SPYSHOTS: A clearer view of the Proton P2-30A GSC dashboard – first look at non-touchscreen head unit

PROTON-GSC-INTERIOR-3

Proton’s upcoming B-segment hatchback – which we’ve been referring to as the P2-30A Global Small Car so far – has been sighted in Europe again and our spies at CarPix have now managed to get a clear shot of the interior.

We’ve already shown you a first view of the cabin earlier, but this time we have much clearer photos. This seems to be a different car from the one snapped earlier because it has a different head unit. While the earlier spyshots showed what seemed to be a head unit with a big screen (potentially a touchscreen), this car features a lower-spec regular 2-DIN CD player.

However, despite it not being a big screen unit, it looks to have Bluetooth support as we can see phone buttons. There’s also a USB and AUX button, so it can potentially play song files via USB flash drives and portable music players. There’s a USB socket next to the cigarette lighter near the gear lever.

Moving down, a row of buttons control the door locks, hazard lights, parking sensors and electronic stability control (ESC). The air-con controls are in a regular three-dial layout, but the knobs seem to have some sort of chrome/metal-like trim for a more premium look. Looks good to us, what do you think?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I do hope they change the gear lever in the final production unit. The test unit version doesn’t invoke the feeling of ‘global’ to me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • still, the lower version even got esc. so that’s positive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 1
      • driver on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:38 pm

“Do not press EPS e-stop button”

EPS: electric power steering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:37 am

Buy Proton to show you got brain. No proton, no brain!

No brainer all balik kampung!!

• kimi_ on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:53 pm

UGLY like shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 89
        • I bet you’re driving a proton right now. What’s the point of being negative. Ugly as shit? You’re worse than shit..! Shame on you.. Go design and produce a car if you’re capable. Talk cock..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 13
        • Besi Buruk on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:28 pm

How do you equate appearance of shit to car? Driveshaft? Steering rod? Exhaust pipe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • not only gear knob. handbrake lever also..
      why use flat silver? i guess shiny/glossy black like the one at the steering is better. plus, it will be more durable i guess.

for hand brake lever also too simple. if use sword grip design like the one in proton savvy or gen 2 will be a lot better.

anyway. all thumbs up for overall design of this p230a. seat looks comfy even for this lower line model, nice meter panel. steering wheel good, dashboard design good.. exterior good. waiting to see more..

just want to ask paul wether this straight gear lever track design does that means it wont use CVT? tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • farghmee on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

PRNDL ni nmpk cam CVT jek.
        PRND32L selalunye auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • DrCooper on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:01 pm

I think the gearbox gonna be the same version on Preve and Exora

• 4 speed je yg pakai PRND32L bro..5 speed and above pakai PRNDL/PRNDS as well

• dino years on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Looking good proton! Hope to see a real quality finished product that I can stuff into the mouths of bashers who bash before thinking. Please don’t dissapoint!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 38
      • Albert lee on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Looking good is not enough,my dear dinosaur.
        The Preve looks quite good,not bad actually.But has it turned out to be a global best seller as heavily boasted by the engineers of Proton?
        You can take a million spyshots.Whats important is the finished product.It may boost Proton’s dwindling sales a little but it will not be a GLOBALLY successful car.
        REMEMBER NO ONE IN HIS RIGHT FRAME OF MIND wants Proton to fail.We wish proton well but SUCCESS or not you judge for yourself.Proton’s sales have fallen from 250000 units some years ago to 136ooo units in 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
      • Same Lor on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:43 am

It is good to see ESC in the GSC model. Hopefully it would be cheap too.

Proton to success in homeland, CHEAP is the the most important selling point. Proton sold Saga the most, not Preve. So don’t pandai pandai mark up the price then end up like inspira and the hilarious 2012 models in recent sales carnival!

If Proton could sell cheap car with good spec and quality, others will have to do the same to gain market. The we consumers will benefit from there.

• Albert lee on Feb 15, 2014 at 2:53 pm

You are right.Proton garnered 40000 sales alone from the Saga SV since launching.Saga SV is 36k + while the Myvi 1.3 auto basic is around 45K.Cos of the price difference of RM9k,Proton managed to slice a huge chunk off Myvi’s sales.BUT do you know,the Saga SV is not producing profits,according to an insider working in Proton Shah Alam?When proton announces its P & L accounts,you will see.The SV sales is just to gather back some lost market share and prevent mass retrenchments at Proton Shah Alam.Many of our bumi friends will be jobless.
          The Tanjong Malim is producing only 1 model,perhaps 40-50 thousand units out off a” GRAND” sale of 136000units in 2013.Proton is degenerating into a PASAR MALAM adhoc car manufacturer.With bleeding Lotus,I can’t see profits in the short term.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:42 am

u kedua-dua ni no brainer. Don’t talkcock so much, just buy.

No Proton, no brain. No brainer kluar Malaysia.

• Hope the price is alright so everyone can buy this small car unlike those ugly cheap looking but overpriced Myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Pengguna Bijak on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 145
    • azrai on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:38 am

The G should come out with lemon law instead. We always make a laugh on China’s ‘inferior’ car, but do we aware they already have lemon law? One on one replacement for faulty cars. No need for lifetime warranty. Wasting time go and back and then go again to SC to claim for rectification work.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 26
    • ruffstuff on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Malaysian love to ask for charity kan?

Excise duty reduce, proton also cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 25
    • Dream on lah you. U go and buy RM300K Merc oso where got lifetime warranty. Duh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 14
    • JeremyNg on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:36 pm

You’re drunk ! there is no such thing as life time warranty …… nothing last forever ~ ur comment make me wonder how old are u ? LOL

You go buy Toyota and call them gv u life time warranty la , the SA fcuk u off lo . Or maybe you can try ur luck at Apple ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Can you give lifetime warranty to buy Proton only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Samad Jain on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:23 am

No car manufacturer in the world would give lifetime warranty, bro.

I would highly doubt Proton for doing so, judging from their tainted track record.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 184
  • abuya123 on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:35 am

Patut letak big touchscreen mcm myvi premium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 69
    • ruffstuff on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:59 am

Yang ni versi executive. Bukan premium. Premium ada touchscreen. Dan dalam gambar ni bukan semua finalize. Seat fabrik dia lain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 116
        • enjinyer on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:57 pm

r u stupid or what?, executive is a variant, easiest way for you bloke to understand executive=middle spec,premium=high spec, standard= low spec.., do not mean it for executive or what ever shit you think…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 9
          • Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Why get so angry? Such comment can provoke your anger. Must be a dangerous driver on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 33
          • bktrokan on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:14 am

u got steering lock in your car?

• It looks more expensive than my Lancer GT AC knobs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • farghmee on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:08 pm

eh, bukan kete polis rata2nye proton?

kekekekeke

• hahahahahaha executive car variant dgn executive job pun tak tau beza. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
        • JeremyNg on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:37 pm

When i saw your comment I laughed so hard ! seriously ? hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Besi Buruk on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:35 pm

When you laugh hard, is there any sound heard? It should be LOUD.

• Kalau aku cakap kau ni tak reti membaca nanti karang, kau melenting pulak … hemmm ….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:37 am

It’s heavily influence by Ford Focus 2014 interior. The air cond vent shape and location are exactly the same as the former. The steering wheel meanwhile is Honda inspired one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 57
    • policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:47 pm

mana ada?

Gua compare side by side. Influnce 404.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:41 pm

…. and the tyres are Goodyear inspired one!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

I was thinking of the latest Fiesta instead.

The aircond vents, buttons style, exterior design cues (estimation from camped only though): side mirror, boot lid, huge headlamps, huge front opening… are all pointing towards Fiesta.

• Gently Speaking on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Dashboard = Pickup Truck Inspired.

Ada Gaya macam lorry.

http://www.fordcars2014.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/nova-ford-ranger-2013-80.jpg

• Denaihati on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:37 am

i think previous Proton P2-30A photo premium version, and this looks like another version.
    if i’m not mistaken, foto shown the speedometer with max 240 km/h, very interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:40 am

If Nissan have Almera, I hope to see Proton Almari. :-) (New name for this car maybe?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 98
  • kusochon on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:43 am

Good. I love HU with huge buttons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Limguanomung on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:46 am

my changan looks a thousand times better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 79
  • if the lowest spec got 6 airbag + abs + esp and price below 30k, then i’ll confirm buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 50
    • Another daydreamer spotted …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
    • bigman on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:39 pm

i think it will equip esp ,as there is esp off button below the head unit… 6 airbag below rm30k ? u try to manufacture one n c it tat possible to in tat price range ? LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm

…and I’ll by 3.

One for my master, one for my dame, and one for the little boy that lives down the lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • it is possible at RM30-40k..but not below

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Proper driving attitude is No. 1

6 airbag + abs + esp is No. 2

Below 30k No. 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • driver on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:02 pm

have a version of 4 airbags around 30k is good enough. then they could have the most premium around 40k.

• Benjapon on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Even giv u rm1 for 10000 airbags but driving attitude like ah beng the car still gonna split into pieces

• Mojo Jojo on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Ah! Not sure excited about the design, but certainly excited because it’s actually something FRESH! Anything fresh is certainly interesting, kuddos for the effort proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • If this is the low spec one but still has airbags n ESP, id say thats pretty gud, isnt it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Why? So the poor can continue to live? Spread crime all over?

I say the do not give ESP and airbags to the poor. Let them be wiped out. This is a form of population control.

Which would a girl prefer? 4 poor men or one rich man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 86
      • Syazwan007 on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:30 pm

I feel sorry for the girl who chose you, thats for sure..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
      • What an idiot. Learn to respect. If there is a need to control population, u are the one should be wipe out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Besi Buruk on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:38 pm

That is what happen when someone comment while sitting on the toilet bowl – Shit come out from the mouth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • driver on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:07 pm

what makes you think ONLY the poor commit crime?
        rasuah berjuta-juta tu bukan orang susah yang buat.

• Haha, you never ceases to make a fool of yourself. Your brain is working or not?

• Hopefully the aircond blower won’t make our hand freezing during steering the wheel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Proton fanclub on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Apasal warna interior dia macam plastik sampah ? Jangan marah….sekadar bertanya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 49
    • Guna kepala otak la… ni prototype, belum siap, tak habis finalize lagi.. adoi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • farghmee on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:06 pm

tu mgkn sebab reflection etc.
      dlm pic ni, palstik tu xde tekstur lg.
      kalu ada texture, mgkn reflection tu akan kurang, so xde la nmpk cm plastik sampah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • TheGood on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

bang..dia cover lagi dashboard tu..that’s y nampak berkilat.

• carlos on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:49 pm

I like the central lock button. it’s most logical. Finally making way into Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:52 pm

A proton is still a proton. If a company CEO need to beg his customer to give his own brand 1 more chance, he better resign. How many chance we want to give you ? From preve till suprima, all he know is to ask customer to give proton 1 more chance. HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 71
  • Sam Dol on Feb 14, 2014 at 12:56 pm

still wont be good enough for Proton bashers… Meanwhile, they buy almera LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 34
  • policeman on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:15 pm

I’m a Proton basher and I drive Inspira. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • Gently Speaking on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:27 pm

I understand your feel bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Syazwan007 on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Probably your too poor to buy toyota like the other proton bashers.. Wonder if girls would go for u now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
  • podol sky on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:16 pm

with parking sensor, esp and so on, couldn’t wait to discover the OTR price.

maybe RM 50k to RM 60k? if yes, would you buy it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • driver on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:29 pm

NO! Don’t ask for that. Ask for 40K. For a small car, even 40K is still too much.

• victortan on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:30 am

I think it will be priced between saga sv and myvi, somewhere around Persona sv.

• smokey on Feb 14, 2014 at 1:44 pm

looks much better than preve/suprima!!

• meejawa on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Spyshots after spyshot, of the front, of the rear, of the inside, camouflage less a bit also made it as news. I know it’s Proton, the pride of the nation right? But come on la, every single bit of news you guys also squeeze dry liao. Other makers launch tons of cars and technologies also biasa only..Proton pulak every single bit of news also make it so big. How many more similar spyshots you want to show us, and in each one tons of links to the previous posts?? If the updates is nothing significant, then let it be and move on. Head unit, non touch screen, so what? Ppl just bith “should do this should not do that” but you think it will change anything? Tsk tsk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 66
    • meerebus on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

you are like.. going to a football club and criticizing the players that are training.
      this is an automotive site man, it’s what they do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • meejawa on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:00 pm

If I’m at a football club and all but one players got the usual reviews: their fitness level, how much their salaries are, where they were from, strengths and weaknesses. And one of them got reported in the news, APART from the ones I mentioned, new hair growth in the armpit, the shoelaces has faded, the shirts has 2 benang coming out.

Get my point, what I’m saying is TOO MUCH of nothing much is tiring. Paultan is the site I go to everyday and I love almost everything about it. This is a constructive comment from me as a reader. Can’t take it? Tough luck if you want to say “it’s Paul’s site, he can do what he likes”. He puts it in public domain for all to see and there’s comment section, so live with it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
        • ruffstuff on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Because Proton is from our home, of course it’ll get every attention here.

Oh wait.. even international site also cover about this car and particularly this leaked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Okay, point taken. U can move along now, nothing to see here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • VoidDance on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Then go and read Jalopnik or Autoblog. They have tonnes of non-Proton related car news and you can have a laugh on how funny and matured the forum there. This is Paultan, a Malaysia car blog which will most likely cover Proton more (or Perodua) since both are Malaysian car company. You want to puke reading again and again spyshots of Korean cars? Go to Korean car blogs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • nabill on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Means the double din is probably the midspec but stil have esc…. Nt bad…

• Nieko on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:49 pm

WOW now that,s a very nice looking head unit still I just don’t like LED display on the head unit..

Hum would also like to know why does this B-segment car needs its speedometer to have a top speed of 240km/h …I this car hiding something …..Interesting

• Really can’t wait for this car… Maybe its gonna be my first new car.. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • dzulx on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Simple and neat….if the interior design is complemented by quality & soft-touch material, I do think Proton nailed the interior appropriately.. 2 things to improve -> gear knob and handbrake..

• jawabandar on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

The radio unit looks cheap.Reminds me the savvy radio unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Nieko on Feb 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

So lets se what cars are In The Hot B-segment market:

B-Segment Sedan
    1)Mitsu Artrage 1.2L
    2)Proton Saga FLX SV 1.3L
    3)Nissan Almera 1.5L
    4)Toyota Vios 1.5L
    5)Honda City 1.5L
    6)Ford Fiesta Sedan 1.6L
    7)Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6L
    8)Chevy Sonic Sedan 1.4L

B-Segment Hatchback
    1)Honda Jazz 1.5L
    2)Ford Fiesta Hatch 1.6L
    3)Volkswagen Polo 1.6L
    4)Toyota Prius C 1.5L Hybrid
    5)Mitsubishi Mirage 1.2L
    6)Lastly This Proton GSC Small car 1.3L/1.6L)

So guys there you have it all the competitors in the Market
    FYI: the Proton GSC will have to fight it out with the likes of Honda Jazz, Prius C, Mitsubishi Mirage… Ouch That’s hard ,Well All the Best Proton ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • You’re absolutely wrong. GSC job is to wipe out turtles on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • anonymous on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:24 pm

urggghh.. ugliest shiftter i’ve seen in my life… hope real thing looks better… also hope the finishing for the plug-in sockets would be better too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Besi Buruk on Feb 15, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Are you sure you won’t be seeing any more ugliest things in your life?

• p1234 on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:32 pm

240km on the speedometer? I am intrigued…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Albert lee on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:57 pm

It will be 340KM when the car is launched!Don’t be surprised.Proton will come out with little subtle tricks to boost dwindling sales.
      This car will fare no better than the kelisa or Savvy.You want Jeremy Clarkson to hoist this so called GLOBAL SMALL CAR by using a super crane and smash drop it from 100 feet high up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • IdealTech on Feb 14, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Yes indeed, an unexpected figure to shown up at the speedometer”240km/h”.Yes it sits in the B-segment but by the snapshots, frankly everyone can conclude that this is slightly larger than a viva, not? Well damn Proton is surely assured with the car’s stability (despite having equipped with esp) configuration. Hats off, this is the 1.6 NFE variant.

• sudonano on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Image ID – 228415: There is a paper stuck in front of the front passenger dash board, says there, do not press, EPS E-Stop Button. Finally is Proton moving to EPS too? I think if I am not wrong, the other models all use hydraulic power steering right?

• Nieko on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Hey did you guys know that 5 international Websites ie(Carscoop , AutoEvolution , Auto Express ,Autoblog.Canada ,protonukclub.com)
    are also covering on this car …..Interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Nieko on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:54 pm

the americans are rather fond of this particular car from Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Thompson on Feb 14, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Good for this gsc having esp on midspec/lowspec.

• Absolute Rider on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Off topic:

Proton should redesign the Proton Suprima S interior plus those I have sad before. Do you still have my comments? Thank you very much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • khairi on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Look like SAVVY !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Annoynimouse on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Dash looks ok for me. The head unit or whatever they call it looks fairly modern, but not special… Using silver as the color for the frame can be tricky. I think some manufacturers managed to achieve this with silver-coloured plastivs. Get it right and you will have a classy feel. Get it wrong and you’ll end up with a cheap toy feeling. at least not it the photos. Cant clearly tell from the photos though. Hope they get it right.
    Most negative comments are on the shifter. I have to agree… like totally agree. The gear selector looks hideously long. I think its because the base is sat so low that they had to make the lever extra long to allow good reach.

• Come on GSC & VRM, I’m counting on & waiting for you! :)

• hahaha on Feb 14, 2014 at 8:48 pm

i cant wait to see the price…pls be cheap proton pls

• Kia’s best selling car (by cumulative volume worldwide) in 2013 was the Rio. Just like the GSC, it is a B-segment small hatchback.

Proton only has to do whatever Kia did for their Rio, but price it cheaper and offer longer warranties. The unique selling point of the GSC will be Lotus Ride & Handling, which should match the Ford Fiesta’s class-leading handling.

If Proton can pull this off, they will have a sure winner in their hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
    • Green on Feb 15, 2014 at 1:26 am

Example of up-scale Global Small Car:

1. Toyota Aygo
      2. Peugeot 108
      3. Citroen C1
      4. Kia Picanto
      5. Hyundai i10?? no, this is not upscale.
      6. VW up!
      7. Skoda Citigo
      8. Seat Mii
      9. Fiat 500

Proton GSC?
      it’s just another player.. nothing to shout, even with Ride n Handling.. These Up-Scale mini hatch are of Luxury styling, Giving good handling and up-scale interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • old dog on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:07 am

protong will never ever able to pull anything off except Malaysia..when you have been feed fishes for decades, you just lost the fishing skill period.
      this are all joker projects to waste money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Sas13 on Feb 14, 2014 at 10:05 pm

I honestly think proton worshipper here need to go and read aduan rakyat on the net. The most problematic issue is proton’s car ranging from saga blm, exora, preve and suprima. U can see how proton treat their customers, and sadly rakyat malaysia. It is really pain in the ass to support proton anymore. There is no hope in proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
  • atong on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:26 am

Come on proton…..pls laa dont use cd anymore….just put hardisk inside there….global maaa……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • That look like mini rip off! the buttons layout is uncanny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • old dog on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:05 am

what is the CO2 emission? such small car buyers concern mostly is mileage instead of small features different like gear knob looks not so good etc. At least thats for me..since Protong outlook will never beat the other small car from Europe…so basically there left nothing to compete…LOL..oh my. What a so-call world car project again…wasting money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • the not so rich guy on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:01 am

Huhu interior looking good.

If got CVT, good fc, surely i will go n buy this.
    I have a VW, Toyota and Kia. Which all of them suck at fc.

If this car can go 15km/l , why not?
    Furthermore, if we dont support our local, who else?

:D

• Firdaus on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:42 pm

haha.
      If Only managed to give 15km/L for pure city driving.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 15, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Only if they listen more on customer complaint.

With the current EB & SS already manage to do 12+km/L on mixed condition. With fine tune 15km figure is possible. (Thats a750km for every 50L)

Even BLM 1.6 manual easily done 16km/L

• Samad Jain on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:29 am

Soooo sorry, Proton.
    I had it enough. I’m going Conti, even it is more expensive but well worth the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • World most makan minyak City Car.

Coming soon, from Proton.

inspired by Lorry with that noise, and pickup truck dashboard.

yea, why many people dont like proton?
    even Proton User also dont like Proton?
    many user have no choice but need a Sedan, had to buy Proton, but never felt happy.

Proton is not giving us High Quality.
    I like the Old Proton Era, with Japanese DNA.

much better quality then now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • Nik Wan on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:13 pm

This is still a concept, so it will still be changing your part in this. designer of the proton is still designing..

• Albert lee on Feb 15, 2014 at 3:14 pm

I bought a Saga SV for my son to use.Actually,there are lots of improvements.The power window is ok and nothing to really complain due to the fact it is 9k cheaper than Myvi 1.3 basic.
    However, 2 main distractions.The RUMBLING BOILING engine sound and HORRIBLE fuel consumption.It is 6 sen per km higher than Myvi in city driving conditions.
    After 8-10 years,the higher fuel bill will mean 9k plus 36k,so equalling Myvi’s price of 45k.
    The only consolation is we borrow less to finance the car.
    If Proton can’t come out with a fuel efficient engine,it is going to go bust one fine day when His Excellency Mr.Najib announces another round of petrol hike.
    Time is simply running out.All the FACELIFTS,CARNIVALS,SV,SUPER PREMIUM,SPORTIVOS are just buying borrowed time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Besi Buruk on Feb 15, 2014 at 5:15 pm

“After 8-10 years, the higher fuel bill will mean 9k plus 36k, so equalling Myvi’s price of 45k”.

Is this statement correct?

After 8-10 years, Myvi’s parked in the garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • no Proton on Feb 16, 2014 at 6:33 pm

the day Proton shut down and stop making any car is the day we Malaysian should celebrate independence day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Eyesore on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:39 am

The day you start realising that even without Proton, car prices won’t be as cheap as you wanted should be celebrated by you as your ‘reaching puberty’ day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Mremicx on Feb 17, 2014 at 12:29 pm

i think this will be platform for next generation of saga too….

• Train Lambat on Feb 21, 2014 at 10:52 am

This model GSC ….said that its goin to be delayed….. Anyone can verify? Heard Datok Lokman was asked to go bcoz of the delay of this GSC… Someone said 6
    Months wor!

• Missing_link on Feb 21, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Train,

GSC late coming is already old news.. All the engineers know about it. Hes just keeping it away from the management. Heard he also has been overstocking on proton cars… Producing crazy numbers and cant sell. Stock is piling up in the yard.. Good luck protong!

• nashi on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Just saw this car last friday on nkve on my home to shah alam. Thought it was a new perodua prototype

• GinGa on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:10 am

Time to leave earth for other universe.

• diana on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:15 pm

wow, like cheap china ipad wannabe lo

• DingDang on Apr 16, 2014 at 9:50 am

Proton design is damn ugly to b compared to others ‘Global’ car model..so much for GSC my ass..

• Proton GSC? Why suddenly so silent and no update about this Proton GSC??

• Oh gosh…another Savvy making?!!

• Proton_User on May 19, 2014 at 10:28 am

When are they going to launch this new GSC?

• potong fiesta on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:00 pm

My only guest. This is Potong fiesta. Another copy cat. Maybe with potong engine or exactly what they do like inspira vs lancer.
    Another prove of malaysia boleh. Protonise fiesta. Can see clearly from the bumper, meter, bonnet and overall contour. Sad for ppl like me driving fiesta. Shame on me (:-&)

• Phone button kat audio panel? Adakah ini praktikal?

• Exterior: Nice look, cheap materials.
    Interior: Ugly chunky look, cheap materials.

not a good idea, if Proton expect this model to make a good strike in global automobile market…