service, price hikes and FACING BANKRUPTCY!

• for ah jib, kancil is good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
  • allpoliticianalwayssame on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:20 pm

so sama je..BN dok perabih duit rakyat, PR pn dok pulut duit rakyat. Nama je lain.. ada diorang kisah kisah ke? Yang penting jadi popular dikalangan rakyat. PUUiihh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
  • anail on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Based on my observation on all the comments given, the conclusion is simple “LGE, Anwar or whoever it is can do anything as they please..as long as it’s not Najib or anyone in BN”. Hahahaha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 10
  • This Merc is the property of the state government, not LGE’s private ride, you bunch of dimwit that try to take a potshot at the Penang CM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 61
    • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Yes, rakyat’s money. MY money. what’s he doing wasting it on an S class when the prime minister gets an accord as his state car? s class can accelerate faster than light is it?

who’s the dimwit now? oh wait, you are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 11
      • Of all the example you can use to espouse frugality on government spending, you have to show off your naivety and macai-ness by using the Proton Accordana.

This is why we get punished with Barang Naik thank to people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • The previous Benz for CM of Penang that was replaced cost around RM300k back in 1995.

After 18 years, changing to a new car with almost the same price tag at present day is acceptable.This purchase are decision made by the State Government. If you want to show your outrage, show it to the whole Penang state government instead of conveniently gunning for an individual.

Btw, this car is for the current and future CMs of Penang whomever he/she is. It will probably going to be used for at least a decade before it will be replaced to a newer Benz.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:06 pm

ok,look here fanboy….lge is the head of penang government…lge always brag about modest,simple,jimat duit,rakyat first its ok i fly elcheapo airasia and firefly just like most rakyat!!!!now??if its karpal or his son is the cm and he choose an armoured s class…i don’t mind…he never claim to be modest,simple person to begin with…but lge supposed to be humble jimat wang rakyat modest moderate guy… as if he main wayang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:47 pm

300k ringgit better spend on charity,charity never enough.

• OnlyinSarawak on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Haih.. u all loose la. My CM has more cars than any ministers in Malaysia. He usually goes in RR. So what is that S-class that Lim is using? No big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • macai on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:36 am

duit siapa dia pakai? duit Sarawakian miskin macam lu jugak dia tibai. haha

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:07 pm

he never claimed or trying to show that he is moderate,humble,down to earth dude…lge otherwise!

• Majuperak on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:59 pm

PR disaster for the Chief Minister and DAP … people expect you to walk the talk when you become Chief Minister back then in 2008, the picture of you flying AirAsia …. sigh, maybe success has gone to his head ??But I’d guess still better than the other CM in comparison ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • SgWay on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:59 pm

What better economy under LGE,first year he came Penang GDP dropped 10%, even if its the GFC, he should have as much blame as the praises when GDP growth was positive. Penang share of national GDP has been the same at 7-8%, so in reality all the states in Malaysia have been growing at tandem.

LGE knows he can retain MBship for long time, who cares if the rakyat suffer while he get nice car amd house, he knows he will still be in office after 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
  • Talk about travelling in economy class. Full of shit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
  • pontiac on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:36 pm

booooooo.. LGE so fake ler.. penang prosperous because of koh su kun and tun Madey la.. not LGE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 23
    • Enthu on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:25 pm

UMNO blogger spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 52
      • Lobak PG on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:54 am

Ya… CM lim is god.. every good things happened in Penang he claimed his effort. any bad things happened in Penang was wrong planning by Khor Tsu Koon. Tiu la… even my primary school SRJK(C) Phoy Chai’s new building who built and completed in Yr2008 Cm Lim also claimed as his effort. BUT WE The Ex-Pupils ARE VERY CLEAR THAT THE NEW BUILDING PROJECT WAS PLANNED AND STARTED MANY YEARS AGO SINCE KHOR TSU KUN time, God Lim just arrive in good timing, sipek tak malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
  • I Love Malaysia on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Someone said both the gov and opposition are the same??

Well at least Lim Guan Eng’s step son(if he has one) doesn’t own an RM110m condominium in the US!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 47
  • Syameer on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Well, they made an excellent choice because Accord or its rebadged version, the Perdana is too mainstream. Wise buy; value for money. It’s the people’s money anyway so who cares? And the irony, W221 is assembled in Pekan, Pahang. Thought that someone from Pekan would be the first to buy it… but…. hey, someone from Penang is the first lah! :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • seewhy on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Penang & Selangor government earns money from foreign investments (external source). Federal government takes money by squeezing rakyat’s pocket (internal source).

No complaint even if Penang government want to go for the latest model. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 55
    • lovesCARS on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:55 am

FDI does not translate to big earnings. If you understand FDI you will not say that. Also, Penang FDI has dropped DRASTICALLY over last 2 years. Have you ever seen the stats? I highly doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • seewhy on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:40 am

If you read my comment between the lines, you should know I mean nothing about FDI but on how our government squeeze the rakyat instead of developing our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:55 pm

external or internal it belongs to the rakyat…fanboy logic…equally low as bn…and most development in penang is not over night lge development most major investor in penang comes way back then!!

• Michelle on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I thought a Mercedes-Benz is affordable for most of the ‘rakyat’, what happened here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • old dog on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:33 pm

can we compare how much the Perdana maintenance is before this? ya right, then you know who has the contract to maintain the perdana….:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Apasamy on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:39 pm

being a tax free…i see no issues with it. its common for leaders around the world to use s-classes. do u seriously think ur beloved PM only has his accordperdana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
    • hello on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:16 am

Oh wow being tax-free means no issue? Well okay, at first the tax money won’t go to fed funds. Next the car was paid by state fund, which derives from tax collected in penang. Hmmmm tax-free, no issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Redzone on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:51 am

This is the problem when Malaysia is governed by elite family. Nepotism, cronyism both are the same. They are sucking people’s life. The problem is we can only choose them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • blublibla on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:02 am

Honestly. I’m a PR supporter. And I do not support this move made by the Penang State Government! Isn’t the Camry good enough for you?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • Zack101 on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:07 am

Don’t like it..time to move on to another country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • move lorr on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:30 am

No la..like this

Dont like it.. Time to move on to others negeri..hihi

• Kah_Meng88 on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:37 am

His 18 yo car only for marketing purpose before GE13. This is the real fleet that he’s been dreaming of. Typical Politician

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • LGE declared his asset ! How many houses and car he posses and how much money he got in bank is all shown to rakyat !
    Sarawak Ah white Bulu’s daughter is the richest women in Canada !!!!
    Ah Ros’s son just bought a 100mil condo in USA !!!
    Is all in the newspaper and can easily found in google search !!!
    We must support BN guys ! BN collapse = Malaysia Collapse too !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • SureRock on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:28 pm

So did LGE declared the assets under his wife name as well? nope he didn’t

Same trick la Bro…BN politician sudah pakai lama dah…declared under their name cleaner office lagi banyak duit…but all the money is in under their wife,adik, kakak, atuk nenek etc etc….

The only time we gonna get a good government servant is when we are not govern by human….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • If thr are additional asset that is under his wife…for sure BN politicians already detected and showed it to whole Msia showed in repeatedly in TV3 evry nite…and dun forget his wife is Mallaca’s adun if any corruption involved his wife it will be easy for BN to detect it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Elhaneef on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:33 am

How much its being purchased in real? Coz its a gov purchase without tax.

• Elhaneef on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:40 am

Wah so many people talk like they know everything. Arwah ex MB Kedah pun kena tembak juga. Suka suka fitnah orang. Tak mau fitnah Nik Aziz ka ada pakai mercedes S500? Itu macai selalu letak dalam blog Nik Aziz cakap tak serupa bikin rumah buruk tp ada mercedes S500. Tapi sekor pun tak check itu mercedes jual besi buruk RM10k pun orang takmo beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • farizY on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:23 am

Exactly, mudah saja, pergi lihat rumah ADUN UMNO yang baru 1 penggal vs rumah ADUN PAS yang baru 1 penggal. Sendiri boleh nampak la sape mengabih harta rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
      • SureRock on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:31 pm

betul….adun PAS tempa aku umah sama dari dulu….cuma dia ada dua umah baru laaaa….hehehehe…takpa kita pikiaq baik jer lah…dia nak meramaikan umat Muhammad….

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:58 pm

nik aziz w220 s280 bro…yang w220 s500 anwar bro.
      and w220 is not rm10k besi buruk,jangan taksub bro.

• “A Government running on a surplus is poor economics”; must be a banker who said this. A surplus is just that, a surplus. It WOULD be bad if the surplus comes along with poor development, zero progress and the like. THAT would be poor budgeting and economics. But (at least on the surface), it seems Penang is doing well. There’s FDI,although perhaps less, in keeping with the global trend.
    The acquisition of an asset such as a car, which is always a depreciating asset, boils down to which car will depreciate more, which car will be lower to maintain, and which will last longer/be more reliable in its older years. I would imagine this S-Class will serve a good 10 years minimum. Kelantan’s former MB had an old Merc running till he left office.
    Given the way the state is run, I wouldn’t begrudge him for buying the car. And I am not even a PKR/DAP/PAS member!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:59 pm

bro when lge take over penang….penang already steady bro.

• Yes, I didn’t say otherwise, did I? BN/Gerakan did well enough I suppose during their term, but if a new government did not give investors a feeling of stability and security, they would leave. Fact is, despite the global slowdown, Penang has done well in retaining existing and attracting new FDI.

The point is if the state can afford it, and it is within the perks stated for a CM, then its all above board. What remains to be seen is if the car will be replaced at the end of 3/5 years, the typical SOP (within guidelines) for government vehicles.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

just because the state can afford it doesn’t mean it should…and if it were anwar or karpal singh ,teresa kok is the cm i can accept the fact they choose a merc even a maybach..but lge always talk about moderate and simple,fly low cost etc etc…now he choose an s class……. selling out like other politician….main wayang.

• whatever your comments are whoever your side is on just imagine what would malaysia be if someone like lge is the pm.

• It’s not about chief minister or minister. EVERY parliament members also can buy a car without tax.

• oblong on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:41 am

The new script should be like this:
    YAB CM Lim should call a PC and make statement that the purchase of new Merc will be cancelled considering current economic situation and he understand ‘kesusahan rakyat’; he should also find a ‘scapegoat’ to be blame for procuring without his consent. In the end YAB CM Lim will be ‘hero of the day’ and pakatan will be “harapan rakyat’ again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:42 am

Nail in the coffin for DAP’s reputation that was built hard by the founding fathers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • malaon on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:49 am

Its seems a lot of negative coments came from umno bn ngok people, those people cant accept other than umno bodo saja yg jadi anli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:01 pm

not everyone that question pr move is a bn/umno folks bro!!!
      please don’t be an ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • patrick on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:45 am

private car = using own money , state car = using rakyat money …u know the diff

• He is after all the Chief Minister. Its an equivalent to a governor of a state. A S-class is ok, plus its a s300 and not a s350. What i dont agree is ministers privately owing a fleet of cars which they clearly should not be. And please, dont say “why?..politicians have business and some have them before they join politics”. Truth is, they should relinquish all businesses before entering in office so as not to have a conflict of interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • politcal ? no on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:06 am

Since this post is some how related to politic, let me just say one thing. Personally i think political are dirty no matter how honour they speak during the stage, once they got power no matter opposition or gov we will see their truth face. Is just that we are all human after all, but i can’t stereotype to all since there is some is who really help the citizen.

• Joe Glizzow on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:24 am

Budak Pulau Pinang,
    Memang ada gaya,
    Macam hari-hari,
    Chinese New Year,
    Cuma nak pegi Komtar,
    Still so fresh so clean,
    Mesti nak nampak ballin’
    Walau kata BN wastin’,
    Eh mestilah nak pimpin’,
    Nak tackle awek georgetown,
    Pakai Benz S-Class lagi senang diorang pandang.

LOL!!!!! #HAVOC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • razakoss on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Havoc havoc. I truly support this! you have my respect.

Chief Minister Pulau Pinang,
      Memang nampak senang,
      Hari hari kerja keras,
      Mau pakai s class.

• razakoss on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:31 am

the penang govt should use proton preve. 6 airbags, turbo engine. can zoom zoom in the penang island.

s class? aiyooo even parking at the alley also susah. everytime spends few puluh ringgit for valet parking.

• Tutup Mulut on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:43 am

UPDATE: Pix removed at the request of the photographer.

Wow PT blog pun kena gag order ka? hahahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • SureRock on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Apaprently KOMTAR couldn’t cope with the pressure…..so much for press freedom….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Wow I just realized the trend here:

1. New Proton Perdana based on eighth-gen Honda Accord handed over – PM gets a stretched version!
    got 744 comments – mostly kutuk and hina type.

vs

2. W221 Mercedes-Benz S300L for Penang Chief Minister.
    got 180+ comments as of now, mostly praises and self comforting types.

Clearly PT is politicians’ macai hangout spot while self-proclaiming as car enthusiast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • valjean on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:13 pm

The people are not blind. There are reasons for both kutukan and praises

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Well, I hope this car is sponsored by someone and not coming out from the Penang state Government’s coffer. And this someone better not have any dealings with the Penang state Goverment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • fikrisoleh on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:57 pm

To all the pro-PR’s demonstrators (or should i say traitors?), better demo in front of the CM’s house tonight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • fikrimacai on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:02 pm

If u dun understd the meaning of traitors, i suugest u to learn more english bro…yg khianat rakyat tu sbnrnya siape? siape yg naikkan harga barang tanpa henti slps pru?…ingat hanya umporno je Melayu sejati? tu melayu yg tipu melayu sbnrnya, saham bumiputra 52billion pun sdah telan macai kena kencing je kahkah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • sam69 on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:19 pm

He should have just continue with the Camry or an Accordana would have just earned him easy votes

• cecibo on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:43 pm

now that’s the taste of a dictator, LGE want to be in same line with saddam, kim jong ill, idi amin, pasha, adolf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • State buying a Benz at 300K becoming a dictator? Then buying a 110mil condo, 3K for screwdriver and millions spent on customised shoes that cannot be used are master of the universe lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:04 pm

nope,no where near..tbh,i wish he get the full armoured s600

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • aCegi on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Even if this came from Penang State government, well at least he declare it. Salary raise? At least we know, and it’s taxable. better then corruption right..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:07 pm

this is not an argument of “at least not as bad”..you pr faggot when people find flaw in their “juara rakyat” and couldn’t counter argument they always go “well!! at least not as..”pr always talk about how bn spend on luxuries and pr is harapan rakyat etc…but cm get an s class pulak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • if LGE chg a S-class u ady gt so much to complain abt…thn about BN leaders and their family’s wealth, u shud have A LOT MORE to complain about

• SureRock on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:16 pm

We complained by voting PR…

But “Harapkan Tin…tin makan biskut”

• teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:19 pm

i complain also!!!!if its right,well its their job.regardless of bn or pr…im no shallow ignorant political fanatic.

• Contender on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Finally there is clarification by CM’s office … bought the S300L for RM298k and the Camry 2.5 that CM is driving is given to Deputy Speaker and as the CM he is entitled to either S400 or S300 Mercedes !

What say you people ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • SureRock on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:19 pm

I wonder what PM entitled for he’s ride…

But what did he choose…nvmd Najib is a muppet anyway…

ex-MB Nizar from Perak choose just a Camry…more prudent and wiser then this Malacan up upstart….

• mercedes on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:22 pm

there’s no such thing as an S400 in this generation of S-Class, the fella mabuk la

• salt-n-light on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Many diverse comments here but my 2-sens worth is this: this S300L is undeniably an expensive, luxury car that somehow sends the wrong signal and vibes to the rakyat, both fans and foes alike. Bad decision, bad timing which sadly LGE will regret – eventually. Such a pity as he started so well as many will recall he was travelling cattle class in airlines like the rest of us, even when on official business. Now this……..I wonder what senior (LKS) thinks of this extravagant, ostentatious (and unnecessary)display of power and luxury.(PS: not too late, LGE – just keep car for use of visiting VIPs only…just continue using the Camry as it is a good car, too)

• King Khong on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:38 pm

I am interested to purchase the previous CM’s car, model w140…
    anyone can advise ??

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Politically, this is a wrong move by LGE himself. Timing cannot be anymore wrong. Personally I feel this car is justified. Take for instance the previous S-class that was bought for RM271,331.22. If amortized over 18 years (which was how long it was used) it comes out to about RM15,100 a yr. Assuming this new car is to be used over 18 yrs as well it would be RM16,600 a yr. To me this is peanuts and especially when he has done a good job, why not?

The s-class is a small reward considering billions of FDI brought in and budget surpluses that runs into hundreds of millions. I would prefer the state to be run in a professional manner like a corporation. As a CEO of a company they are entitled to a new S-class every 3 yrs. As for State of Penang the ‘CEO’ only change their car every 18yrs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm

dude,pr market themselves a humble,pro rakyat,demi rakyat government…and most of them market themselves during campaign as if they going to be ala uruguay president route…
      and penang always cashing in even before pr days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Reasonable on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:46 pm

This new car only able to support Seri Perdana utility bills (electricity and water) for less than 1.5mths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:22 pm

but lge is not pm!!!and whoever stay’s there that will be the bills…even lge…

• Wow! So many dislikes for comments that support the CM of Penang’s purchase of a S-Class. Hello, its a car for the head of state, what do you expect? Please check what car is Mahatir’s son riding in Kedah. Please compare it with the other states and see what type of cars the other CMs are riding.

You expect the CM of Penang to ride in Camry/Proton to meet with investors? Good grief.

As long as he is doing his work and not stealing money from the public, he can ride a Bentley for all I like. That goes for all the other CMs as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:27 pm

mahathir son is a son of prime minister(duh) he never claim to be pro rakyat,travel low cost airlines,

• hello on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Mukhriz is riding in a car which was bought by the prvious state gov.. which was PAS. Looks like PR has a penchant for mercs aye? when’s selangor’s turn to get one? Or diam2 buy under own name after getting 300% salary hike

• Doesnt matter because i know what cars are in Mukhriz’s garage. Riding in a normal car and visit kampung with kain pelikat is double-faced politician

• However, DAP national chairman Karpal Singh, said the price was “reasonable”.

“There is nothing wrong with the purchase if the price is okay and it is done correctly,” he told The Star Online.

“He pointed out that former Penang chief minister Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon had been given a Mercedes-Benz that was bought at almost RM300,000 in 1995.

“So, I think the price is reasonable and he (Lim) is entitled to it and it doesn’t matter if it’s the right time or not,” he said.”

From The Star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • macaisohai on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Haha a lot BN’s Macais complaining non stop abt LGE bought a S Class…but they either forgotten or pretend not to know (buat2 bodoh) that the previous CM KOH Tsu Koon also bought a S Class back in 90’s when BN is in charge of Penang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Syameer on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:25 pm

You got the point but from my perspective, Mr CM incumbent always advocate the idea of being people’s leader. I would expect him to ride on something that will reflect his philosophy; Camry is good enough giving that he was provided with the 2.4 version. The decision to buy the S300 W221 which according to your point is the same like what the previous CM did doesn’t reflect his idea and the fact that he said that the former is not clean and wasting people’s money is now useless. It just doesn’t work that way. He is just doing what the former did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • penangite on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Just because the previous CM bought a Merc doesn’t make buying a Merc now proper. Just because someone else robs a bank doesn’t make robbing a bank right. LGE is suppose to come and set things right. What’s the point of having him if he keeps blaming the previous gov for all the issues, and buy a Merc just because the previous gov bought one….:)

• element-H on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:30 pm

PR and BN supporters bergaduh kat sini, penang cm still tepuk tangan dalam merc…

pergi la berguling depan rumah cm tuh ramai2 bantah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • I see a lot of people implying that Rosmah’s using her power to finance her son’s lavish spending. First, get your facts right; Riza Shahrir Abdul Aziz is not Najib’s son so why accuse the PM of abuse of power. Secondly, Rosmah has always been against her own children from her first marriage (http://youtu.be/LXN_gga-JjM?t=8m2s). We’ve got to give credit to Riza’s father, Mr Aziz Nong Chick, a geologist, for raising him up proper. Why must we be jealous of this man’s success. He probably made some money during his hedge funding days. So he is probably making a sensible investment in the form of property. I am a neutral but the amount of ignorance on the subject matter has prompted me to comment. Just my two cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Leekowchai on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:11 pm

What is wrong with a CM with a Benz?

I would be proud if my dad drives a Benz if he is capable and the family is almost debt free.

Unlike some other dad, spending beyond the family means and resorted taxing the family. Sorry son, I need to tax u or we will go bankrupt. Sometime, dad need to pay for their step son’s condo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
  • tokong lim on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Saya nampak Red Bean Army saya kerja banyak kuat kah kah kah ! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Dear Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. Tomorrow i am going to make a booking for a E250 new facelift at your showroom in Cycle & Carriage Mutiara Damansara. I expect to receive RM100,000 discount for this model. Failure of you to honour this, i will boycott your product for not being fair to your potential purchasers.

• It’s ok for them (DAPigs) to do it but it’s a waste of money for UMNO Malays. That’s the logic thinking of DAPig Chinese. They spin and lie through their teeth just to defend their tokong. They don’t know that their tokong is as dirty as his unwashed asses. Just look at his face! He is a mentally retarded moron, a failed accountant who blamed Excel for his blunders. And the Chinese think he is a great leader. WTF?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
    • why people like to scold others as pig? it is delicious and a lot of peoples survive every day by eating it.it just as cow and chicken.is it really syok by calling people pig?i will take it as compliment as study has shown that pig is actually damn clever.

to defend tokong i think is nothing to shout about. it is like others ant to defend theirs mosque.i can scold them for doing that.most of the tokong i went is quite clean,and i think i go tokong more than you: or you actually visited tokong more than me?you went into any that is dirty?

for sure he is not mentally retared?why? no mentally retarded people can become Chief minister, no way. but they can write in paultan for sure (not me).

not chinese, but i think malays and indians also think he is great leader, or much better leader.all politician have their followers, and not retricted to particular ethic. if you still see thing from ethic angle,you are just not compatible with the future of our nation.
      either you are not educated or you are extremely lazy to work.please work hard and equipped yourself with broader knowledge about our nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • RACIST BRAINLESS on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:11 am

Because this kind of retarded Racist ppl, that’s why our country cannot move forward.If you want to comment,just comment on the particular person, not the particular race. I think every religious didn’t guide their follower to racist, but harmony to everyone.

• ah beng kalau nak mengata kerajaan memang champion! Semua gov salah ah beng la paling bagus.

• Red bean general on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:39 am

LGE should not continue more than two terms, he has blown it this time

• penangite on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:54 am

Michael Bloomberg, the mayor of New York city, takes the train to work everyday. When you compare New York vs Penang, Penang is eehh…TOTALLY nothing lah. Now what’s the big deal about being the CM of Penang? Need to ride on S-Class meh? It’s not about the money, it’s about the principal! An S-Class is a luxury car, why would the CM of Penang village need a LUXURY car? I own assets worth RM10 mil in Penang, and I drive a Camry.

• short sighted mind on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:16 am

leaders need reliable, safe and comfort to move them A to B to perform their duty well. Rakyat suffer or not that is different story, even if the leader ride cheap ride could turn the country upside down…they already bought the car…paid already ma…so LEADERS please be mindful when perform your DUTY…make rakyat live in WELL BEING not SUFFER

• Penang Laksa on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:51 am

Just small fraction of money nia for state CM’s car, every year Penang is generating + savings vs other BN states. I support Pg state government to get CM a new Merz for small motivation to continue drive Pg state development to next high level!!! Syabas!!!

• penangite on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:15 pm

If a Merc is a motivation for the CM, then we are in trouble. Being a government servant shouldn’t be about enjoying the luxuries or personal gains, it should be about helping the people of penang to bring about positivities. If that’s not motivation enough, maybe he should not be the CM. It’s a bad example to the people under him, i am sure everyone in the state gov is dreaming about Merc from now on….:)

• Jackson on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:41 am

If u r from Malacca & born before 1975,
    U will know how this Penang CM (Pondan-look) being treat by Malacca people including his ability to manage.
    In Malacca, he has been REJECTED!
    Surprisingly, in Penang, all stupid Penangist tough he his god or hero that can help to improve Penang.
    At least to me, I don’t think this Kam Dang (beaks banduan) has got such an ability to manage such a state like Penang. (Maybe Labuan , yes)
    Having work with some of the Penangist, now I start. To realise that why
    LGE being able to convince those people to accept him simply for 1 reason.
    Majority of Penangist is still lack of ability to think critically.
    Still preferred to follow the opinion of majority especially when u talk to them with their stupid-special-Hokkien which is so unique.
    To me, Penang will be down for the next 4-5 years & will defensively miss plenty of opportunity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Let’s be objective as we look into the matter. Some wrong mindsets here. If you drive big cars and you are government, you are corrupted. If you are businessman, no problem. Government should take airasia and bus like the rakyat. Are you sure? Good governance and good car are two different things altogether. I can’t blame you. It’s the history that has taught us so we stereotype people.but this country’s main problem is not politics, but education of people’s mind.

• I think due to bad management in Malaysia’s car industry, we have a lot of angry car owners due to taxes. That includes me. As we love cars, we get jealous of other better cars. But the problem is not with the car owners but car policy . You have to see a bigger picture. Merc is really nothing in Aussie, Germany…etc

• penangite on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I don’t feel jealous as I can more than afford one. But it just puzzles me why the need for a luxury car. He is hired by the people to run the state, and as most of the middle income are suffering due to escalating living cost (especially housing in Penang), he is using their money to buy a luxury car? Tsk tsk tsk….

• I should agree that buying Merc may not be a wise thing to do now. But it really has quite little to do with good governance. How much can 300K do to help middle class people? It’s all about perception. There are thousands of people who drive estima,alphard on the road. Which is not too far from 300K. How cheap is acceptable? If it is camry then it is ok? But some others who drivr proton may think he should drive a proton too. Yes. It’s not wise to buy, but it’s more for people’s feeling, not because it’s wrong if there’s no corruption. He’s the CM, representing our state to meet all kinds of people including CEOs and ambassadors. And he can’t take the car away in 4 years’ time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Dissapointed on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:29 am

Very dissapointed & sad for believing & respecting a wrong person for so many years. Koh Tsu Koon bought almost 300k Merce doesn’t mean LGE also shall do the same. What is the different btwn LGE & the previous BN leader? Penang ppl want a humble, clean & a good leader that always put people well being first instead of their own well being.

• LGE has sacrificed a lot for our country. Arrested numerous of time. Did time in jail defending a rape victim. Been frugal most of his life. Why you all bash him for riding in a state owned S class? He is already 53, give the man some credit that he deserves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • Benzee on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:41 am

Dear LGE,

You don’t need a Benz S300L
    You only need a car to get from A to B.
    A Camry is sufficient
    A S300L is luxury !
    If other people fear for your safety , buy an armored car with bulletproof windows

• fairguy on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:20 pm

if i were him i would get it too… leaders deserve one decent car.. just a car and people make a big fuss over it.. he is not a buddha ok… he is human being too.

• Politicians always con ppl. Whichever sides u are, u are CONNED!! No joke man. Anyway, it’s up to them whether to enjoy the privilege. If it’s me who is up there, I don’t give a damn to what ppl say. U guys are just some cheap ppl. Try to protect your own party, we’ll see whether u’ll say the same in 5 yrs time

• Anyone on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:00 am

nobody notice that the ‘only’ color was same as 1 of the Tan Seri S-Class color? only 2 in PP….. from Lowe MOTOR, coincidence hah……

• NurburgringDriver on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:24 am

Come on la… S300L only? Hey, even everyday I saw a year 5 kid going to school in a black S300L with AMG kit. At the back of my house also someone drove a grey S550, and when I was Bursa, Turkey, even someone bought an S65 AMG! Come on la, Penang chief minister, you so rich you buy cars that almost everyone have (S300). Buy higher end cars la. Maybe S63/S65 AMG or Panamera or Cayyene Magnum or Bentley Flying Spur. You let me drive your S300L around the Nurburgring Nordschleife and you see. It’s a low level car when you so rich you can buy high performance cars that I can smash new lap times on Nurburgring in them. S300 orang x main laa…

• penangite on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:14 am

Wow!! how low is machai IQ, why make a hoo-ha on this small matter 300k car for CM. Come on get a life, we should concentrate on 500million cow and 500 million commission submarine and billions of Klang port project and not this 300k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • penangite on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:45 am

And you guy know or not, the Penang Governor already change how many brand new S class recently and he is previous BN state assemblyman. Nobody make a hoo-ha, it is because it is only involve 500k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • yakuza on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:33 am

Guan Eng should have organized a convoy of cars to Himpunan TURUN last Tuesday.

Lead car should be the new S300L.

See how well people receive the Caliph of Penang.

• lge and all his followers and all those who support them are all cilakak. chinaman punya attitude, mana ada integrity? you bunch of idiot!

• Sound like small Penang state have no space to ride S class any more. maybe it won’t be an issue if previous KSK replace the S class before LGE become CM.

• BN wing man on Jan 03, 2014 at 9:19 am

Smart guys join BN and jadi kaya !
    I owned a AMG S350 :)
    I got no degree no PHD, what u need is a small tiny cable pulling u :) hehehe

Work hard la little minions !!!

• ahmad zul on Jan 03, 2014 at 9:30 am

do not know why i bother listening to politician’s reasoning. and all i see is that precedence has been set & not surprised when other politicians use the people’s money for their ego and upkeep of ‘standards’ for a so-call leader

• Outsider on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:16 pm

This is a very bad move by PR. Even if the Mercedes is cheaper and worth the value, that doesn’t justify the need of replacing a 2 month old Camry. Bear in mind he is not replacing a Proton. On the other hand, I concur there is a need to raise salary of congressman but the incremental rate is exorbitant. Maybe 30% to 50% is fine but definitely not 300%. They are no different than the Sarawakian BN politicians who also receive a hefty pay hike. Politicians are indeed corrupt.

• MerzOwner on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:31 pm

As a merz owner, I totally disagree with comments saying that merz maintenance is cheap. It is extremely costly even if it has waranty of 4 yrs becUse service is very expexpensive. After watranty part is worst. Obviously penang gov has not done the homework.

• Many Malaysians are very emotional when we talk about politicians. When you are wrong, admit it. Dont compare your wrongs with the worst. BNs may have done badly, but you cant do bad by saying you are better than BNs.
    You rise because ppl believe you are much different from BNs, now you dont walk the talk by spending money wisely. Guess Malaysians have bad taste about politics. Go by emotions, not logic sense.

• Liew Chen Jin on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:40 pm

I think he deserve it because penang is making money, not like the other state which is losing money but yet they use money alot

• Stanley on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:23 pm

It is surprised that people always believe Perdana is a high maintenance cost car. Is it the problem of corruption issue of someone who in charge of maintenance has made some buck out of it? So many Perdana Owners in Malaysia and you think they are stupid by buying the unworthy cars?

• Stanley on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:24 pm

If you ask people who are driving Mercedez Benz, they all know that S Class is the most expensive maintenance. At least E Class makes more sense.