Hyundai Xcent – Grand i10 Sedan debuts in India

Hyundai Xcent Delhi Live-12

Compact, sub-four-metre hatch-based sedans are big in India, and the segment is set to grow with the arrival of the new Hyundai Xcent, which has made its world debut in Delhi.

The Hyundai Xcent, which is smaller than an Accent, is based on the Indian-market Grand i10 hatchback, itself an elongated second-gen i10. The face and the interior have been carried over from the Grand i10, and the underpinnings are of course shared.

But Hyundai didn’t just stick on a boot – the Xcent looks decent for such a type of car, certainly more handsome than immediate rivals Maruti Swift Dzire, Honda Brio Amaze and the just-launched Tata Zest.

Hyundai Xcent Delhi Live-10

Features like rear air-con vents, electrochromic rear view mirror with reverse camera, push start button with smart key, electric boot opening and USB audio system with 1GB storage will be offered, in addition to automatic climate control, steering audio controls, dual airbags and ABS on top-spec Xcents.

Under the hood, the Xcent can be had with a 1.1 litre ‘U2’ three-cylinder diesel or a 1.2 litre Kappa four-cylinder petrol unit, as per the Grand i10. Both are mated to a five-speed manual, but petrol buyers can also choose a four-speed auto.

The new Hyundai Xcent will hit the Indian market next month.

Live launch photos courtesy of Faisal from MotorBeam India.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:23 pm

The back doesn’t look too bad, but still, thee hatchbacks turned into sedans look very wrong with the stubby boot and tallish roof.

• Aerro on Feb 05, 2014 at 7:50 am

Proton should rebadge it as new Saga…jangan malu-malu lah ask permission from Hyundai…Proton memang muka tembok sudah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Pinky on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Koreans, they are famous of their awesome design with whole lots of specs and a below average price.. But what happened to the design of this car?

• satrian on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Did i see a Saga BLM at the rear???? Freind of mine told me Indians (India) buing car like biscuits…..and u can see AUDI everywhere it seems….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • That is true…Audis are very popular. So many new cars on the roads…I was surprised..

• DrCooper on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Rear aircond vent ! that should makes the d-segment feel of it

• Gently Speaking on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:08 pm

its India, Very Hot country.

Why Malaysia need it in a small car?
      I would not need it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • Wahhh… 3 Dugongs in a row.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • old dog on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Protong world car? LOL..here is your competitor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:32 pm

erm..weird n cute

• benngali_seng on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:54 pm

i drive this manual over proton anytime

• DonkeyKong on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:37 am

Still better than any Perodua junk, especially death-trap tin-can garbage like the Viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • mrKerbau on Feb 05, 2014 at 7:32 am

Beige interior?

Next…

• If you guys like it so much buy la…….this car is made specifically for indian mass polulation….what is the safety rating on this ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • azrai on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:01 am

No star for NCAP assessment because it is one of the method to control population in India.

• I dont know why people on this forum love korean cars… korean cars sucks ….fuel consumption is very x2 bad ….. design ugly ….. u can get bored with this kimchi crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • KangKung Man on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:07 am

Yo mott, From few years back … U can see those Korean cars look better and engine also working well especially with those new tech attach with it… Even some Jap cars also unable to give such spect. U dun’t compare those 90’s Korean car lar.

• You think Saga is any better? Bongok brain.

• niterunner99 on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:56 am

Sorry to say this, but it does looks like a TATA Zest from earlier post…

• Maserati on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:19 am

Another kimchi pollution on the road, why do they insist to produce such junks, what an eyesore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • masakroti on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:33 pm

U better go home masak roti and tidur diam diam like Sam Loo