SPIED: Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 seen at JPJ Putrajaya

volkswagen-golf-r-mk7-jpj-0025

Spotted near a showroom in Glenmarie last weekend, the Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 has been seen in Malaysia again, this time at JPJ Putrajaya. You know what that means: the hot-hatch’s local launch should be sooner rather than later. For reference, we’ve found the latest Golf R listed on oto.my for RM300k.

Regular contributor Anol Alias sent over these pictures of the filthy-looking blue example – the JPJ boys must be having an absolute ball with this one. It being a 300 PS all-wheel drive fun machine, who could really blame them?

Clear to see are the Golf R’s bespoke bumpers, quad exhaust pipes, smoked LED tail lamps and 19-inch wheels with 235/35 R19 low-profile tyres. The grille has a brushed aluminium strip that extends into the headlights, replacing the red and chrome highlights on the GTI and TSI respectively. The wing mirrors are finished as such too.

Inside, the ultimate Golf finally gets the top-of-the-line, GPS-equipped 8.0-inch Discover Pro multimedia touchscreen system, replacing the mid-range 5.8-inch Composition Media unit on the GTI and TSI. You can see a push start button by the gear lever too.

The R-badged steering wheel, white stitching, blue instrument cluster, carbon-fibre-look inserts and sports seats further differentiate the R. It’s worth nothing that the seats are of the standard kind, unlike the part-Alcantara “Motorsport Bucket Seats” offered on the RM268,888 Golf R Mk6 (see separate gallery below).

Its performance will out easily outclass the older car, however, with its newer EA888 2.0 litre turbocharged engine making 300 PS and 380 Nm of torque, which is a big step up over the 255 PS/330 Nm EA113 in the Mk6. Paired to a six-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission, it should cover the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.9 seconds, down from 5.7 seconds in the outgoing car.

Volkswagen Golf R Mk6

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:50 am

To quote “The Truth About DSG”,

Wet clutch or Dry clutch doesn’t matter. How can you trust a company that has lied about its DSG problems since 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 35
    • drchan on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

just move on will u? and still u can trust your BMW despite numerous electronic glitches over the years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
      • atleast for the case of bmw, the first two-three years you won’t have headaches.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:23 pm

drchan, I want to move on but I can’t. I am stuck. I am waiting for tow truck due to DSG failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
        • passion33 on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Then its your problem. Either you live with it or get rid of it. Share the tow truck no. here if that makes you happier.

VW did not put a gun on your head to buy their car. Blame yourself & MOVE ON!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Ha Ha Ha Ha. Good one BMW Fanboi. Who will risk RM300k on a car that may or may not break down? Wet or dry, some say will, some say not. Who to believe?

If you going to cross a river, some people say, maybe got crocodiles, some other people say, maybe got NO crocodiles, would you swim across the river??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • Volkser on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Nothing is without risk. If your parents decided they didn’t want a dumb child then why did they take a chance on you only to regret later?

Stop dissing people with these DSG comments. As if BMW tak pernah masuk workshop.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:55 pm

to be honest bmw’s quality varies due to the ckd vs cbu quality problems….meanwhile vw’s…cbu or ckd its the same.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:59 am

I tot european people are trustworthy n high discipline compare to boleh people who like to taking bribe, tipu…etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • BMW electronic or VW DSG, the Protong way better. The failure mainly caused by power window issue. Very small matter compare to those.

• qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

RM300k? There are better choices out there.

And it’s a VW, not an Audi. I personally won’t pay that much for a VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • brshootee on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Juz add on 40k with better brand. Benz a45.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • trololol on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:00 pm

not just the brand. its the feel, refreshment of style from exterior to interior. quality & performance ! n most important worry free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • kemal on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

just for comparison… mitsubishi once sold evo x for RM280 here…

• Datuk on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:09 pm

After see a lot of issue about DSG gearbox, i’ve decided to expand my business, as AP holder, another business i think that can make a good profit is tow truck service, especially for VW owners. 24hours towing service, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
    Call 010-7251364 non stop. Datuk Towing Enterprise.
    *special discount for VW Owners.
    *terms & condition apply

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Datuk, you are a true business man.

May I also suggest that : 5 tows, 6th tow is free?

You can chop on a card for the VW owners to keep in their wallet so that they got something to talk about while they waste their time at their useless service centres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Tanah Merah on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Isn’t that wheel 18″? the 19 inch ‘Pretoria’ wheel is different pattern I think.

• trololol on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:53 pm

vw – very worried lah !

• 300hp/380nM is very powerful and close to supercar territory. Wonder this car stability in very high speed when other makers tend to equip theirs with stability assistances such as rear gt wing and diffuser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Supercar, seriously?! Of which era? 90’s?

Time has move on, pal. Supercars nowadays need to have at least 500hp, some even have up to 900+.

• trololol on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:49 pm

if that’s the case, 360 Horse power 450 Nm from Mercedes A45 AMG is consider a super car ? you couldn’t be serious right.

• i still dont get it, why would someone buy a sports car with an auto transmission….what is wrong with the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • lonelyobserve on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Due to advanced technology on automated gearbox, especially dual clutch gearbox that offers better fuel consumption with more gears and faster gearshift than manual transmission, many sports cars offers dual clutch transmission and slushbox with more gears.

Some more new generation drivers think that sports car with manual transmission is old school. I myself as hardcore manual transmission lover also feel the dilemma.

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:11 pm

To GM of VW , If you bring in manual version of golf /polo / gti, I beat your sales will top in malaysia in less then 1 year time. and it will changed the whole market scene.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Polo GTi with manual transmission will be available in Europe as Polo GTi facelift around Q3 or Q4 this year.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:13 pm

300k for a VeeDub is too steep, considering the A45 AMG is about 40k more, and has more power too, and its a Mercedes… 260k would be more decent.

• another overpriced car from vw..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Another DSG nightmare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:57 pm

It doesnt look racy or aggressive enough..looks like any gti with a bodykit n big rims…

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Funny; on each and every single article which has VW in it, there will be pro-dsg vs anti-dsg. What’s even funnier is that many of these comments are not even first hand experience, just look at the number of VWs on the road, not that many, yet, many here argued as if all of them are VW owners.

• Megane on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:53 pm

In Malaysia , one bhp= RM 1,000 more or less .

• Oompaloompa (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:54 am

I’ve 2 GTIs since 2010 & I’ve no DSG problem whatsoever