MAI to present auto industry action plan on Feb 6?

mai-ceo-madani-sahari 028

The Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) will be unveiling an action plan for the national auto industry on February 6, according to a report by Utusan Malaysia. The plan will be presented to industry players in series.

According to MAI CEO Madani Sahari, the plan will cover six development roadmaps – technology, human resource, supply chain, remanufacturing, after-sales and Bumiputera competitiveness.

“(Translated) The action plan contains 600 pages and we will begin the series in the Klang Valley area first,” he told Utusan recently, adding that it would benefit the auto industry as a whole.

The latest National Automotive Policy revision (NAP 2014) was announced on January 20 to some confusion and uncertainty. Perhaps the unveiling of this action plan and its roadmaps could help clear the air – might we also hear any updates regarding the Euro 4 fuel feasibility study?

Read our string of NAP 2014-related stories here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• EnergyAnalyst on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:40 pm

72 hours from now? Ok I am all ears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Madani what Action Plan? on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:50 am

Madani, what Action Plan is this? Everything should have been put in the NAP 2 weeks ago. This looks like another sandiwara to confuse people. Then, there will be another Action Plan 2 and another Action Plan 3 few months later. Next thing we know 5 years have already passed.

MAI has travelled ALL over the world to study car issues. Everytime, one big team travel by Business Class and stay in 5 star hotels. Mind you, each Business class ticket is about RM15,000 as opposed to Economy Class which is RM3000.

Yet MAI people travel all over the world to study car issues and come up with formulation on drafting NAP but until now, NAP is not fully done up.

2 Critical issues was never addressed that madani needs to address before all this drama about Action Plan or Action Hero is done

First, where is Najib’s Promise?

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Madani, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAI cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAI and the BN Government?

2nd issue:

What is MAI, Madani and MITI doing about the AP issue. The AP issue was born to help the Bumiputera Businessman to penetrate the car industry. But we all know what happens. 90% of all AP holders sell their AP to the chinaman immediately once they get their APs. So, the whole spirit of the AP system is defeated. Every car import showroom is run not by Bumiputeras at all. Every staff manning the showrooms is not manned by Bumiputra at all. Go to Jalan Gneting Klang and see every car import showroom there. Its all chinaman. So, the AP system has failed completely.

But the AP system has cause car prices to go up tremendously. Genuine companies like Honda, Toyota, MB and BMW want AP’s to bring down their cars, they don’t get. So, they cannot benefit from large volume sales and economies of scale to reduce car prices to benefit the rakyat.

The AP system just benefits about 20 or 30 individuals. they get free money. Each AP they sell for about RM50,000. Each individual gets hundreds of APs. So, each individual can just do paper trade and get hundreds of millions per year.

Then the buyers of the AP rip off customers. Most cars they bring down are 20,000 pounds to 30,000 pounds. But when it comes to Malaysia, the customer is charged RM500,000 for the car. Buta buta clean profit of few hundred thousand each car despite taxes being paid.

Don’t also forget that Malaysians also get cheated by the AP crooks. Nearly every AP crook clocks down the odometers of the imported cars.

These AP holders make a huge profit. Because in overseas, high mileage cars are sold dirt cheap. In UK, the price of a car is based on the mileage on the odometer and NOT the year of make. For example, a 2007 Porsche Carrera with 10,000 miles clocked on it is very more expensive than a 2009 Porsche Carrera with 100,000 miles on it.

The price difference can even be about 20,000 pounds.

What our AP cowboys do is very simple. Besides getting hundreds of free AP’s, they buy these high mileage cars dirt cheap from car rental companies, bring them to Malaysia, and then clock down the odometer to say, 8,000KM. And then sell for a hefty sum telling you the cars are hardly used or showroom cars in the UK.

In reality most of these cars are ex-rental cars that have been trashed over the years by people who rent them.

Ask any used car dealers or AP dealers and 99% of the time, they tell you the car has no service history or service booklet. Even if the car is a 2010 model and is still under warranty in Japan or the UK. Surely if it is still under warranty in the UK or Japan, the owner must keep his service booklet and warraty card to service his car in the UK. Bear in mind most cars in the UK have 5 years warranty. So, if the owner in the UK does not give the warranty booklet or service history, something smells fishy.

So Madani, what are you really doing about these major problems in Malaysia? Don’t talk about Action Plan and all that. What is blatant and glaring on our faces are 2 issues.

1) Price of cars as promised by Najib and

2) The AP issue

There is no need for Action Plans. This should be treated like a crime. Should just come in and arrest the criminals. If rape happens, the police just come in and arrest the rapist. They don’t come out with Action Plans for months or years before they do any arrest.

The AP issue is a total failure. It is a burden on the rakyat. It should he halted with immediate effect. It should be stop immediately.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
  • sick&tired on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:55 pm

mark my words, the so called ‘action plan’ will be vague and will add more uncertainty to the already uncertain auto industry. In short, more crap, less answers. more rhetoric, less action.

600 pages full of crap and bullsh1t! Janji dicapati!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
    • i mark ur word..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:40 am

What action plans? Yawn…
      Probably the plan is on how to stifle the foreign imports more and pump in more cash to National Cars.

• paucharsiew on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Bumiputera competitiveness…man….why

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • Cause they are lazy idiots. Constantly needed to be spoon fed. Even then they can’t compete on the global stage. Says a lot about these baboons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 34
      • chaiwalla on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Haii yaa whats with all da fuss? Its very simple …malay… sia maa…of cause privileges to bp 1st.

• Yeah true that! These baboons cannot do anything right. Only the fat chinky whiny swine can!! They are sooo clever, hardworking and non-greedy.

• Raikkonen on Feb 05, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Racism has no place in this forum. Veiled or not.

Shame on the both of you – one for instigating, one for responding.

• Unforgiven on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

There’s no reduction in excise duty/tax/AP free money in the pocket system. I wonder is it bumiputra or umputra is the main beneficial here. Who’s suffering from the 9 years loan with high fuel consumption car like saga/preve? Who’s suffering from driving a 3 stars crash test car? Excise/AP must go, it’s very sad only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
      • chiputra are always most beneficial..lesser extend follow by bumi wat u said above..
        CHIPUTRA -> control supply from raw material-manufacturing-transportation(for material, finish product)-parts&accessories distribution-sales-managerial.. BUMI -> managerial-sales-after sales… GOV AP-license-tax.. ALL BANK loan..that wat i see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • vinnan on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:39 am

If what you claim of UMNO’s Chinese dogs is true then the fault still lies with your Ketuananputra assholes who controls ALL government policies and ALL MALAYsian law.

• Samy Vel on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:10 pm

kzm still with your racist comments? Every post you post racist comments. Can you please stop your racism in this site?

• kzm talk kok on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:31 pm

always bring race into anything….

• Racism Award on Feb 04, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Last year kzm was top ten commentator in PT. Half of his comments are racism. This year PT should come out with different awards. One of them, “Most racist Commentator”

I am sure kzm will win hands down.

• Goyang Kaki on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:06 pm

kzm, semua dapat free pun mau dengki orang lain kah?

Goyang kaki boleh dapat biasiswa, kontrak….

• Universiti Tahi Malaysia (UiTM) on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:12 pm

kzm adalah graduan kami. Kami bangga denggan kejayaan dia. Go kzm!

• Unforgiven on Feb 05, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Free money into the pocket or what?
          If you work for it then it’s acceptable, not as in getting free money but not doing anything useful, that’s sad!

• Low Budget on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:43 am

Nothing wrong with that, if the Bumiputras can export million of cars a year worldwide, the non Bumi. will benefit too, in the form of Ali Baba, of course the Baba must work behind the scene quietly.

• NoMoreChapatti on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:14 pm

“(Translated) The action plan contains 600 pages and we will begin the series in the Klang Valley area first,” he told Utusan recently, adding that it would benefit the auto industry as a whole.

make sure the plans benefit the public consumers as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Dont expect too much from them. Trust me. As usual ,700 pages of article written by kampung boy. If there are still consideration for bumiputera competitiveness , there will be no fair play in this industry. Enough said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
  • Anti penipu on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:35 pm

What do u mean by kampung boy? If u dont like to share, gtfo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 64
  • wiralution on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Abolish AP la. Enuf said. Period.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • abdullah on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Sandiwara by our no value for money government.

Duties from vehicles only contribute 7 billion of the government 200 billion operating expenditure.
    I see no reason why it cannot be reduce.

Every man, woman, child is contributing about RM7,142 to the government a year.
    (200,000,000,000 divide by 28,000,000 = 7,142)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Gong Hei Fa Choi again

and I am listening and reading

• baloney on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:47 pm

after 72 hours…aaaand.. once again. nothing happens

• why this people making so many planing/action plan/policy????

they are confusing the industryyyy..

PLEASE PLAN UR WORK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • jeff wong on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Nothing will be changed as long as umno in power. They need $ to cover holes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • nabill on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Going by past ‘shows’…. Its gonna be talk talk nothing bt talk… N thy gonna be so vague its gona make ppl dizzy…..

• Pringles on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Bumiputera competitiveness? 5% additional discount for KL car buyer and 7% for Selangor car buyers similiar like in the Property industry? Humour me please.

• Plan APA lagi?? X habis2 lg borak kosong…mkn gaji but aje LA korng ni.MAI ni xde pun xpe slagi p1 & p2 gomen payong ..bongok!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Obviously on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:35 pm

technology, human resource, supply chain, remanufacturing, after-sales and Bumiputera competitiveness.

I was almost nodding my head along until I read the last item in this series. And it stuck. Why on earth is Bumiputera competitiveness a part of an action plan? Don’t get me wrong, I respect my Bumiputera brothers and sisters but why should this make up a part of an action plan that would benefit the auto industry?

It is really nonsense. You don’t give crutches to someone who wants to participate in the 100m sprint. You train them to better themselves mentally and physically so that they can realistically compete in the 100m sprint. If someone (not necessarily a Bumiputera but any human being) lacks the initiative and motivation to train themselves for a goal they want to achieve, then they don’t deserve any helping hand whatsoever from whomever.

The Bumiputera aren’t stupid. I believe that race does not define someone’s potential. They have it in themselves and they can achieve the same level of competitiveness. They just need the drive in themselves.

Still, we don’t know anything about what this consideration is yet. Let’s wait and see what form this Bumiputera competitiveness package for the 100m sprint will take, be it crutches, a bicycle, a Segway, a Bugatti Veyron or a motivational speech and light refreshments.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
  • Robert Kuok The Crony on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:42 pm

this is good. keep it up!! -send from hong kong-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Samad Jain on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:42 pm

I think MAI action plan is like farting. Make some noise, syok sendiri. Useless unwanted gas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Brazbuz on Feb 03, 2014 at 6:58 pm

When they said about bumiputera, they mean umnoputra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • presna on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:16 pm

on the Euro4 introduction in Malaysia this year, I thought that this was a done deal, the only reason such a long delay was given was because of the refiners requiring more time to upgrade their plants to suit Euro4 fuel.

heck, if the government is really serious on this EEV and emission control b/s, the least they can do is hasten the Euro4 intro….. not …sigh…..have more studies and discussions….

• Universiti International Tahi Malaysia on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:27 pm

The world will bow down to our UiTM 700 pages of report. Don’t worry braders, it will be the best of the bestest of anak jati UiTM Melayu Boleh. Let us show to the world how we bumi can conquer the non-bumi with our policy.

• 600 pages of action plan is not equate to promising plan. Sometimes short and impactful plan is better than long and hard to comprehend action plan. Somehow our gov still use this poor indicator of quality. Also competitiveness should be for all layers of rakyat who strive and determined to success.

• motoren on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Remanufacturing is an area of huge potential that Malaysia could lead within the Asean region. They should really give this one top priority

• Steve Kok on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:17 pm

yet another 600 pages of tok kok.

Just abolish the AP and reduce the duties. enuf said!!

• 600 page is useless if you just can’t start with page 1 implementation, Let start with AP and Cromies from page 1 and doubt you can do anything about it . So don’t say 600 page

• Gosh…long hope already. AFTA, election promise, NAP, GST. None give significant benefits to ‘end buyer’ like me.

• Joker on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Action Plan?? This will be worse than a chicken talking cock… the NAP says it all…

• KangKung Man on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Aiya! Not first time liao … Pi Mai Pi Mai…. Pusing same spot … Kita je kena pusing by this VVIP People … end up we all still in the same lubang.

• Korea started their auto industry the same with Malaysia and look at Hyundai/Kia now. This bumi tongkat thing will continue forever and theres nothing you can do about it.

• autoinsider on Feb 05, 2014 at 3:31 pm

this 600 pages is totally bullshit and rubbish…AP still maintain for umnoputra. Bumiputera my *ss. Can any bumiputera apply for AP.No way. Only Umnoputra can apply. better abolish AP.

• TARmac College on Feb 06, 2014 at 9:13 am

Wonder who’s behind “Ming Heng” Jalan Genting Klang which selling recond AP car since no “bumiputera” can apply for AP